Birling Gap and the Seven Sisters

Birling Gap and the Seven Sisters, Eastbourne: Hours, Address, Birling Gap and the Seven Sisters Reviews: 4.5/5

Birling Gap and the Seven Sisters

Birling Gap and the Seven Sisters
4.5
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Monday
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Tuesday
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Wednesday
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Thursday
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Friday
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Saturday
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Sunday
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
About
COVID 19 UPDATE: May 2021: The car park and beach are open everyday without the need to book a space. The takeaway café (limited menu), shop & toilets are open daily, but the Visitor Centre is closed. Please respect social distancing and take litter home with you. Opening and closing times may vary, please check our website for further details.
Suggested duration
1-2 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Popular mentions

4.5
1,785 reviews
Excellent
1,190
Very good
476
Average
89
Poor
16
Terrible
14

nellie17
bristol uk33 contributions
Atmospheric visit
Jun 2021
Lovely trip to NT site. Enjoyed a short walk to light house along the headland. Short flight of walk down steps to pebbly beach. Lovely place to sit and pass time. Cafe, toilets and shop all available. Although ice cream van only took cash
Written June 12, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dear nellie17, Thank you for leaving such a kind review and I am glad you enjoyed your visit here. It is a lovely place to sit and pass time. We hope you visit us again soon.
Written June 13, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

bunglenzippy
Flitwick, UK24 contributions
Day trip
May 2021
If you want to avoid the busyness of Brighton or even of Eastbourne then park here all day for £5 and take the kids down to a rather pebbly beach but with some sand and rockpools. It's a very dramatic and scenic location with the white cliffs behind you and easy paddling for the kids just 100 yards away . The best bit for me was avoiding the crowded beaches at Brighton and Eastbourne. This is very imposing an impressive location with the rest of the South Downs easily accessible.
Written June 2, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dear bunglenzippy, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review of your visit here. I am glad you enjoyed your day on the beach and enjoyed the rockpools and the views, We hope to see you again soon.
Written June 8, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

trotterbird
Benfleet, UK394 contributions
Cafe awful
May 2021 • Friends
Went in on a ery wi day day I. Disabled got.blown across.the car park lady at door no hello no smile just wait there ! Website said open as normal but cakes were 3 choices in boxes in fridge rock hard hot choc takeaway as unhelpful man just stood there.saying u cant wait doe a table to be cleaned u have to go outside in 45mph winds when he could see I was really striding with my breathe hot choc horrid lumpy weak hardly chocolate taste atall so between the garden dry vile cake and the hot choc wished we had never bothered should of stayed o the bus staff need training maybe a hello.would of been a good start rude unhelpful never again. What a waste of £12 Then we went I to shop at size if cafe and the ladies wereamazi g could see straight away I was struggling got me a chair let .e sit for 10 mins asked if I needed so.e water very helpful we bought some jam it was lovely what a difference
Written May 22, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dear trotterbird, I am sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your visit to our café. We are following Government guidance on indoor seating and I have passed your comments onto the F & B Manager. I am glad to hear you had a positive experience in our shop and I will let the Retail Manager and team know. Thank you for your support and we hope to see you again on a calmer day.
Written May 29, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

wendygillw
Carshalton, UK174 contributions
An unusual place
May 2021
The sea is trying to erode the chalk cliffs here. It is interesting to see. You can go down a steep metal staircase onto the beach. The National Trust have a cafe and shop
Written May 19, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dear wendygillw, Thank you for taking the time to leave a response and I am glad you enjoyed your visit here. We hope to see you again soon.
Written May 29, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

SweetJ
51 contributions
Beautiful unspoilt beach
Apr 2021 • Couples
Lovely unspoilt beach accessed from the cliff top by a sturdy 3 story/level high wooden slatted stair case. The beach itself is mostly pebble with some sandy areas that you can access the sea to swim. Little interest if beach combing (no sea shells or sea glass) but plenty of rock pools to view. Car parking is available at a cost of £5 for 4 hours and if you can get a spot there is free parking along the road going towards the beach access. There are clean public toilets that open at 08:30, a small National Trust gift shop and reasonably priced cafe with some outside seating. Lovely hikes up the cliff with spectacular views, a lighthouse and nesting gulls.
Written April 20, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dear justinesweet, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review and amazing pictures, I am glad you enjoyed your visit. We don't recommend parking on the road for safety reasons and charges in our car parks start from as little as £1.50 for 1 hour, £3 for 2 hours or £5 for all day. The money we raise from the car parks goes directly back into the management of this area and the facilities on-site, including the Seven Sisters for everyone to enjoy. The toilets officially open at 10am, along with the shop and café, but on some occasions we try to open them earlier. Thank you for your support and we do hope you get to visit again soon.
Written April 29, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Emma F
Bromley, UK92 contributions
Beautiful walk on the South coast
Aug 2020
Stunning scenery not to be missed - but not for the faint hearted, some serious inclines to overcome
Written December 13, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dear Emma F, I'm glad you enjoyed your walk here at Birling Gap. We hope you manage to come and visit again soon.
Written December 17, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

LostALot22
Chicago, IL10,120 contributions
Great views
Jan 2020 • Business
The views from here are amazing. The walking is easy. It’s even great in the light rain that I had when there. A wonderful spot.
Written November 14, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dear LostALot22, Thank you for your great review and and posting your wonderful pictures. The views are truly amazing. We hope to see you again soon.
Written November 15, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Monique G
Winchester, UK251 contributions
Impressive, even in the soaking rain!
Oct 2020 • Family
We visited on a super windy and rainy day. It was also high tide, which means the water was coming onto the stairs. We went on to do other things in the area and came back when it was dry, only partly cloudy, around sunset. Very beautiful!!

Be careful with little kids when it’s windy as they easily get swept away on the cliffs to the lookout.

Also, phone signal is weak or non-existing there.
Written October 31, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dear MoniqueG1561, Thank you for your review and we are glad you managed to return to see Birling Gap when the weather had calmed down. We do advise keeping at least 5 metres away from the cliff edge at all times and to take extra care in stormy weather. We hope to see you again soon.
Written November 1, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

DaisyChain12
Hitchin, UK1,482 contributions
Stunning views on an extremely blustery torrential autumn day!
Oct 2020 • Couples
Drove here and parked in the pay to park car park. Try and take coins as wi-fi/phone signal not the best for paying online we found.
Weather was varying from drizzling to full on torrential so we walked up to the viewing area adjoining the car park and looked at the amazing views, took some photos and headed back to the car.
If we are in the area again I’d love to walk up the coastal path but the wind was so strong you were almost horizontal with the ground heading into it! Beautiful area and views, but perhaps more pleasant when the magnificent forces of nature weren’t battering you!
Written October 31, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dear DaisyChain12, Thank you for taking the time to write your review and I'm pleased you enjoyed the spectacular views. It can get extremely windy here particularly during storms. The WIFI signal is best at the hot spots outside the Cafe. We do hope you manage to visit again and enjoy a walk up on the coastal path in calmer weather
Written November 1, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

cazzkeeler
91 contributions
Brilliant Picture Taking Area
Oct 2020
Excepnsive small car park, but the views are out of this world. Go at dusk, see the birds flying to roost, watch the sunset over the sea and cliffs. Car park mis free at dusk, but the toiletrs and cafe are closed. Walk down the staircase on to the beach and smell the sea its great.
Written October 29, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dear cazzkeeler, Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to Birling Gap and I'm glad you enjoyed the outstanding views. Parking starts from as little as £1.50 for an hour and all of the proceeds from the car parks go directly towards the upkeep of the Seven Sisters and South Downs for all to enjoy. As a conservation charity, the National Trust relies on this income. Thank you for your on-going support.
Written October 31, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 1,614
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing