The Aurora Tour - Day Tours

The Aurora Tour - Day Tours

The Aurora Tour - Day Tours
5
Night Tours • Private Tours • Nature & Wildlife Tours • Photography Tours
Read more
7:00 PM - 1:00 AM
Monday
7:00 PM - 1:00 AM
Tuesday
7:00 PM - 1:00 AM
Wednesday
7:00 PM - 1:00 AM
Thursday
7:00 PM - 1:00 AM
Friday
7:00 PM - 1:00 AM
About
May the Aurora be with you! Small group ( 8 persons). Join our 5-7 hour Northern Lights chase. We take you out of the city to find the best aurora conditions. Your guide will help you photograph the lights and will take photos of you and the aurora in the background. Weather permitting, we will have snacks around a campfire, with grilled marshmallows for dessert, hot chocolate, tea, coffee
Tromso, Norway

Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.

5.0
334 reviews
Excellent
291
Very good
29
Average
5
Poor
2
Terrible
7

BAA1949
Spotsylvania, VA392 contributions
Jan 2020 • Friends
We had such a charming guide. Aleksandra was so patient and kind with all 6 of her passengers. We dove a long way out of town searching for the lights. It was a bit cloudy, but she found them. She assisted those with cameras, offered us snacks and hot chocolate and was a joy to be with. Highly recommend this company and Aleksandra.
Written January 29, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Tiphaine
Tromso, Norway2 contributions
Dec 2019
I knew before coming for tour that if the northern lights appear is not up to anyone, but I still wanted to go for a tour to try to see them. Weather was not bad in Tromso, but the guide told us we will go around 1 hour to find best sky, and it was a very good plan, because when we arrived we had a beautiful, starry sky. We were waiting around the fire and hoping for lights to appear. It was very cold night, but with the suits that guide gave us and hot drinks we could stay warm longer.
Unfortunately we didn’t see much of the lights - just a single arc, but because of the cold weather we asked to come back. The guide was stopping on the way back and was keep checking the sky, in case the lights will show again, so we will see more of them.

All in all it was a nice experience with a good guide and nice bonfire. If I ever come back to Tromso, I will book another tour with them.
Written January 3, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Hui L
Perth, Australia3 contributions
Nov 2016 • Couples
It was our last day in Norway and we didn't manage to see any Aurora for a week in Tromso due to the overcast sky with snow and rain. We then decided to join the Aurora Tour on our last day. The team were experienced and knew exactly where to go for the best chance to see the aurora. They drove us into Finland and stopped at a place where there is no light pollution and the sky was absolutely clear there. We didn't have to wait long before the aurora started appearing in the sky. The tour only caters for a small group of people and they bring their guests to places where no other tour groups gather. We felt that they are very genuine people who are passionate in what they do. We really enjoyed our trip and will recommend them to whoever that is looking for a personalised aurora tour.
Written December 1, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Jess J
2 contributions
Dec 2022
I booked a VIP tour for 4. Before the trip, I had to contact the company 3 times to get any details. We were picked up and crammed into a tiny car that looked like the guides personal car. The company claimed they rented it bcuz their regular vehicle broke down. The car was dirty/used, and not something from a rental company. We didn't see the Lights bcuz it was cloudy and that was OKAY, but we got subpar grocery snacks, no info about the region or Lights, no campfire, no pics, or almost anything that was advertised. Some of our tour felt uncomfortable with the guide who repeatedly pressured vegetarian guests to try meat, and pushed us to wait longer for the Lights after we said we were done for the night.

I contacted the company to ask for a refund. I was met with hostility and a partial refund that I felt wasn't enough for the things we paid for and didnt get. Unprofessional comments were left under my same Facebook review accusing me of blackmail when I was being professional/fair. Those comments are below.

Company: I do not succumb to the blackmail refund for the trip, another person from England tries to use such tactics. informs me that I am not succumbing to this type of blackmail. For some inconveniences resulting from the car being missed due to a breakdown, I refunded you 30% of the trip value. I can see you're putting pressure on me to make a bigger return, but I won't let you blackmail me. I will inform everyone who will use this tactic that it will not work.
Written January 9, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
You leave negative feedback twice. This is the first time I see a person who intentionally leaves negative reviews in order to get their money back. I have your email as proof.
Written January 26, 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Jess J
2 contributions
Dec 2022
Absolutely not worth it. We booked a VIP tour for four people and ended up in the back of the tour guide's cramped car driving around for almost 5 hours. Before even going on the trip, I had to contact the company three times just to get any details about our booking. Then when we were picked up, we were crammed into a tiny vehicle that looked like the guide's personal car. We didn't see the Northern Lights because it was so cloudy and that was no one's fault, but we received subpar supermarket snacks, no information about the region or the Lights in general, no campfire, or almost anything else that was advertised on the website. Also, some of our tour members felt uncomfortable with the guide who repeatedly pressured vegetarian guests to try meat sausage, and didn't respect the time we requested to be home. He repeatedly pushed us to stay out longer waiting for the lights after we repeatedly said we were finished for the night.

Overall a pretty horrendous experience.
Written December 24, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
You leave negative feedback twice. This is the first time I see a person who intentionally leaves negative reviews in order to get their money back. I have your email as proof.
Written January 26, 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Edgar M
Medellín, Antioquia, Colombia163 contributions
Jan 2020
Did you see the Aurora ?: Yes, we did it!

Bottom line: Compared to the other three companies, this one was a TOTAL FIASCO

Tour Details:
We stayed 4 nights in Tromso and reserved 4 companies to hunt the Aurora (we booked since November evaluating several companies through Tripadvisor and some travelers’ recommendations). Unfortunately, we chose this company because of some old qualifications we saw on TripAdvisor and the website they have, then we discovered that it was a person behind a website auroratour.no
The tour started badly from the previous day when I sent the size of my wife's boots and dresses and mine (in the other companies, even one of them, they asked us for this information in an online form), an email sent from auroratourtromso@gmail.com (not from the website domain) appeared telling me that the tour do NOT include boots ... and mentioning that we would start the Tour very late (19:00), the other companies started from 17:30 which allowed us to travel further from Tromso and reach appropriate places outside the light pollution and clouds .
The day of the tour, surprisingly we received a last minute email saying that we would start at 18:00, fortunately I was very aware of my email at the hotel and a person arrived who was finally the guide and the driver of a Minivan (the other companies had a Minivan with a certified driver and official guide).
The Minivan came with two ladies from UK, in the row two, this vehicle was not comfortable and the distribution of the seats was different from the other companies, the Minivan of the other companies was for 15 passengers with two chairs in one side and a chair on the other, so that you can walk along the Minivan, the “Van” of this company was a vehicle with two uncomfortable chairs next to the driver (where we were located), a second row of 3 seats with side doors and there were other rows behind without a door so in order to reach them you had to recline the chairs of the second row.
Fortunately, we were only 4 passengers, I cannot imagine when that Van is completely full.
We started our journey and unfortunately just at 19:30 there was a Northern Lights activity, and it was not the “driver / guide” who realized that, it was one of the UK ladies who looked out the window and realized the activity, the guy parked at the edge of the road so that we could go out and have a look, we saw the Aurora despite the low clouds. Then we moved to another point where this person planned to make the fire, since he was the driver and the guide, we had to help him carry the chairs, unfortunately the point where he took us was even more cloudy, so we did not see more activity again. He made the campfire and brought us on a tray cubes of cold sweet cheese, cold salami and small pieces of COLD cinnamon rolls, unlike the other companies that had utensils and hot soup in a metal thermos with a lid, this guy didn't have it, the “delicious hot drinks” he offered us was: hot coffee (he had a jar with little instant coffee), a hot chocolate (it was instant chocolate) or Tea, he had only one hot water thermo and cardboard cups!!!. Unlike the other companies that offered additional hot chocolate with cookies.
Being 9:00 p.m. after being in a bonfire with wet and icy feet because he had no boots for us, he says “you paid for this Tour, I do what you want, if you want we go to another place or if you want we return back”, The disappointment was great, we looked at each other among the four and decided better to return to Tromso early.

We pre-paid for the service approximately the same as with the other companies, so it allows us to conclude that it was literally a robbery and it is not fair that other people traveling from far away fall back with this company.
We were 4 nights and only two nights we could see the auroras, one of those nights was with this company and it was a total robbery and we wrote this because it is not fair some other tourist could choose this kind of company having the chance to have another option. Fortunately for us we had the chance to compare different options and if we return we definitely will pick a Greenlander Tour it was an exceptional and more personalized service, the others despite not having seen the Auroras, they fulfilled a good service, a good vehicles and the right staff and stuff to do it.
Just to finish this robbery, we received photos from the other companies, with a high quality DSLR camera, one of them pre-edited and were wonderful, we received from this company a JPEG (no RAW format) of a really bad photos of the Aurora, you zoom it and will notice a bad quality a noise of the image, so if you really see the Aurora with clear skies you probably will receive a very disappointing photos from him.
Written January 26, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
your opinion is one big lie. And my company, unfortunately, does not give money as other companies do for people who blackmail us with opinions. All the information you write about is completely untrue and I see that you also managed to learn English in a few days, because being on my trip you could not speak English well. Certainly that's why you didn't get acquainted with my trip plan which is only for a maximum of 8 people and not like other companies have up to 18 people. Writing that my car, the new vw caravella is not comfortable you can see what you mean. On this day you were the few people who saw the aurora borealis !!! so the main attraction after which she bought the trip was realized. No words for such untrue opinions, all the more so because the people who were with you on the trip were happy that we found the northern lights. !!!
Written January 29, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Ray M
Tromsdalen, Norway10 contributions
The tour guide seemed to be inexperienced and did not want to go further for chasing aurora. The tour started later than 7pm and started to return before 11pm.

She seemed to be more interested in setting up fire and resting rather than finding aurora for the group. We stopped in a place not far away from the city centre and the place seemed to be impossible to watch aurora as not very dark indeed.

Also, please do not expect the food so much. They are all cold and no grilled marshmallow as mentioned.

I hope the tour guide can understand that this may be one of her nights for chasing aurora and just a job for her only. But it may be the only night for visitors to chase aurora in their lives.

The fire was very nice. But we come here is for aurora, not the fire.
Written January 2, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
this person has never participated in my trip. Everything she described is completely untrue and is a big lie, I sell my trips and I know who was on the trip. This review is written by a person who has never been on a trip and may be from a competitor.!
Written January 9, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Alan D
28 contributions
This was classed as private tour and states in small print only our group which was my wife and me that booked. We were picked up but then taken to another hotel to pick up 2 more people, we ended up being uncomfortable in the back of a car whilst being driven. We then met up with a friend of the Italian driver near Tromso airport so ended up with a group of 10 persons in 2 cars including the guides. Due to cloud cover they decided the best place was north at a beach. When we arrived there was already a coach there, poor access down a slippery snowy bank luckily no one slipped and injured themselves, there were no head torches provided as stated in the booking details. We needed to use our phones for light. You could hear the coaches engine running and it’s wasn’t tranquil like I expected this type of apparently private tour to be. The tour guide said he had only started this season so I think lacked experience. I will be contacting viator who I booked this through but I would recommend to use someone else and not use this company.
Written January 17, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear guest (we would have known your real name, anyway), We are really sorry you didn't enjoy the tour you had with us. But there are some misunderstandings. First of all, you reserve a "Standard Tour", that means not a private tour, but with some other few people. In order to have a proper private tour only for you two, you should have chosen the "Vip Tour". In any case, a "standard tour" is, in a way, a private tour, just because consists of small groups, that permit to avoid the 40-50 people that go with other tour companies by busses. For this reason, we can't really take in consideration your annoyance. Second thing: you criticise the place you've been, as dangerous and not tranquil. As you could see, the weather wasn't good at all that evening, and this reduce a lot the opportunity to choose places around Tromsø. Our guides always check before the tour the places where there are more chances to see the northern lights. In fact, despite the cover sky, you could see a little the northern lights. In such evenings, this is already a great success! Moreover, the place you've been is a beautiful place, not even dangerous as you describe, in fact has never happened that someone got injured there, and anyway if you want to see the northern lights surrounded by a beautiful landscape, we don't want to stop in a parking lot. About the bus parked there, we can just repeat ourselves: in such difficult evenings, it is easy that different companies have the same ideas where to go, because there are not so many places where to find good spots for the northern lights. This is also a sign that our guides are not unprepared. We would like to know then about what our guides lack of experience. For all this reasons (but we could write also more) we find this review rude and unfair, and don't help us in a constructive way. Sincerely, The Auroratour Staff Tripadvisor About The Aurora Tour - Day Tours May the Aurora be with you! Private small group ( 8 persons). Join our 5-7 hour Northern Lights chase. We take you out of the city to find the best aurora conditions. Your guide will help you photograph the lights and will take photos of you and the aurora in the background. Weather permitting, we will have snacks around a campfire, with grilled marshmallows for dessert, hot chocolate, tea, coffee
Written January 20, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Where Next, Baby?
Pittsburgh, PA193 contributions
Oct 2018 • Couples
We can't say enough about Andrea and the Aurora private tour. We were sure our night would be a washout because of complete cloud cover and rain. But Andrea knew exactly where to go and drove us about 45 minutes north of Tromso until he saw a glow in the sky. We were sure it was just the moon behind the clouds, but Andrea found a dark spot and we got out of the car. Sure enough, the clouds parted and for the next 20 minutes we saw a spectacular, breathtaking show, beyond our expectations! Highly recommended!
Written October 18, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

PeanutSesame
Singapore, Singapore26 contributions
Mar 2016 • Friends
My guide for the light chasing tour in 16 March was Antonio. He is dedicated and passionate about light chasing. Before we started the trip, he was direct and informed us that that night would be a challenging lights chasing trip because the weather forecast wasn't promising. He also told us that few other tour agencies actually cancelled their lights chasing tour. However, he informed us of his plan and assured us that he will try his best. Thumbs up for his professionalism. Thanks to Antonio's perseverance, we managed to catch the lights eventually, and made the trip well worth it.

However, I am dissatisfied with the General Manager (Anna) failure to exhibit professionalism. We understand that the company had a 24 hours cancellation policy. A few days before the tour, we noticed that the weather forecast on the day our tour was scheduled wasn't favorable and tried to contact Anna to seek her professional opinion. But we didn't receive a response from her, at all. We were considering cancelling our tour but it looks like Anna wasn't being open to that option. For the lack of professionalism and poor customer service on Anna's part, I would have given a 1 star review. But thanks to Antonio and his awesome work ethics, we managed to see the lights and I am overall satisfied with my experience.

Written March 18, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Showing results 1-10 of 240

The Aurora Tour - Day Tours (Tromso) - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go