We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Arctic Explorers Tromso

Features Animals
Tromso, Norway
More
About Arctic Explorers Tromso
Northern lights specialists and photographers. High ranked on all trips. Small groups. All inclusive - you save money. Warm expedition suits and extreme winter shoes. Tripods. Passionate guides. Pictures included, and more. Welcome!
Read more
Tours and Tickets by Arctic Explorers Tromso
2033Reviews84Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 1,840
  • 136
  • 32
  • 13
  • 12
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Amy W wrote a review Dec 2020
Nashville, Tennessee107 contributions76 helpful votes
We were scheduled to take this tour last week. In August I requested a cancellation and refund of 90% as is the cancellation policy when I made the booking in January 2020 (prior to the COVID restrictions or concern). Our trip had to be cancelled due to isolation requirements upon entering the country. After several emails without reply the vendor said they didn’t have the money to make the refund. Understanding these are challenging times I offered to not require a refund if instead the vendor would give us an upgraded tour if and when we made it to Norway. This way the risk is mine if they were to go out of business or we never make the trip. The vendor said no and has continued to not provide a refund. I had no issues with any other vendor and am only posting this review now because I see there are current reviews indicating the vendor is in fact doing business currently. I also see the vendor has a certificate of excellence which as a consumer I take very seriously so please consider this refusal to adhere to the vendor’s own policy, despite compromising offers made and considerable patience given for a resolution, prior to making a booking.
Read more
Date of experience: December 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Arcticexplorersowner, Eier at Arctic Explorers Tromso
Responded Dec 20, 2021
Hello. Thank you. A lot of what you write is not correct at all, and I will prove it if you send me an email, because I will need to send you documents to prove it, which is not possible here. The tour you have booked with us will be ready for you as soon the situation permits. I must ask you to show some understanding in these hard times, and not trying to capitalize on others misery, by asking for an upgrade, when tour operators all around the globe are struggling like never before. No one else have asked for upgraded tours, since it is not fair in this situation. We have not had tours since March 2020, so when you on Dec 2020 write, " the vendor is in fact doing business currently," you are mistaken, and since you wrote that was the only reason for the review, I assume you now have no reason to have this written online, showing all that your review was based on uncorrect assumptions. I assume you write that because someone reviewed us in July and August. This is guests that joined us before shutdown in March 2020, and that is easily to prove, because there are no aurora tours in July and August, since it is off-season. I would advise you to be 100 % sure when posting things online, instead of writing a review based on assumptions that are wrong, Please correct this. We are ready with a tour for you, as soon as the corona situation makes it possible. Have a nice day. Regards, Øystein
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Shampa B wrote a review Aug 2020
3 contributions
Our trip to Tromso , Norway in Nov2019 was one of the best trips we could ever dream of. The Artic Explorers did a fabulous job of organising the tour to see the Aurora Borealis , and our dream came true! Our guide Matteo was a very charming pleasant person , most amicable Young man. I would recommend this to anyone who would like to visit Tromso and the northern lights. Thank you Artic Explorers once again for filling our dreams. Thank you Matteo Ashis & Shampa Bhattacharjee Sydney, Australia
Read more
Date of experience: November 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Suzanne S wrote a review Apr 2020
Aurora, Colorado15 contributions6 helpful votes
My friend and I did a tour on January 22, 2020, and we could not have asked for more. Our tour guide George was as much of a northern lights nerd as myself. This made for incredible enthusiasm and a determination to give us the best possible experience and tour. And Marcos was a fantastic driver. After thermal suiting up, we went into a winter wonderland and into the stuff dreams are made of. After a couple of stops along the way both observing our first lights of the evening and hitting a gas station for bio breaks and snacks, we reached our destination across the border of Finland- about two hours from Tromso. We parked alongside the desolate highway and walked in about hip deep snow to a good place a few hundred feet away from the highway to set up camp. George spent a long time helping us get good pictures. We lucked out and had a great group of people and laughed so much navigating the deep snow and taking the right pictures. Meanwhile, Marcos dug a trench and got a crazy big campfire going while we played and posed. The northern lights provided a perfect backdrop to our fun. We then sat on handmade snow benches under the lights and in front of the fire and ate some pretty darn good freeze dried food. I appreciated the gluten free options as well. We ate, roasted marshmallows, and George gave us info on the lights. The evening was positively magical. And it didn't stop there... On the way back, more lights were spotted. George insisted on stopping so we could get another peak. It was the middle of the night by then, but none of us cared. It was honestly the best show of the evening. The moved so quickly above us and shown green, purple, white and pink. Many of us lay on our backs in the snow. Others of us screamed and took pics while the lights danced above us. It was positively magical. George set quite an enthusiastic tone for the group. And there were a bunch of aurora zealots the group too. The whole experience was one that I will remember forever. I cannot recommend this tour company enough. We arrived back to our accommodation around 4:10 am after this tour and hit the pillow with delight, awe and wonder in our hearts. Thank you so much for honestly one of the best evenings of my life.
Read more
Date of experience: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
clau wrote a review Apr 2020
3 contributions
Fantastic well coordinated and well planned tour.Recommend highly..My son and I took this tour in Dec 2019 .They picked us up on time,,gave us the thermal garb and drove us in a minivan towards Finland until the cloud cover disappeared.After about 2 hours of drive crossed to Finland and the skies were clear. Within a few minutes after parking the van amazing Northern Lights began to appear. The tour guide Marcos who was also a professional photographer started taking photographs quickly.Within 20 min the lights went away .The driver and the tour guide started a small fire and served us soup The tour guide Marcos and the driver were exceptionally good.
Read more
Date of experience: December 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Maria wrote a review Mar 2020
5 contributions5 helpful votes
We were a little disappointed that the lights seemed white to the naked eye and not green like they turn out in the photos, BUT they were still very impressive and our guide was very enthusiastic and we got some AMAZING photos. My advice to whomever wants to take this tour is to just manage your expectations and have a great adventure in the arctic!
Read more
Date of experience: March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456