Big Bus Vienna
Hop-On Hop-Off Tours • Bus Tours
Read more
About
On the Big Bus sightseeing tour you will discover Vienna's rich history through our informative personal commentary. Tour includes: Hop-On Hop-Off, 24,48 or 72 hour ticket, recorded commentary.
Vienna, Austria

Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours and Tickets by Big Bus Vienna
Travelers talk about
(81 reviews)
(11 reviews)
(6 reviews)
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

4.0
1,928 reviews
Excellent
952
Very good
524
Average
189
Poor
121
Terrible
142

Liria M
3 contributions
Oct 2021 • Couples
We did the Walking tour in Vienna. Claudia, the guide, made the whole visit very interesting and fun. She kept an easy pace to follow and at each stop she provided lots of info without overwhelming us. She was kind with a nice sense of humour. We enjoyed and learnt a lot!
Written November 1, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear 844liriam! Great, thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are glad to read that you found our service fun and informative. We will gadly forward your words to Claudia, thanks! regards Big Bus Vienna
Written November 2, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Sue T
6 contributions
Feb 2020
Great way to see the city. The three routes overlapped at some stops and the first bus to arrive would wait for the second before moving off. This helped as we had 'showers', otherwise known as stair rods in England, and so one was able to wait in the dry.
Thanks particularly to the guys who let us stay on board at Museums until the next red route bus arrived, even though it was their lunchtime, because it was tipping it down. It is that sort of service that makes all the difference.
Also buying your tickets to Schonbrunn really speeded up entry.
Written February 15, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear sueonsafari! Thank you for your wonderful review. Great that you understand our service to discover and explore the city of Vienna. We give you a good overview about the most important points in Vienna and additionally you hear and learn a lot about the city’s history when you listen to our commentaries and we are happy that you liked the customer service of our staff to make your journey easier and comfortable. Thank you for your time to write a feedback about our service. Kindest Regards Big Bus Vienna
Written February 17, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Sabir C
Bengaluru, India55 contributions
Feb 2020 • Couples
Operates in 3 routes - blue red and green with 30 minutes interval. English commentary is available in double deckers bus with roof covered. Nice warm bus for the winter, overall great experience. One need to plan ahead as places like The Opera House (in red route), Museums Quartier (both blue and red) or Belvedere (in blue) takes time to explore. Best download the BigBusTours app.
Written February 3, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear sabirc2016 ! Great to read that you can used our service to explore our city and you liked! Good that you used our service with the app to see where when is the next bus coming and that you liked the commentaries. Kindest regards Big Bus Vienna
Written February 10, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Elz
1 contribution
Feb 2020
We did a free walking tour on Saturday with Jekaterina as our guide. Telling an interesting story and keeping all the people engaged can be a hard job. Jekaterina had no difficulties with this. She will tell you about Vienna’s history, food culture, the buildings and artist that lived there as well as the dark sides of Vienna’s history. On top of this you get free tips on where to eat or activities to do for your stay in Vienna.

I highly recommend starting your trip with a walking tour under the guidance of Jekaterina. (the trip took us 2,5 hours, so take some water and go to the toilet before you leave ;-)
Written February 24, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear elzCo! Thanks a lot for your positive review here on Tipadvisor and thank you for your compliment on our staff. We are happy that you were satisfied - we will forward your praise to Jekaterina! regards Big Bus Vienna
Written February 26, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

chinablonde
Cleveland, OH158 contributions
Jul 2022 • Solo
I had the vienna city card (not pass) and this was included. I used it on a rainy day to see the city.
They don't narrate the stops, so you have to pay attention to know when to get off.
But every stop has clear signs. So in some places you have to search to find the pickup point.
Written July 7, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear chinablonde! Thanks for sharing your feedback and input regarding your tour and experience with us recently. We are happy that you did enjoy your time even on a rainy day! regards Big Bus Vienna
Written July 13, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

GlobeTrotting814138
2 contributions
Sep 2021
We started last Tuesday with a 3 days tour instead of initially one day. The Big Bus Tour guy from Servië advised us and he did it well! It was including the boat tour and that was also very nice but also the city walk with the guid Claudia. She did it very good, took all the time and explained a lot. It was really worth to do it! Thank you Claudia!
Written September 23, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear GlobeTrotting814138! Your feedback on your recent experience with Big Bus Vienna means a lot to us as it shows that we provide a professional, informational, educational and entertaining service to our customer. Thank you very much! Of course we will pass on your praise to Claudia. regards Big Bus Vienna
Written September 29, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

RebeccaUofI
Indianapolis71 contributions
Dec 2019
Great opportunity for an overview of the city...this MAGNIFICENT city. The architecture is a wonder, the history a wonder, the taped commentary fantastic and informative. Just wish we'd scheduled a longer stay so we could get off at every stop and explore.
Written February 2, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear RebeccaUofI! Many thanks for your nice feedback. It is great to see that we could make our customers happy and that you used our different routes to explore the nice city of Vienna and have additional information from our commentaries. Also, good to know that you used the hop-on hop-off service to explore our city. Kindest regards Big Bus Vienna
Written February 3, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Rob Leerdam
Leerdam, The Netherlands9 contributions
We take hop-on/hop-off trips on every city trip we make, but this one (Big Bus) is by far the worst. More tickets are sold, than the buses can transport people. We decided to wait for the next bus, but they let people enter in the back of the bus so it fills up with people within seconds. Nobody checks for tickets. There's no way you can exit the bus and re-enter later. I have seen people disappointed on every stop, because there was no place in the bus. The buses are dirty and messy. Instead of spending almost 100 euro for a miserable excuse for a hop-on/hop-off, I advice you to buy a metro card for 24 or 48 hours. It will save you money and a lot of frustration.
Written August 20, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear RobLeerdam Thank you for taking the time to review Big Bus Vienna. We are very sorry that your experience was not enjoyable and affected by the high number of visitors in Vienna over the summer period. We do our best to schedule and plan number of vehicles especially for busy periods, but it seems on this occasion we didn't deliver. We have passed these comments on to our operations team to ensure that the level of service is enough for demand. Kindest regards Big Bus Vienna
Written August 26, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

KDaniel84
Orlando, FL48 contributions
I’ve done hop on/off tours before, so I thought this would be a great way to see Vienna, especially since we are staying a bit away from the city center. We got on at station 8, which was very close to the hotel, and of course, because it was the first bus for the day, it was practically full (understandable). We sat at the bottom deck, which was very warm, with minimal air circulation. I understand A/C isn’t really big in Europe as it is in the US. And although we were miserable, especially with our 10 month old baby, that really wasn’t the worst part. They give you free headphones and you can tune into the station with your preferred language. I plugged in my headphones and I got the last bit of hearing the word “Vienna” and then music. The music was lovely, HOWEVER that is all I heard the entire way. The bus driver would stop, and I had no idea what stop we were on. And you cannot see the sign for the stop either. Finally we just got off at a random stop just to get off the hot bus.

Eventually we got back on a different bus, to get back to our hotel. I put the headphones on again, just to give them a second chance. So I realized, that the bus driver pushes a button and then it tells you about where you are. So obviously the first driver made no attempt to give an actual tour, but instead just to drive.

For €30 or whatever I spent on each of our tickets, it was NOT worth it. It’s honestly better to just get a train ticket and hop on and off as you like.
Written July 25, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear KDaniel84! Many thanks for your big review on our service. We checked what you mentioned about playing commentaries and we think that you choose our music channel therefore you did not get the information which station we are, we are sorry about this. All our bus drivers press for the commentaries and we do driver assessment in a very regular interval. As Europe is not used to this very high temperature not all busses until now have A/C but we are working on it. We hope you give Big Bus a second chance. Regards Big Bus Vienna
Written July 26, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Geoff W
Preston, UK13 contributions
Oct 2018 • Couples
We only had two full days in Vienna, so booked the 24 hour Big Bus Hop-on Hop-off including the walking tour. We were so pleased that we did. Reinhard, who was our guide on the 90 minute walking tour was excellent, he showed us many of the sites and places of interest within the old city and explained everything in so much detail with great clarity and humour. In fact we thought that Reinhard was the best guide we have had on our many travels around Europe.
With the knowledge that we had gained on the tour, both on and off the bus we were able to appreciate better the sites and architecture of this beautiful city. We even used the last bus from stop 15 to get into the city in the evening. All together a wonderful experience.
Written October 11, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear _geoffwelch11! Thank you for your nice feedback on our walking tour. We are very happy to see that not only our Hop-on Hop-off services are appreciated but yet our walking tour is also informative and is delivered by knowledgeable Guides. We will make sure to pass on the praise to Reinhard. Best Regards, Big Bus Team Vienna
Written October 12, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 1,301

Big Bus Vienna - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (with Photos)