Casino Wien
9:00 AM - 5:00 AM
Monday
9:00 AM - 5:00 AM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 5:00 AM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 5:00 AM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 5:00 AM
Friday
9:00 AM - 5:00 AM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 5:00 AM
Sunday
9:00 AM - 5:00 AM
About
For the entrance age of majority (18 years) and an official photo identification is obligatory! The flair of Esterhazy Palace combines elegance and a relaxed atmosphere on four floors and provides you with a wide range of games: At the Jackpot Casino on the ground floor gaming is casual. At the elegant Casino on the upper floors you can enjoy a variety of international games. At the Casino Bar we serve you freshly mixed cocktails. Fine dining is offered at the Red & Grey Salon of the casino restaurant "Cuisino". We are looking forward to your visit at Casino Wien!
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

Top ways to experience nearby attractions

The area
Address
Neighborhood: Inner City
In Vienna's best-known district, pedestrian boulevards Kärntner Strasse and Graben connect you with landmarks such as the Wiener Staatsoper (Vienna State Opera), Vienna’s iconic Stephansdom (St. Stephen’s Cathedral) and the vast compound of Hofburg, the Habsburgs’ former Imperial Palace. Peek down side streets such as Annagasse and Weihburggasse, and Graben’s Seilergasse and Habsburggasse, to get a feel for the center. The Imperial Apartments and the refreshingly demystifying Sissi Museum are must-dos at Hofburg. Spacious squares such as Am Hof and Freyung often host beautiful seasonal and antiques markets.
How to get there
  • Stephansplatz • 5 min walk
  • Stephansplatz • 5 min walk
Reach out directly

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.


4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles288 reviews
Excellent
135
Very good
66
Average
26
Poor
20
Terrible
41

Vaja Pshavela
Tbilisi, Georgia2 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2023 • Solo
Casino Wien in central Vienna offered a lackluster experience. The entry fee, returned as play money, was acceptable. However, the need to pay for all beverages, including water and juices, was disappointing compared to other casinos. Limited tables resulted in specific bet sizes, limiting game choices. The casino's focus on monetary gain overshadowed the fun. Despite its location, I don't recommend Casino Wien. The casino has potential, but improvements are necessary for a more enjoyable visit.
Written July 26, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Deat Av-N T! Thank you for your review. It's a pity that you didn't enjoy your time at Casino Wien. We have many groups at our establishment who book our Fun & Friends package. We receive a lot of positive feedback from them. Maybe you will give us a second chance. We wish you all the best! Best regards, Your Casino Wien
Written August 16, 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

FoxyRhino
Leeds, UK302 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2023 • Solo
One of the worst casinos I've been in.

I've never been in a casino worldwide where they only pay 6:5 on blackjack and push the game if dealer hits 22.

All other machines had note acceptors that didn't work. Staff said something about needing a card which wasn't explained to me when I came in and after terrible blackjack rules, didn't feel like finding out how to do it
Written November 27, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear FoxyRhino, thank you for your feedback, which we would like to explain in more detail. Only blackjack tables with a low minimum bet (€10) are offered, which work with the special rules (Push22 and payout 6:5) - the higher the bet, the lower the house edge. Playing with a personalised card at the machines is required by law, which is why the cash machines are blocked until the free card is inserted. We wish you all the best and perhaps you will give us a second chance. Best regards, Your Casino Wien
Written January 22, 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Raymond H
Malaysia1,928 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2012 • Friends
Amazing experience. Why? Because its a casino and i won a lot of money inside. A single EUR20 on an European Roulette yielded me a EUR360 winning number of 27! Awesome luck! Love it. Stephanplatz was a good walk as well
Written June 14, 2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Pebbles2007
Regensburg, Germany46 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2014 • Couples
They didn't honor the deal of paying 27 Euro and getting 30 worth in chips as was advertised and as many reviewers are mentioning. They said we had to come back for a second time to get this. The casino was a complete waste of time and money. A "jacket" is required for men (not on the first floor) but the place is a dump. Minimal amount of slot machines and tables on the first floor. Please, please don't waste your time and money here. It is not worth it. Drink prices at the bar are ridiculous.
Written December 22, 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

LastStepOnTheRoad
Tehran, Iran84 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2017 • Couples
Me and wife wanted to have some fun in out last night in vienna so we chose this casino... at reception we were asked if we want to go for tables or machines which machines was our choice. Although I told that it was our first visit , they did not say that we could go upstairs and they showed us the machines downstairs. That area was awful , not like no other casinos I have ever seen... the person who should cash your card was super rude... we only ran our way out of that bad atmosphere and wished we've never came into it at first place...
Written March 27, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear LastStepOnTheRoad, we are very sorry for your bad experience at Casino Wien and please believe us, that no one recommended you our beautiful area upstairs is very unusal. The ground floor is definately just a gambling spot with no dresscode. Upstairs we offer two very elegant and stylish floors with a beautiful restaurant and bar. Also we are offering gaming explanations and tours through the whole Esterhazy Palace. Again we are very sorry for this happening and hope that you enjoyed your trip to Vienna nevertheless. Maybe next time you give us a second chance... All the best from Vienna, Julia Steiner (Marketing & Sales Manager)
Written March 29, 2017
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Robbie D
Brussels, Belgium10 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2015 • Solo
I'll start by caveating that I actually won overall at this casino, so my review has nothing to do with the typical people who lose and try to blame it on the casino. I live in Brussels but travel almost every week for work so have been to my fair share of casinos in Europe, and this one is by far the worst I've been to. There are very valid, tangible reasons for why this casino is terrible, so let me explain:

1) Blackjack odds - for some reason, they've changed the odds of Blackjack (when you actually get an Ace and 10 on your first 2 cards) and they only pay 6:5 on it, instead of 3:2. So if you bet 10 Euro and hit blackjack, you only get 12 Euro instead of 15 (and do the math - it's obviously a bigger cheat if you're betting more). I asked the dealer why they did this and he said he didn't know (I mean, obviously they're trying to screw the player more but offer some sort of reason). This is at least the rules in the downstairs area, which brings me to.....

2) They only have 1 Blackjack table in the downstairs area. There's evidently an upstairs area, which I was told has your typical Blackjack odds, but they enforce a dress code for up there (no shorts/blazer required). Which you know what, is fine if you're trying to establish yourself as a high-end, respectable gambling establishment. A few problems with that though: 1) you're handing out plastic chips (yes, seriously they're plastic chips like the chips you'd play poker with in high school with your friends in your mom's basement), 2) you don't offer any other options besides the one Blackjack table downstairs (it's not like I would have 4 tables to pick from if I wasn't going upstairs), but mainly 3) IT WAS 37 DEGREES OUTSIDE.....who in their right mind would be walking around with blue jeans and a blazer on in that kind of heat? In other words, you can't dress comfortably and get into their upstairs where evidently they offer a normal casino.

All of this being said, I would have given them probably 3 stars until my experience on my last night. As for that though......

3) I get in (obviously 'trapped' in the downstairs) and go to the only BlackJack table, which has 4 open seats at it. I see that and think 'awesome, there's weirdly not a queue for the only Blackjack table'. I sit down in one of the seats, only to be immediately interrupted by a casino employee who says 'excuse me sir, we're trying to reserve 4 seats for 4 people who are coming down from the upstairs area'. I don't argue, get up, and think 'man, it's a little strange they're trying to reserve 4 seats for some people who were upstairs. These guys must be high rollers'. At the same time, I'm thinking 'why the hell are they leaving the upstairs area for down here?' After about 15 minutes, the 4 individuals finally come to claim their seats and no joke......it's 4 freaking teenagers. And they were all playing with the 30 Euro in chips they were forced to buy on their way in (see other people's reviews). And they literally had no idea on how to play Blackjack. I mean, they were playing backwards Blackjack - hitting on 14 vs a dealer's 6 card showing and staying on 12 vs. a dealer's face card showing. The entire table was flabbergasted. Which leads me to believe 1 of 2 things as to why this occurred - 1) they were friends of the casino employee who reserved them seats or 2) the casino employee knew they were terrible Blackjack players so wanted to make sure they had seats at the table so they could take their money. I doubt it was 2) because every single player but one only lost the 30 Euro in chips they had to purchase on the way in...and the 4th only bought in (and lost) 20 Euro more. So logic leads me to believe the likely scenario is 1). Which is totally inexcusable for a casino, especially when the specially treated players are betting less than the person (and people) who were trying to sit down at the table.

All that to be said, this place is obviously a terribly run establishment. I definitely won't make an effort to stop by here the next time I'm in Vienna.
Written August 8, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Mr. Robbie D, thank you very much that you took some of your time to review us on Tripadvisor. We are very sorry that you obviously had not a perfect visit at Casino Wien. We can assure you that high service standards, friendliness of our staff and an attractive ambience to all of our guests are very important to us. So please let us answer your points: The Jackpot Café downstairs is our casual (no dresscode) area with focus on slot games. There we started offering just a few table games but due to the demand it is and will stay a slot machine gaming area. Our versatile offer on life game (Black Jack, Roulette, Punto Banco and more) you can find upstairs in the elegant gaming area. The Casino Wien is situated in the Palais Esterhazy, the oldest building on Kärntner Straße and at the first and second floor we are presenting a very elegant and charming atmosphere to our guests. Since November we have a new restaurant in a modern and very chic style with high cuisine. And mid of October we are presenting our rebuild and very stylish gaming area at 2nd floor (at the moment under construction). So we definitely are a respectable gambling establishment and this is also the reason for a dresscode at the upper floors. Please let me rectify our dresscode guidelines: Our motto is “classy & neat”, so long trousers and closed shoes are obligatory for men the whole year. In summer there is no jacket required. But if you have no jacket than we ask at least for a shirt. So we ask you for your understanding concerning the dresscode in our house and are very sorry that you didn’t have the chance to visit our upper floors. We are sure that you would not be disappointed. Concerning your last point we really apologise – this should not happen and is not our current handling method. Unfortunately we are not able to reconstruct the situation, but please be sure that we transferred your feedback to our gaming staff and we are in charge of doing more trainings to avoid such situations in future. Thank you for your useful feedback which we take seriously! Dear Mr. Robbie D, we really hope that you give us a second chance to convince you that we are a small but a charming casino with high service standards. We are sure that you will like our upper floors and gaming offers – hope to see you again! All the best from Vienna, Julia Steiner Marketing & Sales Manager
Written August 18, 2015
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

kon2000
0 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
If you like to spend some time in a real casino...this is the place to go. Many tables and slotmachines...and maybe you will win some money to have a good time in vienna...like me and my friends
Written January 21, 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Neehitjain
Jaipur, India637 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2018 • Couples
They charge 30 euros.
They give you nothing.
No chairs to sit. No water even. If you ask , you have to go till bar. Roulette dealers are unprofessional and they make you play however they want. No mastercard american express is accepted.
No smiley faces. All sick old retired people are here.
Written June 15, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Neehitjain, we are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at Casino Wien. Please be sure that best service quality and friendliness of our staff to our guests is most important to us. We will forward your feedback to improve our service. Nevertheless we hope that you had a great stay at Vienna! Maybe next time you give us a second chance, we would be happy about it! Best regards, Marketing Team
Written June 18, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

SamerSa
Haifa, Israel42 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2016
Nice place to spends night , first drink free, class and not crowded with locals
30 euro entrance fee , they return back with chips to play
Recommended
Written March 31, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear SamerSa, thank you very much for your great feedback, we are very happy that you enjoyed your visit at Casino Wien. We hope to see you again soon! Best regards from Vienna, Julia Steiner
Written April 4, 2016
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Susan M.D
New Zealand1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2019 • Friends
I went this Saturday 11/05/2019 to the Restaurant
CUISINO in Casino Vienna, I went with a colleagues who lives in Vienna, and we went together to try the food and we ordered a large table because we were more than 5 people and we were exited to eat again and put our opinion in our American magazine. I will not extend much, looking on the past from the Restaurant, which I went last November 2018, I saw that was on the 1st position for long time in all Vienna, but looking my bad experience I had this Saturday is something like horrible, not even deserves the position is now. The only thing good that they have is the service, we took the Menu Rouge and Noir, starters were quite poor and the Green asparagus was not much tasty, the mousse just tasted water with some green colour and the Tuna with sesame was over cooked and dry, I took the Consommé, just looks like they boiled vegetable for long time, not a herbs taste, the white asparagus Soup was a bit sour, nothing to say. Main Course, the Halibut fish very tasty with the accompaniment, but the green pepper crust was hard and not tasty, the Beiried it tasted really good, but I am not sure if the Jus was homemade or was made from powder, but taste really good, had a fat finger print from the cook in the dish and the next problem came when they took the dishes away, was a mark from the dish on the tablecloth, looks like the place where the chef works is dirty, embarrassing moment and the waiter didn’t say anything. To finish the Dessert very sweet, very sour, not for me, I saw better desserts and with more good combination and the best part was a long hair and I don’t know but some colleagues notice that the dessert from the Coconut chocolat tasted like smoke from cigarette
What can I say?
We were not really happy
Have a nice day
Written May 14, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear SusanMDamerica, thank you for your detailed feedback. Obviously, this evening did not work out perfectly. Sometimes food is a matter of taste and parts of our monthly changing menu did not reach your expectations. We already got a lot of positive feedback for these dishes. We just can assure you that our products are all from highest quality and freshness. So, it is also incomprehensible to us that your dessert tasted of cigarette smoke. Maybe the flamed pineapple pieces, which are part of the dessert, were too smoky and overrun the rest of the dessert. I have passed on your feedback to our Cuisino restaurant team regarding the mark of the plate on the tablecloth and the hair in the dessert. Of course, that should not happen, and we will have more of an eye on it to improve us. All in all, if you would have said only a word to our service staff directly at the restaurant we would have reacted immediately when we knew that you were not satisfied. Reviewing us badly afterwards online gives us no chance to make good your bad impression. We always try to make our guests happy and we would have done everything to make you feel comfortable and satisfied. Best regards, Casino Wien - Marketing Team
Written May 17, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 71
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

Casino Wien - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (2024)

Frequently Asked Questions about Casino Wien

Casino Wien is open:
  • Sun - Sat 9:00 AM - 5:00 AM


Restaurants near Casino Wien: View all restaurants near Casino Wien on Tripadvisor

All Vienna HotelsVienna Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Vienna
All things to do in Vienna
RestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars