We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Stobo Castle Health Spa

Certificate of Excellence
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Stobo EH45 8NY, Scotland
Phone Number: +44 1721 725300
Website
Description:

Nestled among the beautiful Scottish Borders countryside, Stobo Castle...

Nestled among the beautiful Scottish Borders countryside, Stobo Castle offers excellent service, fine food, elegantly trained staff and above all, the ability to find peace in a frenetic world.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 353 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 258
    Excellent
  • 54
    Very good
  • 24
    Average
  • 10
    Poor
  • 6
    Terrible
Very Relaxing Weekend Break

Went with a group of four friends for a relaxing girls weekend. We had all enjoyed spa days at Stobo before but staying for the residential 'Pure Spa Break' was a lovely indulgent... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed 5 days ago
gill600
,
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

353 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 352: English reviews
Glasgow
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

This was my first visit to Stobo where I stayed overnight in the "Deluxe Lennox Room" within the castle. To start with.....the positives; the hotel is situated in wonderful surrounding with several lovely walks including the Japanese garden and the "Hillwalk" (we followed the yellow route which took around 1hr). The room was nicely decorated & spacious. The beds were... More 

Helpful?
Thank claire a
Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo Castle Health Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your very balanced review, following your overnight stay at Stobo. From the outset, I would like to apologise for the uncomfortable nights' sleep you had due to the particularly warm weather we have experienced recently. The issue with the window in your room has been passed on to our maintenance team for their immediate attention.... More 

St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Went with a group of four friends for a relaxing girls weekend. We had all enjoyed spa days at Stobo before but staying for the residential 'Pure Spa Break' was a lovely indulgent break. We stayed in the Castle Lodge and the rooms were spacious and comfortable with a nice range of Molton Brown toiletries provided, Spa facilities and therapists... More 

Helpful?
Thank gill600
Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo Castle Health Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We were all delighted to read your very welcome review, following your weekend stay at Stobo. However, huge apologies for the odour in the Ladies Health Suite - immediate steps have been taken to rectify this and plans are in place to re-tile the whole area in the near future. Many thanks for your high praise of James... More 

Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

All I can say is fabulous. What a relaxing afternoon we had. Next time I hope to stay longer. Perfect for a treat with friends or a special occasion

Helpful?
Thank Lorna M
Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo Castle Health Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for posting such kind comments on our TripAdvisor page. I do hope we can welcome you back to Stobo when the time is right for you. Kind regards, More 

Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My second visit here as I mentioned in my first review that I'd hopefully return with my partner and today we did just that! We opted for the 'lazy afternoon' 2-6pm package with afternoon tea and it suited us fine. No treatments included, we booked a back massage each. This was the only disappointment for me really as the masseuse... More 

Helpful?
Thank IvyFlood
Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo Castle Health Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking your time to post a review following your recent Lazy Afternoon at Stobo, in the company of your partner. I do apologise for the apparent lapse in standard of your treatment – your feedback has been passed on to the spa for further investigation. On a more positive note, I am so pleased you... More 

Comrie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My daughter and I had a wonderful day. From the moment we arrived the staff were friendly and helpful. The treatments were great and all the spa facilities were beautiful. We enjoyed our lunch which was included in the package. All in all a great day a well worth the money. We will be back !

Helpful?
Thank goldengoose50
Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo Castle Health Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your lovely review. I was so pleased to hear you found the experience enjoyable and value for money. See you again at the castle soon! Best wishes, More 

Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at stobo last year for two nights for my honeymoon and returned this year for our anniversary. Cannot fault anything at all about our stay. The food was wonderful, the staff were polite and welcoming , a special mention to James Leslie who served us on this stay and our previous stay, always looking to go that extra mile... More 

Helpful?
Thank Liz B
Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo Castle Health Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for choosing to spend such special occasions at Stobo Castle! Thanks also for your kind comments - James will be delighted to read your high praise, he really is a hugely valued member of the team. Looking forward to the pleasure of seeing you again at the castle. Kind regards More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A wonderful relaxing experience. Everything is designed to make sure you feel relaxed and special from the moment you walk through the door. My only slight query was that you change into your robe in a changing room quite far away from where all the 'wet' activities happen which felt strange and meant a bit of tooing an froing. Also... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jerseydiamond
Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo Castle Health Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive review following your recent visit to Stobo. I am delighted your overall experience was a "wonderfully relaxing" one and I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Castle in the near future. Kind regards, More 

Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked a stay at Stobo Castle as a treat for my sisters 30th birthday. Having stayed before a few years back I was eager to return as it had been a wonderful stay with no problems. This time I booked into one of the castle rooms so that we would not have to walk outside to get to the spa.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Volantra
Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo Castle Health Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Your very balanced review is much appreciated and I'm so sorry for the wait you experienced in the dining room and coffee shop. I know we have been exceptionally busy over the past few weeks due to the special mid-week offer, however that is no excuse for any delays in service. Our Receptionists would have been more than... More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We have enjoyed staying at Stobo Castle for almost 10 yrs, myself more than my husband but this visit was really fantastic. It was the busiest we had ever seen it but none the less the staff were happy & very very helpful. The whole place is spotless & the new Relaxation Suite was pure bliss. A few guests need... More 

Helpful?
Thank LoveSleepandFood
Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo Castle Health Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your most generous review, I particularly appreciated your kind comments regarding our staff. I'm sorry a few other guests did not adhere to the "Silence is Golden" notice as you enter the Relaxation Suite, we'll certainly keep an eye on this. Delighted to hear we will have the pleasure of your company again in the... More 

Cornwall, UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Fantastic... A truly great place to stay, and enjoy the pleasures of Scotland and surrounding scenery. .....

Helpful?
Thank duncanmel
Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo Castle Health Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, You're absolutely right! We are very lucky to be situated in such beautiful countryside. Thank you for joining us recently and hope you had a safe trip home. Kind regards More 

Travelers who viewed Stobo Castle Health Spa also viewed

Alexandria, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Stobo Castle Health Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Stobo Castle Health Spa and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Stobo Castle Health Spa staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?