We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Reykjavik Sailors

Features Animals
Closed Now: 9:30 AM - 6:00 PM
Open today: 9:30 AM - 6:00 PM
Book In Advance
Tours from Reykjavik Sailors tend to sell out - travelers recommend booking in advance!
All photos (182)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveler Overview
  • Excellent75%
  • Very good19%
  • Average1%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible4%
Travelers talk about
Experience the best Iceland has to offer. We offer a wide range of fun activities at sea including Whale Watching, Northern Lights, Sea angling, Puffin tours and of course our new tour Creatures of the sea where we taste the catch of the day...more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 9:30 AM - 6:00 PM
See all hours
Hlesgata vesturbugt, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
+354 571 2222
Improve This Listing
Ways to Experience Reykjavik Sailors
from $165.00
More Info
from $85.00
More Info
from $89.00
More Info
Reviews (241)
Filter reviews
213 results
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
More languages
Show reviews that mention
All reviews whale watching tour minke whales great whale watching northern lights crew members great boat boat trip finding whales dorsal fin cold weather gear warm jumpsuits set sail sea sickness great trip water proof top deck cod
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 213 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We booked this trip but didn't expect to see much as we knew November is out of season for the best time to see whales. Well we were pleasantly surprised! We seen at least 3 humpbacks and one of them even breached 3 times which...More

1  Thank savannahsunset
Reviewed November 4, 2018 via mobile

After reading lots of reviews we decided to book with this company and we weren't disappointed. The weather was rough but we took the sea sickness tablet, so we were okay. Don't understand why people don't when the guides obviously know they are needed. It...More

1  Thank 298felicityw
Reviewed October 14, 2018 via mobile

Myself and son went on this trip 13th Oct morning after our earlier one had been cancelled due to bad weather . Wow so glad we could go yesterday - you can’t book what you’ll see but we were treated to Minke whales and podbof...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank jewdrops
Reviewed October 6, 2018 via mobile

It was a wonderful and enchanting experience for the views and this being my first cruise. The provided gear to keep from being drenched or freezing was a life saver, I would reccomend some sort of eye protection from either sun or wind/water blowing in...More

5  Thank Miah C
Reviewed October 2, 2018

1st one was a random event as my flight out was delayed by a volcano and happened to have dinner with a guy who worked on a fast boat and he invited me out. Awesome! 2nd one felt like a waste of time. I'd offered...More

Date of experience: July 2018
2  Thank billfeeny
Reviewed September 28, 2018 via mobile

It's relaxing and we did see some porpoises, they are wild animals and don't just magically appear so I really enjoyed it and if you like me scared of the ocean don't worry the boat is a good size so it makes it less traumatic...More

1  Thank missbb1988
Reviewed September 26, 2018

The original company cancelled and sent us out with another company on an already packed boat that started later and held up my day. Plus, we did not see anything.More

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Jeff K
ReykjavikSailors, Front Desk at Reykjavik Sailors, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear Jeff K, Thanks for review us. We are a bit confused about that, as we don't know in which company were you in the beginning to be sent to us; also, our departures are quite sharp and they use to departure on time. About...More

Reviewed September 24, 2018

We did a Northern Lights tour with them, which is try to see the Lights by boat. They had a great selection of food, and also had full rain slickers for us to wear if we wanted. The weather turned bad, 40 miles an hour...More

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank raininroses
ReykjavikSailors, Front Desk at Reykjavik Sailors, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear raininroses, Thanks for rating us. You are totally right, forecast sometimes tricks us and we are happy to know that despite the weather turned bad (in this country changes quite easily) you had a nice time with us. You know you can come again...More

Reviewed September 24, 2018

I had very low expectations as far as actually spotting whales as it can be hit or miss but we really lucked out. We saw tons of dolphins and many Minke Whales. We also saw a pod (or two) of dolphins feeding in the same...More

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Heather B
ReykjavikSailors, Front Desk at Reykjavik Sailors, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear Heather B, Thank you very much for sharing your experience. We feel really happy knowing that you had a very good time with us watching the whales, the dolphins, the birds and all the wildlife in general. The guides love their work and they...More

Reviewed September 18, 2018

This tour started out really well, the sun was shining and we were really enjoying being out on the water... until the boat hit top speed. We had been warned that the sea was rough on that day, but it was like being on a...More

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Claire T
ReykjavikSailors, Front Desk at Reykjavik Sailors, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear Claire T, Thanks for contacting us. We are sorry about your experience, when it is rough many people get sea sickness, even if they are on big ships. Some passengers bring their own medicine or remedies against sea sickness, but of course, the sea...More

View more reviews
Nearby HotelsSee all 56 nearby hotels
Reykjavik Marina Residence
38 reviews
.09 miles away
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina
2,523 reviews
.10 miles away
Exeter Hotel by Keahotels
51 reviews
.20 miles away
Black Pearl - Reykjavik Finest Apartments
354 reviews
.22 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 575 nearby restaurants
Lamb street food
142 reviews
.11 miles away
1,205 reviews
.11 miles away
The Coocoo's Nest
242 reviews
.09 miles away
446 reviews
.11 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 747 nearby attractions
Reykjavik Viking Adventure
19 reviews
.10 miles away
Aurora Reykjavik
1,432 reviews
.12 miles away
Reykjavik Maritime Museum
588 reviews
.08 miles away
6 reviews
.15 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Linda M
May 6, 2018|
Response from ReykjavikSailors | Property representative |
Dear Linda, Thanks for contacting us. We can see that you are in our passenger list. But as you made your booking through Viator, please, contact them to receive your voucher. I hope this information is helpful and if you... More
April 30, 2018|
Response from ReykjavikSailors | Property representative |
Hello, Thanks for contacting us :) Thanks for letting us know and sorry for our late reply. We are fixing it. Anyway, if you book it it will be for 1PM, because we only have Whale Watching tours at 9:AM and 1:PM. Best... More
January 22, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from TracyTraveller123 | Reviewed this property |
Contact the company?