Into The Glacier
Nature & Wildlife Tours • Day Trips
Read more
About
Into the glacier offers various tours to the Iceland‘s most significant new attraction, the man – made ice cave. The ice tunnel and the caves are located high on Europe‘s second largest glacier, Langjokull. You will get an amazing opportunity to explore the glacier and see it from the inside. This is once in a lifetime experience where you will be taken to the hidden beautiful ice. Daily departure
Reykjavik, Iceland

Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Into The Glacier
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor
Want other options you can book now?
Show options
Travelers talk about
(195 reviews)
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

4.5
1,210 reviews
Excellent
924
Very good
180
Average
48
Poor
30
Terrible
28

TeamTownsend
Skipton, England, United Kingdom10 contributions
Sep 2021
We arrived at Hotel Húsafell with snow and high winds accompanying us. We were interested in taking the Into the Glacier tour but on enquiry our first day was informed the tours for that day had been cancelled due to the challenging weather and it was unclear whether the tours would proceed the next day either. We booked the afternoon tour for the next day anyway just in case they could run, and we are so very glad we did. Fortunately for us, the afternoon tour did make it up the glacier to the tunnel. Although we did get stopped by the snow accumulation many times, the very skilled drivers got us through and that all just added to the thrill of the expedition. Once on the glacier we were travelling in white out conditions so didn't see the outside view, but that didn't make us feel like we weren't getting value for money at any time. Navigating by GPS lent it's own excitement. We'd like to give a special mention to our fantastic tour guide Adrian whose enthusiasm, calm demeanor, humour, and knowledge made the trip even that more special. Even if we wouldn't have made it to the tunnel, we wouldn't have requested a refund as the trip up, the scenery (for the first part), and the knowledge shared were worth it. Of course, being inside the glacier is a very unique experience where we learned about moulins, the different layers of a glacier, the different types of glacier and even got to see a crevasse from the bottom looking up. On an environmental note, the glacier is constantly re-growing inside so this is not a permanent disruption of nature and we felt the opportunity for education justified the tour. Adrian was passionate about the evidence of significant climate issues, but understandably didn't push it overly much as I'm sure he needs to be sensitive to the views of the customers as well. All around an amazing experience we were happy to have and will remember until our memories are no more.
Written October 2, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear TeamTownsend, Thank you so much for taking the time out and writing such a detailed review. We appreciate that a lot. We are very happy to hear that you had and unforgettable adventure! Even though there were some changes because of the challenging weather... We say a huge thank you for your patience and understanding. Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us and the community! It's so great to know that you had not only a great time and enjoyed the guide company but also you had an informative time. Once again we want to say thank you for leaving such a detailed and positive feedback. Then again, we want to say a huge thank you for your patience and understanding. We do hope to see you soon again on one of our tours so we could explore more of Iceland and make unforgettable memories together! Warm wishes from Iceland.
Written October 4, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Elina Michaelidou
London, UK413 contributions
Aug 2021
This was an interesting experience with the coolest part being the transportation in the big trucks. The actual time inside the cave was much less than the advertised tour duration, but it still felt enough.

We got the tour that departed from Husafell, so we drove there and then took the shuttle to the base camp, where we were given waterproof clothing and shoes before getting with the modified vehicles to the cave entrance.

Inside the cave, we were given a pair of crampons to put on our shoes and the guide showed us around the different rooms and told us more about how they created the cave.

The cave was dripping a lot and even some rooms were flooded and we couldn't see them but the waterproof clothing we were given helped us stay dry inside the cave.
Written January 12, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear Elinamic, Wow, we were blown away by your positive words, we really appreciate the time you took to write such a detailed review! We are very happy to know you had a great time with us! It's an experience like no other. Hope to have you back soon for another memorable adventure. Greetings from Iceland.
Written January 13, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

andersbj81
Asker, Norway31 contributions
Jul 2021 • Family
We went with three kids from Husafell. The bus ride up to the basecamp was fairly long and uncomfortable, and the bus was delayed going down so we had to wait nearly an hour, I recommend using your own car instead. Also, the personell at the base camp was kind of grumpy.

The experience itself, however, was amazing and other-worldly, albeit somewhat uncomfortable with lots of meltwater raining down, so be prepared for that (they give you a raincoat if you haven’t brought one, but it might not fit)
The guide, Eva, was great and I’m very happy we went.

Final recommendation, don’t bring kids <5 years, it ended up being a bit much for our 3 year old, but 5 year old loved it.
Written July 10, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear Andersbj81, Thank you for posting your review. Although we are sad to see that we did not fully met your expectations, we say thank you for taking the time to point out what you did not like as that is something we can improve upon. Sorry for any inconvenience caused. We are more than happy to know that not everything went bad for you while on the tour with us and that the experience itself was amazing and other-worldly. We always aim to deliver a great experience, and we are gutted when we don’t meet expectations. Thanks for taking the time to bring this to our attention. We will use the feedback to make us better and to ensure this doesn’t happen again. Best regards, Erika
Written July 15, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Bryndís E
2 contributions
Mar 2022 • Family
Terrible experience! We took off in great weather from Hótel Húsafell and the trip began good. This was the first trip they went on for two days so the driving conditions were heavy and snowy. Me being an Icelander am used to this so it did not bother me that much. What did bother me though was that after trying to get up to the cave for 3,5 hours (normally it takes 1,5 hours) they did not turn around. Also our bus was old and broke down on the glacier so we were stuck in the bus for maybe 2 hours. After 5 hours of this we finally made it up to the cave, where we went out and saw the entrance of the cave, we returned back to our broken down bus to go back. They had sent another truck to come and pick us up, but we were still hauled back to the old bus for some reason, until that bus broke down AGAIN and we were finally moved to the new bus.
On the way down our bus got stuck AGAIN, and after trying to get it loose they finally sent a new bus to come pick us up. We waited in that bus for maybe 2-3hours until we were picked up and brought back to the hotel at 12 pm.
Not only did the trip take 12 hours total, they did not have any water or food (just some chocolate candy bars) in case of something like this happening.
On top of everything else, our guide Kristín was horrible! She had now control over the situation, she did not give any updates on what was happening, and she spoke terrible English.
I am so appalled by all of this that I am NEVER going to recommend this to anyone and I hope that this company will take this review to heart and train their guides better and at least have emergency water bottles and something to eat in case of this happening.
Written March 13, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear 43brynd_se, Thank you so much for reaching out to us and sharing your experience. We would like to begin by apologizing for the experience you had to go through. We assure you that our customer's safety is a number one priority and we will never operate our tours if that will put the customer's safety at risk. Unfortunately, Iceland is also famous for unpredictable and sometimes notorious weather conditions and even the best-planned tours might get disrupted. We also apologize for how the situation has been handled by our guide. Our guides are specially trained for situations like this and the experience you have described by no means meets the level and standard of our service. We confirm your review has been added to the detailed report of the events from that day and passed to our operations team. Should you like to discuss this matter in more detail, we kindly recommend sending an email to info@intotheglacier.is.
Written March 30, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

AdrianB31965
London, UK16 contributions
Aug 2022 • Family
We had a great time on the trip with our young
children (both under 10). What really made the trip was our fantastic guide, Aslaug (sp?). A young geophysics student, she was hilarious, informative and very clear in her explanations
- excellent for both adults and children. The jackets, shoe covers and cleats provided by the company also were very good. The only reason this is not five stars is the experience we had beforehand. We had booked the 10am trip but were sent an email at midnight which we missed due to having to leave the hotel early with our kids for the 2.5 hr drive. The customer service were not forthcoming with details of the likelihood of the later tour going ahead so we were left with a stressful decision as to whether we wait 5 hours or leave straightaway. We did decide to stay as it is a once in a lifetime experience.
Written August 7, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear AdrianB31965, Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are sorry to hear the experience with our customer care teamdid not match your expectations. We have passed your remarks to our Product Manager and Operations Team as it helps us to improve our products and services and avoid similar experiences in the future. We are happy to hear you had a lovely time with our guide and enjoyed the tour after all. Warm wishes from Iceland.
Written August 9, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

JR6
3 contributions
Sep 2021
This is a really cool experience. You take a bus to the foot of the glacier, then ride up the ice in some kind of huge vehicle. Along the way, the guide points out the features you're driving over.

Once at the cave, you get plenty of time inside, and the guide explains all the different things you're seeing. The cave is artificial, but you learn about how the glacier is constantly moving things around inside.

The guides talk about climate change and point out the rapid retreat of the glacier, but they seemed afraid to talk about real solutions. And, of course, driving on glaciers and making big artificial holes in them is not helping. If you don't think it's necessary to see something yourself in order to care about it and want to save it, you may feel better taking a pass on this tour.

If you do go, it's not actually very cold in the cave, and it also isn't icy (in the sense that it isn't difficult to walk around). The guides are friendly and helpful. Definitely a fascinating and unique experience.
Written September 21, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear JR6travels, Thank you for a positive feedback. We are glad you have enjoyed inside the glacier. This is what man made ice tunnel is unique for. The primary difference between the Into the Glacier ice tunnel and other ice caves in Iceland is location. Natural ice caves are typically found on the edges of glaciers, carved by glacial rivers, geothermal water, or volcanic activity. The Into the Glacier tunnel, on the other hand, has been man-made high up on the glacial cap, the most stable (and safest) part of the glacier. We hope to have you back soon to explore more of Iceland with us! Greetings from Iceland.
Written September 22, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

wowziewoo
Maryland26 contributions
Jun 2022
Husband was sketched out by the drive up. That dirt/gravel road feels LONG and looks like it's going into the middle of nowhere, like it's never going to end. You don't see any structures until the last 2 minutes. There's also concern about popping a tire. But for us, it was all part of the adventure, and driving allowed us to stop and check out the rocks/water along the route, but in hindsight, would probably have taken the shuttle from Husafell. I think the dirt road took us about 1/2 hour to drive.

Very cool to ride a former missile launcher onto the snow, then to go down into that tunnel. Man-made or not, it's a neat tunnel, and a unique experience, especially if you're there during the summer, when the southern glaciers aren't open.

It is cold, you will want those gloves and a few layers on top. It's also wet - water dripping on you, and you're going to touch the walls, so have water-resistant clothes and gloves. They provide crampons.

We followed this up with the Husafell Canyon Baths in the afternoon, two very different but cool experiences.
Written September 13, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear wowziewoo, Thank you so much for your feedback! We are really glad you enjoyed the time spent with our amazing team in Iceland. We are looking forward to seeing you soon again for another great adventure! Your review means a lot to us and lets us know we’re on the right track! Warm wishes from Iceland.
Written September 14, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

afemarques
3 contributions
Mar 2022 • Couples
On the way up to the glacier everything went fine; 2 hours travel with great weather. Then the Glacier Cave itself is really really beautiful and everything seemed to be going towards close to perfect experience.
The problem was on the way back to Husafell. We know that weather changes can happen and the bus ended up by getting stuck in the snow. The problem is that we stayed stuck 5hours in the middle of nowhere with a guide that did not give us enough information and handled the situation/communication with the 40 people in the tour group in a very very poor way. All backup plans were for other bus to get us from there and several were also stuck in the way and so we remained there for 5hours with poor to no information and without any contingency plan rather than other buses to keep coming and trying…and we knew the day after there would be a big storm (orange alert). Fortunately after several tries we were able to switch bus and went down…in total 12hours of tour and unfortunately we lost the northern lights tour we had planned…never to repeat again! The way everything was managed was unbelievable!
Written March 17, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear afemarques, Thank you so much for reaching out to us and sharing your experience. We would like to begin by apologizing for the experience you had to go through. We assure you that our customer's safety is a number one priority and we will never operate our tours if that will put the customer's safety at risk. Unfortunately, Iceland is also famous for unpredictable and sometimes notorious weather conditions and even the best-planned tours might get disrupted. We are also terribly sorry you had to miss out on the experience of the northern lights. We confirm your review has been added to the detailed report of the events from that day and passed to our operations team. Should you like to discuss this matter in more detail, we kindly recommend sending an email to info@intotheglacier.is.
Written March 30, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Martha M
143 contributions
Oct 2021
This was a once in a lifetime experience. Our favorite thing in Iceland. Worth every penny and the journey to and from. We were staying by Geysir and the drive out we hit snow and had to go the long way, and as a result missed our AM start time. They were so incredibly nice and put us on the PM tour.
The bus that takes you out there is an adventure. They do warn you that it's weather permitting, so understand that going in. If they have to cancel, it's because they care about your safety. This is no joke. It took several hours to traverse and get over the glacier to the entry but what a journey it was.
Inside they have drilled out this amazing cavernous tour lit up by LED lights and you put on crampons. Promise it's not that hard. There were young and old on our tour. And our guide Adrien, i can't say enough about him! He helped us each with our shoes. He gave a woman who was cold his coat and gloves. He took pictures of everyone. Cheerful, knowledgeable, and enthusiastic about his job and culture, he MADE the journey. We took so many cool photos inside and loved every minute.
They had to literally dig a tunnel out of the snow for us to leave, and then it takes a few hours back.
This is a full day adventure but you'll enjoy every minute. Wear ski/snow gear!!!
Written February 26, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear 979martham, Thank you so much for taking the time to share this 5-star review with our team! We are happy you have enjoyed your time with us. Your review means a lot to us and lets us know we’re on the right track! Greetings from Iceland.
Written February 28, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Ch T
2 contributions
Jul 2022
An unbelievable experience that will definitely recommend to anyone that wants to visit Iceland. Felt like I was part of a National Geographic crew. Not only was it informative about the nature of glaciers and their evolution throughout the years but also incrediblly fun, a value for money. Hats off to the tour guide with her great sense of humor.
Written October 25, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear 341cht, Thanks a lot for taking the time to share your feedback. We are glad to know you had a great time with us. We hope to have you back soon for more memorable adventures! Warm wishes from Iceland
Written October 26, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 1,074

Into The Glacier (Reykjavik) - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go