We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Icelandic Riding

Features Animals
Reykjavik, Iceland
More
About Icelandic Riding
Icelandic riding is a small family business in Reykjavik/Mosfellsbær that offers authentic experience on horseback. We are happy to have both experienced and less experienced riders. Our tours are private to ensure more personal experience and so we can customise the riding to our guests needs. Come and join us for a local riding experience!
Read more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 8:00 AM - 10:00 PM
See all hours
Travelers talk about
147Reviews6Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 140
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
  • 1
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Rachael A wrote a review Sep 2021
1 contribution
This was everything I could have hoped for! Our guide Linnie was so wonderful and gave great instructions. My boyfriend had really only been on a horse once in the last 10 years and he did great! Really suitable for riders of every ability. The horses are beautiful and very sweet. Incredible views; we felt like we were in Lord of the Rings. I could not recommend this tour more!!
Read more
Date of experience: September 2021
Helpful
Share
lorp365 wrote a review Sep 2021
28 contributions38 helpful votes
My husband and I truly enjoyed our ride with Linnea. The horses are well trained for any level of rider. If you want a personal, private ride, this is the place to go. Linnea took photos for us and answered any questions we had. I ride a lot and my husband rarely rides, but each horse was suited for us. We had lots of fun and wish we could have done it again in our short week in Iceland. We loved Frosty and Freyr.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2021
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
sarah s wrote a review Sep 2021
10 contributions5 helpful votes
My husband and I did quite a bit of research before settling on this particular tour, primarily because it was clear that this was a small operation and the horses were well cared for and happy. The experience itself exceeded our expectations - Jonina and Linnea (our guide) were delightful to work with and the horses were so sweet and gentle. My favorite part was getting to brush the horses before we saddled up and headed out into the countryside - which was just gorgeous! We learned a lot about proper riding and the surrounding area, and just generally enjoyed chatting with Linnea during the tour - our only regret is that we didn't book a longer ride!
Read more
Date of experience: September 2021
Helpful
Share
Ben L wrote a review Aug 2021
Woodinville, Washington16 contributions5 helpful votes
Due to flight delays, we missed our original planned hike and had hoped to reschedule, which was totally okay as we knew it might not be possible. However, they told us that they were fully booked and could not accommodate any changes (which would have been fine) even though it was very easy to check online and see there was plenty of availability and that they were holding out in hopes of selling tickets instead. Don't mind that they couldn't accommodate, but the dishonesty with the process and stringing us along until the last minute instead of simply saying no was very disappointing. Being full would have been fine, missing our first flight was no ones fault but the airlines being delayed, but no one respects a liar.
Read more
Date of experience: August 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Reiðtur I, Owner at Icelandic Riding
Responded Sep 8, 2021
We are very saddened by this review. We did all we could to try to reschedule the tour. We contacted other guests trying to make changes that would result in a spot for everyone. We also contacted former staff members to see if the could with such a short notice take a tour with these guests. Unfortunately we were not successful and the time frame was short so there was not a lot we could do, but we tried and we let the guest know from the beginning that due to the numbers of bookings we might not be able to arrange a new tour, but we would try and keep them posted. Im not sure if the online calendar was showing openings, there was for sure no openings the weekend in question, both guides and guests can verify that. Im sad to be called a liar, but I think this is due to some misunderstanding and I hope that it won't happen again. At least I will try to find away to make sure our online calendar is more up to date if I possibly can. We take a great pride in our tiny little horse rental, our guests and their opinion matters a lot to us and I hope this review will be the only one star we will ever receive. Looking forward to meeting new travellers and horse lovers! Yours sincerely, Jónína Sif
Read more
Doug A wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
The horse experience in Iceland is so different than the states. It was fun and beautiful at the same time. Our guide was awesome and the day was sunny so the views were amazing. So fun.
Read more
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456