We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Aurora Reykjavik

1,695 Reviews

Aurora Reykjavik

1,695 Reviews
Get the full experience and book a tour
Recommended
Our most popular tours and activities
Admission Tickets
Secure your entry and avoid ticket lines
Tours & Sightseeing
Browse our largest collection of experiences
Transfers & Ground Transport
No stress transit for your arrival and departure
•••
Browse
Northern Lights Bus Tour from Reykjavik
$50.17 per adult
Popular: Booked by 963 travelers!
Northern Lights Bus DELUXE from Reykjavik
$189.90 per adult
See more
Full view
Location
Contact
Grandagardur 2 aurora Reykjavik, Reykjavik 101 Iceland
Get to know the area
Golden Circle, Kerid Volcanic Crater, and Blue Lagoon Day Trip from Reykjavik
Day Trips

Golden Circle, Kerid Volcanic Crater, and Blue Lagoon Day Trip from Reykjavik

740 reviews
This day trip to the Golden Circle from Reykjavik is a stress-free way to see some of Iceland’s most beautiful attractions. Don’t worry about mapping out an itinerary: Let your guide and driver take you to Kerid crater, the Blue Lagoon, Gullfoss waterfall, and more. Plus, your guide explains local history and geology that you wouldn’t learn traveling on your own.
$129.00 per adult
1,695Reviews12Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 792
  • 613
  • 190
  • 72
  • 28
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Rich J wrote a review Oct 2020
Southampton, United Kingdom322 contributions44 helpful votes
Fascinating learning about the history of the Northern Lights and what they mean to other cultures. The science behind why they are there was so interesting and the photos were breath taking.
Read more
Date of experience: June 2020
Helpful
Share
Viking1955 wrote a review Jul 2020
1 contribution
What a great attraction. Fun and informative with beautiful pictures. The host Sebastian was very welcoming and knowledgable which made the experience feel personal.
Read more
Date of experience: July 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Grétar J, Owner at Aurora Reykjavik
Responded Jul 20, 2020
Hello Voyage149971 ! We're really glad you enjoyed your time in our little museum and learnt some useful informations about the northern lights! It feels good to be able to share our passion again, after those few difficult months. We are also very happy you enjoyed our collection of pictures, it means a lot to us! We hope you will have the chance to visit Iceland again when the northern lights are visible : now you are prepared to fully appreciate them. Happy travels, and thanks again! Takk! Grelli
Read more
Jaana S wrote a review Apr 2020
Balsta, Sweden76 contributions35 helpful votes
A good way to catch Aurora, if the conditions are in your favour. Good service with pick up on several places around the city. A nice giftshop and a lot of information about Aurora at the museum. Nice and informative bus driver who took us to a good place spotting Northern Lights, we got to see some modest action as well. This is very weather dependent and they decide if the tour will be done at all during the day. Book as late as possible and keep track of the weather and Aurora forecast if you can. Unfortunately it was a popular place for several companies, but probably you need to pay a lot more to get exclusive.
Read more
Date of experience: February 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Grétar J, Owner at Aurora Reykjavik
Responded Jul 11, 2020
Hæ jaana444! It sounds like you got to attend one of the aurora tours that meets up at our museum! We are so glad that you enjoyed it, and that you had a chance to catch some lights. Lady Aurora is certainly an elusive subject. And you are correct on the weather forecasting- tour guides spend a great deal of time adjusting their plans for various factors like available solar activity, activity spikes, cloud cover, light pollution, and inclement weather. Because of these details, sometimes the plan is adapting even while you´re on the tour! That kind of flexibility is the mark of a seasoned aurora hunter. Because of the length of most tours (3-4 hours average), and the difficulty of cloud cover, it can always be possible that you will encounter other hunters if there is very little clear sky. It is a lot like gathering around the only good window sometimes, in that way. Fortunately (and sometimes unfortunately), we get lots of surprise weather, so it´s always good to plan aurora hunts early in your trip, so that you have as many chances as possible to catch a good window. It´s definitely not a hunt for nothing! Thanks again for sharing your experience, and for paying us a visit. Takk! Grelli
Read more
Helen W wrote a review Mar 2020
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom34 contributions10 helpful votes
We found Aurora Reykjavik really interesting and well worth a visit. The guy on the ticket desk was really good, although he hadn't received official confirmation that our trip was going ahead that evening he still let us in for free as he was sure it would be confirmed (and it was). It was interesting to understand what causes the Norther Lights and we had help setting up our cameras and had our photos taken in front of the Northern Lights.
Read more
Date of experience: March 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Grétar J, Owner at Aurora Reykjavik
Responded Jul 11, 2020
Hi 942helenw! We are so glad that you had a chance to visit, and also that you had a cool experience with our staff. They are definitely a huge part of the Aurora Reykjavik experience. It´s also good to hear that you were able to get your camera set up before the hunt- that can make a big difference! We always suggest setting up beforehand, as it can be a real pain to figure out settings in the field. Hope you got some great shots! Takk! Grelli
Read more
Daniel F wrote a review Mar 2020
Chicago, Illinois15 contributions5 helpful votes
This virtual reality centre was great to allow you to truly see the Aurora when the clouds and weather did not permit the tour to go and see the real thing. I loved the Virtual reality goggles and the information that helped to truly explain this natural phenomenon.
Read more
Date of experience: March 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Grétar J, Manager at Aurora Reykjavik
Responded Jul 11, 2020
Hi danielf249, The clouds really can derail plans here, that is for sure. We are glad you made your way to our museum, though! We like to think it is the next best thing. ;) Thank you for spending some of your time with us, and we hope that we can help you out with your next hunt if you´re ever in the neighborhood. Happy travels! Grelli
Read more
Previous