Salt Eldhus

Salt Eldhus, Reykjavik: Address, Phone Number, Salt Eldhus Reviews: 5/5

About
At Salt Eldhus, (Icelandic for kitchen) we invite you to join us for some delicious fun and a chance to learn about Icelandic food culture first hand. This is a hands on activity where you cook & dine under the supervision of skilled chefs and get rewarded afterwards with the fruits of your labor, accompanied with a glass of wine. We offer both Cook and Dine and Demo & Dine experiences for private groups during the evening.
Suggested duration
More than 3 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

Top ways to experience nearby attractions

Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

5.0
149 reviews
Excellent
139
Very good
4
Average
0
Poor
1
Terrible
5

HintonTN
Nashville, TN455 contributions
Apr 2019 • Couples
I love cooking classes and have taken many in the states as well as Italy. My sweet husband planned our trip to Iceland and registered us for a class at Salt Eldus. It could not have been more fabulous. My husband doesn't cook and he doesn't bake -- but even he loved the class. The owners, Sigurdur and Sirry, could not have been more gracious.So easy to talk to and just so full of knowledge on everything Iceland. We made two fabulous seafood main courses (Arctic char and Cod) with delicious side items served with a lovely white wine. Dessert was an absolutely divine flan served with homemade fruit juice. A local beer was served during the cooking class when we tasted several different Iceland favorites -- including pickled herring, smoked lamb, breads, etc. Hands on cooking and just lots of fun facts. We were sent home -- very full, but with recipes for everything we made -- plus additional recipes that Sirry shared, that we had talked about. Must also mention that their venue -- is beautiful. A penthouse view overlooking the city, the ocean, the mountains -- with windows galore and a lovely wrap around balcony. Definitely recommend!!
Written April 29, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Nimu G
Toronto, Canada43 contributions
Jul 2014 • Solo
If you are interested in Nordic Cuisine and cooking with local Icelandic cuisine this course is a must. Auour is very learned about the local cuisine and the class is hands on. highly recommend it. @ Chef_nucrad
Written July 25, 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thanks for a great day, I really enjoyed our "chefs talk" and was so impressed by your work and your Icelandic menu, thank you for sharing this with me. I also checked out your Twitter and your blog when I got home - liked what I saw. I would love to welcome you in my kitchen if you decide to visit Iceland for the third time. My best, Audur
Written July 28, 2014
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

gbh000
Utah11 contributions
Jan 2019 • Friends
Fabulous class using local ingredients. Highly recommend this class if you have an interest in Icelandic food.
Written January 19, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
We are delighted that you enjoyed the Icelandic kitchen experience. Thank you for taking the time to give feedback and share your experience, it means the world to us. Happy cooking!
Written January 23, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

SiH-Traveler
Debrecen, Hungary22 contributions
Mar 2017 • Solo
After hearing good things about Salt Eldhus I decided to sign up for a culinary class called "the perfect steak" which according to the class description, the main focus of the class was supposed to be "how to cook the perfect steak".

It's fair to say the class did not meet expectations nor the description of the class. We ended up spending roughly 2 hours preparing side dishes, and then for about 30 minutes each group cooked their own type of steak with a little bit of guidance.

I do want to be fair and point out that It was not an unpleasant experience. The cooking utilities and kitchen were clean and decent. The teacher / cook was entertaining. If the class description would have described how the class actually was and the price would have been one third of what it was, I would have been happy to attend the class...

I contacted Sald Eldhus to let them know about my disappointment. They were very friendly and politely thanked me for my observations. However, they didn't offer to do anything.
Written April 25, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Erica C
Edmonton, Canada6 contributions
Jul 2014 • Friends
Audur, the main teacher, is one of the most discourteous people I have ever come across. We emailed her with some concerns regarding the booking and she never responded. Finally, we just called her and she bitterly acknowledged the email we had sent. The call only lasted a minute as she was 'very busy.' Our questions were still left unanswered.
In the end, we had a couple cancellations in our group and there was a 10% fee that had to be paid (not a problem). However, my friend, still booked in for the class, was emailed with only a day's notice that the class had been canceled. Apparently, there were not enough people booked in for that day. With only 2 days left in Iceland, my friend tried to rebook for another day but no luck. She then kindly asked for the recipes she would have been taught as this was the one thing she was most looking forward to on the trip. Audur replied (surprisingly) that those recipes were only for participants. So, in retrospect, she got about $90 (10% fee), cancelled her class and could not cough up a damn recipe for 1 person. This is not how I would be doing business... Especially if I was having problems getting enough people to sign up for the class.
Advice: If you get the pleasure of dealing with Audur, ask for someone else. Icelandic people are typically nice, I swear.
Written July 22, 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi Erica, I take great pride in making my guests feel at home and give them as good an experience as I possibly can, as is evident in the reviews that I have had on TripAdvisor thus far. I am very sorry that you feel you had to write such a negative review, especially since you did not take the class and never met me in person. Here is my side of the story: Your friend made a booking for 4 people. Later she emailed me and explained that her friends had changed their minds and did not want to take part in the class as it was too expensive. As I have a "no refund" policy, clearly stated in the terms and conditions, my first reaction was to let the booking stand. After pondering this for one day I decided to go ahead and refund you as a favor because, according to your friend, you are all students with not much to live on. The day after I had not gotten around to confirm the refund by email when your friend called me, I explained to her that I was in the middle of a teaching session and could not therefore engage in lengthy conversations, and that I would answer her email as soon as I had finished teaching, which I did. When your friend contacted me to say she still wanted her booking to stand unchanged, it was too late as I had already refunded and erased your booking. So I asked her to sign up again. I also informed her on that occasion that I had no other bookings on her chosen date and that I might have to cancel her session at a short notice as I have a minimum of two persons. With this she said she was fine. So in the end, I hope that this incident did not ruin your Iceland experience and that you left my beautiful country with a positive mind. My best, Audur
Written July 28, 2014
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

power_em
Coles Bay, Australia263 contributions
Apr 2017 • Family
I took my 3 daughters here ages 9,11,12 and we had such a wonderful experience. I let them know ahead I had kids and they altered the menu a tiny bit for their less sophisticated pallet. We made fish, lamb and their favorite Icelandic pancakes with hand picked blueberry glaze and whipped cream. It was such a huge hit we left there and went to buy the Icelandic made pancake pan. The food was all beautiful and they were great dealing with my eager helpers. This was truly a morning we will always cherish! Such a great way to enjoy the local fare, you will not be disappointed!
Written April 10, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Dan M
2 contributions
Feb 2017 • Couples
Probably the best experience I had in Iceland. It was a very intimate learn experience and truly feel like I’m a way better cook because of it. The instructor held our hands through it just the right amount to make it not so stressful that you’re keeping track of all the courses. Her insight on cooking was amazing and she offered great side stories about Icelandic food and culture. the meal was phenomenal and you really feel a sense of satisfaction when eating your creation.
I thought the price was a little high when I purchased but after seeing the variety and quality of ingredients you use and taking into consideration the inflation of price in Iceland, it’s totally a steal for this invaluable time. Would recommend to literally everyone of all skill levels. It’s a fun time.
Written February 16, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

CogitoErgoBibo
Charlottesville, VA7 contributions
Dec 2016 • Solo
I booked initially on a day when no one else signed up. Salt Eldhus reached out and suggested that I move my reservation to a day when others had already booked, rather than cancelling outright. Much appreciated. Since this was a day in early December, the menu was what mirrored a typical Icelandic holiday meal. We started with an arctic char served over fennel salad with a mustard vinaigrette. The main meal was rack of lamb with incredible potatoes, a pea/mint mash and jus. Dessert was a panna cotta made with Skyr (Icelandic yogurt of sorts), lemon and vanilla, topped with a caramel sauce and oat crumble. We were broken up into 3 teams and all worked pretty independently, getting all the help we needed when we needed it. When the meal was done, we were treated to some holiday apps: a special Christmas bread and smoked lamb. We were then seated and had the meal we had made served to us. We didn't even have to do much on the plating. They also served wine with our meal. This husband and wife team were incredibly helpful, knowledgeable and fun. We all learned a lot about Icelandic food and Iceland in general. The kitchen itself is beautiful. It's located on the 6th floor above their bakery on the first floor. Gorgeous views of the city. VERY modern kitchen. I'd absolutely do this again if I came back to the city, as the menu changes with the season. It was fantastic fun!
Written December 16, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Lulu
Jamestown, RI17 contributions
Oct 2016
What do you get for your husband's birthday when he is a certain age & doesn't need anything but loves to cook? Icelandic cooking school was perfect! We had an amazing experience with the loveliest people and the most delicious food imaginable! We especially loved the expanded understanding of the context of the ingredients and traditions and culture that influences Icelandic cooking. The experience was a highlight of our trip and one we will never forget. Takk.....
Written October 22, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

sherrymaynard
Yorktown, VA7 contributions
Sep 2016 • Couples
Found Salt Eldhus on line and decided to spend a few hours learning how to cook some incredibly fresh Icelandic fish. We had a great experience and appreciated the one on one attention from our instructor. We fixed Charr over a fennel apple salad, Cod over creamed celery root with a barley/veggie mixture. For dessert, Skyr mousse with a lovely caramel sauce. The facility is right out of a magazine and has a great view of Reykjavik. A must do if you love great food and the art of cooking.
Written October 12, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 148
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Salt Eldhus


Restaurants near Salt Eldhus: View all restaurants near Salt Eldhus on Tripadvisor