Perlan

Perlan, Reykjavik: Hours, Address, Perlan Reviews: 4.5/5

Speciality Museums • Points of Interest & Landmarks • Observation Decks & Towers
Read more
9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Monday
9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Sunday
9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Write a review
About
Perlan is a Nature Exploratorium and among Reykjavik’s main landmarks. You can learn all about Icelandic nature in fun and interactive ways at Perlan's museum. Some highlights include a real indoors ice cave, hands-on exhibits, a life-size bird cliff full of life, and a show about volcanoes. There is also a Planetarium dome theatre where the northern lights virtually dance all around you. --- The 360 views from Perlan are spectacular in all directions. You see all over the Reykjavik area, the ocean, and the mountains around.--- --- There is also a 230-meters long zipline where you can go zipping from the top of Perlan and down to Öskjuhlíð hill.--- --- Perlan is close to the city center and there is plenty of free parking.---
Suggested duration
2-3 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Admission tickets
from $25.99
All you need to step foot in the door.
What is Travelers’ Choice Best of the Best?
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to those businesses that are the Best of the Best on Tripadvisor, those that earn excellent reviews from travelers and are ranked in the top 1% of properties worldwide.
Learn more
Top ways to experience Perlan
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

4.5
2,756 reviews
Excellent
1,618
Very good
830
Average
247
Poor
48
Terrible
14

Maggie_NHam
Nottingham, UK261 contributions
Amazing space. You can see the glass dome from far off even if you quite can't see how to get to it! There's several huge tanks that house the exhibition space, with the dome on top. Covers early geology and geological forces from millions to thousands to a thousand years ago as it relates to the formation of Iceland. Lots of screens, large and small, interspersed with sitting places. Lots of info on fauna and flora with life sized stuffed ones, including a polar bear who meandered off an ice floe onto the North of the island.

There's a brilliant Ice Cave you can go into and experience, doors are opened to that every 15 minutes or so.

There's a Planetarium that explains the formation of the Aurora. Very interesting, 25 minutes long (its under half an hour) in a good sized auditorium.

Top floor, 5th, lovely open space under the glass dome for refreshments, there's a café and a restaurant, bistro style rather than 'cheffy'. Spacious surroundings with fab views to linger in. There's Ice Cream Parlour on 4th floor, go all out and have 3 flavours for 990 isk, about £6 and try the black Turkish Pepper, very slightly liquorice-ish. The outside balcony is also on 4th floor, amazing 360° views over Reykjavik and the waterfront. And ...if you're so inclined you can jump a zip line from the 4 th too. From 2 pm in the afternoon, weekdays, suspect its earlier at the weekends.

The cost is 4490 isk, £26 for an adult, but you could spend the whole day there. Be aware, there are no lockers to store your things, but you can hang your coat up and hope for the best. You don't need to go to a tour company to book tickets, I stood in line for 2 minutes, mid-week.

Its been open 20 years, but it seems no thought has been given to arriving by foot and bus. Nearest bus stop is No.18 on main road, Bustaovegur, which is very difficult to cross (Aug '21). No bus actually calls in at Perlan! Unless you're on a tour. And, there's no straightforward way to Perlan from the bus stop, sort of meander in general direction thro bushes to find windy paths. Hmm.
Written August 18, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Peter C
Halesowen, UK13 contributions
From the start you get a good panoramic view of Reykjavik and surrounding area including the beginning of the highlands. Inside it explains Iceland young history. We paid for the full experience at Perlan taking in the Ice Cave and Planetarium show which if your one who doesn’t understand the Aurora Bora it explains that as well as well as the universe. After you’ve seen and experienced what Iceland has to offer take a trip to the revolving glass dome restaurant for a bite to eat and drink and digest what you’ve experienced. We found the folk of Iceland very friendly and helpful.
Written March 30, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Linbol75
Dudley, West Midlands32 contributions
This is about a 30 min walk from Reykjavik high street. You can pay to go into the different areas of the museum we walked up to the fourth floor viewing platform which is free to do. The panoramic views were stunning as were the views from the cafe on the 5th floor. Well worth a visit
Written November 9, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Fil
3 contributions
Museum entrance fee is very expensive however top floor cafe/restaurant has a very unique glass interior that lets the light in naturally. Great for hanging out , small meetings. I Would not recommend it to those who traveled all the way to Iceland who are looking for a real Iceland experience.
Written May 4, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

BR
Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Spain15 contributions
My first visit to Perlan was in 2008 and it was such a wonderful experience with the old restaurant that moved around the deck with 360º views over Reykjavík and the Saga Museum original location. I've been coming to Iceland almost every year after that and except some odd year, visited Perlan each time. After 2008 it seemed to be a bit outdated and abandoned but you could still go up the deck and enjoy a nice, quiet view over the city. Every passing year (one thing we were a bit dissapointed was the fact that you had to pay to go into the viewing deck)we saw some improvements with the new renovations, the museum and the cave. We visited the whole exhibition in 2019, we were invited and didn't paid the entrance and it was enjoyable, far from what we remember of the first Perlan visit but nicely put together. We went again this year and the experience couldn't be more different. We just wanted to have a drink at the cafe, we asked the girl at the front desk and told us we had to pay just to go into the building, which we did although we specifically said we were only going to the upper floor for a coffee. After paying and going to the last floor, we find that the cafe had closed half an hour before arrival, which was not mentioned to us or we wouldn’t have gone inside. We had to eat an overpriced ice cream in the lower floor, at a shop where there is not a single seating place and with crowds and crowds of what was clearly large groups of people from ship cruises and large coaches. We went into the deck but it was impossible to enjoy the views as everything was so absurdly crowded. We visited the shop before going out and what was once a lovely, well taken care shop, is now another ”puffin shop” with the same products as in the other 100 souvenir shops in town. We were going to complain in the front desk but the experience was so unpleasant that we decided to leave alltogether. As much as it hurts to say this, I don’t think I'll be back on future visits. I felt cheated and they converted a very special place in another tourist trap, and a very expensive one for what you recieve. Visit the surroundings, there are beautiful, free paths with magnificent views.
Written August 5, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Raymond
144 contributions
It starts out by visiting the planetarian which emphasizes the Northern Lights. then you make your way into the museum itself which showcases the fauna of Iceland and the surrounding ocean. There taxonomy birds but the cliff birds are fake. The ice tunnel only allows visitors at timed intervals. The ice tunnel is a short walk. The ice cream shop upstairs had no available employee even though there was quite a few interested potential customers . It's major claim is the few of the city from the rooftop but you can get that from the Lutheran Church steeple. It's best feature is it's volcanic exhibit, really nicely done.
Take a cab or purchase a shuttle ticket that leaves hourly because it's really out of the way.
Really overblown with hype.
Written September 29, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Good morning curiosityseeker19, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Yes, the cliff at Perlan gives virtual insight into the life of seabirds in Látrabjarg cliff - it's a brilliant replica. Regarding the ice cave; did you know that it's real? It is made from 350+ tons of ice and volcanic ash from the mountains. We're sorry we were not ready at service at the ice cream parlor. There should always be someone available there. We'll do our best to prevent this from happening again. Yes, the views are also great at Hallgrímskirkja Church (which you can see from Perlan since it gives a wider view of the city, 360˚). We truly appreciate you taking the time to write this. Kind regards, Edda
Written January 6, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Bernadette M
Manchester, UK62 contributions
Friends
We booked this trip on the saturday for the monday we were leaving. As time was limited we only wanted a fairly short and flexible option. The lady at the tourist office where we booked advised us this was a good option.
We were given an entrance ticket and told to pick the free shuttle bus up at the harbour outside the concert hall. Bus stop number 5. We were told the buses ran every hour between 10 and 6 and we could spend as long as we wanted or were able to at the museum.
It was bitter cold but we wanted to make the most of our last day in Reykjavik so after breakfast we set off. We had hoped to catch the 10 am bus but as it was just after 10 when we arrived we thought we had missed that bus. So rather than wait in the bitter wind we went inside the concert hall for a look around.
At 10.45 we went out to wait for the bus. We saw lots of buses but none for the Perlan. At 11.35 we gave up as time was against us and we were frozen cold. I had tried to call the number on our ticket but couldn't understand the Icelandic language so we headed back to the tourist office.
We spoke to the lady who booked it who asked had we phoned them and then she phoned them. She then had to email them to try and find out what had happened and if she could refund us. We waited in the tourist office who offered us a cup of black coffee and eventually a man who seemed more senior called us over.
By this time it was around 12.30 so we had already lost the morning! He wanted to know where we were staying and what time we were being collected for the airport. In fairness he offered to give us money for a taxi to the Perlan but by then we were short on time and didn't want to be stressing and risk getting back late plus maybe not seeing all we had paid for. He said we would be able to get the bus back but we were not reassured given it hadn't turned up to collect us in the first place!
No explanation was given as to why the bus hadn't turned up but I read afterwards online that there are only 19 seats on it and it collects from two other hotels as well as the harbour stop. Maybe it was full so didn't stop...we don't know! To add insult to injury whilst we were outside our hotel waiting for our airport transfer the Perlan shuttle bus pulled in and collected a lady? We had not been offered a hotel pick up and our hotel is not shown on line as a pick up point???
Eventually the tour office refunded us and I have an e mail confirming this but he did not seem happy to do this even though it was us who had missed out on visiting the Perlan!
We then spent the couple of hours we had left just wandering the streets and having something to eat.
We were very disappointed and this was not a good end to an otherwise lovely visit to Reykjavik!
Written March 7, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear Bernadette M, I am sorry to hear that you had a negative experience with the transport to Perlan and appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback. It is important to address the issues that you mentioned in your review and clear up some misunderstandings as well as some misinformation. First off, you can see the bus schedule on our website with all the essential information about the transport we provide. On the day of your visit, our shuttle driver picked up all our guests from Harpa according to schedule. No other guest reported any similar problems. Therefore I assume that after you missed the 10 am bus, you waited at the wrong stop. I am surprised that you waited another 35 minutes after 11 pm and did not try to contact us directly. We offer several options from calling our main phone number to a live chat on our website and sending an email. If you call our main phone number, you can hear a short introduction in the Icelandic language, and then "Welcome to Perlan, Wonders of Iceland, press 5 for English." We are then happy to help our guests with any questions. Our shuttle bus is a courtesy bus that offers guests a ride between Perlan and Harpa. There is misinformation on your part as you say that the bus stops at other hotels. As you can see online, the shuttle stops only at Hotel Natura on the way from Harpa to Perlan. Therefore, there are no other guests already on the bus from Harpa. We want everyone to have a positive experience at Perlan. I understand that the accumulation of all the incidents mentioned above that happened on your last day left you disappointed. However, I don't think your rating is reasonable, as it doesn't reflect the experience you had here with us. Like I said before, no other guests experienced any issues on this day. You are welcome to send us an email if you have any further questions. Getting a review only makes it very difficult for us to sort out what happened. I am again sorry that you couldn't experience Wonders of Iceland and hope that we can welcome you back to Perlan next time. Have a beautiful day. Kindly, Steffi
Written March 9, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

travelbob1
New Windsor, NY970 contributions
Arrived for a scheduled hour visit. That was not enough time. The time to see the city, look at the many exhibits, and take in the informative cards required at least another 30-45 minutes. For families this is a great place to get those photos of your children excited about the many exhibits of bears, bugs, volcanoes and such.
Written May 17, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

NewPlaceFan
Kenosha, WI368 contributions
We were looking for a nice diversion on our last day in Reykjavik, and this fit the bill nicely. We walked through several of the exhibits, visited the ice cave (very cool, literally,) took in the view of the city from all around the observation deck, and had lunch at the cafe. It would be a great rainy day activity (tho it wasn't raining much during our visit,) and it doesn't require a lot of strenuous walking. Oh, and they have an ice cream shop where the kiwi sorbet is quite good.
Written July 30, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

alexajente
Los Angeles, CA15 contributions
Went here on my last day in Reykjavik. Given how first class and engaging Perlan is, I would never have even heard about it if I had not done a Google search for "Hidden Reykjavik" and saw it mentioned near the bottom of a random traveler website piece where it was mentioned -- and without much fanfare at that. That is a shame because this should be at the very top of the list for anyone visiting Reykjavik. Had we missed Perlan, I would have been most upset. Among it's many treasures, they have an actual ice cave which is an exact replica of a cave located in another region of Iceland (bring your coat as it's about 0°F in there!), an awesome outdoor zipline (which I was happy to get to do since the main zipline experience is 2½ hours east of Reykjavik), a stunningly beautiful planetarium film on the Northern Lights, and many more compelling interactive exhibits that are great for adults and kids alike. Perlan, if you are reading this, please up your marketing budget for signage, etc in the Reykjavik city center and travel guides. I almost went 11 days walking and driving around Reykjavik without any knowledge of what that beautiful glass dome was that I saw on the drive from the airport.
Written August 3, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Showing results 1-10 of 2,251
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Perlan

Perlan is open:
  • Sun - Sat 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Buy tickets in advance on Tripadvisor. If you book with Tripadvisor, you can cancel at least 24 hours before the start date of your tour for a full refund.

Perlan admission prices can vary. Entrance tickets currently cost $25.99, while a popular guided tour starts around $29.70 per person. See all 26 Perlan tickets and tours on Tripadvisor

Perlan can be crowded, so we recommend booking e-tickets ahead of time to secure your spot. If you book with Tripadvisor, you can cancel at least 24 hours before the start date of your tour for a full refund. See all 26 Perlan tickets and tours on Tripadvisor