Iceland Travel
Iceland Travel
4.5
Multi-day Tours • Cultural Tours • Eco Tours • Bus Tours
Read more
About
Every day, Iceland Travel’s local experts craft once-in-a-lifetime travel experiences and take guests on extraordinary Icelandic journeys. We take pride in our diverse product portfolio, high-level services, and deep connections to our community of businesses and suppliers here in Iceland. Our longstanding history is built on the extensive experience of our team and our commitment to preserving Iceland’s fragile natural environment.
Reykjavik, Iceland

Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Iceland Travel
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor
Want other options you can book now?
Show options
Travelers talk about
(47 reviews)
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

4.5
323 reviews
Excellent
224
Very good
53
Average
13
Poor
13
Terrible
20

LARODZ
Gurabo, Puerto Rico8 contributions
Sep 2022 • Couples
I had many guided tours before to different places and this is one of the best. They provide all that is offered. At the beginning I thought it was a little expensive but it worth every single dollar I spend. The Island is beautiful and the tour was very well organized that I feel that in only 1 week we could see the most important and beautiful places. Also, the selected hotels were adequate, there were not luxury resorts but had everything we need for the travel and they never change an hotel to other of less quality than the ones offered in the package. Finally I had to mention the tour guide named “Lorena” who always was available and not only explain the history and characteristic of places but also was comprehensive and did more than what is usually expected from a tour guide.
Written September 22, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hello, LARODZ. Thank you so much for taking time to share your review of your experiences in Iceland with us. I am delighted that you were happy with our service. I also am happy you liked Lorena's guidance. We only use professional certified guides, and we are very proud of their service. I hope we will see you in Iceland again in the future.
Written September 23, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Galina K
20 contributions
Jun 2021

We were incredibly fortunate to be booked for the Golden Circle tour with Simon as our most impressive guide and host. He is without a doubt the most professional, yet personal, guide we have had the pleasure of spending our day with during our many travels. He was not only well versed in the history of his country and the places we visited along the way, but went out of his way to get us both on a second tour that same day without reservations in advance (Blue Lagoon.) He has been doing this for quite some time and it really shows through in his professionalism and enthusiasm. We would wholeheartedly recommend him for any tour you desire, from basic to the most complex customized multi-day. Just get in contact with him and he will take care of it all for you so you do not have to worry about anything!

Sincerely,

Joel and Galina
Written June 4, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear Joel and Galina, Thank you very much for your review and comments about Bus Travel and Simon. We will definitely share your insights with Bus Travel. We are delighted you enjoyed the experience and had a great day in the beautiful Golden Circle region. Best regards,
Written August 4, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

John Miller
6 contributions
Aug 2021
Iceland Travel organized two day tours for us, one snowmobiling on the Langjokull Glacier (with a walk through a glacier cave) and the other a guided tour of the Golden Circle. As with previous day tours, it's the guide that makes or breaks the experience. The first guide's name was Gunnþór (Gunnthor). The second guide was Óli. Both were excellent. The costs were not much more than if we had tried to do them on our own but the interactions with the guides were priceless. We learned about the history of Iceland as well as a lot of fun facts. They added special side trips and secret hideaways to make the experiences special. Óli took us on a tour of a cave that a couple of early settler families lived in for years and finished our tour with a late lunch at Friðheimar (which we called the tomato restaurant) It was a wonderful surprise. While most of our Iceland excursions were packaged tours that we booked on our ship, these two private tours were head and shoulders above those. In all, they were two fun days in Iceland.
Written September 10, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear John, Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review of your experiences in Iceland. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your private tours of snowmobiling on Langjökull glacier and visiting the Golden Circle. You are right! A good guide makes a huge impact on a tour. We are grateful for our excellent, handpicked certified guides who lead our tours. Private tours offer the chance to enjoy some extra experiences because of their flexibility. It is wonderful that you visited Friðheimar greenhouse café and Laugarvatnshellir Cave. We will definitely share your comments with our private tours team and the guides. Best regards, Blake
Written September 13, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Piet K
1 contribution
Apr 2022
Every 5 years, me and 9 friends make a trip to a different country, and stay there for about 10 days. This year we went to Iceland (april 2022). We rented three 4x4 cars and drove anti-clockwise around the island and stayed in hotels and hostels.

I am an experienced traveler and always keep my expectations low. The journey to Iceland was still a disappointment for various reasons: there are many things to visit and see, but none of them really left an impression. The main highlights are the waterfalls spread over the country, but if you have traveled to other countries, the waterfalls in Iceland are small and unimpressive. The same goes for the wildlife; Iceland simply hasn't much to offer here as well. Only some rare birds and, if are lucky, you can spot a whale on an expensive boat trip.

The food in Iceland is also very limited. I expected a lot of different fish, but we mainly found hamburgers, pasta and fish & chips on the menu. Traveling through the country is nice, but you are not allowed to drive off-road and the scenery has not much variation compared to other countries. There is just nothing really special to see. I saw many photos about Iceland in books before we went, but the actually scenery is not that beautiful.

The nightlife is very poor outside the main city. Outside Reykjavik there is hardly any nightlife. We asked in a hotel where to go at an receptionist. He replied "There is nothing here. If Icelandic people want to drink, they go to the supermarket." In Reykjavik there are some nice and lively places, but mainly for young people.

This brings my to the Icelandic people itself. from all the countries I have travelled to, the Icelandic are the least friendly people I've met. They are distant and stubborn. Only the people in Reykjavik seemed more open minded, we didn't feel very welcome either. The only friendly people we've met there came from abroad.

I do not recommend travelling to Iceland. There are better countries to travel to, with warm en welcoming people and a better price quality ratio. Only if you want to see some rare birds or want to travel to a country with not too many tourists, you can consider Iceland, otherwise better spend your time and many elsewhere.
Written September 24, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hello, 605pietk. Thank you for your review of the country of Iceland. Iceland Travel is actually a travel agency, though sometimes we get reviews from people writing about the country rather than our company. Did you book your trip to Iceland through Iceland Travel and have a comment on our service? If so, could you please send an email to us at customercare@icelandtravel.is and let us know. Iceland is a destination that is very unique and has different travel conditions and experiences from other European countries. Much of Iceland is wilderness, and tourism is still a relatively new industry. The small population size means also that there are limited services, especially in the more remote rural areas. It is true that Iceland is not a destination for everyone. People who enjoy visiting Iceland most are seeking outdoor adventure and unique experiences away from large cities and mass tourism. They want to visit an adventurous destination in a country that is safe and politically stable. They also enjoy that they can experience glaciers, northern lights, hot springs and geysers in one destination. It is true that Iceland has many remote areas with small populations, but most visitors find that part of the charm. At Iceland Travel we make it an important goal to give our guests accurate information on Iceland and what to expect when visiting. We do this through our Destination information, blogs and our new Iceland Travel podcast. We also provide travel information resources to our customers on driving holidays, including our Iceland Travel app. Your information is useful for us in planning our own travel products. We appreciate your sharing your experiences.
Written September 26, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Rebecca V
1 contribution
Aug 2021 • Couples
Our Reykjavik City Tour and Golden Circle Tour were cancelled without notice. These tours were a major reason why we travelled to Iceland.
I confirmed the Golden Circle tour the day before directly with the company at 5pm and when Reykjavik Sightseeing was late to pick us up the next day I called again and was informed they cancelled it. Same thing happened with the City Tour the day before. There was a blame game of who was to blame, we were told our agent, Iceland Travel, Sceptre Travel, the hotel was to rebook, and so on. The blame was passed around and around yet we never received an answer as to why it was cancelled twice and we received zero notice. Never use this company or Sceptre. We are waiting for our refund. I’m sure the agents received their full commission out of our expensive “package” that was never fulfilled. We will never travel back to Iceland or recommend traveling there because these companies are inept. I will gladly give you all my contact information but I expect no response. It is too expensive and there is no guarantee you will see what you paid to see and you will be fed garbage excuses even after speaking with managers as to how this all can happen with zero notice, which will eventually end with “it’s because of a Covid.” Waste of time and money and the vacation was filled with anxiety because by the end of it I wasn’t even sure anyone would pick us up to go to the airport as our package stated and we needed to get home to our children. Even calling and confirming means nothing. DO NOT TRAVEL TO ICELAND NOW.
Written August 7, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear Rebecca V., Thank you for your review, we appreciate the feedback. We are very sorry to hear about your recent travel experience. Could you please contact us at customercare@icelandtravel.is so that we can take a closer look at this matter? Your feedback is valuable for us to improve processes to ensure this will not happen again. I do hope you enjoyed your time in Iceland overall. Kind Regards, Blake
Written August 11, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

mgcNYNY
Virginia Beach, VA23 contributions
Jul 2021
I cannot really recommend this tour group. We were grateful to them for pulling a trip together in only 6 weeks. And the car they promised was there. And the hotels were there. But the hotels (we'd paid for the Superior Hotels/Rooms) were not very good. And there were great hotels in the area, as we discovered. But two of the 3 places we stayed were very shabby. One had no chairs, no where to sit but on the bed. The other had no closet, only 5 hooks on the wall. But it did have one chair. There was one excellent small hotel, Hofsstadir Country Hotel. The others were not as we'd expected.
But the worst of the trip was the "tablet" They promised an itinerary that would make our trip fun and easy and it was really a worthless item. First, our trip was not loaded. And neither of their contact numbers (even the Emergency Number) were in service. Imagine my surprise when I'm told that the contact numbers are not in service! I found another number for Iceland travel and waited on hold for over an hour but never did get the call answered. I did write to an agent and overnight she did get her manager to "load" our trip. But all that was loaded was a list of our hotels and their addresses. The tablet never showed the hotels, the sights, the restaurants, anything. I wrote back to say it was not what I expected, there was no "trip" planned for us. Just a map of Iceland with hundreds of tiny dots on it. No trip, no plan, nothing useful to us.
I would not recommend using Iceland Travel, I did not feel that they provided any services I could not have made myself and the "tablet", used as a selling point for our road trip, was worthless
Written July 15, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you for your honest and helpful review. I am glad to hear you found the booking service and the car rental good. I am, however, very sorry you had difficulties with the tablet and getting it set up for you It has been an unusual summer for us and that has impacted some of our services. But I agree that it does not make a good start to a trip to not have information on the tablet ready for you. Regarding the hotel and the Superior Room upgrade it would be very helpful for us to get your name and booking number so we can look into this further. Could I ask if you could send us an email to customercare@icelandtravel.is? We are actually planning to change our Iceland Travel Companion App in September so that it will now be an app for personal mobile devices rather than a tablet. We feel this will make it easier for our guests to use. Your comments are very helpful in this process. Again, I thank you for the email. I appreciate your taking the time to let us know how our service can be improved. Best regards,
Written August 4, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Mary Ann M
Boston26 contributions
Jun 2021
I should have known I was in trouble when I received my first travel documents and they were clearly for someone else's trip. On Day One in Iceland when I picked up the uncharged and rather outdated tablet again it was programmed for someone else's itinerary. When I alerted Iceland Travel to the fact that our tablet was uncharged (basically unusable because charging was a 12 hour affair) and setup for someone else they seemed unconcerned. Wasn't it lucky that the car rental was able to set it for our trip they said. Are you kidding me? It should have been fully charged and set for our trip the first time I went to the rental car counter not the 4th time.

The hotels they selected were generally good but our preference for bed types in our rooms was clearly not communicated to the hotels we stayed in because they had to keep making changes to the rooms. And our latest check in time was on Day One when we had flown over night and arrived prior to 6 am. This is really the only day we needed an early check in. We ended up sleeping in our car while we waited for our room.

But it gets worse. We were googling the distance between our hotels and our next hotel came up as closed. Our trust in Iceland Travel was definitely not very high so we called the next hotel and the owner of the hotel said he was trying to reach us because he wasn't open. I told him the reservation had been made through Iceland Travel and he told me he had spoken to them. He set us up with an alternate hotel and I didn't even bother to call Iceland Travel. Really, why bother? Clearly we were on our own but don't make the mistake I made book with a reliable company because if something goes wrong you are totally on your own despite what Iceland Travel may tell you.
Written June 29, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear Mary Ann, Thank you very much for taking the time to post your experiences with Iceland Travel. I am glad you found Iceland an amazing country to visit but also am sorry you found difficulties during your trip, especially with the tablet. I will be sharing your comments with our team since it is important to get to see where we can do better. This year has been an unusual one because of COVID conditions and it has impacted our service, and your comments will help us see how to move forward. We are actually in the process of improving the Iceland Travel App since we know the tablet has its limitations. We will soon be introducing a new Iceland Travel App that our guests can download to use with a personal mobile device rather than a tablet. It also includes more enhanced information features and more interactive functions. Again, I thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We see negative reviews as the opportunity to improve our service. It is good to read that you had good impressions of Iceland and enjoyable memories of the land and nature. Best regards,
Written August 4, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

sandrafQ9844BO
2 contributions
Oct 2021
From before landing in Iceland, we felt as if we were in the best of hands. Early arrival? They had a driver ready. Extra person added at the last minute? No worries, they would adjust all accommodations and tours. Terrible storm hitting all the pre-designated spots? Completely rearrange all details so that we still have a fantastic time. Despite all of the challenges we encountered (epic storm, broken-down car, etc.) Iceland Travel adapted rapidly and without stress. We were able to enjoy any change that came our way, as they worked tirelessly to ensure that any adjustment they performed were even more spectacular than the original plan. Not only did we thoroughly enjoy all planned visits/activities, but we were offered loads of information as we drove along the coast, and feel very confident to return armed with the knowledge bestowed upon us. Our guide, Thorir, was outstanding and humorous, and helped us to understand the amazing land we were lucky enough to visit. Thank you to the entire team.
Written October 28, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hello, sandrafQ9844BO. Thank you for taking the time to submit your review of Iceland Travel. It is so delightful to read that you enjoyed your experience in Iceland and our service. We want to make sure our guests have a great experience in Iceland. Iceland can be full of surprises like changing weather, so we do all we can to respond quickly to changing conditions while you are in Iceland. I am glad you liked the information and Þórir's guiding. We take a lot of pride in our carefully selected guides. I hope we see you in Iceland again soon. Iceland has so much to offer each season of the year, so each trip can be a completely different experience.
Written November 3, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Mary
Iceland5 contributions
Sep 2022 • Family
Our guide was Johann.He is an excellent & knowledgeable person who accompanied us from morning till evening with his special cinnamon buns.😅
Those buns were really tasty that we ever tasted!he took us to some amazing falls,show us icelandic horses & rams. Most importantly our 8yrs old daughter Kiara liked him much.we didn’t feel bore during our full time journey.
Really appreciate his efforts.Gulfoss was outstanding with natural rainbow. Strokkur was also good one.kerid crater was eye soothing.after whole day travelling Blue lagoon was relaxing one.all places are highly recommended for future travellers.
We enjoyed a lot 🥰
Written September 7, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hello, Mary. Thank you for the review and the delightful images of your family enjoying Iceland. I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your trip. It is wonderful to read you enjoyed Jóhann as a guide (and his cinnamon rolls). A good guide is so important for a trip. We hope you will visit Iceland again in the future and look forward to working with you and your family.
Written September 8, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Alejandro A
Hamburg, Germany4 contributions
Feb 2020 • Couples
We booked a self driving tour thinking we’d be fully set for the tour.

Upon arrival, we received an old car, which turned out to have a flat tire just two days after the rental. Of course the insurance didn’t pay for that, so we had to p pay by ourselves... very ‘convenient’.

They provided a notepad with very poor internet connection, so navigating was nearly impossible.

2 from 8 hotels were of very poor quality, even though we booked the highest level available. Clearly a way to maximize profits.

All in all the service was horrendous, slow and not available when you truly needed them. They’re lazy and will clearly do anything possible to screw their customers instead of helping them out.

I recommend you book the hotel yourself and get the car at the airport. You’ll end up saving a ton of money, and you’ll enjoy the trip much more!
Written March 9, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear Alejandro, Thank you for your feedback on our tour. I must say that I'm surprised to read your review, because according to our e-mail communications with you and your travel partner, you told us that you really enjoyed your trip and you found our tablet very helpful. We also have an emergency contact number which you should have had on your travel documents, but we did not receive any phone calls from you during your tour here in Iceland. You should always be able to reach us at any time of the day. Like my colleague explained through previous e-mail communications, we do not offer travel insurance, but we always recommend that our guests purchase their own insurance. I am very sorry hear about your experience with the hotels, I would really like to get a more detailed feedback which hotels you were unsatisfied with, so that we can take a closer look at it. Could you please send us to our e-mail customercare@icelandtravel.is so that I can look further into this? I hope you enjoyed your overall stay in our beautiful country! Kind Regards, Oddný, Iceland Travel
Written March 10, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 291

Iceland Travel (Reykjavik) - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go