We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Iceland Travel

Reykjavik, Iceland
More
About Iceland Travel
Every day, Iceland Travel’s local experts craft once-in-a-lifetime travel experiences and take guests on extraordinary Icelandic journeys. We take pride in our diverse product portfolio, high-level services, and deep connections to our community of businesses and suppliers here in Iceland. Our longstanding history is built on the extensive experience of our team and our commitment to preserving Iceland’s fragile natural environment.
Read more
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travelers talk about

Iceland Travel
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor

Want other options you can book now?
314Reviews23Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 218
  • 53
  • 13
  • 12
  • 18
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
mgcNYNY wrote a review Jul 2021
Virginia Beach, Virginia22 contributions3 helpful votes
I cannot really recommend this tour group. We were grateful to them for pulling a trip together in only 6 weeks. And the car they promised was there. And the hotels were there. But the hotels (we'd paid for the Superior Hotels/Rooms) were not very good. And there were great hotels in the area, as we discovered. But two of the 3 places we stayed were very shabby. One had no chairs, no where to sit but on the bed. The other had no closet, only 5 hooks on the wall. But it did have one chair. There was one excellent small hotel, Hofsstadir Country Hotel. The others were not as we'd expected. But the worst of the trip was the "tablet" They promised an itinerary that would make our trip fun and easy and it was really a worthless item. First, our trip was not loaded. And neither of their contact numbers (even the Emergency Number) were in service. Imagine my surprise when I'm told that the contact numbers are not in service! I found another number for Iceland travel and waited on hold for over an hour but never did get the call answered. I did write to an agent and overnight she did get her manager to "load" our trip. But all that was loaded was a list of our hotels and their addresses. The tablet never showed the hotels, the sights, the restaurants, anything. I wrote back to say it was not what I expected, there was no "trip" planned for us. Just a map of Iceland with hundreds of tiny dots on it. No trip, no plan, nothing useful to us. I would not recommend using Iceland Travel, I did not feel that they provided any services I could not have made myself and the "tablet", used as a selling point for our road trip, was worthless
Read more
Date of experience: July 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Blake G, Marketing Manager at Iceland Travel
Responded today
Thank you for your honest and helpful review. I am glad to hear you found the booking service and the car rental good. I am, however, very sorry you had difficulties with the tablet and getting it set up for you It has been an unusual summer for us and that has impacted some of our services. But I agree that it does not make a good start to a trip to not have information on the tablet ready for you. Regarding the hotel and the Superior Room upgrade it would be very helpful for us to get your name and booking number so we can look into this further. Could I ask if you could send us an email to customercare@icelandtravel.is? We are actually planning to change our Iceland Travel Companion App in September so that it will now be an app for personal mobile devices rather than a tablet. We feel this will make it easier for our guests to use. Your comments are very helpful in this process. Again, I thank you for the email. I appreciate your taking the time to let us know how our service can be improved. Best regards,
Read more
Mary Ann M wrote a review Jun 2021
Boston23 contributions35 helpful votes
I should have known I was in trouble when I received my first travel documents and they were clearly for someone else's trip. On Day One in Iceland when I picked up the uncharged and rather outdated tablet again it was programmed for someone else's itinerary. When I alerted Iceland Travel to the fact that our tablet was uncharged (basically unusable because charging was a 12 hour affair) and setup for someone else they seemed unconcerned. Wasn't it lucky that the car rental was able to set it for our trip they said. Are you kidding me? It should have been fully charged and set for our trip the first time I went to the rental car counter not the 4th time. The hotels they selected were generally good but our preference for bed types in our rooms was clearly not communicated to the hotels we stayed in because they had to keep making changes to the rooms. And our latest check in time was on Day One when we had flown over night and arrived prior to 6 am. This is really the only day we needed an early check in. We ended up sleeping in our car while we waited for our room. But it gets worse. We were googling the distance between our hotels and our next hotel came up as closed. Our trust in Iceland Travel was definitely not very high so we called the next hotel and the owner of the hotel said he was trying to reach us because he wasn't open. I told him the reservation had been made through Iceland Travel and he told me he had spoken to them. He set us up with an alternate hotel and I didn't even bother to call Iceland Travel. Really, why bother? Clearly we were on our own but don't make the mistake I made book with a reliable company because if something goes wrong you are totally on your own despite what Iceland Travel may tell you.
Read more
Date of experience: June 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Blake G, Marketing Manager at Iceland Travel
Responded today
Dear Mary Ann, Thank you very much for taking the time to post your experiences with Iceland Travel. I am glad you found Iceland an amazing country to visit but also am sorry you found difficulties during your trip, especially with the tablet. I will be sharing your comments with our team since it is important to get to see where we can do better. This year has been an unusual one because of COVID conditions and it has impacted our service, and your comments will help us see how to move forward. We are actually in the process of improving the Iceland Travel App since we know the tablet has its limitations. We will soon be introducing a new Iceland Travel App that our guests can download to use with a personal mobile device rather than a tablet. It also includes more enhanced information features and more interactive functions. Again, I thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We see negative reviews as the opportunity to improve our service. It is good to read that you had good impressions of Iceland and enjoyable memories of the land and nature. Best regards,
Read more
Galina K wrote a review Jun 2021
16 contributions14 helpful votes
We were incredibly fortunate to be booked for the Golden Circle tour with Simon as our most impressive guide and host. He is without a doubt the most professional, yet personal, guide we have had the pleasure of spending our day with during our many travels. He was not only well versed in the history of his country and the places we visited along the way, but went out of his way to get us both on a second tour that same day without reservations in advance (Blue Lagoon.) He has been doing this for quite some time and it really shows through in his professionalism and enthusiasm. We would wholeheartedly recommend him for any tour you desire, from basic to the most complex customized multi-day. Just get in contact with him and he will take care of it all for you so you do not have to worry about anything! Sincerely, Joel and Galina
Read more
Date of experience: June 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Blake G, Marketing Manager at Iceland Travel
Responded today
Dear Joel and Galina, Thank you very much for your review and comments about Bus Travel and Simon. We will definitely share your insights with Bus Travel. We are delighted you enjoyed the experience and had a great day in the beautiful Golden Circle region. Best regards,
Read more
Gemma I wrote a review Mar 2020
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom6 contributions2 helpful votes
Just like to say a huge thankyou to Ragnhildur lovdahl for our amazing Golden Circle and ~Blue Lagoon tour. Hilda was very informative about Iceland her culture and the overall knowledge was much appreciated. Had a lovely day and Hilda was an amazing guide and made us feel very comfortable throughout the day
Read more
Date of experience: March 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from oddnyh, Service Marketing Expert at Iceland Travel
Responded Apr 6, 2020
Dear Gemma, Thank you so much for your 5-star review, we are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your tour during your stay in Iceland. We hope to welcome you again someday for more adventures! Have a nice day, Oddný, Iceland Travel
Read more
Alejandro A wrote a review Mar 2020
Hamburg, Germany3 contributions2 helpful votes
We booked a self driving tour thinking we’d be fully set for the tour. Upon arrival, we received an old car, which turned out to have a flat tire just two days after the rental. Of course the insurance didn’t pay for that, so we had to pay by ourselves... very ‘convenient’. They provided a notepad with very poor internet connection, so navigating was nearly impossible. 2 from 8 hotels were of very poor quality, even though we booked the highest level available. Clearly a way to maximize profits. All in all the service was horrendous, slow and not available when you truly needed them. They’re lazy and will clearly do anything possible to screw their customers instead of helping them out. I recommend you book the hotel yourself and get the car at the airport. You’ll end up saving a ton of money, and you’ll enjoy the trip much more!
Read more
Date of experience: February 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from oddnyh, Service Marketing Expert at Iceland Travel
Responded Mar 10, 2020
Dear Alejandro, Thank you for your feedback on our tour. I must say that I'm surprised to read your review, because according to our e-mail communications with you and your travel partner, you told us that you really enjoyed your trip and you found our tablet very helpful. We also have an emergency contact number which you should have had on your travel documents, but we did not receive any phone calls from you during your tour here in Iceland. You should always be able to reach us at any time of the day. Like my colleague explained through previous e-mail communications, we do not offer travel insurance, but we always recommend that our guests purchase their own insurance. I am very sorry hear about your experience with the hotels, I would really like to get a more detailed feedback which hotels you were unsatisfied with, so that we can take a closer look at it. Could you please send us to our e-mail customercare@icelandtravel.is so that I can look further into this? I hope you enjoyed your overall stay in our beautiful country! Kind Regards, Oddný, Iceland Travel
Read more
Previous
123456
Recommended experiences in and around Reykjavik
from $1,796.65
More Info
from $128.65
More Info
from $65.24
More Info
from $149.82
More Info