Thor Travel
Thor Travel
4.5
Multi-day Tours • Ski & Snow Tours • Taxis & Shuttles • Hiking & Camping Tours • Private Tours • Nature & Wildlife Tours • Bus Tours • Day Trips
Read more
8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Monday
8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
About
Thor Travel specializes in tourism in Iceland. We emphasis on slow luxury travel where you get to meet the locals. We offer scheduled day tours, VIP tours, private tours and Northern Light tours. As a tour operator our philosophy is that of slow travel where we try and have our travelers connect to the soul of the places visited rather than ticking them off on a bucket list.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Travelers talk about
(3 reviews)
(2 reviews)
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

4.5
13 reviews
Excellent
12
Very good
0
Average
0
Poor
0
Terrible
1

Alyssa M
1 contribution
Sep 2022
Spent a week with BG going across the southern coast of Iceland, saw and learned so much!! I feel honored to have had BG as a tour guide. He was professional, personable, and able to accommodate the range of needs for our group that had people from their 20s-mid 80s. He kept an eye out on the best time for us to see the Norther Lights, took us to the best food spots and educated our group on all things Iceland. BG is as good as it gets!!! Thank you BG!
Written September 26, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Jeff C
1 contribution
Jul 2021
Had a wonder experience with Thor Travel with our guide Bjarni when we wanted to visit the active Fagradalsfjall volcano. Although the weather did not cooperate and we were in a time crunch due to scheduling, Bjarni was accommodating, friendly, entertaining, knowledgeable, and looked after us while we traversed the challenging terrain to get as close to the volcano as possible based on the rainy and foggy conditions we experienced. If you are visiting Iceland, highly recommend Thor Travel with Bjarni!
Written August 16, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

rdlc2017
Hue, Vietnam24 contributions
Jul 2022 • Solo
Did the Landmannalaugar hiking and waterfall tour and it was hands down, no question the best of all the tours I did in Iceland, and one of the best I've ever done anywhere. If I only had one day in Iceland, this is the one I'd go for, it was insanely incredible. Tom was a fantastic guide and loads of fun (plus, took the best video!), and the scenery was out of this world, absolutely stunning. A proper adventure, and just so so completely worth it.
Written July 29, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Martin S
Monterey County, CA1 contribution
Oct 2021
My wife and I spent nine days in Iceland, and we both have to say that our all day South Coast Tour with Bjarni of Thor Travel had to be our absolute favorite!

It was a beautiful day with lots of sunshine and clear skies, and when Bjarni picked us up in front of City Hall in Reykjavík, we discovered that the group tour had become a private tour (impressed that he made the effort to just take the two of us on the tour instead of canceling it). The Mercedes 4-wheel drive van was comfortable and equipped with everything you need (including USB charging ports and WiFi).

The tour took us from the Hlíðarendi gas station & restaurant where we enjoyed some of his aunt's delicious pancakes, to the village of Vik, and then back to Reykjavík. We made numerous stops along the way at breathtaking waterfalls (Gljúfrabúi, Seljalandsfoss & Gluggafoss were our favorites), as well as the Sólheimajökull outlet glacier and the famous Reynisfjara black beach.

Our guide Bjarni was friendly, engaging, knowledgeable, and had a keen sense of humor. In fact, as we drove back to Reykjavík, he played a mix of Icelandic songs which included a tune from the Eurovision movie. He also added a stop at the Nauthólsvík Geothermal Beach in Reykjavík where they pump hot water into a man-made lagoon (popular during the summer).

I've posted some pictures from our tour ... they don't do the stunning landscape justice.

We highly recommend Bjarni and Thor Travel to anyone interested in getting an "insiders" perspective of Iceland. Thor Travel offers a number of different tours and we plan to try an extended version that spans three days the next time we visit Iceland.
Written October 23, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
ThorTravel_ICE
Thank you Martin for a kind words. This was a great day for me to since we did a lot of extra stops :)
Written October 27, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Navigate698387
Indianapolis, IN60 contributions
Aug 2022
Much better communciation. Paid $60 USD for a trip that didn't happen due to poor communciation and misunderstanding. Told the tour was 10am, however p/u was 9:30am which was communciated on paper(voucher) only. Only told to have voucher with up at time of tour.
Day was overcast, cool and windy, waited outside 30 min @ 10am. Came unside to warm up, then read the voucher which says"Pickup starts at 09:30 and can last up to 30 min."
Did we miss the van? Past several p/c that day, was told our hotel room had been called. There was no evidence that our phone had been called. This was our only day in Reykjavik.
Also told to request a refund with an e-mail, This coorspondance needed to be sent to Tourdesk. Which was done.
Final resolutation was no money refund, but the tour reinstated if in Reykjavik before 2023.
Written October 15, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
ThorTravel_ICE
Dear sir/madam I am very sorry to hear about your trip in Iceland. Are you sure you booked a tour with Thor Travel? We do not have any tours that start at 10 AM. All our tours start at 08 AM. I am the owner, manager and the Tour Guide and I do not remember anyone missing from my tours since July and that person had not arrived in Iceland due to Covid. I always have phone number for my customer and if they are not at the pick up location I call them to make sure they will be on my tour. Can I ask you to double check with what company your where travelling with and maybe I can help you with refund from them or TourDesk. You can reach me through email bjarni@thortravel.is Sincerely yours Bjarni Gaukur
Written October 28, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

lux white
Milan, Italy10 contributions
Jul 2022 • Solo
Best guide very exclusively spot!!! The info during the day was very good!
I suggest that tour for all tourists
Written July 29, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Bizzibee83
New London, CT2 contributions
What a tour should be like. BG does what he says. I was able to do my South Coast tour solo because he stands by his word. He was way more informative than the larger group tour I did the following day and I loved that he adds a local component to the tour outside of the tourist stops. I learnt the basics from BG better than a digitized audio tour from the bigger company heehee. I was able to read the land at the end and learn some Icelandic pronunciations. I will be back Thor travel 😊
Written February 11, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

momwithkid_8
Wayne, NJ49 contributions
If you are here for the northern lights it will be up to the weather but having BG as our guide was a huge success! He hosted us with hot cocoa and Icelandic doughnuts and navigated is to his preferred spot. Sure enough…the Nordic gods were watching and we were treated with a beautiful display. BG encouraged us to wait a little longer and we experienced the most spectacular showing. Photo was from an iPhone…camera photos are even better. This is a must see and do especially with Thor Travel and their Luxury vehicle
Written December 4, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Paulina S
Reykjavik, Iceland3 contributions
Sep 2021 • Solo
Amazing volcano tour with two experienced tour guides. Very professional and well organised. I recommend Thor Travel to everyone with pleasure.
Written September 28, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

heartblossom
Riga, Latvia45 contributions
Sep 2021
It was a memorable experience to travel with Thor travel. Only one day and it was full of new knowledge, comprehension of the Land of the Beauty - Iceland, - full of adventures and joyful, kind atmosphere and personal attitude to each tourist. Thanks to the guide Bjarni for opening our eyes to see Iceland from different perspectives. Higly recomended!
Written September 18, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Showing results 1-10 of 12

Thor Travel (Reykjavik) - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go