We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Icelandic Mountain Guides

Certificate of Excellence
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number: +354 587 9999
Website
Today
9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Description:

Icelandic Mountain Guides is Iceland's premier adventure tour operator. For...

Icelandic Mountain Guides is Iceland's premier adventure tour operator. For over 20 years we have been in continuous operation of offering adventures in the wilderness of Iceland and Greenland. The company was established in 1994 by four young mountain and outdoor enthusiasts and pioneers whose aim was to introduce the wonders of Icelandic nature to travelers from all over the world. We started by offering Glacier Walks in Skaftafell and later on Solheimajokull. Hiking, backpacking and other adventures and expeditions in Iceland and Greenland soon followed. Today Icelandic Mountain Guides is a company that offers adventure tours ranging from short day tours to longer multi-day expeditions in the great outdoors in both summer and winter. So whether it is the exploration of the icescapes of glaciers, crossing of impressive highlands, trekking in the extraordinary rhyolite massifs or hiking in fascinating valleys, our aim is to Make Every Moment an Experience.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 649 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 504
    Excellent
  • 77
    Very good
  • 11
    Average
  • 6
    Poor
  • 15
    Terrible
Excellent tour of the hot springs and glacier

We booked the Fire and Ice day trip as a private tour for our youth group. We all enjoyed the day, although the hot springs were murkier than we expected! The Guides were very... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed 4 days ago
4tourist
,
UK

Similar Things to Do in Reykjavik

Add Photo Write a Review

649 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 613: English reviews
UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We booked the Fire and Ice day trip as a private tour for our youth group. We all enjoyed the day, although the hot springs were murkier than we expected! The Guides were very good and we were impressed with the attention paid to safety.

Helpful?
Thank 4tourist
IceMountainGuides, Manager at Icelandic Mountain Guides, responded to this review

Glad to hear that you and your youth group enjoyed the private tour, 4tourist. Yes, the hot springs are a bit murky and to some that is what makes them charming. Thank you for the review and we hoped you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Iceland. All the best, Jewells Icelandic Mountain Guides More 

Erkrath, Germany
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I booked with a friend of mine the "3 peaks challange" guided mountaineering experience in Iceland which was provided by the Icelandic Mountain Guides. This trip highly exceeded our expectations which is not only based on a wonderful country but also by the way this tour was organized and managed by our mountain guide. I highly recommend this team if... More 

Helpful?
Thank georgsimon
IceMountainGuides, Manager at Icelandic Mountain Guides, responded to this review

The 3 peaks challenge is quite an experience and we are happy to hear that you and your friend enjoyed it, georgsimon! It is our pleasure to show the amazing beauty of our country and we are glad that the trip exceeded your expectations. Thank you for the recommendation and we hope that you enjoyed the rest of your time... More 

Little Rock
Level Contributor
131 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This was a wonderful experience! 7 day trek... hut to hut with day packs... vehicle support for other food and gear. We had a great group for both sections of the trek which was nice and I know it’s something they have no control over but I’m still thankful. Something they do have control of is our guide. Our guide... More 

Helpful?
Thank farmacydoc
IceMountainGuides, Manager at Icelandic Mountain Guides, responded to this review

Thank you for the review, farmacydoc. We also enjoy the trek from Landmannalaugar to Skógar and we are happy to hear that you had such a wonderful experience. With a little bit of practice you will be able to pronounce the names in no time. :-) We hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Iceland. All the best,... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This tour totally exceeded our already high expectations! Our guide, Oktovia, was outstanding!! She was friendly, knowledgable, funny, and made us feel immediately comfortable. We felt safe and exhilarated the entire time that we were on the glacier. Luckily, there was an ice cave on the glacier (AMAZING!), which we were able to walk through. We also were able to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Danny L
IceMountainGuides, Manager at Icelandic Mountain Guides, responded to this review

It sounds like you got a chance to see the absolutely stunning ice cave at Svínafellsjökull, Danny L. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your tour and had the chance to climb two walls on the glacier. We think our country is wonderful and it is nice to hear that you feel the same. :-) Thank you for... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I am so impressed by the professional and amazing guided hike we had with this group. Hanka, our leader, was great at getting us introduced to ice walking and giving us the historical facts about the glacier. We had children in our group and she was extremely safe and attentive.

Helpful?
Thank Jeannie C
IceMountainGuides, Manager at Icelandic Mountain Guides, responded to this review

Thank you for the review, Jeannie C. We are glad that you and your family enjoyed the glacier walk tour. Safety is our top priority and it is great to hear that our guide made you feel safe. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Iceland. All the best, Jewells Icelandic Mountain Guides More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We originally booked for five people but one person had to cancel due to a dodgy knee - the company immediately agreed and refunded us. Then, for the ultimate challenge, we turned up on an appallingly rainy day with my 86 year-old mother-in-law, who is very fit and 'game' but a bit frail. Magnus, our guide for that day, suggested... More 

Helpful?
Thank Keith C
IceMountainGuides, Manager at Icelandic Mountain Guides, responded to this review

So glad to hear that your group, including your 86 year old mother-in-law, had a great time on the glacier walk tour with Magnus! The weather in Iceland can vary quite a bit on any given day but we are happy that it worked out for you to come on another day. Even though we think it would be great... More 

San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

1. First traveling through Iceland is stupendous! 2. Fimmvörðuháls Volcano Hike is a MUST IFFFFFF - you are active / fit - its moderately difficult - you are NOT afraid of heights - you pack well with layers - you bring or rent (ahead of time) GOOD HIKING BOOTS - you get lucky to have Arnaud as your guide -... More 

Helpful?
Thank arorasha
IceMountainGuides, Manager at Icelandic Mountain Guides, responded to this review

Thank you for the review and feedback, arorasha. As you explained, the Fimmvörðuháls volcano hike is quite amazing. We appreciate you sharing tips with others considering the hike and for recommending that we update the description on the site. We will look into that. We will also let Arnaud know that you really appreciated his guidance. We hope that you... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I took the Blue Ice Experience, the basic 2-hour hike on Svinafellsjokull Glacier Tongue. The group was small and the guide was friendly, patient, and informative. We peered into crevasses and learned about ice melt. A good first taste of glacial landscapes.

Helpful?
Thank maryjammaryjam
IceMountainGuides, Manager at Icelandic Mountain Guides, responded to this review

Thanks for the review, maryjammaryjam. As you mentioned, the Blue Ice Experience is a great for taste for those who are curious about glaciers in Iceland. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your tour and guide. All the best, Jewells Icelandic Mountain Guides More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

An amazing 5 gold star experience. Dori was our guide and he was awesome for this magnificent glacier walk and ice walking experience - together with visits to 2 beautiful and very different water falls. We - a family of 5 -were timely picked up in comfortable minivan. Throughout the drive Dori educated us on the history of what we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Allison K
IceMountainGuides, Manager at Icelandic Mountain Guides, responded to this review

So glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed the glacier walk and ice climbing tour, Allison K. Thank you for sharing some tips with others who might consider this adventure. We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your time in Iceland. All the best, Jewells Icelandic Mountain Guides More 

Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

These trips are expensive so we were unsure about whether to go. We were emailed the day before to tell us that because of bad weather the trip would probably be cancelled and were offered a refund or tour the day after. We chose to delay. Our guide was August and there were only our family of 3 on the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Wags63
IceMountainGuides, Manager at Icelandic Mountain Guides, responded to this review

Thanks for the review, Wags63. The weather in Iceland varies a lot but we are glad you were able to delay your adventure by a day in order to enjoy ice climbing with Águst. As you mentioned, the cave that you saw at Svínfellsjökull will disappear soon but it is awesome that you and your family got a chance to... More 

Travelers who viewed Icelandic Mountain Guides also viewed

Vatnajokull National Park, East Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Icelandic Mountain Guides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Icelandic Mountain Guides and other visitors
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Icelandic Mountain Guides staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?