We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Reykjavik Excursions Northern Lights Tour

Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Vatnsmyrarvegur 10 | BSI Bus Terminal, Reykjavik, Iceland
Phone Number:
+354 580 5400
Website
Description:

The Northern Lights, also known as the Aurora Borealis are a spectacular...

The Northern Lights, also known as the Aurora Borealis are a spectacular natural phenomenon, often seen dancing around in fantastic colours across the Icelandic Arctic sky. The Northern lights are caused by the interaction of particles from the sun with the upper atmosphere near the North Pole. That creates this wonderful light effect, known as the Aurora Borealis.The locations visited are different every tour since we go where it’s most likely to see the Northern Lights each day. This tour is dependant on weather and sightings are not guaranteed. Refreshments not included.

read more
Book In Advance
More Info
$62.00*
and up
Northern Lights Tour from Reykjavik
Why book on Viator?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information ›

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 1,129 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 413
    Excellent
  • 232
    Very good
  • 183
    Average
  • 113
    Poor
  • 122
    Terrible
Plan on NOT seeing the Northern lights and you won't be disappointed

They won't tell you how rare it is to see any lights. With bad weather and unpredictable light shows, you will likely miss out. Policy is if you don't go on your trip due them... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Chris K
,
Roseville, California

Similar Things to Do in Reykjavik

Add Photo Write a Review

1,129 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,063: English reviews
Norwood, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Whether you drive yourself or take a tour go late at night on a cloudless night and head out of the capital where there are no lights to distract. The secret is you have to wait and hope for the best. We took a tour near a lighthouse and parked and went into a restaurant w/a deck and the bar... More 

Helpful?
Thank marciasturtevant
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Got picked up on time from the hotel, transfer was fast and we got onto a bigger bus with more people. Our tour guide (I can't remember how you say her name natively but it translated to ursula in English) was really knowledgeable and funny. We were incredibly lucky to see the lights and they took us way out of... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie G
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Me and my friend have booked this tour. Yesterday, we did not see any northern light and they booked us for another trip straightaway which was wonderful. However, today, the tour got cancelled and they did not even care to contact or inform us in anyway. We were waiting out there in the rain and snow from 21:30 to 22:10,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Thanakorn S
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

They won't tell you how rare it is to see any lights. With bad weather and unpredictable light shows, you will likely miss out. Policy is if you don't go on your trip due them canceling (They often do), You get a refund. IF you go (Like I did) and there are no lights out, you get a free 'try... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chris K
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It is very subjective as to whether you see the Northern lights, that is down to nature itself however on the night we went out we had one of the best displays (they said) they had in a while. It is truly surreal! You do not get sea sickness tablets and the boat will go out so far and just... More 

Helpful?
Thank Aarti K
derbyshire
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

the tour was cancelled on the wed but went ahead on thurs if there is cloud they are not able to go it was a perfect night we went out on the andrea and our commentator was Jonathon as we pulled out of the dock the lights started it was an amazing sight were out for about 2 1/2 hours... More 

Helpful?
Thank jersey95
Dwygyfylchi, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Having searched tirelessly for the Northern Lights in our own rental car for three nights previous we thought we'd try one last attempt and try an experienced tour company. We were told when booking to wait outside the booking office for 9.30pm only for the bus to pass us by and not pick us up until 10.00pm. We boarded the... More 

Helpful?
Thank brennichucks
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The northern lights trip was bitterly disappointing. The coach trip was very long (almost 2 hours) and the guide spent most of the time telling us not to expect to see anything. She was very annoying and talked largely about herself rather than sharing interesting facts about the northern lights. After a 1-2 hour journey the coach dramatically stopped in... More 

Helpful?
Thank leah w
DC Metro area
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This tour was included with the package we bought through Icelandair. The voucher states to be ready between 930-10 in front of the hotel. People from other groups were there as well and while some companies were running late, everyone was picked up in front of the hotel. Around 945 we noticed a Reykjavik excursions bus ride pass the hotel... More 

Helpful?
Thank Neaseoul
ReykjavikExcursions, Manager at Reykjavik Excursions Northern Lights Tour, responded to this review

Hi, Neaseoul, Thank you for your review and we're sorry to hear you weren't picked up. We have been changing the pick up locations in the last few days due to new regulations from the city council of Reykjavík. However, not knowing where you were staying, I can't say if your hotel was one of those hotels. However, even though... More 

WI
Level Contributor
83 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good group and VERY knowledgeable guide! She had her own camera and even told us how to set cameras to maximize our pictures. You must know that seeing the lights is NOT a guarantee and we were out in the boonies for about an hour and saw a very tiny bit even though it was a crystal clear night. I... More 

Helpful?
Thank froggy724

Travelers who viewed Reykjavik Excursions Northern Lights Tour also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Reykjavik Excursions Northern Lights Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Reykjavik Excursions Northern Lights Tour and other visitors
56 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (56)

Questions? Get answers from Reykjavik Excursions Northern Lights Tour staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?