We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Borea Adventures

Isafjordur, Iceland
More
About Borea Adventures
Borea Adventures is based in Isafjordur, the capital of the Westfjords, and offers great selection of outdoor adventures. The company started in 2006 operating sea kayaking, hiking, sailing, skiing, wildlife and mountain biking trips in the pristine wilderness around Isafjordur. Borea adheres to the principles of low impact, sustainable tourism. Our priority is to guarantee our guests enjoyable wilderness experiences in perfect harmony with the environment that supports us.
Read more
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travelers talk about

Borea Adventures
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor

Want other options you can book now?
237Reviews2Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 180
  • 29
  • 7
  • 11
  • 10
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Kipp M wrote a review Aug 3
Tucson, Arizona229 contributions47 helpful votes
+1
Wow, what a pleasant surprise! I booked a 6 day kayak tour, hoping for the best. And honestly, the best is what I got! All of the paddlers, 4 of us clients and the guide, were competent and prepared paddlers. The tour was wonderful. A combination of tent camping and staying in amazing historical and remote buildings. The setting was what I had dreamed of. Wildlife sightings were abundant. Brendan Jackson, our guide, was safe and knowledgable with out being the least bit stifling. I'd paddle with him anytime! They also lead hikes and backpacking trips, day and half day kayak tours, skiing and Arctic Fox photography expeditions in the winter. I'm sure that there is more as well. Finally, the company is owned by local Icelandic folks and the inclusion of culture and history was a significant bonus on the tour!
Read more
Date of experience: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
ped_anip wrote a review Jul 2022
Reykjavik, Iceland10 contributions1 helpful vote
The hike is great, starting from a beautiful fjord and ending in a different one. On the way there we saw pristine lakes and waterfalls. Guide Gunnur was great, safety minded and gave us plenty of time to enjoy the scenery. Fish soup in the end is a treat. Great way to get the Hornstrand views and remoteness feeling if you have only one day.
Read more
Date of experience: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Remco T wrote a review Jul 2022
4 contributions
We booked this trip some while back from home in the hope to see the arctic fox. **spoiler** we didn't see any... Just paw prints... But it didn't really matter, we were in a small group of 4 people and the guide and perfect weather. We learned so much about the (edible) flowers, birds and the foxes in Hornstrandir. Also a bit of extra history about the place itself. Just an amazing experience. So thanks Birte(hope i got that right) for the amazing and wonderful tour!
Read more
Date of experience: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
dcmhes wrote a review Jul 2022
Portsmouth, United Kingdom38 contributions8 helpful votes
Very disappointed, was one of the trips we had been looking forward to most on our cruise! Hadn't expected to have a faulty kayak. Had trouble with the rudder from the outset. But was told it was OK, so took to the water. Started out a nice calm paddle towards the airport. Then the rudder failed again. Paddling a sea kayak with no rudder is no fun, and extremely hard work having to correct course for wind and tide. Wasn't able to then keep up with the main group so missed most of the tour! Arrived back at the Dock exhausted. No safety boat to help out, so had to paddle back against the cross wind... not very enjoyable. Turns out our was not the only kayak to have mechanical troubles.. Looking for a refund. If you go, make sure the equipment is in good working order!!! Too late to do anything about it once out in the fjord. Staff pleasant enough but didn't seem too bothered when we complained.
Read more
Date of experience: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from RunarKarlss, Owner at Borea Adventures
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hello dcmhs and sorry to hear that you had problems on our trip. We try the best we can to make sure that the kayaks are in good working order and bought many new boats for the season. Most of the time we have guests that struggle with using the rudder, it's because they are wearing bulky shoes or fail to maintain pressure on the pedals and loose their footing. I'm not saying that was the case with you but since it was working at the beginning, that might be the case. We would be happy to discuss things further if you send us an email. All the best
Read more
Nicholas B wrote a review Jul 2022
Nederland, Colorado80 contributions26 helpful votes
We did the day hike in the Hornstrandir. The guides are top notch, take care to read the group and adjust accordingly. The weather was not great so we hiked more quickly to get to their little farmhouse and enjoyed the afternoon with the arctic fox and being out of the wind and rain. Definitely bring water proof/resistant hiking shoes/boots. Sadly because of weather our kayak trip was canceled the next day. This business knows what they are doing and do a very good job. Highly recommend them
Read more
Date of experience: June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from RunarKarlss, Owner at Borea Adventures
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thanks Nicolas for a great review. We've been especially lucky with the guides we have this season and we've many that's been with us for many years. All the best.
Read more
Previous
123456