We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Iceland Fishing Guide

Features Animals

Iceland Fishing Guide
Booking unavailable on TripAdvisor

Want other options you can book now?
All photos (39)
All photos (39)
Full view
Traveler Overview
  • Excellent88%
  • Very good0%
  • Average2%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible5%
Travelers talk about
“brown trout”(10 reviews)
“snow mobiles”(3 reviews)
“arctic char”(10 reviews)
Iceland Fishing Guide was formed in 2009 in the purpose of inviting anglers from around the world to come to Iceland and make use of the experienced we have gained through an endless urge to explore new water and get to know them well enough to be...more
Suggested duration: More than 3 hours
Akureyri 603, Iceland
+354 660 1642
Improve This Listing
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brown trout snow mobiles arctic char snowmobile tour day trip great fun matthias casting fished techniques river equipment scenery ice species adventure
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 36 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2018

Have been using Iceland Fishing Guide for manny trip to Iceland. The best Guides and fishing in Iceland

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank SteelheaderDK
Reviewed August 8, 2018

My dad and I took a trip with Matti at the end of this past May for brown trout, sea run trout and char. We could not have been happier with our experience! First, we had booked one guide for the two of us but...More

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank John M
Reviewed August 6, 2018

Just returned from an excellent week of flyfishing for Atlantic Salmon on the Myrarkvisl River with Matti as my guide. It's difficult to fit more fishing into a 24 hour day. Two six hour fishing sessions separated by an early afternoon lunch break. The river...More

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank GeneNewHampshire
Reviewed August 5, 2018 via mobile

My wife and I visited Iceland for our honeymoon. I met matt at the Fly Fishing shows in the USA. When I planned my trip matt was easy to reach and willing to help. I told him I wanted to fish for char and he...More

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank joshpgh2018
Reviewed August 1, 2018

As a guide myself and professional in the fly fishing industry, I can speak highly for Matti and Iceland Fishing Guides. I did not get to fish with any of Matti's guides, but I fished with him. We only had 3 days of fishing, but...More

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank flyfish2018
Reviewed July 26, 2018

Like a recent client, @525 Fred, we found this guide service to be a huge waste of money and time. In fact, it would be a stretch to call it a "guide service" as it was rather a tourist trap given Matti's business practices. I...More

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Sam R
Matthías Þór H, Owner at Iceland Fishing Guide, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2018

I was shocked to read the review you gave us, is this really your experience of our operation or where you hot when you wrote this because you did not get an answer to your email and where unlucky on the river? We are honestly...More

Reviewed July 22, 2018

What I thought was going to be the highlight of my trip to Iceland turned out to be an absolute waste of time and money. I expected to fish in waters that were described to me as very good Char and Trout rivers. My guide...More

Date of experience: July 2018
1  Thank 525fred
Matthías Þór H, Owner at Iceland Fishing Guide, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2018

Hello 525fred Sorry to hear about your bad experience with one of our Reykjavík day tours, we will go over with the work procedure and river pick of our Reykjavík agent to make sure this does not happen again. Regarding the minimum rate, we have...More

Reviewed July 5, 2018

My wife and I took advantage of the Iceland Air free layover extension to our Sweden vacation and took in some tours in Iceland. On the day she was to do the "Game of Thrones" tour I opted out to go fishing. I had read...More

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank lfunkhouser2018
Reviewed April 9, 2018

I just returned from a fantastic fishing adventure with friends. Those friends just happen to work for Iceland Fishing Guide. Matti' and Begi's enthusiasm for trout and char fishing, appreciation of Iceland's natural beauty and infectious sense of humor made the sub zero (celcius) temps...More

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank swingfly
Matthías Þór H, Owner at Iceland Fishing Guide, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2018

Wow thank you so much Duncan for the review, hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed January 3, 2018

Excellent snowmobile tour, the operators are helpful and well organised, providing decent instruction on how to use the snow mobiles. The equipment was all in good working order. We had a clear day with beautiful views over Akureyri!

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank V7909KHjohns
View more reviews
Nearby HotelsSee all 8 nearby hotels
Icelandair Hotel Akureyri
891 reviews
.23 miles away
Hotel Edda Akureyri
273 reviews
.28 miles away
Hotel Akureyri
256 reviews
.48 miles away
Hotel Kea by Keahotels
777 reviews
.54 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 70 nearby restaurants
Blaa Kannan Cafe
348 reviews
.56 miles away
Kaffi Ilmur
551 reviews
.56 miles away
Rub 23
970 reviews
.53 miles away
Backpackers Cafe
365 reviews
.56 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 91 nearby attractions
Arctic Botanical Gardens (Lystigardurinn)
751 reviews
.37 miles away
367 reviews
.39 miles away
Hof Cultural and Conference Center
38 reviews
.71 miles away
Akureyri Botanical Gardens
11 reviews
.37 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
February 6, 2018|
Response from matth_as_rh | Property representative |
The snowmobile ride itself takes 1 hour and the travel to and from the mountain along with getting suited up about another hour. We use different locations depending on the snow layers, lately we have been using the... More
March 8, 2017|
Response from Matthías H | Property representative |
Most of our rivers are catch and release.