We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hestaleigan Kátur

51 Reviews
Sorry, there are no tours or activities available to book online for the date(s) you selected. Please choose a different date.

Hestaleigan Kátur

51 Reviews
Sorry, there are no tours or activities available to book online for the date(s) you selected. Please choose a different date.
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Akureyri
from $91.10
More Info
from $166.82
More Info
from $89.00
More Info
from $88.73
More Info
Full view
Location
Contact
Sorlaskjol 6 603 Akureyri, Akureyri 601 Iceland
Get to know the area
8 Day Minibus Winter Tour | Around Iceland Small Group
Multi-day Tours

8 Day Minibus Winter Tour | Around Iceland Small Group

44 reviews
This 8-day tour takes you to the must see Golden Circle route with all its amazing sites. You will see the unbeatable Gullfoss waterfall, Geysir geothermal area and of course the UNESCO World Heritage Site, Thingvellir National Park. Next you will be heading to the much talked about South Coast, where you will explore the unique black sand beach, Reynisfjara and Jökulsárlón glacier lagoon. After exploring the Eastfjords, Lake Mývatn awaits with its unique surroundings, you will explore Dimmuborgir lava pillars and then carry on the journey to the capital of the North, Akureyri. From there you will head to West Iceland and Snæfellsnes Peninsula and find some hidden gems and locations to experience, such as Kirkjufell mountain, lava pillars, a white beach and waterfalls.<br><br>While you enjoy this versatile tour you will be able to book extra tours and activities along the way to make your experience even more special, such as horse riding, hiking, and exploring ice caves.
$1,586.55 per adult
51Reviews0Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 45
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
WHERESWAUGH wrote a review Sep 2019
Dublin, Ohio506 contributions79 helpful votes
We booked the River Crossing ride and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The weather was a bit overcast and rainy but they provide rainwear during the ride. It was a terrific experience to interact with the special Icelandic horses who are much shorter than horses I have ridden in America...therefore much easier to get on and off of. The saddles were so comfortable - they do not have a pommel as in Western saddles, but instead they lift slightly from the the horses back (where a pommel would be) and are very easy to put your hand under and hold onto if you need it. The leather is padded in front of your knees and it makes for a very comfortable seat when you get to trot/tolt towards the end of the ride. Wish I was back in Iceland and could do this again.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Elena N, Guest Relations Manager at Hestaleigan Kátur
Responded Sep 14, 2019
Thank you for your kind words. Hope to seeing you again :)
Read more
Tessa W wrote a review Jul 2019
3 contributions
My sister and I decided we’d like to experience a tour on the wonderful Icelandic horses. So after some research we found this place. It did not disappoint, the staff were friendly and very knowledgable and made us feel welcome. The horses were absolutely amazing creatures and so friendly. I particularly loved Dreamus. Thank you for a great experience.
Read more
Date of experience: July 2019
Helpful
Share
Fee0705 wrote a review Jul 2019
2 contributions2 helpful votes
Since we went on an absolutely wonderful riding tour yesterday (at another stable) we decided to spontaneously book the 2 hour tour offered on their website. We were contacted shortly afterwards as they wanted to reschedule the tour to an earlier time. When we arrived, they seemed to be stressed and we were not greated very friendly by the manager. We had to sign a form and pay, they gave us gloves and helmets and then the tour started. It would have been nice to tell us a bit about the horses we were meant to spend the next 2 hours with or give us a few minutes to let them get to know us before we climbed in the saddle. We booked the forest tour for experienced riders with lots of toelt and galopp as that‘s what we enjoy most. Unfortunately one of the horses was not motivated to walk, making the first half of the tour very exhausting for me. Apparently the horses we were riding were on a very long tour day before, so they might not have been the best choice for the tour we booked. Riding a horse that does not want to walk is not the greatest pleasure. Only after the guide gave me her whip the horse walked faster, by merely seeing the whip in my hands. I just could not stop feeling bad for this lovely horse that did not seem to enjoy this at all. After the tour yesterday where the horses were fast and fresh, the contrast was immense. My partner was not 100% comfortable with his horse and was offered to ride the guide‘s horse instead which was kind of her. One reason for his discomfort was part of the equipment which even our guide described as „bad“ (she used a different word I won‘t quote). We were left wondering why they even use this equipment. The guide‘s horse was wearing better and more comfortable equipment and my partner enjoyed his ride afterwards. We both liked the galopping and we saw some cute bunnies in the forest. When we returned from the tour, they took the horses from us and disappeared, we were left standing there and decided to leave since they did not seem interested in any further interaction with us. No goodbye, not a sign of interest if we liked the tour or anything. As we drove away, we just could not help but feel very disappointed. The horses were beautiful and lovely, the atmosphere and overall experience however were not welcoming and very cold.
Read more
Date of experience: July 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Elena N, Guest Relations Manager at Hestaleigan Kátur
Responded Sep 12, 2019
Dear Felicitas, We are sorry that you did not like tie ride and hope you had a great time in Iceland despite that. As you came in high season the guides sometimes might not have that much time for small talk but of course you should always feel welcome and we apologize if you and your partner did not. I remember that you did not want our help with finding the perfect helmet for you and so on. Maybe that is why we thought you wanted to experience this more with your partner than with the interaction with us. We always try find the best choice of horse for each rider relying on the info that you gave us. The 3 horses on your tour were horses for experienced riders only and were definitively not tired from the day before as those three are not used that often but some horses just walk better with a stick that the refered rider might not have wanted. We do not force anyone to take a stick if they are not comfortable with it. Can it be that you might have misunderstood the guide a bout the equipment? Our saddles get checked and adjusted by a saddler which is a service that no other horse rental offers in Iceland. However, if you did not like this experience we are truly sorry about it and hope that next time you will find an operator that worked up to your standard.
Read more
Lynne W wrote a review Jul 2019
Bordon, United Kingdom131 contributions157 helpful votes
I recently went on this, booked via my cruise ship, and very much enjoyed it. They picked us up at the docks and took us to their farm only a few miles out of lovely Akureyri. The Icelandic horses are quite small (13 - 13.2hh) placid and very strong. The safety of riders is well taken care of, and I would recommend this for even the most nervous beginner. Lovely ride alongside a shallow river, mainly all at the walk, though braver riders can try the TOLT which is a natural pacing trot which you sit to and is surprisingly comfortable.
Read more
Date of experience: July 2019
Helpful
Share
JGH wrote a review Jul 2019
Lexington, Kentucky30 contributions2 helpful votes
This isn’t your typical US trail ride where you just sit on the horse and walk behind the one in front of you. You actually get to interact with and control your horse. I can’t speak for all of them, but mine was very well trained. She responded well to the lightest bit or leg pressure and very willing to do whatever I asked. But, even if you’ve never ridden the guides will make sure to match you up with a horse that’s right for you. The other nice thing is that about halfway through the ride, after you’ve gotten to know your horse, they’ll split the group up into those that want to go faster and try the unique Icelandic gait and those that just want to stay at a trot. I highly recommend trying this unique gait. It’s unlike anything you’ll ever experience on a horse. The scenery wasn’t the best, but there was still some interesting features and wildlife to see.
Read more
Date of experience: July 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Elena N, Guest Relations Manager at Hestaleigan Kátur
Responded Jul 15, 2019
Thanks on your comments on the ridng tour :) . For the one hour ride we split the group. For those who join the faster group it gets more scenic as the even cross a river one or two times. The slow group unfortunately misses out on that one the one hour ride. A good alternative then would be the River-Crossing-Tour. Thanks for riding with us and we hope to see you again :)
Read more
Previous
1234569