City Bikes Stockholm
City Bikes Stockholm
4
Gear Rentals
This location was reported permanently closed

Top ways to experience nearby attractions

The area
Neighborhood: Norrmalm
Norrmalm is Stockholm’s most central and busiest neighborhood. It’s home to the main shopping street, Drottninggatan, and to Stockholm icons like the Sergels Torg glass obelisk, the famous Hay Market with its Carl Milles sculptures, and the Hötorget Skyscrapers, a sight on every other Stockholm postcard. Norrmalm is also home to Sweden’s most traditional department stores Nordiska Kompaniet and Åhléns City juxtaposed with Stockholm’s most modern shopping mall, Mood Stockholm. Visitors to this area get to experience the unique Swedish philosophy of protecting cultural heritage while also staying on top of fashion innovation and modern architecture.
How to get there
  • Hötorget • 5 min walk
  • T-Centralen • 5 min walk
Reach out directly

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.


4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles90 reviews
Excellent
39
Very good
28
Average
6
Poor
5
Terrible
12

The_Finn_in_Sweden
Stockholm7 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2017
You can with a small fee get a bike from any place in town and leave it to any place and bike in between these - fix the app and you´ll bike and see a lot fast in town.
Written September 6, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Amina Bakbena
Brussels, Belgium27 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2019
I travel a lot solo and I almost always stay at hostels. This one is the best yet. A very juvinile vibe. Clean and secure. Really cozy. I basically loved it and I'm planning on returning.
Written September 21, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Yvette M
London, UK98 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2018 • Couples
Stockholm’s City Bikes scheme is the best of any I have used throughout Europe and North America. Good condition bikes, excellent app showing availability and best of all, they can be kept for three hours at a time before needing to be Re-docked. This is hugely advantageous, allowing you to really explore the islands!
Written August 17, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Mi Z
Zurich, Switzerland21 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2018 • Couples
We took a three day pass for a long weekend but only achieved to get four times for each a max. 10 min ride a bike. The rest of the days all stations were permanently empty! Consequently wouldn’t recommend city bikes to anybody who really wants a bike to use.
Written August 27, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

G L
Stockholm, Sweden7 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2018 • Couples
Didn't return the bike on time ONCE so they blocked my season card for the whole summer.What a waste of money.
Written July 25, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

AussieTraveller2017
Germany60 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2017 • Friends
By far the worst, most deplorable bike sharing scheme I've ever used.

How this system was ever approved is beyond all reason - it is completely illogical, impractical and far more expensive than functioning systems abroad. It is a shame that such a beautiful and tourist-friendly city like Sweden has such a poor bike sharing system.

Here's what's wrong with it:

1) The system only operates until 10pm, so if you feel like riding home from dinner, forget it!

2) Good luck finding an operational bike, or a bike station - most of the time the entire station was out of order, or the individual bikes were malfunctioning and couldn't be hired/returned.

3) The bikes can't be locked during your journey! This should be a basic! It's unfathomable that someone would invent a hire bike without a lock. If you want to ride to a shop or stop to buy a drink, you simply can't because you need to return the bike to a station - if you can find one in the area. Lots of dehydrated cyclists roaming the streets of Stockholm for a return station, on the verge of collapse, because of this anomaly.

4) The quality of the bikes is very poor - they are heavy, noisy, in a state of disrepair and poorly maintained. Especially for 16 Euros / 3 days (in some German cities the comparable system is free of charge!)

5) 3 hour time limit - sorry about your lovely plans for a picnic - nope, you have to return the bike in 180 minutes

6) The hire stations are far and few between - given that there's no locks on the bikes, you have to return them at a station with an available/empty space... good luck in Gamla Stan!!

My advice: it's far easier and quicker to walk. Save your money.
Written June 6, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

disk u
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Sep 2018 • Solo
I spend 15 euros without checking first the bikes, I trusted another reviews, and the bikes not worth the money. They are poor, if you want live "peligrosamente", go ahead, but if you worth your life, forget them, better spend the money in the public transport.
Written September 4, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

accabrown
Edinburgh, UK8 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2018 • Solo
These bikes are light and reasonably well handling for bike hire bikes. But they have no back brakes.

The back wheel is braked by pedalling backwards and if you're not used to this (or if the front brake isn't working, as it wasn't on the first one I hired) this makes them really dangerous in traffic. If you are used to conventional bikes, you will grab for a lever that just isn't there, and then maybe remember to pedal backwards. At that point, if you're lucky, the bike stops dead, and you have to jump off. If not, you continue into whatever you were avoiding.

Yes, they are very cheap, and well distributed around the city. But a horrifying experience for cyclists used to normal bikes.
Written May 16, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

tamminh
Ann Arbor, MI224 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2017 • Couples
For only 20 USD, I could ride a comfortable bike around Stockholm for 3 days. Compared that to 5 USD per a metro/bus/tram ride, it was a winner. On top of that, the city made it so easy and safe and convenient to use the bike: There were a lot of bike paths and wide sidewalks to ride on, the IT system allowed seamless checking in and out of bikes, the bike stations were located everywhere in the tourist areas. Riding the bike in Stockholm was my best experience during the visit!
Written September 12, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Patricia O
Amsterdam35 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2017 • Friends
The concept is great, some things can be improved though!

1) The system only operates until 10pm, so if you feel like riding home from dinner, or a pub, it's not possible. Bikes can be only returned till 1pm. This should be 24 hours in my opinion.

2) The bikes can't be locked during your journey. This should be a basic! We brought a small lock with us, which was great. But it's not nice that you can't go into a shop along the way.

4) 3 hour time limit - if you cross it, you will get a penalty and they block your card. After a call they free your card and with 3 penalties you can't use your card anymore.

5) If you call them, because of a problem or a penalty their service is not great.

Good things about this service

1) Lot's of docking stations over the city.

2) Their app is great, it will show you all stations, including how many bikes are left.

3) Cheap transportation to get around the city.

Worth using this bikes, though I hope they improve some things.
Written August 14, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-10 of 52
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

City Bikes Stockholm - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (2024)

All Stockholm HotelsStockholm Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Stockholm
All things to do in Stockholm
Day Trips in Stockholm
RestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars