ICEBAR Stockholm
ICEBAR Stockholm
4
About
THE WORLD'S ORIGINAL ICE BAR ICEBAR by ICEHOTEL Stockholm is the world's first permanent bar made of ice, built in 2002. Every year in April, the interior and design is renewed with fresh ice from Torne River and skilful ice sculptors from ICEHOTEL in Jukkasjärvi in the very north of Sweden. ICEBAR by ICEHOTEL Stockholm is open all year and has a constant temperature of -7 degrees celsius (19 degrees fahrenheit). The interior is made out of sculpted ice from the arctic Torne River, just like the glasses your drink is served out of. The bar has room for up to 60 people. The entry fee includes a cocktail and a visit lasts about 40 minutes. Children are welcome, and are served a colourful kids' drink. ICEBAR by ICEHOTEL Stockholm is centrally located on Vasaplan, next door to Stockholm Central Station and the airport shuttle train Arlanda Express. Nordic C Hotel is located in the same building as ICEBAR Stockholm. Since it opened in 2002, the ice bar has become a popular attraction in Stockholm, attracting both tourists and locals who want a slice of the arctic north in downtown Stockholm.
Duration: < 1 hour
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours & experiences
Explore different ways to experience this place.

Top ways to experience ICEBAR Stockholm and nearby attractions

The area
Address
Neighborhood: Norrmalm
Norrmalm is Stockholm’s most central and busiest neighborhood. It’s home to the main shopping street, Drottninggatan, and to Stockholm icons like the Sergels Torg glass obelisk, the famous Hay Market with its Carl Milles sculptures, and the Hötorget Skyscrapers, a sight on every other Stockholm postcard. Norrmalm is also home to Sweden’s most traditional department stores Nordiska Kompaniet and Åhléns City juxtaposed with Stockholm’s most modern shopping mall, Mood Stockholm. Visitors to this area get to experience the unique Swedish philosophy of protecting cultural heritage while also staying on top of fashion innovation and modern architecture.
How to get there
  • T-Centralen • 3 min walk
  • Hötorget • 7 min walk
Reach out directly
See what travelers are saying
  • William M
    Edinburgh, United Kingdom605 contributions
    4.0 of 5 bubbles
    Good fun
    A fun thing to do while in Stockholm. It’s a nice little set up with everything carved out of ice (seats, tables, bar, etc), so lots of good opportunities for some photos. You get one drink included in the admission price and that’s all you really need. By the time you’ve had your drink and taken your photos, you’re ready to go.
    Visited May 2023
    Written May 29, 2023
  • Jennifer C
    30 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Dress warm and do this!
    We had gone to the ice hotel and we wanted to check this out as well. It didn’t disappoint! Drinks can be expensive but it’s like 99% alcohol so I felt it was worth the money. Staff were friendly. It has all the charm you’re looking for! Very similar to the ice hotel’s bar (the original). Go!
    Visited May 2023
    Traveled as a couple
    Written June 9, 2023
  • Xamot Tomax
    Fort Wayne, Indiana6,812 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Worth checking out
    We enjoyed our time here. It was my wife’s first time at an ice bar. This is the worlds first permanent ice bar located within a hotel. The interior temperature is approximately -5 C (23 F). Due to temperature, they’ll provide a heavy cover to help keep you warm. Our bartender mentioned that the bar is rebuilt every year with a different theme. Approximately 40 tons of ice are shipped down from the northern part of the country to remake the bar. When picking your drink from their selection, you aren’t given a traditional glass. You’re given and ice glass that’s only used once. You’ll get a new one with each new drink. It can be a little pricey, but it’s definitely worth experiencing at least once. You can always tell someone that your drink was warmer than the room temperature.
    Visited December 2022
    Traveled as a couple
    Written July 4, 2023
  • rebecca221100
    Lodi, Italy3 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    An excellent experience
    It's possible to reserve a slot for 45 minutes ( and they're enough to appreciate totally the experience ) and when you get there it's all very organised: you have an appropriate coat and gloves to protect yourself from the cold, you drink a good cocktail (included in the ticket) in an ice glass and you can spend the time relaxing surrounded by the ice or dancing or taking photos. The receptionist/bartender is very kind and friendly. I recommend it.
    Visited August 2023
    Traveled with friends
    Written August 8, 2023
  • Samantha de Paula
    Sao Paulo, SP28 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Great experience in Stockholm
    Icebar was an experience that I really want to try in Stockholm. The place is amazing, the drinks are really good and the service as well. I could stay there for 20 minutes as a Latam girl that I am but it worth it !
    Visited October 2023
    Traveled solo
    Written October 6, 2023
  • Kerry S
    Hampshire, United Kingdom175 contributions
    4.0 of 5 bubbles
    Unique experience in Stockholm, a nice mocktail too!
    Unique bar experience… you can even buy a mould to make your own glasses from the shop. Worth spending a little while to enjoy the icy interior. Recommend the passion fruit and grenadine mocktail… Don’t miss out on recycling your glass in the recycling chute.
    Visited November 2023
    Traveled with family
    Written December 21, 2023
  • Alexander W
    Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom1,099 contributions
    4.0 of 5 bubbles
    A cool experience
    As it was -10 outside (plus wind chill) it was nice to come into the Ice Bar to warm up a little! It’s pretty much a must do when in Stockholm, and there are a bunch of spots where you can grab a good photo. That said, the drink I tried was just passable, and there aren’t a huge number of places to sit so we stayed just a short while before moving on.
    Visited January 2024
    Traveled with family
    Written January 7, 2024
  • MERLION04
    Bristol, United Kingdom629 contributions
    4.0 of 5 bubbles
    Have Fun, Dance, Take Loads of Photos but Don't Lick the Walls!
    This was something we really looked forward to, didn't get off to a great start though, when the first member of staff we met was really miserable. Fortunately the other two guys there were really great. We were given waterproof ponchos & gloves to wear, the gloves were not to protect our fingers but to stop the warmth of our fingers melting our ice glasses. Our entrance ticket included one drink, a choice of mostly vodka based cocktails and some non-alcoholic options. We chose a Pink Sky (can't recommend) & a Sunset which was good. We visited on a Sunday evening, it wasn't really busy but there were enough people to give the bar some atmosphere. We had fun & were pleased we visited, we even stayed for the whole 45 minutes.
    Visited February 2024
    Traveled as a couple
    Written February 10, 2024
These reviews are the subjective opinion of Tripadvisor members and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles1,995 reviews
Excellent
678
Very good
763
Average
383
Poor
96
Terrible
75

Nic'n'Mik
Wilmslow, UK17 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020 • Family
This could have been so much better, if the bar owners had put in a tiny bit mote effort. I've been in ice bars before where there was seating (covered with furs) which meant one could sit with a drink for a while before the chill set in. But no such luxury in this small, overcrowded and overlit space. After the novelty of standing in a cold room had worn off (which took 5 mins, tops), there wasn't much else to do than neck our over-priced drinks and head back into the city.
There are many wonderful things to do in Stockholm, so I recommend you don't waste your time and an awful lot of money in this place.
Written February 15, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hello, Sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your visit at the Icebar and thank you for taking your time to write a review. We change the theme and design again in april, bringing new ice in from the torne river so hopefully you have the chance to visit us again and that it will be a more pleasant visit for you. Best regards Eden
Written March 2, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Mikael F
Helsinki, Finland31,247 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2021
This Icebar is the world’s first permanent icebar opened in 2002. The interior is carved out of 40 tons of natural ice from the Torne River by ice sculptors from ICEHOTEL.

We were staying in Nordic Light Hotel next to this bar located at C Hotel. Before our hotel stay, we got an offer to this bar 195 SEK per person. The normal price is 225 SEK. The price includes one cocktail and a 45-minute stay.

It was Friday and we booked the 14:00 entrance. It was a good choice because the bar opened at that time. There were only four more persons besides us. The bar has a capacity of 60 persons but the interior is quite small and can get crowded.

The cocktails are served in ice cubes. The drinks were delicious but fingers were almost frozen despite the provided gloves.

The staff was very friendly.
Written November 28, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Xamot Tomax
Fort Wayne, IN6,812 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2022 • Couples
We enjoyed our time here. It was my wife’s first time at an ice bar. This is the worlds first permanent ice bar located within a hotel. The interior temperature is approximately -5 C (23 F). Due to temperature, they’ll provide a heavy cover to help keep you warm. Our bartender mentioned that the bar is rebuilt every year with a different theme. Approximately 40 tons of ice are shipped down from the northern part of the country to remake the bar. When picking your drink from their selection, you aren’t given a traditional glass. You’re given and ice glass that’s only used once. You’ll get a new one with each new drink. It can be a little pricey, but it’s definitely worth experiencing at least once. You can always tell someone that your drink was warmer than the room temperature.
Written July 4, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Heather J
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2021
My third time visiting the Ice Bar over the past few years. A unique activity and they change the theme every year. Amazing how talented the people are that make the ice sculptures. Cool place to visit. Maybe stay 30 minutes tops. It's small, but they only let in a few people at a time so that's no problem.
Written September 1, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

MERLION04
Bristol, UK629 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2024 • Couples
This was something we really looked forward to, didn't get off to a great start though, when the first member of staff we met was really miserable. Fortunately the other two guys there were really great.

We were given waterproof ponchos & gloves to wear, the gloves were not to protect our fingers but to stop the warmth of our fingers melting our ice glasses.

Our entrance ticket included one drink, a choice of mostly vodka based cocktails and some non-alcoholic options. We chose a Pink Sky (can't recommend) & a Sunset which was good.

We visited on a Sunday evening, it wasn't really busy but there were enough people to give the bar some atmosphere.

We had fun & were pleased we visited, we even stayed for the whole 45 minutes.
Written February 10, 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Marilena S
Stockholm, Sweden67 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020
I was expecting freezing to death in the icebar, something that fortunately did not happen! It is an environment you can stand and enjoy one drink from the menu without thinking when to leave. The 45 mins of stay are a bit much, as in half an hour half of the people including us, preffered to end the experience. Cool thing to do, nice deco, but is not an amaaaaaaaazing experience
Written February 2, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for taking the time to write a review! Hope you will have the chance to visit us again sometime in the future and that it will be an amazing experience for you:) Best regards Eden
Written February 3, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Philip R
Santa Fe, NM404 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Sep 2022
We made a reservation which I do recommend. The reservation guarantees you 45 minute access. Quite interesting to be in a bar totally made out of ice include the bar, bar stools and even the cocktail glasses. Fun neon lights make for good photo opportunity. Not a bar you you would frequent but definitly worth a visit!
Written September 13, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

sarah
Leamington Spa, UK19 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2024 • Friends
Arrived for 2pm slot, waited outside for door to open. Saw a queue inside who must’ve come in through the hotel. Staff saw us waiting but didn’t acknowledge us even though it was past 2pm and door still wasn’t opened. We tried the door again shortly after 5 past 2 and it opened- no one had come to open it so must’ve been on a timer.
Once in the actual bar it took 10 minutes for someone to serve drinks. On the ticket it says you can purchase more drinks within the 45 minutes window, but staff had disappeared. Went out to reception to ask if someone could serve and got told ‘everyone has had their drink’. When we asked if it was possible to buy another the response was very negative. There was a family in there who hadn’t even had their included drink! After 35 minutes we decided to go and spend out money elsewhere.

No atmosphere at all, some music got put on after about 30 minutes of being there, but it really needed to be on straight away.

Maybe it would’ve been better not going at opening time but it fit with our schedule.
Written February 11, 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Nichola Threadgold
Scunthorpe, UK18 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020 • Family
Enjoyed this experience. Wasn’t sure what to expect- Was given ponchos & gloves to wear which I would advise as it does get pretty cold when you’ve been standing in there a while. Had our first drink which was included then bought another as was delicious. There were some ice sculptures to take photos of whilst in there also. Would recommend to visit.
Written February 16, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for giving us such a great review. Glad to hear you had a good time and hopefully you will have the chance to visit us sometime in the future. Best regards Eden
Written March 2, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Frida Bravo
Stockholm, Sweden1,381 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2023
This is a tourist trap and there is no way of getting around it. It might be a cool thing to do as a tourist but there are plenty of other amazing bars in Stockholm you can visit instead. It is quite small and instead of making it something spectacular it is just a room filled with ice. The drinks are total garbage, I am not even sure you can call them drinks, more like shots. The bar has different exhibitions and it felt like this neon-exhibition was not even working, you could barely see the light.
Written February 7, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-10 of 1,055
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

ICEBAR Stockholm - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (2024)

Frequently Asked Questions about ICEBAR Stockholm


Restaurants near ICEBAR Stockholm: View all restaurants near ICEBAR Stockholm on Tripadvisor

All Stockholm HotelsStockholm Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Stockholm
All things to do in Stockholm
Day Trips in Stockholm
RestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars