We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Jyllandsakvariet

Vesterhavsgade 16, Thyboron, Lemvig 7680, Denmark
+45 97 83 28 08
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
the boats are fun

our boy liked the boats really much. they are really not in a good shape - as many kids played with... read more

Reviewed June 21, 2018
BenJosefB
,
Vienna, Austria
Nice little aquarium

We visited the aquarium as we got a kombiticket with Kystcentret Thyborøn. It's cute and small... read more

Reviewed August 11, 2017
Basha_Bu
,
Holstebro, Denmark
via mobile
Read all 95 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Experiences at the aquarium At JyllandsAkvariet you get an up-close encounter with the many different fish species that live in the North Sea and the Limfjord. Maybe you dare to grab a crab or stroke a catshark on its back? On certain days, you can help feed the sharks, rays, and flatfish in our touch pools. Explore our children’s submarine and go searching for amber on our indoor beach. You may keep the amber you find. Trips in the nature around Thyborøn Nature safari: A drive by tractor bus along the 2,4 km long embankment into the Limfjord. Help catch small animals for the aquarium. Seal safari by boat: See the seals up-close while they are resting on the sand banks. Amber safari: Get good advice about where, how, and when you can find amber. Oyster safari: One of the best delicacies, the Limfjord’s oyster, lives in the waters of the Limfjord. We gather the oysters and prepare them. New 2018: We have expanded our shark’s maternity clinic. Open all year – activities all year round.
  • Excellent44%
  • Very good42%
  • Average8%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible4%
Jun 21, 2018
“the boats are fun”
Aug 11, 2017
“Nice little aquarium”
Open Now
Hours
Hours Today: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Suggested Duration: 1-2 hours
LOCATION
Vesterhavsgade 16, Thyboron, Lemvig 7680, Denmark
CONTACT
Website
+45 97 83 28 08
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Filter
Reviewed June 21, 2018

our boy liked the boats really much. they are really not in a good shape - as many kids played with them and tore lots of the interior down. anyway our son (4) was much more fascinated to turn the steering wheels or the submarine...More

Thank BenJosefB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JyllandsAkvariet, Ejer at Jyllandsakvariet, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your fine and thorough review. We're not sure if you're talking about our boats because we don't have any where the interior is torn down. However lots of kids play with them, and sometimes bring in a lot of sand...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2017 via mobile

We visited the aquarium as we got a kombiticket with Kystcentret Thyborøn. It's cute and small, will probably take you less time to check it all when travelling without children, as it offers an option to touch the fishes. They have an electric aal and...More

Thank Basha_Bu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JyllandsAkvariet, Ejer at Jyllandsakvariet, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2017

Thank you very much for your fine review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2016 via mobile

We went there to vind Amber, on the safari. Unfortunately the Amber-safari was on another day. We where very disappointed. Check for the richt day for a safari. So that you're not in for aa big surprise when you het there. The touch-pools where nice...More

Thank KarlaNL07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JyllandsAkvariet, Ejer at Jyllandsakvariet, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2016

Thank you very much for your review. We're very sorry that you didn't have the possibility to join the amber safari on the day you were here. However, there is a calendar on our amber safari flyer where you can see all the dates and...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2016

It's rather small, so it seems quite expensive for its price. Nevertheless, there is a lot of useful and interesting information about the fishes and many possibilities to touch some of them. If you want to participate in the seal safari it's better to arrange...More

Thank JonDoe04134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JyllandsAkvariet, Ejer at Jyllandsakvariet, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2016

Thank you very much for your fine review. The possibility to touch the fish and inform about them has been part of our profile since we started 20 years ago, and we're glad you appreciate it. Our seal safari has been extremely popular and in...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2016 via mobile

It is a really nice place and educational too. The kids loved it. Touching the fish was the highlight of the stay.

Thank buchston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JyllandsAkvariet, Ejer at Jyllandsakvariet, responded to this reviewResponded February 29, 2016

Thank you very much for your fantastic review. We are very glad you enjoyed it and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2015

One infodesk worker didn't speak english, only Danish and German. Brochures were also in Danish and German only. Most of the fish tanks very quite dirty.More

Thank HenteL1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JyllandsAkvariet, Ejer at Jyllandsakvariet, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2015

Thank you for your visit and your review. Off course, we always try to ensure that the personel in the reception can communicate in the languages necessary to suit our guests. However, we are challenged on that front because we have guests from many countries,...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2015

Some fun for kids to touch the fish, but the rest is nothing to see. The akvarium is smaal, no good coffe to buy, no nice place to sit down, The museum is not close to anything. Dont drive many km to see this.More

Thank Thomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JyllandsAkvariet, Ejer at Jyllandsakvariet, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2015

Thank you for your visit and for your review. I hope you took your time to go inside to see the exhibition, because it doesn't sound like you have. JyllandsAkvariet is located next to one of the largest fishing harbours in Denmark, and there are...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2015 via mobile

Nice building and some interesting tanks, a variety of North Sea fish. When we were there, most aquariums had death fish in them, gives the impression that the care is not optimal. Also a lot of areas where you can touch the fish which seems...More

Thank Jeeenkaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JyllandsAkvariet, Ejer at Jyllandsakvariet, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2015

Thank you for your visit and your review. I'm sorry you have the wrong impression of our care for the animals. I can guarantee that we give the optimal care. Our fish carers have over 25 years of experience in looking after fish, and all...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2015 via mobile

It's a small Aqua world, but yet so fun. You're allowed to touch the fish; flatfish, small fish, skates, sharks (watch your fingers ;) and even hold crabs. They have electric eels, you can hear the sound of the electricity trough speakers. Piranha and "spit...More

Thank IdaBlomst1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JyllandsAkvariet, Ejer at Jyllandsakvariet, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2015

Thank you very much for your fine review. We are always very pleased when our guests enjoy our attraction. We think that the touch pools as well as the indoor beach etc. are much fun, and we are so happy you agree with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Danland Lemvig
8 reviews
10.13 miles away
Hotel Norre Vinkel
72 reviews
10.21 miles away
Tambohus Kro
92 reviews
15.14 miles away
Ost Vildsund Gl. Faergekro
4 reviews
20.22 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Polseboden
43 reviews
.20 miles away
Fiskehallen
78 reviews
.20 miles away
Slagter Byskov Cafe & Steakhouse
22 reviews
.22 miles away
Restaurant La Mar
29 reviews
.29 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Jutland Memorial Park
60 reviews
.07 miles away
Sea War Museum Jutland
79 reviews
.05 miles away
Kystcentret Thyboron
54 reviews
.10 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Jyllandsakvariet staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit