Urban Athens Collective
Urban Athens Collective
4.5
City ToursCultural ToursHistorical & Heritage ToursWalking ToursPrivate Tours
9:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Monday
9:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Sunday
9:00 AM - 10:00 PM
About
Urban Athens is a collective consisting of people whose common characteristic is that they love their city and have deep knowledge of her. Their vision is to offer their knowledge to those who are really interested in discovering the unknown Athens. Following their steps, through the ancient roads, you will get to know the contemporary Athens. You will discover the, not so common, but of great historic importance ancient ruins, you will learn all the urban myths, you will visit secret caves and crypts, you will follow the paths of other religions, you will visit the open… museum of the streets, the young inhabitants neighborhoods, the smells, the tastes and the entertainment of a city that you are not afraid to get lost in its streets, a city that for thousand years integrates all the positive elements that people who inhabit her bring with them, no matter how they got here. Our vision is to give, both to the citizens and travelers, a different view of our city, by discovering the not so common, but of great historic importance ancient ruins, neighborhoods, buildings, caves and crypts, revealing urban myths and discovering unknown hidden paths, having fun while strolling around the city and at the same time gaining the knowledge needed to understand the modern lifestyle of the city. Urban Athens Collective is a NON Profit organization and is legally entitled to conduct workshops and seminars, organize congresses and events, provide cultural education and offer urban tours and excursions. Part of the revenue from the participation are used to support voluntary programs that give prominence to the cultural and architectural inheritance, voluntary groups that support vulnerable sets of the population and many others.
Athens, Attica, Greece

Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours and Tickets by Urban Athens Collective

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.


4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles95 reviews
Excellent
76
Very good
12
Average
4
Poor
2
Terrible
1

PanagiotaKokkali
Athens, Greece3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2021
I really enjoyed the tour with Elena Gkika...(Explore Athens from home).
Eleni was a great guide, very knowledgeable about the city. She was very informative, knows everything about the history of the city and I would highly recommend for anyone wanting to see the real Athens. Thanks Eleni Gkika!!!
Written January 13, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Τhank you so much for your good words. It was an honour for us that a group of students from a tourism course join us with their teacher. We are so glad that we met your expectations. We wish you all your dreams become true!
Written January 14, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

angela a
The Entrance, Australia12 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2017 • Solo
Had an awesome experience which definitely i would recoment it. Had an amazing time strolling throuth the secret germs of of Athens with Dionisis who is an exceptional friendly and streetwise guide. Felt so nice and comfortable and expereinced life like a local. Thanks for everything!
Written October 27, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Τhank you so much for your good words! We hope to see you again in Athens!
Written May 14, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Debby M
Hastings, New Zealand44 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sep 2019
Just been up with a group of 12 ladies and Dionysis & Hercules gave us a fantastic walking tour. We saw sights we would never have found on our own and they took us to the fantastic Deli Miran Meze which is a destination in itself. We had a history lesson but in a most interesting way that we never wanted the tour to end. They were also very patient if we lost one of the group into a shop and also so kind to the slower walkers in the group. The street art was incredible. I highly recommend these two guides and still have a smile when I look at my photos.
Written October 2, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you so much for your good words. Dionysis and Hercules are glad to meet you and they both enjoyed the tour with you! We hope to see you again in Athens!
Written October 27, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Luziris T
Houston, TX20 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2019 • Solo
I'd like to start by saying that as a minorities in the US my partner and I attempt to avoid profiling folks based on looks but that is often hard when you are in a foreign country about to meet a stranger for a private tour. UAC needs to set up some minimum standards of presentation because the guide we met looked hunger over and his UAC bag looked so old and almost no legit. His first recommendation was to NOT walk to the base of Mt. Lycabettus and instead that he would pay for a taxi to the base. He was then annoyed when we tried to say we wanted to walk it all. He also seemed offended when we asked for his tour guide badge. It all seemed like a scam. The storytelling was NOT as exciting as described and the certainly did not visit any secret restaurants in the market. At one point the guide started smoking during our walk. It was a mess. We had had a walking tour 2 days before in Athens so this was certainly a let down compared to the professionalism we had experienced earlier. We have done many walking tours in Latin American, Europe and Asia and this certainly was not what we expected and did not match the description. A very big let down on our 2nd to last day in Athens.
Written July 9, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are taking serious the not so good reviews that are written to make us better and we understand that we couldn't met always some of the expectations of all our guests. Though that review surpasses the limits of a polite review as it is openly expresses discrimination and derives from prejudices. Honestly we cannot understand how the quality of not discriminating someone because of its appereance is enlowered when someone travels in another country. The tour wasn't meant to be private, it turned to be as you where the only ones booked a ticket for the specific timeslot and we never cancel a tour because of the small number of the guests. Our guide was at the meeting point on time waiting for you that you were 15 minutes late. According our policy he was able to leave the meeting point and your tour to be considered as a non show. Instead of that he remained there patiently waiting for you. The temperature that day was over 100 fahreneit. Hiking a mountain that is 300m. high is something exhausting that it would spoiled the rest of your precious last day in Athens and that was the reason he insisted for getting for you a taxi with his own expenses. Our guide also had with him the bagpack with the logo of UAC and showed his badget and even his ID, despite the annoying feeling that occurs when someone asks for a person's papers which is probably something that you know really well like a minority. Also we would like to inform you that only the police is allowed to ask from someone to show its ID. Despite that he had provide to you his documentations and after that the tour continued normally. Urban Athens Collective is an organization that tries to celebrate inclusivity providing alternative narratives in curious travelers. Under this point of view appereance is not something that we consider when we are choosing our partners. Knowledge and passion about the city of Athens are the only premises when we start a collaboration with a guide. Under this point of view we are deeply regret that the prejudices expressed directly and without a shame in your review made you lose the opportunity to enjoy the real and controverse flavours of Athens, like the underground restaurant close by the meat market of Athens or the neighbourhood where the immigrants and the refugees make their own bussineses, the Flea Market and many more other places while you were walking down from the Mount Lycabettus, aspects that are rarely shown or exhibited to the visitors of Athens. We would like also to wish you a great time at your next trip, with less prejudices and fear something that make things much more enjoyable the next time that someone will try to lead you out off the beating path showing you the real life and the real actions of the inhabitants of a city.
Written July 10, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Celes2011
Pittsburgh, PA19 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2019 • Solo
This walking tour was anything but mythological. I am glad I already had other walling tours before this one and knew more mythology from the other tours than from this one. I did get to know more about the pop culture and shopped for bargain items in the Sunday street bazaar with the guide, but certainly not worth the money I paid for this tour. So please think twice before you pick this.
Written June 18, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for taking the time for reviewing us. This tour ends to be a private tour for you, because we never cancel the bookings even if one person join the tour, as we have many time slots during the day. Our guide Hercules who is also archaeologist met you at Monastiraki square and lead you through flea market and Temple of Hephaestus to the pedestrian of Dionisiou Aeropagitou to reach the mythical hills.As he explained to you Monastiraki and the flea Market is part of the Ancient Agora, with almost the same use for thousands of years, and you walked on the same streets since antiquity, admiring also the ancient monuments Hercules is a great story teller and he combines the stories and legends of Mythology of Athens with the modern life. You were lucky enough because your tour was at Sunday and Sunday is the main day for the big bazaar in Athens which is almost on the same roads of the Ancient Agora of Athens. During your walking tour you asked him to visit all the medieval and modern churches, and you asked him to find you an icon of Saint Paul, he spent more time with you in the flea market as you wanted to bargain and also you bought some things there As you were heading to the mythical hills you learned about the Mythology, the ancient gods Hephaestus and Athena even if you were interested more for the huge Sunday bazaar and the handmade crafts, looking also for the icon of Saint Paul you asked him to stop in many places and visiting also many churches as you requested Reaching finally the Mythical hills of Athens where is part of this tour, you told to our guide that you were tired and you didn't want to walk there. As you were the only person in this tour and as you were more interested about the pedestrian and the bazaar, our guide customized the tour to those you were interested more, while also spoke about Mythology and the change from the ancient believes to Christianity. We are sorry that we didn't't meet your expectations, even if our guide did the best to combine your interesting of the old and new icons and bazaars with the Mythology of Athens and a great walk around Acropolis hill and in the most beautiful pedestrian around it. You customized this tour according to your interestings as you were the only one this day and our guide did the best to combine Mythology, history, and many more that were not included and you asked from him.
Written June 20, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Estefano Onatrac
Athens, Greece91 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This was a marvellous walk first to the ”city mountain” then to down town Athens. My friendly guide explained all in detail, so afterwards you know a lot more about this vibrant city. Absolutely to recommend for active photographers.
Written February 22, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

julygirl58
Morgantown, WV6 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sep 2016 • Solo
The City Gems walking tour was an excellent way to learn about one of the more fascinating Athens neighborhoods. Eleni is knowledgeable and passionate about her city! Ask where to find the best souvlaki!
Written September 8, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you so much for joining us and taking time to review us. Please spread the world about Urban Athens Collective, part of Tour revenue will support the provision of meals for the homeless in Athens as well as an archaeological excavation on Anthikythera Island that aims to empower the local community.
Written September 8, 2016
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Kikerikiola
Wien23 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2016 • Couples
We strolled through Athens with Eleni in March 2016. Contact before the tour was very nice. She awaited us in our hotel lobby over time and explained what she has planned for us, according to our wishes we told her before. She was very patient, answered all our questions and we had a lot of fun. She knows very good restaurants and some secret spots. We enjoyed her company and recommend her tours.
Written May 16, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you so much for you nice words! We appreciate that you took the time to review us. Please spread the world about your experience with Urban Athens Collective. We love so much our city, and we want to offer to our guests emotional and unique experiences. We hope to see you again in Athens!
Written May 17, 2016
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Rima
21 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2023 • Solo
I was fortunate to be the only client on tour, so Dionysus/Dennis agreed we could wander into places I had not been yet and so we did. My extended conversations with him were a highlight of my Greek trip. I peppered him with questions.... Well educated about the historical sights we were seeing, both ancient and modern, Dennis gave me historical context, shared his views about culture and politics and gave me a sense of what it is like to be a Greek in this modern world. I appreciated him greatly, as well as the walk around what I considered to be greater hidden gems, the Monasteraki and Psiri neighborhoods, which I might not have gotten to on my own, or with such insight into what makes those neighborhoods unique.
Written August 2, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Jeane
Brazil4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Was great.. I loved the experience..
The guide was amazing too.. Was important to know all the história of Athens..
Really great..
Written September 18, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-10 of 81

Urban Athens Collective - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (2024)

All Athens HotelsAthens Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Athens
All things to do in Athens
Day Trips in Athens
RestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars