We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Urban Athens Collective

#133 of 771 Tours in Athens
Athens, Greece
More
About Urban Athens Collective
Urban Athens is a collective consisting of people whose common characteristic is that they love their city and have deep knowledge of her. Their vision is to offer their knowledge to those who are really interested in discovering the unknown Athens. Following their steps, through the ancient roads, you will get to know the contemporary Athens. You will discover the, not so common, but of great historic importance ancient ruins, you will learn all the urban myths, you will visit secret caves and crypts, you will follow the paths of other religions, you will visit the open… museum of the streets, the young inhabitants neighborhoods, the smells, the tastes and the entertainment of a city that you are not afraid to get lost in its streets, a city that for thousand years integrates all the positive elements that people who inhabit her bring with them, no matter how they got here. Our vision is to give, both to the citizens and travelers, a different view of our city, by discovering the not so common, but of great historic importance ancient ruins, neighborhoods, buildings, caves and crypts, revealing urban myths and discovering unknown hidden paths, having fun while strolling around the city and at the same time gaining the knowledge needed to understand the modern lifestyle of the city. Urban Athens Collective is a NON Profit organization and is legally entitled to conduct workshops and seminars, organize congresses and events, provide cultural education and offer urban tours and excursions. Part of the revenue from the participation are used to support voluntary programs that give prominence to the cultural and architectural inheritance, voluntary groups that support vulnerable sets of the population and many others.
Closed Now
Hours Today: 9:00 AM - 10:00 PM
See all hours
Travelers talk about
Tours and Tickets by Urban Athens Collective

Get Lost in Athens with an Insider

Experience the delights of eclectic Athens on a tour that includes bustling markets, ancient marvels and traditional coffeehouses. Explore the vibrant neighborhoods of Psiri and Kolonaki; browse the stalls at Monastiraki flea market and Athens Public Market; and admire ancient sites like Kerameikos Cemetery and the Temple of Hephaestus. Along the way, discover bold street art, foodie hotspots, handicrafts workshops and secret local hangouts.
Read more
3 hours
from $57.20

Athens Riverside: A Journey in Mythical Athens

Follow in the footsteps of ancient Greek gods and philosophers on a walking tour along the mythical Heridanos River in Athens, uncovered during construction of the city’s modern metro. Pass by the ruins of Roman baths, mystical sanctuaries, and ancient highlights like the Agora and Acropolis for a unique journey through millennia of Athenian history.
Read more
3 hours
from $65.55

Mount Lycabettus Walking Tour in Athens

Hike up Mount Lycabettus on this Athens tour that gives you the chance to admire panoramic views of the city. With a guide, you'll climb to the summit while learning about the mountain's mythology, and then enjoy the chance to explore some of Athens' traditional neighborhoods.
Read more
3 hours
from $59.07

Highlights and Hidden Gems in Athens Walking Tour

Perfect for travelers seeking an alternative sightseeing experience, this Athens sightseeing tour reveals the city’s highlights and hidden gems. Alongside your guide, you’ll stroll down secluded alleys and over ancient roads and tick off top Athens attractions including the Acropolis, the Temple of Olympian Zeus, and the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier. Uncover the best souvenir shops and local haunts, and sample a traditional Greek sweet in a café. On this small-group tour, limited to 12 people, you’ll receive personalized attention from your guide.
Read more
3 hours
from $47.67

Jewish Athens Walking Tour

Learn about the history of Athens' Jewish communities on a walking tour with a guide who introduces you to historically Jewish neighborhoods and other sights. You'll visit the Jewish Museum of Greece and a kosher restaurant (own expense), hearing about the city's Jewish heritage, which dates back to at least 250 BC, as you go.
Read more
3 hours
from $72.77
70Reviews2Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 57
  • 8
  • 3
  • 2
  • 0
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Debby M wrote a review Oct 2019
Hastings, New Zealand49 contributions9 helpful votes
Just been up with a group of 12 ladies and Dionysis & Hercules gave us a fantastic walking tour. We saw sights we would never have found on our own and they took us to the fantastic Deli Miran Meze which is a destination in itself. We had a history lesson but in a most interesting way that we never wanted the tour to end. They were also very patient if we lost one of the group into a shop and also so kind to the slower walkers in the group. The street art was incredible. I highly recommend these two guides and still have a smile when I look at my photos.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Urbanathenscollectiv, The Team of UAC at Urban Athens Collective
Responded Oct 27, 2019
Thank you so much for your good words. Dionysis and Hercules are glad to meet you and they both enjoyed the tour with you! We hope to see you again in Athens!
Read more
Luziris T wrote a review Jul 2019
Houston, Texas13 contributions8 helpful votes
I'd like to start by saying that as a minorities in the US my partner and I attempt to avoid profiling folks based on looks but that is often hard when you are in a foreign country about to meet a stranger for a private tour. UAC needs to set up some minimum standards of presentation because the guide we met looked hunger over and his UAC bag looked so old and almost no legit. His first recommendation was to NOT walk to the base of Mt. Lycabettus and instead that he would pay for a taxi to the base. He was then annoyed when we tried to say we wanted to walk it all. He also seemed offended when we asked for his tour guide badge. It all seemed like a scam. The storytelling was NOT as exciting as described and the certainly did not visit any secret restaurants in the market. At one point the guide started smoking during our walk. It was a mess. We had had a walking tour 2 days before in Athens so this was certainly a let down compared to the professionalism we had experienced earlier. We have done many walking tours in Latin American, Europe and Asia and this certainly was not what we expected and did not match the description. A very big let down on our 2nd to last day in Athens.
Read more
Date of experience: July 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Urbanathenscollectiv, The Team of UAC at Urban Athens Collective
Responded Jul 10, 2019
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are taking serious the not so good reviews that are written to make us better and we understand that we couldn't met always some of the expectations of all our guests. Though that review surpasses the limits of a polite review as it is openly expresses discrimination and derives from prejudices. Honestly we cannot understand how the quality of not discriminating someone because of its appereance is enlowered when someone travels in another country. The tour wasn't meant to be private, it turned to be as you where the only ones booked a ticket for the specific timeslot and we never cancel a tour because of the small number of the guests. Our guide was at the meeting point on time waiting for you that you were 15 minutes late. According our policy he was able to leave the meeting point and your tour to be considered as a non show. Instead of that he remained there patiently waiting for you. The temperature that day was over 100 fahreneit. Hiking a mountain that is 300m. high is something exhausting that it would spoiled the rest of your precious last day in Athens and that was the reason he insisted for getting for you a taxi with his own expenses. Our guide also had with him the bagpack with the logo of UAC and showed his badget and even his ID, despite the annoying feeling that occurs when someone asks for a person's papers which is probably something that you know really well like a minority. Also we would like to inform you that only the police is allowed to ask from someone to show its ID. Despite that he had provide to you his documentations and after that the tour continued normally. Urban Athens Collective is an organization that tries to celebrate inclusivity providing alternative narratives in curious travelers. Under this point of view appereance is not something that we consider when we are choosing our partners. Knowledge and passion about the city of Athens are the only premises when we start a collaboration with a guide. Under this point of view we are deeply regret that the prejudices expressed directly and without a shame in your review made you lose the opportunity to enjoy the real and controverse flavours of Athens, like the underground restaurant close by the meat market of Athens or the neighbourhood where the immigrants and the refugees make their own bussineses, the Flea Market and many more other places while you were walking down from the Mount Lycabettus, aspects that are rarely shown or exhibited to the visitors of Athens. We would like also to wish you a great time at your next trip, with less prejudices and fear something that make things much more enjoyable the next time that someone will try to lead you out off the beating path showing you the real life and the real actions of the inhabitants of a city.
Read more
Celes2011 wrote a review Jun 2019
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania15 contributions7 helpful votes
This walking tour was anything but mythological. I am glad I already had other walling tours before this one and knew more mythology from the other tours than from this one. I did get to know more about the pop culture and shopped for bargain items in the Sunday street bazaar with the guide, but certainly not worth the money I paid for this tour. So please think twice before you pick this.
Read more
Date of experience: June 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from UACteam, UAC TEAM at Urban Athens Collective
Responded Jun 19, 2019
Thank you for taking the time for reviewing us. This tour ends to be a private tour for you, because we never cancel the bookings even if one person join the tour, as we have many time slots during the day. Our guide Hercules who is also archaeologist met you at Monastiraki square and lead you through flea market and Temple of Hephaestus to the pedestrian of Dionisiou Aeropagitou to reach the mythical hills.As he explained to you Monastiraki and the flea Market is part of the Ancient Agora, with almost the same use for thousands of years, and you walked on the same streets since antiquity, admiring also the ancient monuments Hercules is a great story teller and he combines the stories and legends of Mythology of Athens with the modern life. You were lucky enough because your tour was at Sunday and Sunday is the main day for the big bazaar in Athens which is almost on the same roads of the Ancient Agora of Athens. During your walking tour you asked him to visit all the medieval and modern churches, and you asked him to find you an icon of Saint Paul, he spent more time with you in the flea market as you wanted to bargain and also you bought some things there As you were heading to the mythical hills you learned about the Mythology, the ancient gods Hephaestus and Athena even if you were interested more for the huge Sunday bazaar and the handmade crafts, looking also for the icon of Saint Paul you asked him to stop in many places and visiting also many churches as you requested Reaching finally the Mythical hills of Athens where is part of this tour, you told to our guide that you were tired and you didn't want to walk there. As you were the only person in this tour and as you were more interested about the pedestrian and the bazaar, our guide customized the tour to those you were interested more, while also spoke about Mythology and the change from the ancient believes to Christianity. We are sorry that we didn't't meet your expectations, even if our guide did the best to combine your interesting of the old and new icons and bazaars with the Mythology of Athens and a great walk around Acropolis hill and in the most beautiful pedestrian around it. You customized this tour according to your interestings as you were the only one this day and our guide did the best to combine Mythology, history, and many more that were not included and you asked from him.
Read more
Miri10591 wrote a review Jun 2019
New York15 contributions10 helpful votes
We had a wonderful afternoon with our tour guide Hercules. He was very knowledgeable and was a pleasure to be with. We met him easily in front of the old church in Monastiraki. We were delighted when we found out we were the only ones on the tour!! We walked all over the city appreciating the diversity of neighborhoods and rich history. I loved the street art and the energy of this city. After enjoying an outstanding view from the base of the Acropolis we went for lunch at a lovely outdoor cafe on a cliff. He helped us negotiate the metro machines and we said goodbye. Though we only met hours earlier it felt like we were old friends!!
Read more
Date of experience: June 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Urbanathenscollectiv, The team of UAC at Urban Athens Collective
Responded Jul 10, 2019
Thank you so much for your good words. Hercules is so glad to meet you too! We hope to see you again in Athens
Read more
Jennifer B wrote a review May 2019
Auckland Central, New Zealand2 contributions
Our family of four had a wonderful indepth walking tour round the main city of Athens. Meat and fish markets buzzing with vendors shouting their wares. A wonderful tour guide personalised a walk through the flea market. It was interesting to see the community cooking . Most of all she was so informative about Greek history. The lunch was at a family owned street cafe. Typical food of the area was tasted. Would recommend this tour to first time travellers to Athens .
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Date of experience: May 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Urbanathenscollectiv, UAC Team at Urban Athens Collective
Responded Jun 19, 2019
Thank you so much for your good words! Thank you for taking the time for leaving your feed back! It was a pleasure also for our guide to meet you! We hope to see you again in Athens!
Read more
Previous