Al Hammam Traditional Baths

Al Hammam Traditional Baths, Athens: Hours, Address, Al Hammam Traditional Baths Reviews: 4.5/5

Al Hammam Traditional Baths

Al Hammam Traditional Baths
4.5
Hammams & Turkish Baths
Read more
11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Monday
11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Friday
11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Sunday
11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Write a review
About
Here at Al Hammam Traditional Baths we believe that happiness can be found in the smallest of things. It is our passion and our mission to transform your everyday routines into more meaningful experiences. Inspired by ancient routines from Asia we designed exclusive hammam & spa treatments with unique products that help you create a moment of peace and truly enjoy the moment.
Suggested duration
< 1 hour
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

Top ways to experience nearby attractions

The area
Address
Neighborhood: Plaka
Due to its proximity to the Acropolis, Plaka remains the area where the majority of foreign visitors stay and play. Its attractive features include small squares, some notable museums and the beautiful Mitropolis cathedral, as well as a host of places to stay, eat and drink. Its pedestrian zones make it a pleasant place to escape from the city’s notorious traffic. Adrianou and Kidathineon Streets contain a number of souvenir shops, offering classier items than you will find in the Flea Market. The most rewarding section to explore is the upper reaches towards the Acropolis itself, where many old stone houses with tiled roofs have survived. Up here you can find leafier corners and the odd quaint taverna with unobstructed views of the ancient rock.
How to get there
  • Akropoli • 5 min walk
  • Monastiraki • 7 min walk
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

4.5
108 reviews
Excellent
76
Very good
14
Average
9
Poor
6
Terrible
3

selmalvarez
Rome, Italy1 contribution
We went to the Al Hammam Traditional Baths for a well deserved couples pampering day out. Having both been to hammams in various places in the world, the Al Hammam did not let us down. It was beautiful. The ladies who took care of us were professional, caring and attentive. We came out feeling good as new. Thank you again! We also felt very safe with their Covid protocols. We will be back again!
Written July 30, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Georgia K
Athens, Greece15 contributions
I absolutely LOVED this experience!!!! Fantastic place just in the heart of Plaka, very polite and professional staff (all the girls were lovely!!)

The Hamam was gorgeous, the bath was just so refreshing, it really cleans you inside and out and the massage was amazing!!! After this experience, you go upstairs and they treat you with traditional tea and sweet loukoumi. The room has the most beautiful view of the Acropolis and the energy you get is really fascinating. The whole experience lasted for 3 hours and I couldn't get enough!! Make a gift to yourself and try this!

I left the place with the biggest smile! Thank you :)
Written January 21, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

SeattleTravelGrl
Malibu, CA25 contributions
Friends
Traveling with my husband and 2 friends we happened by Al Hamman while out and about. We popped in to see if they could accommodate us all at the same time and got lucky that they could.

What a relaxing experience. The staff was lovely, the massage perfect and the tea on the outdoor terrace simply lovely.

Our friend had the soap massage and could not stop talking about it!
Written June 23, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Christina J
London, UK6 contributions
Solo
It was my birthday and I decided to treat myself with hammam on my holiday. I chose procedure with hammam, exfoliation, clay body mask and head massage, that was 59 euros for just 60 mins- quite expensive but i thought it will be worth it because logically the more expensive it is the better it should be ( even though in my home country I have had 90 mins body massage in a 5 star hotel for even less than this price). Anyway I thought I would spoil myself for my birthday and go for it.

To start with, there was no changing room! I had to change in the tiny bathroom-there was no chair, or anything to sit down. Quite an uncomfortable beginning for such an expensive place!

When I was called into the massage room I was really disappointed again to see there was another girl having massage there right next to my bed- even though I had especially asked in the caunter if I will be alone in the massage room (as it is totally expected for this price) and they said "Yes" !!! I have had many massages in different studios and I never had to share a massage room with another person. Can you imagine how uncomfortable that it especially when you are naked and you expect a private room, as you are promised!

The "full" exfoliation of the body was not exactly full- a lot of parts of my body such as my feet, neck and face were not paid attention to. When I was put clay on my body i had to stay in the room but i couldnt, because it was so hot that my head started spinning and I needed to exit the hammam and spend the time in the cold corridor.

But that is not all! The same night I woke up with a terrible body itching, When I went to the bathroom I saw my whole body was covered by red spots, especially my thights, which looked terrible, I had to call my doctor back at home next day and he told me that clay can cause irritation to sensitive skin. Something that I was never warned about. I went to the studio and told them about this. They kept claiming it is an allergy from the food that I have eaten after the massage!! That was ridiculous because I didnt have something that I had never eaten before neither I had any food allergies in my life, They advised me to go the farmacy and buy some allergy cream, trying to ignore my problem. I think it is their job to warn people that this kind of mask is not for all types of skins or at least offer some kind of help for your problem, instead of rejecting the real reason behind it.
Even though I am better now my skin is still itchy after 5 days. Can you imagine how that feels when you are on a foreighn country, trying to enjoy your holiday!? Don't repeat my mistake!
Written February 1, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
We are very sorry about you allergic reaction concerning the face cream which is for all type skin ,as we fully explain to you. All others you mention is because you didn’t get you money back !! That means my money back or bad critic to TripAdvisor ,this is all about and this no good at all.
Written February 12, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

MelanyMis
Amsterdam, The Netherlands19 contributions
Solo
This little Hamamam is a charming establishment and located in the bustling Plaka. I did the bath and basic scrub and I loved it!Even though I didn’t have a reservation, the staff was very accomodating. Annika did my scrub and she was lovely and professional. At the end they served tea and Turkish delight on a terrace with a view on the acropolis!
Written August 10, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

helsybobsmith
London, UK22 contributions
Solo
This place is gorgeous. The minute you step foot in the door the atmosphere is friendly and relaxing. For 146€/£130 I had the Guzellik. Over 2 hours of Hammam, bubble massage, exfoliation, hair treatment, sports massage and facial. The staff were fantastic and respectful. To top it off, there are facilities for you to shower and blow dry your hair before having tea on the rooftop. Go in the evening and you have tea at sunset in the middle of the old town of Plaka. Worth the money and would highly recommend.
Written August 1, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

ctahoe
Raleigh, NC11 contributions
Couples
We were very excited to have our appointment request confirmed during our honeymoon in Athens for the Konstandis & Evelyn Private Hammam for 2hr 30'-269€, including:
Private Hammam 30΄, Body Exfoliation 15΄, Olive Shop Bubble Massage 15΄Hair Wash. Aromatic Couples Massage 60΄ In The Room, Hammam Foot Ritual 30’

The facilities were clean and beautiful. The private Hammam area was great.

BUT.....
I have not experienced a Turkish bath before so have nothing to compare it to; however we were doing a couples experience so I could see what the other person was doing to my husband. The person working on me kept looking over at her as if she wasn’t sure what to do. This was a bit distracting during this relaxation mode.

We also didn’t get the Hammam 30’ foot ritual which we were looking forward to after several days of sight seeing

The massage was pretty terrible. The same people who bathed us were doing the massages. I’ve had regular massage work for several years now and there was a lack of systematic educated/trained movement that put us in awkward and uncomfortable positions. It was less than relaxing- and I ended up keeping my eyes open. The other masseuse started laughing mid massage (she apologized but we later were wondering was so funny).

Everyone was nice as was the atmosphere.... but if you are looking for the massage part of this deal I would PASS. Very disappointing especially after the money we spent- it sets a high bar!
Written June 2, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

ChristineFW
Rochester, UK11 contributions
Solo
Very enjoyable. I had the Al Hammam treatment with steam room, exfoliation, bubbles massage and hair wash. Unhurried and beautifully done and followed by tea and sweets on the rooftop in the sunshine. Highly recommended.
Written May 16, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Maria K
31 contributions
Solo
This was my first time at a Hammam. The staff speak English and give you instructions about what to do. The steam room itself is relaxing. I also opted for the exfoliation and bubble massage. The therapist checked to see how I was doing (water temp, massage pressure) and was very good. Afterwards you can take tea and Turkish delight (aka loukoumi) on the terrace. I left feeling both relaxed and renewed. I went in the morning but this would also be great to do at night to wind down. Bring your swimsuit.
Written August 1, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

mercury_wpc
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia105 contributions
Solo
It was relatively quiet when I was there so I didn't feel rushed, that was very good. The changing room is mini, I cannot imagine if there's more than 2 guests.

The scrub wasn't very thorough, only the big area skin was scrubbed like back and belly, arms and legs. Massage was so so.

What really upset me was missing the after bath drink. All hammam usually offers a drink and a nice place to chill, even just ten or fifteen minutes.

I paid 69 euros! All I got was from them was the price I was to pay then I was ignored. Not even a warm thank you or good bye

I went to the other hammam in Athens in my last visit. Everything was so much nicer. In fact, it was that experience got me hooked on hammam. I cannot in good faith recommend this place. Maybe try the other one out.

Thank you

lot more corners and sides left out. The massage was so so.

The one thing that upset me the most was missing that cup of after bath tea or drink. All other hammam offers a drink and a place to chill out, even just for 15 mins. I paid 69 euros! I was told to pay and then ignored, hardly even a warm thank you or good bye.
Written April 21, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Showing results 1-10 of 83
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Al Hammam Traditional Baths

Al Hammam Traditional Baths is open:
  • Sun - Sat 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM


Restaurants near Al Hammam Traditional Baths: View all restaurants near Al Hammam Traditional Baths on Tripadvisor