Casino da Madeira
Casino da Madeira
3.5
3:00 PM - 3:00 AM
Monday
3:00 PM - 3:00 AM
Tuesday
3:00 PM - 3:00 AM
Wednesday
3:00 PM - 3:00 AM
Thursday
3:00 PM - 3:00 AM
Friday
3:00 PM - 3:00 AM
Saturday
3:00 PM - 3:00 AM
Sunday
3:00 PM - 3:00 AM
About
Duration: 2-3 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours & experiences
Explore different ways to experience this place.

Top ways to experience Casino da Madeira and nearby attractions

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

3.5
3.5 of 5 bubbles450 reviews
Excellent
108
Very good
124
Average
107
Poor
59
Terrible
52

tracey634
Sheffield, UK97 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2022 • Friends
Don’t waste your time going. Met at the door with a less than friendly front of house person. Checked our vaccination status , insincerely welcomed us and basically that was it. There was only one floor accessible no access to the restaurant or other floors. We stayed for one drink as half the machines were out of use and the few croupiers that were present looked as bored as we were. On the plus side it saved us some money as we didn’t spend a single euro.
Written January 27, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Kriss Less
Prague, Czech Republic36 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2024 • Friends
"I strongly do not recommend this casino. I visited last week, and the behavior? The receptionist couldn't answer a basic question about whether poker is played in the casino; he simply waved it off, uninterested in informing us. At the Blackjack table, I was asked to leave my seat, even though I was with my husband who was playing. What is this? Moving on to roulette, when I asked if I could bet on zero spiel, the lady 'manager' responded arrogantly, 'Perhaps if you spoke more slowly, I could understand you.' After muttering something under her breath, she eventually gave us what we wanted. Unbelievable arrogance and behavior. One goes to your casino for entertainment and leaves disgusted and repulsed by your conduct!!!! I definitely DO NOT recommend!!!!"
Written January 16, 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Elliot L
13 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Sep 2021 • Couples
Rubbish casino. €2.50 minimum stake for roulette. And the guy running the table didn't even talk! Looked like he didn't even wanna be there. Wouldn't go back.
Written September 14, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Dina Y
6 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2015 • Couples
We went to the Casino expecting a fun night out. Started at the slot machines, played black jack and lost 15 games in a Rowe. The card machine kept jamming. Felt it was fixed. Food was average but the show was depressing, like watching my a junior school performance. There are better places to be entertained and dined.
Written June 6, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Madam, Thank you very much for your review. We are sorry you didn't enjoy your time with us. When it comes to gambling, please mind that winning and losing are always a possibility. We do not "fix" any of our games. On the other hand, our offer in terms of entertainment, food and beverage has changed since your visit. We do hope you come to Casino da Madeira again in the near future and allow us to provide you with a better experience. Best Regards.
Written August 12, 2016
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

L K
Albrighton, UK59 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2014
This is our second visit, but no we are not suckers for punishment but got a free ticket from our hotel. However we are painfully reminded how bad it is. We are infact here at present as I write waiting for out desert and in two years nothing had changed. The service poor. The casino is an ARCADE. The food, poor. The show, entertaining but not in a good way. If it's free and u have nothing else to do then give it a go, otherwise DONT pay and go !! Trust us wen we say this. :/
Written July 18, 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Madam, Thank you very much for your review. We are sorry you didn't enjoy your visit to our casino. Casino da Madeira has been working hard to improve many aspects, including the ones you mention in your description. And we do believe we have come a long way. We hope you give us the chance to work for you again in the near future. Best Regards.
Written August 11, 2016
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Mary Lykes
Burlington, Canada386 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2014 • Friends
All three couples that went to the 25 Euro per person Saturday night Dinner/Fado show agreed that it was a fun evening at reasonable cost and that we would do it again.
1. The staff. Absolutely delightful. From the ticket seller at the Casino to the greeters to the waiters to the photographer, all were friendly and courteous.
2. The evening. We arrived early and were greeted on the 4th floor (far from the smoke filled gambling portion of the Casino) by a young lady offering a glass or two of Madeira wine, sparkly or fruit juice which we had while waiting for the doors to open. We were promptly seated with a good view of the stage as were the other guests. Unfortunately, the venue was only about 20% full. As soon as were seated, we had our water glasses filled and were offered red or white wine. All glasses were refilled frequently during the dinner.
3. The food. In summary, it was as good as cruise ship food. Good quality rolls and decorated butter were waiting at the table. The circular salad table had at least a dozen selections from vegetable salads to codfish salad with chick peas to a high quality chicken salad. The hot table had a similar number of hot dishes ranging from tuna steak smothered in onions and tomato, creamed cod, pork loin stuffed with prunes, rolled chicken breast, fish of the day, duck rice and steamed vegetables. There were about six dessert choices ranging from cheesecake to flans to puddings. In general, the food choices were a selection of Portuguese and international dishes and it was difficult to find fault with any of them other than the fish of the day which was boney. The coffee was hot and strong.
4. Photographer. He was friendly and not persistent at all. Photos were developed on the spot, packaged and offered for 5 Euros. No pressure at all.
5. The show. About 45 minutes to an hour long. This was my first experience with Fado and it turned out that it is not my cup of tea. Others at our table were more enthusiastic but in my opinion the music and dance was pretty grim. The singer had a beautiful voice and the dancers were young and athletic. My guess is that they were all students of a local arts academy.
6. Post show. Our tickets included a 5 Euro credit for play at the Casino and a half price drink. I don't think that I would go back to the Casino on its own because it was full of smokers. There was no smoking at the dinner show.
6. Other. Everything from the cutlery to the table settings to the washrooms was spotlessly clean. Staff even tidied the buffet tables to make sure everything remained attractive. The views from the windows up over the lighted city were lovely.
Written February 24, 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Madam, Thank you very much for your review. Casino da Madeira thanks you for taking the time to comment with such detail. It is the way to make our products and services better. It appears the only thing you disliked was the smoke, when in our gambling room. Is this aspect, we can assure you that we work relentlessly to make our extraction and air quality better. We hope you give us the pleasure of another visit, sometime soon. Best Regards.
Written August 9, 2016
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

ouzooo
Turku, Finland43 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
First we weren't sure if we'd get in to Casino, because if there was a some kind of a dress code. But no worries about that.. The place was very uncomfortable because of the smoke. Casino was full of old people smoking cigarettes and playing slot machines. The stink was awful, like there was no air conditioning at all. There was only one table game open, and all the slots were old machines. Didn't enjoy at all this place. You can find better machines at your local supermarket..
Written January 20, 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Sir/ Madam, Thank you very much for your review. We are sorry your experience with us was not the best. As far as the smoke is concerned, we have been working to improve the extraction and air quality. And, since your visit, we are confident we have com a long way in that matter. We would love to see you again in Casino da Madeira, to witness these improvements and to have a good time. Best Regards.
Written August 9, 2016
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

jimcooper1
Amersham, UK21 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2014 • Couples
This place allows smoking and it stinks. We went to see a show in the restaurant: the food was good and the show was entertaining. Afterwards we went down to the casino with a view to dancing in the disco. Every other person was smoking and it was hideous. Our clothes now smell horrible and we had to shower when we got back to our hotel.
Written January 17, 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Sir, Thank you very much for your review. We are happy you enjoyed your dinner & show. As far as the smoke is concerned, we are constantly working on ways to improve the extraction and air quality of our gambling room (which is the only place in our casino where smoking is allowed). We feel some improvements have been made and hope you come to visit us again in the future. Best Regards.
Written August 9, 2016
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

KJamo
Edinburgh, UK40 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2019 • Friends
Went to here as connected to the pestana casino hotel , oh boy we lasted 30mins top! As soon as we registered in there , you could smell the staile Smell of smoke in the place, we went in and the amount of smoke in the air as they can smoke in there is terrible! I really don't want to go out for a night and get secondary cancer from inhalation of cigarette smoke it's ridiculous.... Never again would I entertain that....
Written February 8, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Madam, Thank you very much for your review. Casino da Madeira thanks you for your visit. As far as your less positive remarks are concerned, they have been duly noted. Regarding the smoke issue, please mind that Casino da Madeira is always working on ways to improve the extraction, ventilation and air quality of its gambling room (which is the only area in the casino where smoking is allowed). The Portuguese law allows casinos to use one third of the building's area as a smoking area. However, in 2021, all of Casino da Madeira will be non-smoking. We do hope you choose to visit us again in the near future and maybe try our Bahia Restaurant dinner-show or the Copacabana Disco. Best Regards.
Written April 13, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

johnblade131
Birmingham, UK13 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2018 • Couples
We visited 6 times when on holiday in Madeira,we enjoyed every visit,plenty of choice of machines .We have been to Las Vegas and found this place as enjoyable as there(,no free drinks though) Opens 3 pm to 3 am week days.They do allow smoking in the Casino The same as Vegas .If you are in to slots this is the place to visit,do not expect to win.We found the staff friendly not to busy on our visits.
Written May 15, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Sir, We thank you for your review of our Casino and gaming room. We make every possible effort, in spite of being a relatively small Casino, to provide an extensive choice of slot machines to our visitors. Also, for those more interested in traditional gaming, we also provide several choices that range from Poker, Blackjack, Bacara, etc. So feel free to explore next time you visit our Casino. Kind regards,
Written May 18, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 279
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

Casino da Madeira - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (2024)

All things to do in FunchalCasinos & Gambling in Funchal
Day Trips in Funchal
RestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars