We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Portuguese For a Day

Lisbon, Portugal
More
About Portuguese For a Day
We are eager to show you around and to make you fall in love with Lisbon and other places outside the city. Join us for a different day in Lisbon and let us show you the best spots and hidden gems as well as the must sees and dos!
Open Now
Hours Today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
See all hours
Travelers talk about
Tours and Tickets by Portuguese For a Day

Sintra Small Group Tour from Lisbon

The fairy tale palaces of Sintra are an absolute must-see when visiting Lisbon. Travel between the dispersed UNESCO World Heritage sites with ease on this day trip, which includes convenient hotel pickup and drop-off, as well as transportation in a coach equipped with Wi-Fi. Stop at Pena National Palace, Quinta da Regaleira, and the historic center of Sintra, none of which are serviced by public transport before heading to Cascais. Plus, a more intimate experience is guaranteed in a small group limited to 8.
Read more
8 hours
from $79.62
$90.48

The Essential Sintra Experience

Discover the UNESCO-listed landmarks and fairy-tale palaces of Sintra on this private full-day tour from Lisbon. Take in highlights such as the Pena Palace, Quinta da Regaleira, and Palácio de Seteais; visit the westernmost point of continental Europe at Cabo da Roca; and explore the coastal town of Cascais. Hotel pickup and drop-off is included.
Read more
8 hours
from $177.94

Full-Day Arrábida, Setúbal and Azeitão Tour from Lisbon with Wine Tasting

Venture beyond Lisbon to spend a day among the beaches and vineyards of the Setúbal Peninsula, a popular Portuguese holiday destination. Shop for fresh produce and handmade goods at a market in Setúbal, taste regional wine and cheeses at a hand-picked Azeitão winery, and get back to nature in Arrábida Natural Park. All the details are arranged, so you can simply relax and enjoy the scenery.
Read more
8 hours
from $83.24

Hidden Portugal with Wine Tasting and Horseback Riding

For those that have already ticked off Lisbon’s top sights, this full-day small-group tour is the ideal opportunity to discover a different side to Portugal. Explore the countryside outside of Lisbon, enjoy a wine tasting in the Ribatejo region, tuck into a delicious Portuguese lunch, and then saddle up for a scenic horseback ride around a private country estate.
Read more
8 hours
from $116.02

Understanding the Real Lisbon City Tour

In this Private Tour you'll spend the day seeing the main highlights of Lisbon and getting familiarized with the City of the 7 Hills. This is a perfect introduction of Lisbon and all without having the hassle of using public transportation and looking for every place by your own. This Private Tour also takes you across the bridge to the famous Christ King Statue and to Belém where you can see the Discoveries Monument and the Jeronimos Monastery.
Read more
6 hours
from $177.94
514Reviews6Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 486
  • 19
  • 6
  • 2
  • 1
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
andrapops wrote a review Sep 2020
Malmesbury, United Kingdom1 contribution
Amazing private tour with Joao! He was really knowledgable, helpful and patient and gave us plenty of time at each stop and offered lots of valuable information about Portugal and the places we visited.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from PortugueseForADay, Manager at Portuguese For a Day
Responded Sep 15, 2020
We're very happy you had a great day with João in your private tour to Sintra! Thank you so much for choosing to spend time with us. We hope you visit us again very soon. Kind regards, Filipa
Read more
Dan wrote a review Sep 2020
2 contributions
Very knowledgeable and friendly guide. would recommend to anyone!! Very prompt timings and didn't feel rushed at all during any points of the tour.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from PortugueseForADay, Manager at Portuguese For a Day
Responded Sep 11, 2020
Thank you for your positive review and for recommending the Sintra Tour. We’re so happy you had a good time with João! Hope to see you soon. Best regards, Filipa
Read more
MurphyMcAnulty wrote a review Sep 2020
London, United Kingdom13 contributions2 helpful votes
We recently did the small group tour to Sintra from Lisbon with the expectation of visiting Pena Palace. We were only told at 1am the night before that the road to the palace is closed to cars, but the email said that we could either walk there or adjust the itinerary to visit other sites. When Valter picked us up in the morning he told us the the road has been closed for over a month and didn’t give us any options to visit. I even asked him if we could still somehow see the palace but he avoided the question and instead took us to 2 other sites in Sintra, a beach nearby for lunch, Cabo da Roca and Cascais. While the day was still enjoyable we were very disappointed that we weren’t even given the option to tour the one site we came to Sintra to see. After some research that evening I discovered that buses and tuk tuks are still going up to the palace so it would have been possible. It was also sneaky of the company to only let us know that the road was closed at 1am the night before when they’ve known this information for a month. Clearly they were worried we would cancel. Valter mentioned that covid has impacted their company this year, which we are sympathetic to, but covid has affected everyone and this is no excuse to not be upfront with customers.
Read more
Helpful
Share
Response from PortugueseForADay, Manager at Portuguese For a Day
Responded Sep 3, 2020
Thank you for taking the time to review your tour with Valter. We apologize for any inconvenience that the road closures might have caused; however, we cannot be held accountable for something we cannot control. We want to clarify that the road has not been closed for a month; your guide explained all of this: we have fire alerts that last the entire summer season, and we act according to the information we receive from the Sintra's City Hall and the Mayor of Sintra. The data is updated daily or every three days. There are two types of fire alerts: one that allows public transportation to pass by and another that effectively closes the road's access. On the day of your tour, the second alert was in place. Only firetrucks, civil protection, and people that live in the mountain could drive up the hill, so the only option was to walk up the mountain, as we informed you in the email and as your guide told you in the day of the tour. We know it is quite a hike, but that would be possible to do, as it was the only way to access the Pena Palace that day. However, when your guide presented you with the option of visiting a different palace instead of the Pena Palace, you accepted. Upon your research, you must also discovered out that, for the past weeks, tuk-tuk drivers have been in protest precisely because they can't access the mountain due to these roadblocks and last-minute warnings. You can access all the information on the Sintra's City Hall web page or their Facebook page. Never have we misled our customers into anything to avoid cancellations, and we are always upfront with our guests. We were not worried that you'd cancel as we abide by our terms and conditions and our customers' well being. We take our values very seriously, and if you do a bit of research on our company, you can see that. This is why we notified you, at 12:55 am outside our business hours, that the roadblock would take place on your tour day. And we did it as soon as we had information from the Mayor. We always do our best to provide our guests with a great experience, and we did so on your tour day. It is unfortunate to read that you still gave us a 2-star review, notwithstanding you had a good day. Best regards, Filipa
Read more
James S wrote a review Jul 2020
4 contributions
Best tour of our trip so far! During this unprecedented time, Portuguese for a Day tours remain open during the COVID crisis. They adhere to the highest safety protocols by following the Clean & Safe commitment (the Turismo de Portugal created a “Clean and Safe” stamp of approval to distinguish tourist activities which are compliant with hygiene and cleaning requirements for the prevention and control of COVID-19 and other possible infections). Masks were required to be worn at all times, and we were given a “COVID prevention gift bag” at the start of the tour (this consisted of hand sanitizer, mask and a lanyard). Group size was reduced significantly to ensure we were appropriately socially distanced inside the bus. As a result, we felt safe to enjoy the tour. The tour itself exceeded expectations! André was friendly, knowledgeable and went out of his way to make sure we had a great experience. The highlight of the tour was Sintra. He took us to Pena Palace and Quinta da Regaleira. We had plenty of time to explore both fully and André was always waiting at the designated meet up location on time and ready to answer any questions we had! We drove through Cabo da Roca, had lunch at a charming sea food restaurant on the beach at Praia das Maçãs, and stopped for ice-cream and a walk-around at Cascáis. This was a great experience during a challenging time. Andre and Portuguese for a Day provided a memorable and enjoyable tour without compromising our safety. I highly recommend this tour and company for anyone wanting to explore Portugal (both during and after COVID!)
Read more
Date of experience: July 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from PortugueseForADay, Manager at Portuguese For a Day
Responded Aug 2, 2020
We can't thank you enough for this awesome and detailed review! We are thrilled to contribute to a great time in Portugal during these different times. Hope to see you both soon! OBRIGADA!
Read more
Wayne wrote a review May 2020
8 contributions
+1
This was a wonderful tour of Sintra and the surrounding area. Our group of six loved visting the Pena Palace, the Quinta da Regaleira Palace, Cabo da Roca and Cascais. The van was very comfortable and had AC. Our tour guide, Joao, was fantastic! He was very friendly and knowledgeable on Portugal's history. In addition, he was extremely accommodating to one of our travelers that was somewhat physically impaired. The time spent at each site was just right and the choice of restaurant for lunch in city center was perfect. The tour left us all with fond memories of the places we visited. I would highly recommend this tour! I promise, you won't be disappointed!
Read more
Date of experience: August 2019
Helpful
Share
Previous