We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Pico Sport

#6 of 13 Tours in Pico
Certificate of Excellence
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Porto Velho | 9950 Madalena Do Pico, Pico 9950-334, Portugal
Phone Number: +351 292 622 980
Website
Description:

Pico Sport operates since 1996 at Pico Island. We operate Scuba Diving,...

Pico Sport operates since 1996 at Pico Island. We operate Scuba Diving, Whale Watching, Snorkel with Wild Dolphins, Kayaking and Mountain Climbing. We offer a wide range of accommodation at Pico Island for each standart. Experience the warm and family style atmosphere in our team. Pico Sport was the discoverer of shark diving in the Azores and runs a modern fleet of 10 boats.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 105 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 26
    Excellent
  • 10
    Very good
  • 1
    Average
  • 0
    Poor
  • 14
    Terrible
Good set up and great diving

Just back from visiting Pico, the diving being the reason for the visit, particularly Mobula Rays and Blue Sharks. We did two warm up shore dives, my son 13 and partner haven't... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed 3 weeks ago
Victoremanuel1965
,
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

105 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 51: English reviews
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The first impression was very good: After we asked when it is possible to swim with dolphins they said they make it dependant on the weather. That is why we've chosen this company. On the first try the captain was quite unlikeable, he seemed bored. We found some dolphins but there were 3 other boats and we had to wait... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sven B
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Just back from visiting Pico, the diving being the reason for the visit, particularly Mobula Rays and Blue Sharks. We did two warm up shore dives, my son 13 and partner haven't dived for over 6 months. One warm is required for the Princess Alice Banks for the Rays or the Shark dive. I think this is perfectly reasonable, especially... More 

Helpful?
Thank Victoremanuel1965
whale999, Inhaber at Pico Sport, responded to this review

Hi from Pico. Thanks a lot for your comment. Not everybody takes the time to arite afeter a holiday and it is extremly helpfull to get comments like yours. It was a pleasure to have you here and we hope to see you again. Maybe one day at our safari Lodge in Kenya. Cheers and all the best. Frank and... More 

Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

17 July we went out in the morning with Pico Sport on a hard boat for Whale watching. I'm a regular on this kind of activities and also a resident on the Azores. I have been out for this kind of activity (and other outdoor) on almost all the azores islands. .. even in corvo and Flores island. More then... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nuno F
whale999, Inhaber at Pico Sport, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Nuno Its a very interesting comment and we wonder why you did not take the chance to contact the staff, the supervisor, the skipper or anybody of Pico Sport to express your complaint. Furtheron i answer that we have 99% happy clients and maybe you are one of the 1% that we can not satisfy. As you do... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2016

I went to book a fishing trip which they said they could do no problem. I said specifically what type of fishing I wanted to do and what type of fish I was hoping to catch. I stated that I was looking for deep water fishing for small tuna and barracuda and equipment for 5 people. They quoted me a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nellie B
whale999, Inhaber at Pico Sport, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment. But maybe it was not clear that we do not operate fishing in our company. We operate whale watching and scuba diving. We asked another company to take you for fishing and thats what you did. The captain of the boat reported after your trip that you were happy and you had all the time... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2016 via mobile

I just left Pico Island and can look back on ten great days with Pico Sport. To start off the owner of the business and the whole staff are really friendly and can help you with all questions and needs. They made a great effort to manage all trips that I booked, with sucsess! We had very good dolphin swimming... More 

Helpful?
Thank darion470
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2015

Great time with Pico Sport and their team. Nice dives, dolphins swimw, whales watching, and good advices on the island and around. Thank you !

Helpful?
Thank FloBreuil
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2015

We booked with Pico Sport for whale watching on the first day of expected clear weather after several days of bad weather. The group was large and was split in two: the first group went on a RHIB, and we went on a hard boat. As we went out and the ocean was very rough and practically everyone on board... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Adam C
whale999, Inhaber at Pico Sport, responded to this review

Dear customer. Thank you very much for your review. It matters a lot to us what pur clients say and what happens on board as even after beeing in the business for 21 years at Pico Island we are keen to improve our service whereever possible. I have investigated your case from yesterday with other passengers on board, the skipper... More 

São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2015 via mobile

Amazing diving with mantas, awesome sites in the island. Joao Rodrigues, the dive master was professional, friendly and extremely patient teacher; vividly recommend!

Helpful?
Thank PedroOC
Schindellegi, Switzerland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2015 via mobile

Thank you Frank and your team for the unforgettable moments with whales and dolphins Excellent professional organization, knowledgeable and friendly staff.

Helpful?
Thank Martin N
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2015 via mobile

We went out to princess Alice for the day and had fun. Our guide was fantastic and let us snorkel around with the mantas at the end of the dives. It is a pricey dive, but it was a good time. My only complaint is having to pay for an additional rental to do the check dive- if you going... More 

Helpful?
Thank finleypat

Travelers who viewed Pico Sport also viewed

Madalena, Pico
Santo Amaro, Sao Roque do Pico
 

Been to Pico Sport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Pico Sport and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Pico Sport staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?