FilSurf Surf School
FilSurf Surf School
5
About
FilSurf school is open to everyone regardless of age, physical training and surf experience. Whether you are a complete beginner or an experienced surfer you will learn a lot at our lessons on ones of the most beautiful beaches of the world. Our qualified fully accredited instructors in all disciplines of surfing and water safety, consistent surf ing conditions and amazing landscapes will make your surf experience unforgettable.More than 10 years experience of giving surf lessons we share our knowledge of surfing and respect to the ocean with our students, be part of our community, welcome to FilSurf school!
Lagos, Portugal

Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Travelers talk about
(2 reviews)

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

5.0
5.0 of 5 bubbles218 reviews
Excellent
196
Very good
11
Average
2
Poor
2
Terrible
7

Flo W
Düsseldorf, Germany28 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 • Solo
I booked two days of absolute beginners. surfing.
Filipe was at the meeting point to pick me up. We drove together to Praia da Luz ,a very beautiful place to learn surfing.
Filipe taught me the basics after a warm up and we went to the water where he gave me good tips! He helped me whenever he saw help was needed but gave me space to make my own experiences success and of course fail. Really appreciated the two days spending with him talking about surfing, the region, locals and a lot more. The equipment was very good. The price fair.
I can highly recommend this surf school. I will come back
Written January 15, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you very much Flo! Thank you for your kind words and very nice review! Was a pleasure to meet you and teach you! Hope to see you again at our lessons!
Written January 17, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Heather Faherty
New York City, NY13 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2022 • Solo
If I could give 6 stars, I would. Our group was small which made it feel like a somewhat private experience. We headed to the west coast to a national park, so views were incredible and we were the only ones at that beach (no other schools). Our instructor Moreno was extremely versed in surfing given his years of expertise. He made us feeling prepared and safe on the boards before even getting in the water. I enjoyed how the day was not broken up in to two sessions…just straight fun for a few hours, topped with a delicious meal. All in all it was relaxed, not rushed, but packed with learning. I will return to Fila when I visit Lagos again!
Written July 5, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you very much Heather for your kind feedback!!! Was a pleasure to meet you! Keep surfing and come to us more times!
Written July 26, 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Liva
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2021 • Solo
The personal approach and very professional advice. As a beginner I felt I was in good hands all the time and that approved after 5 day course when I was able to surf. They tell you all the details about surfing, ocean and waves, they let you know how to improve your skills constantly. The coaches are very experienced and lovely people - simply the best :)))
Written August 15, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Firas
5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2021
By far the best surf lessons I have ever had.

The four days spent with Filipe and Moreno as surf instructors were by far the best on a surf board so far, although I have had several beginner lessons around the world. The teaching style is straightforward, personal and with technical feedback and simple practices during the surf. The explanation goes beyond the usual "do this, do that.". The focus is fully on understanding the dynamics of the water, the board, and foremost: the person trying to catch the wave.

Filsurf is the place to be to be(come) a surfer!
Written October 18, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Jacquetta E
Bristol, UK7 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sep 2020
Just back from a week in Portugal and still buzzing with our surfing experience! The 3 days of lessons with Filipe and Miguel of Filsurf were definitely the highlight of our holiday. As a family of 5 surf novices we needed lots of help and advice! Filipe and Miguel were really thorough and mature in their training, covering not only surfing technique but also safety. It was fun to be taken to different beaches too. We hope to be back for more soon!
Written September 6, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Jacquetta! Thank you very much for your warm words! We are extremely happy that you‘ve enjoyed your first surf experience with us! Was a big pleasure to spend time with you! Thank you very much for choosing us and making our days! Big hugs from Filipe and Miguel! Hope to see all of you soon!
Written September 9, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

mroctoberCanada
Toronto, Canada32 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2015 • Family
We booked a half day surf lesson for our kids with Fil by email. He confirmed a half day surf lesson. He told my wife the price includes transportation to and from the site. Once our kids were there he denied to them that he agreed to a half day lesson claiming he doesn't offer these (half day lessons are on his website). Our kids are 14 and 17. He made them feel like they lied to him and that we never booked a half day lesson. We have the email from him confirming the half day lesson. As a result he would not drive them home afterward and they had to either sit on the beach for the rest of the day on their own or take a taxi back to our place. On top of this our kids didn't learn anything. The instructors sat on the beach and didn't provide any tips. Our kids have surfed in Hawaii and had a much better experience there.
I know there are many good reviews which is why we booked it. I guess Fil is only nice to people who pay him for whole day lesson...so if you decide to go make very sure to clarify the plans up front. Fil is in this for the money!
Written September 15, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Karina N
London, UK1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Sep 2011 • Solo
Mosty horrible camp of surfing in practice. It was my first experience and now when I'm going for surf, I'm chekcking reviews.
One instructor for a lot of people. Several times instructor left us in the water by ourselves
Service is very bad, seams like they invited you for free not you bought a service. Instructor is very rude guy. In the water felt like he can give you a punch if you say something that you are not happy.
I'm not suggest to anyone this camp and i hope my review will help.
Written June 28, 2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Karina, Thank you for your feedback! Bad review is also a review. We are very sorry if we did hurt your feelings and didn't provide the best possible service to you. Still we are happy you keep surfing inspite of not so good first experience. Best wishes, FilSurf
Written July 12, 2012
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

RCBF
Toronto, Canada33 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2015 • Family
I was on a family trip with my in-laws and offered to take my two teenage nieces surfing for the morning. My sister in law made the booking on our behalf for a half day as was offered on the website. Via email and subsequent phone calls, she confirmed our planned attendance at the activity. So early in the morning of the selected day, off I went with my nieces to meet up with the surf group. Following arrival at the set meeting point (a MacDonalds in Lagos), shortly after the predetermined time, a driver arrived. At this point I was under the impression that the driver knew we had planned for a half day given the email and phone conversations that took place prior to our adventure. Off we went. After a 30 minute drive, we arrived and I went straight to meet Fil. I reiterated our intent only to spend the half day to which he agreed was acceptable. I offered to pay immediately as I didn't like the idea of leaving money on the beach. Fil happily accepted our money which was at a slight reduction from the overall full day rate. We were told to gather our things and head to the beach. The warm up activities were fun and it was good to get to know the group a little better. The surfing was okay, although the waves were a little strong for beginners (who had only done this on a few occasions before in Hawaii and Costa Rica). Instruction was limited - the instructors including Fil mainly stood out of the water and pointed at waves. Water temp was fine with the provided wetsuits.

When the morning session ended, I and my nieces were told to bring our things up to the van. What happened next was nothing less than shocking. After carting our surf boards and clothing up to the van, Fil told us he wouldn't be driving us back to our car and that we would have to wait for the rest of the group. I explained that we had specifically only wanted to do the half day given the intent to spend the rest of the day with our family on the beach in a different part of Portugal. He told me that it wasn't his responsibility to leave the rest of the group to drive me and that I was cheating him by only paying for a half day. I had paid 15 euros less per person for the half day (so 45 euros total) which wasn't the issue. I explained that if I had known he wasn't going to drive, I simply would have taken my rental car directly to the beach instead of leaving it at the MacDonalds pick up point. He yelled at me and said it was my problem and that I was getting in his way of being a professional and running his business. He told me that I was cheating him by only paying him for a half day even though this was the prearranged plan (which I have emails with his responses for proof). He explained that I shouldn't have let my sister in law book events like this in the future. Blame was placed on everyone but him. He then lit a smoke and walked away. Unfortunately because I had already paid Fil, there was no recourse. So we proceeded to find a taxi whom we paid 45 euros to return to my car parked in Lagos.

Ultimately, I have never had such an experience in my life. As a fair and reasonable person, the way Fil treated me was appalling. The way he spoke to me in front of my nieces was highly UNprofessional. Although I appreciate others have had good experiences, I would suggest seeking out an alternative surf company in Portugal to avoid the possibility of having such a distasteful interaction.
Written September 12, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

MarkParys
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2013
I asked in advance if the group lessons were suitable for 12 year old boys and was told absolutely. Price included transport and lunch. My wife didnt want to participate but it was €35 to get on the bus so she decided to drive and we went with her rather than catch the bus. The group lesson eventually started at 11.30 and we were told that as the waves were so strong we would be doing the whole 3 hrs together rather than having a break. I told Fil the instructor that the two lads would have to take a break before then to eat. It was a fight against the waves and deep until you got to the sandbank. I'm just short of 6 ft and struggled to get out as the water was so deep. I noticed my boys had drifted down the beach and weren't getting anywhere so I went to get them. Fil shouted for me to stay and I pointed to the boys and he obviously misinterpreted this and said it wasn't a private lesson. He went to the boys and said if they can't do it they should get out and come back for private lessons. The boys thought that they had done something wrong and came out after 20 mins but they really weren't able to get out very far.

I struggled for another hour at which point there were only 2 or 3 of us left fighting the waves and the lesson was abandoned for lunch. At 4pm we decided to call it a day but the instructors weren't around. I left a message at the office to say I would drop the payment into the office the following day. I met Fil in the car park and asked how much I needed to pay and he insisted on the full €50 each as the kids had taken spaces and it wasn't his fault the kids couldn't do it. I accept that the strong waves weren't his fault but there's a big difference between them not being capable of doing it and not being physically able to do it when the waves were so strong and the water so deep especially when so many adults gave up the ghost after a short period of time. I felt sorry for the people who were on the minibus and couldn't leave when they wanted. Fil was recommending at 4pm but when we left the lifeguards were still stopping most people from getting in the water. I could accept €50 for me and even €25 for each of the boys for the loan of a wetsuit, a surfboard, 10 mins warm up on the beach and 10 mins tuition which quite frankly we could have worked out ourselves but as an instructor he would have known from the outset they couldnt do it that day. He missed out on the second amount of surfing we had planned for next week. Probably fine for adults but if you want kids to do it book for private lessons which is what he obviously wants although they still wouldnt have been able to do it that day. All in all I'd say I was just really disappointed with his attitude, getting his €50 per head regardless and disinterest in kids.
Written August 21, 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you very much for your comment. We value each and every of them, even if they are negative. However, we would like you to stick to the facts and these are: First of all, a return beach ride for "spectators" is 25 EUR, not 35 EUR as you state in your review. Please, consult our webpage for the price list. This is also the price we quoted to you in our email. Second, you never asked for the private lesson for you and your 2 boys. Let me quote your first email: "Could I book for one adult and two twelve year old boys to join a one day group session in August please", dated June, 19th 2013. Third, you didn't even show up for the warm-up, only your sons. Fourth, there were 2 surf sessions held on that day with the break in between. You and your boys were the only ones to give up earlier, thus not joining the second round. The rest of the group (14 people) enjoyed themselves immensely and decided to book more days with us. Fifth, we have been teaching kids as of the age of 6 for many years now. As you may know, not all the children are phisically fit and have skills to surf, which is the case of your 12-year-old sons. Sixth, the instructor's tuition didn't last only 10 mins as you state in your comment. The instructor gave individual attention to your lads, pushing them in the water, carrying yours and their surf boards after the end of the second session and washing the equipment which you left really dirty, thus giving him more work than the rest of the students on that day. To sum up, we are convinced that you decided to write this negative comment as we refused to give you and your children a 50% discount which was groundless.
Written August 22, 2013
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

vikdchk
Florida11 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Considering all the great reviews I thought we would be in for a fun treat. I found the company to be very shady. Our first day of surfing started nearly an hour late, most of which we spent sitting around wondering what was going on and not having any instructor in sight. The wetsuits were wet from the day prior and smelled of body oder. When we did start we did very little beginner instruction. I felt like it was more of a sink or swim situation. The lesson ended at least an hour early but it was probably closer to an 1 1/2 hours. At the end of the lesson we were told to hang out for 35 minutes after we dropped our gear off so we walked the beach and came back to find out we were waiting on our instructor to have a sit down lunch with friends and the 35 minutes was closer to an hour and a half. The second day we drove ourselves to avoid having a repeat situation. When we paid the second day and asked about the price for the short day the instructor was incredibly rude and insisted that it was a full day, even though he had said the day prior they had to stop early because of the conditions. I very much doubt that they have the insurance they claim to have on their customers. They never collected any of our personal information. That compounded with the fact that they don't have a storefront to meet at and will not accept cards makes me feel that they are liking avoiding claiming their income. The classes certainly had a lack of structure as well. If I did it over again I would choose another company with a legitimate store. Even the other classes on the beach with younger people seemed to have their act together better. The instruction was almost pointless, and when their was instruction it was not helpful. They were very impatient with students. The Algarve is covered with surf schools, find another one to go to.
Written September 2, 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Customer Thank you very much for submitting your review. We appreciate each and every of them - even if they are dictated by the fact that you have been refused a discount and thus decided to write a negative feedback. Firstly, please don't defame our school jumping to conclusions and writing that we avoid claiming income and that the school doesn't have an insurance as these are your wild guesses and have no back up. If our school wasn't insured, we wouldn't get a license to run it. Having a valid insurance that is renewed every year is strictly required by the Portuguese law. Secondly, other students who surfed with you on that day were very satisfied with the surf instruction and even wrote very good reviews on TripAdvisor (please, see the feedback of the French father who surfed with his 13 year old child). Thirdly, if our surf classes were so disorganized as you are claiming, you wouldn't show up to surf with us on the second day but would rather choose another school taking into consideration the fact that the surf instructor let you pay for the surf course on the second day instead of the first. Fourthly, we take utmost care of our surf equipment and make sure that all the boards, wetsuits, lycras and leashes are washed every afternoon after the lessons (incl. anti-piss detergent) and that is why they may be wet the next morning. Lastly, both of you were not listening to the instructors' comments, going out of the water and taking breaks as you pleased without notifying them while the rest of the group stayed in the water surfing. Thank you for surfing with us!
Written September 5, 2014
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 172

FilSurf Surf School - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (2024)

All Lagos HotelsLagos Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Lagos
All things to do in Lagos
Zoos & Aquariums in LagosDay Trips in Lagos
RestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars