We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Beer Capital

Closed Now: 3:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Open today: 3:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Review Highlights
Great!

Very nice atmosphere, impressing choice of beers and gentle service! Great place to relax. I... read more

Reviewed January 24, 2019
Gabdan1
via mobile
Excellent choice for the discerning beer drinker

Thoroughly enjoyed an evening here drinking a wide range of available beers. Even though it was... read more

Reviewed August 26, 2018
JonnyCoates
,
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 318 reviews
All photos (115)
Full view
Traveler Overview
  • Excellent39%
  • Very good31%
  • Average14%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible7%
Closed Now
Hours Today: 3:00 PM - 12:00 AM
See all hours
Contact
Grote Markt 14, Leuven 3000, Belgium
Website
+32 478 73 77 58
Call
Improve This Listing
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Leuven
from $16.00
More Info
from $16.00
More Info
from $17.14
More Info
from $11.43
More Info
Reviews (318)
Filter reviews
130 results
Traveler rating
59
38
14
8
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
59
38
14
8
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews on tap easy choice many choices an amazing selection menu cellar stock atmosphere zythos vault terrace square
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 130 reviews
Reviewed May 18, 2019

We came there with great anticipation and have been terribly disappointed. The staff didn’t care cleaning up old bottles or glasses on tables or the bar. The famous elevator to the beer cellar was used to carry around the same empty bottles for all the...More

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank Heiko M
Reviewed April 20, 2019 via mobile

The Capital succeeds in offering a horrible service to customers. Not only they let you wait for 30 minutes before taking our order, but they also are champions in charging a higher amount then mentioned on the menu. When mentioning this to the waiter the...More

Date of experience: April 2019
1  Thank LxWx1x9x9x2
Reviewed April 13, 2019 via mobile

Cool place, cool location, but unfortunately could not live up to its name. Both beers and food were only partly in stock. Do not advertise what you can't deliver.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank CindeeNL
Reviewed January 24, 2019 via mobile

Very nice atmosphere, impressing choice of beers and gentle service! Great place to relax. I recommend!

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Gabdan1
Reviewed August 26, 2018 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed an evening here drinking a wide range of available beers. Even though it was fairly busy, we didn't have any issues with service or having to wait. We also left with extra beers to take home (at 30% off the normal price). We'll...More

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank JonnyCoates
TheBeerCapital, Manager at The Beer Capital, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2018

Hi Jonny, thank you for your feedback! I hope you had a great time!

Reviewed August 10, 2018 via mobile

I absolutely loved it!! Great service, wide variety of beers at a very reasonable price, lovely view when sitting on the front chairs, and a cozy terrace in the back . You won’t leave sober 🍻🍻

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank caroleverdru17
TheBeerCapital, Manager at The Beer Capital, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2018

Hey Carole, thank you for your feedback! We are happy you had a good time. Cheers!

Reviewed August 8, 2018

This bar was a bit of a disappointment, truth be told. We went the last weekend in April. Whilst there were lots of taps, the beer choice was somewhat dreary, with the usual widely available suspects. The beer I wanted, Troubadour Magma was in poor...More

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Idler
TheBeerCapital, Manager at The Beer Capital, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2018

Hi Idler, I am sorry to hear you did not have the best experience. End of April we were going through a complete review of our stock, renovations, and a review of our staff. Today our draft beers rotate on a monthly basis. 2 of...More

Reviewed July 27, 2018 via mobile

Impressive selection of Belgian beers! Nice setting and friendly staff. I tried 2 beers and bought 6 to bring home. Must see in Leuven!

Date of experience: July 2018
1  Thank VDVSEB
TheBeerCapital, Manager at The Beer Capital, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2018

Hey VDVSEB, thank you for your feedback! Always great to hear. I hope to welcome you back one day!

Reviewed July 22, 2018 via mobile

The newly renovated look is a huge improvement! It’s cosy and clean and it’s a perfect place to hang out and drink good Belgian beers. The shop is also a newly added extra and provides good deals! The service was also very friendly! I highly...More

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Julie V
TheBeerCapital, Manager at The Beer Capital, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2018

Hey Julie, thank you for your feeback! We are happy you had a good time and we look forward to see you again!

Reviewed June 24, 2018

went for a drink on the terrace. Ok they have over 500 beers, but all tables on the terrace were disgustingly dirty. When the waitress came to take our order, she didn't even bother to clean the table. Our beers came in dirty glasses as...More

2  Thank michel l
TheBeerCapital, Manager at The Beer Capital, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2018

Hi Michel, I am sorry to hear your experience was not great. I have shared your message with our staff and we commit to do better. Hope to see you again, The Beer Capital.

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 18 nearby hotels
The Fourth - Tafelrond
75 reviews
.07 miles away
Hotel Professor
73 reviews
.07 miles away
Ibis Leuven Centrum
525 reviews
.15 miles away
Atel Theaterhotel
4 reviews
.18 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 509 nearby restaurants
Greenway
120 reviews
.05 miles away
Oona Asian Restaurant & Bar
116 reviews
.05 miles away
notre dame quasimodo
620 reviews
.02 miles away
Brasserie Foyer
101 reviews
.05 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 104 nearby attractions
Town Hall (Stadhuis)
1,193 reviews
.03 miles away
Great Market Square (Grote Markt)
413 reviews
.02 miles away
Old Market Square
809 reviews
.11 miles away
Fons Sapientiae
64 reviews
.08 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Beer Capital staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines