We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Sint-Pietersnieuwstraat 23, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number: +32 9 267 28 28
10:00 am - 2:00 am
Open now
See all hours
Sun 12:00 pm - 1:00 am
Mon - Wed 10:00 am - 1:00 am
Thu - Sat 10:00 am - 2:00 am

Vooruit is a vibrant live performing arts center located in a 100 years old...

Vooruit is a vibrant live performing arts center located in a 100 years old monument in the heart of Ghent. Since 1982, we have been offering countless cultural events like concerts, podium performances, parties, book presentations, debates...

Vooruit is a significant meeting place for a very diverse public.

Contributing to this is our popular Cafe with patio, where anyone can come enjoy a (vegetarian) meal or drink, meet for a chat, or catch up on some work.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 97 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 24
  • 7
    Very good
  • 6
  • 1
  • 0
Great place

It is a charming venue with a very beautiful theater and nice open air cafe and there is always an interesting events happening here.

5 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 weeks ago
A TripAdvisor Member
via mobile

Similar Things to Do in Ghent

Add Photo Write a Review

97 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 38: English reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

It is a charming venue with a very beautiful theater and nice open air cafe and there is always an interesting events happening here.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Digne les Bains, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

De Vooruit like we call it in Ghent, is a place where you will see people from all intellectual levels. Students, workers, Lawyers, Artists and many others. You can eat a good Spaghetti or a vegetarian dish together with good local beer. De Vooruit in Ghent is organizing every year a lot of cultural events. Concerts, symposia, exhibitions and many... More 

Thank paulvereecke
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2016

We hope that the Centre will come to life again when the students return to the city because this last weekend in August, it was a Ghost Town -- tired and dusty, no one there, nothing open. We appreciate the special architecture and the interesting neighbourhood but we presume everyone was on holiday on the final weekend of August because... More 

Thank BFL55
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2016

Sit outside and just enjoy this very unique location, close to some of the university buildings. Inside is the old café (with petanque lane indoors!) and one flight of stairs and you're in the eatery. My colleague and I had both fairly appetizing pasta dishes and a glass of wine each. Ghent is one of those cities that surprises me... More 

Thank l-a d
Avelgem, Belgium
Level Contributor
102 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2016

Wonderful building and architecture with a fascinating history. Very nice café and restaurant, incl. terrace, theater, etc. Best place in the world to read your paper while having a coffee. Also by far the best rock concert hall of the world in the basement.

Thank Jan D
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
78 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2016 via mobile

Generally the vooruit is not the place you'd go with small kids. Thus we did. Had plenty of space around the tables to jump & crawl around😜👩‍👩‍👧‍👦. Good, less Common drinks and ok service. Go Vooruit, Gooo!

Thank kristof G
palmerston north
Level Contributor
45 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2016

The vooriut is a wonderful place to visit any time of the day or night. The food is good for lunch, the terrace if fabulous for a drink and the concert halls are great.

Thank kiwibaby
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2016

This beautiful building used to be a Trade Union headquarters, and now houses a theatre and gallery space. On its ground floor, however, there is a huge art deco cafe - much used by locals ad serving tasty food as well as a wide range of beers. It's very popular with young Ghentians we found on the Sunday afternoon we... More 

Thank John W
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2016

It's a beautiful historical building where everyone can come and drink an look around at ease. Food is awfull, only drinks are ok, a lot of fair trade and bio stuff

Thank johanvangent
Vooruit, Digital marketeer at Vooruit Arts Centre, responded to this review

Hi Johan! Too bad you didn't really like the food. Anything in particular that we can improve? Hope to see you again soon! Kind regards More 

De Haan, Belgium
Level Contributor
179 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2016

Visting thison a sunday afternoon with friends - students from Santiago de Chile- we were quite surprised there was a dance performance wit a lot of students. Just great, keep doing this please!!!!!!!!!

Thank tikki2015

Travelers who viewed Vooruit Arts Centre also viewed

Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province

Been to Vooruit Arts Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Vooruit Arts Centre staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?