We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Sint-Pietersnieuwstraat 23, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number: +32 9 267 28 28
Website
Today
10:00 am - 2:00 am
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 1:00 am
Mon - Wed 10:00 am - 1:00 am
Thu - Sat 10:00 am - 2:00 am
Description:

Vooruit is a vibrant live performing arts center located in a 100 years old...

Vooruit is a vibrant live performing arts center located in a 100 years old monument in the heart of Ghent. Since 1982, we have been offering countless cultural events like concerts, podium performances, parties, book presentations, debates...

Vooruit is a significant meeting place for a very diverse public.

Contributing to this is our popular Cafe with patio, where anyone can come enjoy a (vegetarian) meal or drink, meet for a chat, or catch up on some work.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 91 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 22
    Excellent
  • 7
    Very good
  • 5
    Average
  • 1
    Poor
  • 0
    Terrible
a special place to eat esp. on a warm day

Sit outside and just enjoy this very unique location, close to some of the university buildings. Inside is the old café (with petanque lane indoors!) and one flight of stairs and... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed 3 days ago
l-a d
,
Antwerp, Belgium
Add Photo Write a Review

91 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 35: English reviews
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Sit outside and just enjoy this very unique location, close to some of the university buildings. Inside is the old café (with petanque lane indoors!) and one flight of stairs and you're in the eatery. My colleague and I had both fairly appetizing pasta dishes and a glass of wine each. Ghent is one of those cities that surprises me... More 

Helpful?
Thank l-a d
Avelgem, Belgium
Level Contributor
100 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Wonderful building and architecture with a fascinating history. Very nice café and restaurant, incl. terrace, theater, etc. Best place in the world to read your paper while having a coffee. Also by far the best rock concert hall of the world in the basement.

Helpful?
Thank Jan D
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2016 via mobile

Generally the vooruit is not the place you'd go with small kids. Thus we did. Had plenty of space around the tables to jump & crawl around😜👩‍👩‍👧‍👦. Good, less Common drinks and ok service. Go Vooruit, Gooo!

Helpful?
Thank kristof G
palmerston north
Level Contributor
45 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2016

The vooriut is a wonderful place to visit any time of the day or night. The food is good for lunch, the terrace if fabulous for a drink and the concert halls are great.

Helpful?
Thank kiwibaby
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2016

This beautiful building used to be a Trade Union headquarters, and now houses a theatre and gallery space. On its ground floor, however, there is a huge art deco cafe - much used by locals ad serving tasty food as well as a wide range of beers. It's very popular with young Ghentians we found on the Sunday afternoon we... More 

Helpful?
Thank John W
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2016

It's a beautiful historical building where everyone can come and drink an look around at ease. Food is awfull, only drinks are ok, a lot of fair trade and bio stuff

Helpful?
Thank johanvangent
Vooruit, Digital marketeer at Vooruit Arts Centre, responded to this review

Hi Johan! Too bad you didn't really like the food. Anything in particular that we can improve? Hope to see you again soon! Kind regards More 

De Haan, Belgium
Level Contributor
159 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2016

Visting thison a sunday afternoon with friends - students from Santiago de Chile- we were quite surprised there was a dance performance wit a lot of students. Just great, keep doing this please!!!!!!!!!

Helpful?
Thank tikki2015
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2016 via mobile

We only had diner here but that was great! The vegetarian option was good! They managed to prepare the tofu very good, flavour was nice, something I find hard to manage :). We recommend this place if you want a kind of healthy food that tastes great and has an okay price!

Helpful?
Thank welliez
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2016 via mobile

Vooruit is great. Lovely location, good drinks, super nice staff and you can just stay there for several hours without feeling like you overstayed your welcome. Also the food is fantastic, even for vegetarians. Definately go there!

Helpful?
Thank sxxxxxaxxxxxx
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2016

Have a seat at one of the colorful chairs outside on the "Terras" and have a beer, or coffee there, you will enjoy it! It is all about the place there, really nice!

Helpful?
Thank rossorobot

Travelers who viewed Vooruit Arts Centre also viewed

Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 
Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 

Been to Vooruit Arts Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Vooruit Arts Centre staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?