Holland Vespa Tours
Holland Vespa Tours
5
Vespa, Scooter & Moped Tours
This location was reported permanently closed
About
Rent a Vespa to discover the city Rotterdam, or tour to Gouda, Kinderdijk or Delft along picturesque routes. A GPS navigation system with pre-programmed routes will show you the way. Holland Vespa Tours has real Italian Vespas on which you can tour in comfort without a helmet and on the designated bicycle paths. If you want a different experience, then you can go for the classic Vespas from the 60's and 70's. To read more about the types of Vespas, the routes we offer or to make a reservation please go to our website.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands

Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.


5.0
5.0 of 5 bubbles62 reviews
Excellent
59
Very good
3
Average
0
Poor
0
Terrible
0

ChrisSmyth86
London, UK3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2015 • Couples
This was one of the best things we decided to do in Holland. We hired two classic vespers (the ones with gears!) for most of the day and despite taking some time to get used to riding them we really enjoyed ourselves. The geared bikes are not as easy as they look and the 'test drive' before we left was really helpful! One of the bikes cut out about 20km away which took out a good chunk of our day waiting for the owner to come and fix it. The bikes had GPS built in so it was easy for him to find us. He offered to refund us 50 euros for the trouble which we were more than happy with.

Customer service was really excellent. The only thing we would say is that a 'beginners' track as an option may be a good addition to the service. The track we started out on was over 80km which was prob optimistic on our part but we only got a third of the way round and had to come back by selecting the 'home' button on the Sat Nav which was provided for us. This took us through the city which was a bit stressful for a new rider!

If you are new to riding then chose the more modern vespers. They don't look as good but much easier to ride not having to worry about changing gears!
Written July 24, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you so much for your review and for describing your experience with the classic Vespas. Yes, they are tricky to handle at first, especially if you have no driving experience at all. So it is best to come early in the day so you have enough time to learn the ins and outs of driving the Vespa before driving off. Additionally we agree that it is more enjoyable if you have past motorcycle/moped experience so it is more fun to drive a classic Vespa. So we will definitely explain this to future customers. And like everything that is 'old' there is a higher risk for a break down. But we are glad to read that you were happy with how we solved the problem. Luckily we offer the modern automatic Vespa which is ideal for touring around the country side too. Whenever you guys are in Rotterdam again, please drop by again so you can finish the cheese/windmill tour on a modern Vespa. With kind regards, Holland Vespa Tours
Written August 16, 2015
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

damocyrus
Australia11 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2015 • Couples
My girlfiend and I did the full day windmill and cheese tour. We had the BEST TIME. Its such a unique way of seeing some of Rotterdam and the country side. Some of the small villages that we passed were something out of a movie, they were just perfect.

We took the vintage Vespas which I think was the better choice because it allowed us to go on the bicycle paths. Where as the new Vespas are restricted to the road (if I remember correctly).

No real previous experience required riding motorcycles. We were shown how to ride them around the block before we set off. The older bikes had gears. Don't let that deter you, they're easy to use.

Lunch in Gouda is a must. There are also a number of other stops that we wished we had more time. (Our fault for being late and time wasting early in the day.)

We had many many laughs throughout the day, it is an experience we'll never forget, so Thanks Holland Vespa Tours and Monico!
Written May 9, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Many thanks for your wonderful review! It's great to read how much you recommend the classic Vespas as the modern ones are actually a bit easier to drive. Both types of bikes can go on the bike lanes so for the route and safety it makes no difference which one you choose. But we are happy you chose the classic Vespas because it is a whole different experience! Glad we were able to part of your holiday to Holland! Kind regards, Monico
Written May 11, 2015
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

jesshegg
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2015 • Couples
What an incredible ride! We found Holland Vespa Tours visit trip advisor so I only felt it right to write a review after our great find.

We did the Gouda-Kinderdijk tour. Making reservations was easy. We called on a Wednesday to reserve for a Friday ride. Matt was incredibly helpful and able to answer all my questions.

What you will need -
- drivers license /passport (or a copy of it),
- 150 euro as a deposit (per bike) and proper aMt of euro per bIke to renter (ours was 65 euro for 1 modern vespa).

Of important note,
- they do not take credit cards so you will need cash to do this. There is not an ATM there so make sure to stop at one in Rotterdam prior to arrival. You will also need 1.80 euro x 2 for 2 ferry rides on this tour.
- also of important note - this is a self guided tour. There is no tour guide. You get a GPS navigation and a Vespa and you are off. It proves to be quite an adventure - but is truly worth it! Lots of mistakes and laughs for us along the way. You follow the bike route the entire tour, but you do have to cross many intersections along the way. You will ride your Vespa in the bike lane for the entire tour.
- The Vespa does not go too fast - max 30km/hour. Makes for ability to truly enjoy the ride.
- helmets are offered if you like.

Matt and Monica went over all the details of driving/riding/paperwork/navigation on the Vespa and had us test drive it to make sure we were comfortable. We chose to rent 1 modern Vespa for the two of us. There was plenty of room on the seat for both of us and it was quite comfortable. Having said that, it was a 6-7 hour tour so towards the end the tush does get a bit sore.

My only complaint was that the GPS got a little squirrely on us, but we were able to reset it without too much of a problem.

The tour of Gouda-Kinderdijk was beautiful - the entire ride was very scentic. Matt let us know about what to stop and see in Gouda-Kinderdijk (beautiful stained glass church and museum as well as the windmills) and also options to eat and where to park for free.

Getting on the ferry was easy. People along the way we're very friendly and helpful. Most everyone speaks English so this was helpful to us.

A great and adventurous trip all the way around and highly recommended. Manu laughs and many memories made on our Vespa tour!
Written May 9, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
We feel quite honoured that you wrote your first review on trip advisor after visiting us. You wrote a lot of useful information for travelers and hopefully future visitors of Holland Vespa Tours. Yes, the navigation can get tricky at times so it can be an adventure. But like you said, if you stay relaxed about it then it is all part of the experience. Luckily it is easy to turn and make slight detours on a Vespa. We are happy you enjoyed Gouda-Kinderdijk, it is a great way to enjoy Rotterdam but also see the typical dutch country side just outside the big city. Thanks again for recommending us and for the wonderful review! Matt and Monico
Written May 11, 2015
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

zorglub67
Metz, France213 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sep 2014 • Friends
I asked Monico to organize me a tour of the city, with a group of friends, for my birthday. I discovered parts of the city that I did not know. She showed us the city, as she likes It. It was such a great time for all ! She even arranged a coffee/tea break with biscuits during the round. She is a person of incredible kindness.

We had already toured the city by tram, and with vespas you go into neighborhoods where the tram is not going. We also toured with splashbus and waterbus, but by far on the water, you do not see the city in the same way.

Vespa is really a great idea, and I can tell you that it is not without reason that it is the activity ranked # 1 in Rotterdam on Tripadvisor.
Written September 29, 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
It was really great to read your positive review. Thank you very much. It was a pleasure to organise something special for your birthday. Your enthusiasm and that from your family and friends made the Vespa tour extra fun for me too. You told me that you had visited Rotterdam a couple of times already and that you wanted your group of friends to see how great this city is. I was happy that even you had seen new things and that your friends really enjoyed the architecture and the neighbourhoods outside the city center. It is definitely a day to remember! With kind regards, Monico Holland Vespa Tours Ps. thank you for adding the nice pictures you took. The group picture really reflects how fun the day was!
Written October 1, 2014
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

James H
Salisbury, UK68 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sep 2014 • Couples
What an adventure! We took the 'Windmill Route' which included driving through Rotterdam, fields, dykes, across a sweet little ferry (3 min crossing) to Kinderdijk where there were more windmills than you could count. What a blast! The rental time allowed was easily enough time to do this at a relaxed pace and take time out for a bite to eat. The ride was really varied and they had clearly taken some time to plot out an interesting route for us to follow. We've been to Holland many times but this gave us a really different view and a fun way to enjoy it. We would recommend this without hesitation to everyone.

Run by a lovely friendly couple, this company is located in one of the converted archways under the old railway line. Their website is as clear as the prices are reasonable. I'm an experience rider but my wife is not and they took care to make sure we both fully understood the machine and the SatNav before we left. We had a slight accident with one of the bikes and they were really good about it, charging us only a really minimal amount and being very honest about some damage we thought we had caused which was already there from a previous rider. That said the bikes are immaculate and clearly well-maintained.

We had an additional adventure... my wife realised her iPhone was missing as we were preparing to ride out. After calling it a couple of times to see if we had left it in the car, the phone 'called me back' and when I answered the other person dropped the line. We realised then it had been stolen and the couple allowed us to use their laptop/internet to use 'Find my Phone' and discovered it was only 2 streets away! After putting a message remotely on the phone for them to call me and return it (with no effect), the owner drove me there on one of the Vespas and it was clear from the location-finder on my phone that my wife's phone was somewhere in an apartment block. We rang some doorbells, with the owner asking each person who answered (his Dutch much better than mine!) to return to us the phone they had 'found' and amazingly we shocked one (pilfering) resident into coming down with the phone and returning it to us. A great result thanks to the wonderful owners helping us out big-time!
Written September 26, 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you so much for your review. We are happy to read that you had a great time and that you had a new 'Dutch' experience, despite visiting Holland many times. The Iphone adventure was just as a big adventure for us too! It was definitely an exciting story that we still tell when meeting family and friends. Everybody is so surprised that it ended so well with you getting your iphone back. If you guys happen to be in Rotterdam, don't hesitate to drop by for a chitchat and some coffee. Kind regards, Holland Vespa Tours
Written October 1, 2014
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Johan d
Amsterdam, The Netherlands6 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2014 • Friends
I found out about these Vespa tours through one of the flyers in the lobby at the new King Kong hostel and together with my girlfriend and one of her friends we rented two Vespas. We followed the windmill route just outside Rotterdam and stopped at the famous Unesco site of Kinderdijk which was pretty busy because of Eastern. Nonetheless plenty of windmills were to come while we drove through small country side hamlets, past farms and over small bridges. Since we've driven scooters before it was pretty easy and with the GPS navigation nothing much to worry about. All in all a great day out and definitely something we like to do again when we're in Rotterdam.
Written April 23, 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you very much for your great review on Holland Vespa Tours. We are happy to hear that you had a great time and are looking forward to welcoming you again for one of our other routes. Kind regards, Holland Vespa Tours.
Written April 25, 2014
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

CalleKarpfenteich
Dresden, Germany13 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sep 2015 • Couples
Such a beautiful trip with such beautiful vehicles ;)
Service was perfect, funny and nice chatting inclusive.
We had two Vespas for the whole day and took the Gouda-Kinderdijk tour which was recommended - and it was just perfect! Beautiful landscape, yummy Gouda in Gouda and a lot of windmills :)
If you've never driven a motorbike or Vespa before don't be afraid; in the Netherlands you can drive on the bycicle lanes and just need a drivers licence for cars. And driving a Vespa is really easy, you will see (especially these automatic ones).
ENJOY!!!
Written September 29, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
We just read your review, thanks so much for the compliment and thank you for visiting us! Glad to hear you liked our number one tour. Did you bring some Gouda cheese home? If you’re coming to Holland again this summer, make sure to visit us. You can try one of our other tours or enjoy the Cheese-Windmill tour for the second time on one of our new Vespas. You’re an experienced driver now, so it should be even easier than the first time you drove a Vespa. Hope to see you again. Kind regards, Holland Vespa Tours
Written May 14, 2016
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

IvoD88
Deerlijk, Belgium15 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2015 • Couples
My girlfriend and me were looking for some fun stuff to do in Rotterdam. When we looked at TripAdvisor we saw this. We really wanted to do this for a while now and we booked right away. It was really a great experience and the two owners of this facility were extremely friendly and helpfull. I would recommend it to all of my friends. If you want to see Rotterdam and the rural areas around it, you have to go on this Tour. It's awesome!
Written July 6, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
We are glad to hear that you both had a fun time touring by Vespa in and around Rotterdam! Thank you for sharing your review. Perhaps till next time or hopefully we can welcome one of your friends who are planning to visit Rotterdam too! Regards, Holland Vespa Tours.
Written July 19, 2015
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Marie S
Andover, UK39 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2015 • Couples
We took the gouda and windmill tour using 1 modern vespa with husband driving and myself as a passenger.Leave yourself plenty of time if you are doing this route as it does take up a full day.We did stop for lunch and a walk round in Gouda which is a wonderful town and a must to see.Take change for the ferry as it is needed for the crossing.This is a wonderful experience and one you should do if you have time while in Rotterdam.
Written June 27, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us. We are happy to read that you enjoyed the day touring through the surrounding country side of Rotterdam. It is a long trip, but luckily you left on time and that the weather was nice. Hope to see you again if you happen to be visiting Rotterdam. With kind regards, Holland Vespa Tours
Written June 28, 2015
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Owen M
Cork, Ireland25 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2015 • Couples
I contacted Monica to arrange rental of a Vespa and she was more than helpful from the very beginning. Very easy to use website and booking system, once my inquiry was sent Monica contacted me within a few hours.

We arranged to take 1 modern Vespa out for an entire day. We ran a little (alot) late on the day but this did not bother Monica.

Once we arrived she set us up with the most beautiful Vespa (I didn't want to give it back at the end of the day)

All formalities were dealt with such as driving license, ID, deposit - Very professional and easy to deal with. There were no hidden costs on the day and Monica was very up front about everything.

Sat Nav was set up and off we went. We done a combination tour of Gouda and the windmills. It was a brilliant day. I drive and my girlfriend sat on the back, it was perfectly comfortable for both of us all day long. The Modern bikes have enough storage under the seat for a back pack.

We arrived in Gouda around 3pm, it was Easter Sunday so most shops were closed but plenty of restaurants open. Lunch was had and off we went again.

Beautiful country side and the fun of driving the vespa made for a great day. Half way through this tour you must get a ferry (2 minute crossing & €1.80) There is a lovely bar just where you wait for the ferry, stop here and grab a snack and a cold drink if its a hot day)

Sat Nav brings you back to where you started at the end of the day and the little drive back through the city tops off a great day.

Tips: Bring gloves & sun glasses.
We couldn't find an ATM in Rotterdam so make sure you bring enough cash to pay the deposit, the bike and also have enough left over for during your trip!
Written April 7, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for your wonderful review! I'm glad that you enjoyed the Vespa trip and that you made the most out of the sunny day. It was cold towards the end, but luckily that didn't affect the whole experience. Enjoy the rest of your time in Holland! With kind regards, Monico
Written April 12, 2015
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 32

Holland Vespa Tours - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (2024)

All Rotterdam HotelsRotterdam Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Rotterdam
All things to do in Rotterdam
Casinos & Gambling in Rotterdam
RestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars