Xtracold Icebar Amsterdam

Xtracold Icebar Amsterdam: Hours, Address, Xtracold Icebar Amsterdam Reviews: 3.5/5

Xtracold Icebar Amsterdam
3.5
2:45 PM - 10:00 PM
Monday
2:45 PM - 10:00 PM
Tuesday
2:45 PM - 10:00 PM
Wednesday
2:45 PM - 10:00 PM
Thursday
2:45 PM - 10:00 PM
Friday
1:45 PM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
1:45 PM - 11:00 PM
Sunday
2:45 PM - 10:00 PM
Write a review
Top ways to experience Xtracold Icebar Amsterdam
The area
Address
Neighborhood: Centrum
Amsterdam’s buzzing hub, with its sprawling network of tram rails and a seemingly constant flow of tourists and commuters, yields convenient access to some of the best sightseeing, shopping, and street life in Europe. Closest at hand are the Royal Palace, the quaint shops of Haalremmerdijk, the pedestrianized zones Kalverstraat and Dam Square with popular neighborhoods such as the Red Light District, and the Canal Ring hardly more than a moment’s stroll away. With the well-connected Centraal Station as Centrum’s base, it's easy to travel farther afield via one of the city’s iconic trams.
How to get there
  • Waterlooplein • 2 min walk
  • Nieuwmarkt • 8 min walk
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

3.5
5,049 reviews
Excellent
1,703
Very good
1,214
Average
879
Poor
495
Terrible
758

Foxy-Froggy
Tadworth, UK1,912 contributions
Jan 2020
A potentially worthwhile experience if you haven’t done it before, but very gimmicky.

The promised 3 drinks are not really 3 drinks if you’re drinking beer, as the ice glass doesn’t hold as much beer as the one you are offered in the bar outside, possibly only half as much.

The gloves offered are essential, as it was approaching -10’C within the ice bar, and so are the jackets, although these are flimsy and well worn, so dress warmly before attending this venue.

Although we’d booked a 12:00 reservation, and arrived duly at the appointed time, the first half hour is spent in the outer bar, where you are served your first drink. Lighting within this area is very subdued, which was possibly just as well, as the fabric of the room seemed somewhat tired.

The next 30 minutes is spent in the ice bar, although several of us left well before this. Photos are taken, which can be purchased on the way out for some €7.

Different, certainly ... pleasurable ? I wouldn’t say so ...
Written January 1, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear Foxy-Froggy, We truly appreciate the fact that you took the time to send us your feedback. We are sorry to hear that the Icebar did not fully your expectations. We hope, nonetheless, you had a great time exploring the city. Kind regards, Xtracold Icebar Amsterdam
Written January 2, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Hbrook8
15 contributions
Jan 2020 • Couples
We visited the ice bar on the 27th January 2020. We had purchased I am Amsterdam cards which give you 25% off on tickets to the ice bar. We followed the instructions and rang to reserve our slot. Upon arriving at the ice bar, the man on the desk scanned our cards. The first was fine, but for the second one the machine read 'processing' and then appeared to have frozen. He said this had never happened before but we knew the card was fine as we purchased them both at the same time and had another 24 hours left on them.
After restarting the machine, the staff member said he could not rescan the card as they can only be used once at each attraction. This meant that only one of us received our 25% discount. This was annoying as it was through no fault of our own. Whilst the man gave us a voucher to save a couple of euros, we still ended paying an extra €3.50 then we should have. I know it's not much, but after an expensive trip we were trying to keep the cost down and it defeated the purpose of paying for the cards in the first place.

After going in, it was a great experience and the staff were helpful. We were expecting to be in the ice bar for a lot longer than we were... I think we both underestimated how FREEZING it would be! Well worth a trip and the free drinks were good, it was just a shame about the issues with our entrance fees. It would have been 4 stars without this.
Written January 28, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear Hbrook8, Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience. We are delighted to hear that you had a well worth trip and you liked the drinks. On the other hand, we are sorry to hear that you had some issues with the I Amsterdam card and we recommend you to contact them for further assistance. Nonetheless, we hope to welcome you again next time you visit the city. Kind regards, Xtracold Icebar Amsterdam
Written January 29, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Bmwwestek
37 contributions
Jan 2020 • Couples
Certainly worth doing as an experience, they make it fun and interactive as they have characters and videos to make you feel more immersed into it. 3 drinks are included with your entry, and souvenir photo available at the end (for an extra charge). Drinks are served in actual ice glasses. Temperature is about -9.5 degrees inside the actual bar but a jacket and pair of gloves are provided (but optional should you feel brave enough). Definitely book in advance as it's very busy
Written January 24, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear Bmwwestek, We truly appreciate the fact that you took the time to send us your feedback. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the drinks and had fun in the Icebar. See you next time! Kind regards, Xtracold Icebar Amsterdam
Written January 25, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Dan H
Preston, UK31 contributions
Mar 2020 • Couples
My first time at any ice bar. No idea what to expect.

We arrived just before out booking time and were given 3 tokens. One for the "warm" bar and two for the Ice Bar. I would recommend arriving early to give yourself time to get a drink in the warm bar first. We arrived at our booking time so had to drink ours pretty fast.

A very energised man came round in theatrical costume to gather everyone for the next booking time and we all waited whilst a video played on the big screens.

We then entered the Ice Bar. It is small inside, but easily large enough for the group size. This might sound silly, but it is very cold... The kind of cold you aren't prepared for... Which adds to the experience. You get a choice of either shots, or beer in an ice glass. You are allowed to stay as long as you want, but I found myself getting that beer down me as fast as I could.

Overall a great experience and great for photos.

I wont remove a star for this, however if the Ice Bar want to improve one thing, it would be to renew the jacket collection. Mine was badly ripped, the velcro was useless and it absolutely stunk of caramel vodka and was rather sticky (I hope with caramel vodka). However I would recommend you bring a warm coat and gloves to avoid this problem entirely.
Written March 13, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear Danny, Thank you so much for these great words and thank you for your 5-star review. We are very curious to see your photos and we hope that you make a lot of great memories while in Amsterdam. We also really appreciate you taking the time to share the good and the bad, these reviews are truly helping us to make changes and improve our services. Have a great further stay in Amsterdam, and please visit us again soon! Kind regards, XtraCold Icebar Amsterdam
Written March 13, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Lizzie M
Northampton, UK38 contributions
Feb 2020 • Friends
Upon entry we received 3 drink tokens, one for in the main bar, whilst waiting for our booked time, and two for inside the Icebar!
When it was our turn we were greeted very enthusiastically, told a little story about some pirates or something and given a coat and gloves to wear inside (both were clean)!
When first entering the Icebar the temperature doesn't feel too bad, obviously it's cold, but not too extreme. We got our drinks in cups made of ice and then had plenty of time to take pictures and enjoy our drinks!
Once finished with our two drinks (we were not rushed at all) we left the Icebar, as by that point you really feel the cold! My hands especially were freezing as the cup had been melting and made the gloves wet and cold! And also my feet were really cold but I did only have converse on! I'd suggest wearing more suitable shoes and thick socks and also taking an extra pair of gloves to put on after you leave.
We were then invited to relax for a little longer in the main bar before we made our way back to the hotel!
It was an amazing experience, has brilliant, enthusiastic staff and is a definite must-do in Amsterdam!
Written October 29, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear lizziem3299, Thank you for your kind words and for your elaborate review. We are very happy that you visited us and that you had a great time. During these challenging times, it is time for some fun! :) We truly appreciate your kind words and for taking the time to share them with us, this means a lot to us. We are delighted you came to visit us and we hope we can welcome you back soon! Kind regards, XtraCold Icebar Amsterdam
Written November 9, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Layla
2 contributions
Mar 2020
Terrible service from both the staff at the ice bar and customer services. I booked and pre paid for 3 ice bar tickets but never received them to my email as unaware to me there was a spelling mistake in my email address, i showed my proof of purchase at the door and was refused and turned away even though it was a friends birthday treat. Once i got hold of customer services they would not refund me for the tickets i brought and i had left Amsterdam by the time they replied about revisiting and the best they could offer me was three new tickets for the bar for IF i am ever back in Amsterdam? Very unfriendly welcoming from the staff from the beginning who mentioned they are not connected to the online website only purchases made on the door so i would recommend not pre booking incase anything goes wrong.
Written March 11, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear laylulouise, Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us. We are sorry you were not able to obtain your tickets in time and we do hope that you will use these tickets when you are getting back to Amsterdam. We always do as much as possible to assist our guests in their Amsterdam Experience and their visit to the XtraCold Icebar to make sure that you have a great night. We do hope that we can welcome you, or friends/relatives in the ice bar as soon as possible or in the near future. If you have any other questions please feel free to always contact us! Kind regards, XtraCold Icebar Amsterdam
Written March 13, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

SurreySunseeker73
Surrey, UK1,062 contributions
Mar 2020 • Friends
Came here for my sons 21st birthday visit as he'd never been to an Ice bar before.
As we were waiting to go into the ice bar we got given our "coats" which was the first down point. They were thin, had holes and were quite poor really. You then had to help yourself to a pair of gloves from a box. A far cry from the fur Hooded thick jackets and fur lined mittens in the London Ice bar. While we were discussing this amongst ourselves 1 of the guys that works there dressed as a pirate, started shouting at me mimicking what I was saying about the London Ice Bar. He then went on to shout "you only get 1 drink there though don't you". He was extremely rude and walked off muttering repeating what I had been saying!!
Once we got into the actual ice bar, I was very disappointed. It was very small and there was hardly anything to look at, unlike the others I'd been to. I actually felt bad for my son as I'd said how good the ice bar was when I'd been as I presumed this 1 would be the same.
While waiting at the ice bar for our drinks the guy serving drinks just walked away to the end of the bar and started taking to 2 girls that had turned up. He gave them a cuddle and then just stood there talking to them for a while ignoring the people who were standing at the bar waiting to be served! I just couldn't believe it!
The only thing that saved this review from a lower rating was the staff at the other bar outside. Very good service and the barman asked my son if it was his 21st today, which it was. He then gave us some free shots for his birthday which was a really nice touch.
Overall very disappointing visit and we won't be returning.
Written March 9, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear SurreySunseeker73. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are sorry to hear that your visit to the Amsterdam Icebar could not meet expectations. We always do our best to ensure that our guests have an unforgettable time and unfortunately this has not been possible in your case. We really hope you and your son had an amazing time in Amsterdam Kind regards, Xtracold Icebar Amsterdam
Written March 10, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Joe
Manchester, UK71 contributions
Mar 2020 • Couples
Spent £17 per person on tickets here, upon arrival you get drunk tokens for the ice bar and the none ice bar, after queuing for a long time, we were crammed into a small “ice bar” that was very over crowded. Asked the bar tender for a Heineken and a vodka and juice, to be just shoved two small shot sized glasses of what tasted like peach snaps. Tried raising my concern about this, but I was ignored and more people in the queue were being served....

I’m glad to say I’ve been to the ice bar as it’s “one of those things you do” when you go Amsterdam but I certainly won’t return
Written May 2, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear JTAP1994, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us in this review. Our team Always do as much as possible their best to give our guests a nice experience and a great night in Amsterdam and we are sorry to hear that Amsterdam Icebar was not able to live up to expectations. We hope that you will look back on your visit to Amsterdam with a good feeling. With kind regards, Xtracold Icebar Amsterdam
Written May 15, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Abby
Manchester, UK48 contributions
Mar 2020 • Couples
We went here in March, the bar itself is fun and we did enjoy it. You receive 2 tokens for the ice bar, and 1 token for the bar inside. However the queue for the ice bar was ridiculous and we ended up stood in it for around 15/20 mins. When we got to the front a man dressed as a pirate handed us two vodkas, no mixers or anything. When we got back into the bar we had a few cocktails which were lovely. Just seemed overrated for me and like they had stuck 50 people in the tiniest space so it was too crowded to really enjoy, try and go at one of the quieter times and you might have a better experience. Probably wouldn’t go again
Written September 8, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear 897abbyh, Thank you for taking the time to share this review with us! We are sorry to hear that your visit to the Amsterdam Icebar did not fully meet your expectations due to different reasons. We hope you have enjoyed the drinks and your time in Amsterdam. With kind regards, Xtracold Icebar Amsterdam
Written September 10, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Dnky1
West Midlands, UK224 contributions
Mar 2020
When we were arrived we were each given 3 tokens and clear instructions as to how it runs.

Entrance into the ice bar was good and it was well organised with the staff being clear you have one 'glass' to last for 2 drinks.Disappointing couldn't order 2 drinks at same time per person.

Loved the Nuts & Nougat shot - tasted just like Nutella!

At the end of the ice bar went back into the 'holding area' and had a cocktail.

Would recommend to experience it but don't go with high expectations! We enjoyed the time in there though.

Recommend you wear a coat under the coat they provide plus if possible take your own gloves. Gloves are provided but maybe wet from previous users!
Written March 26, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear Dnky1, Thank you for writing us your experience and nice to see that you give us 4 out of 5 stars. The shot that taste like Nutella is for a lot people favorite. Will you come back one day to taste the rest? With kind regards, Xtra Cold Icebar Amsterdam
Written May 15, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 3,556
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Xtracold Icebar Amsterdam

Xtracold Icebar Amsterdam is open:
  • Sun - Thu 2:45 PM - 10:00 PM
  • Fri - Sat 1:45 PM - 11:00 PM
Buy tickets in advance on Tripadvisor. If you book with Tripadvisor, you can cancel at least 24 hours before the start date of your tour for a full refund.

We recommend booking Xtracold Icebar Amsterdam tours ahead of time to secure your spot. If you book with Tripadvisor, you can cancel up to 24 hours before your tour starts for a full refund. See all 18 Xtracold Icebar Amsterdam tours on Tripadvisor



Restaurants near Xtracold Icebar Amsterdam: View all restaurants near Xtracold Icebar Amsterdam on Tripadvisor

Attractions near Xtracold Icebar Amsterdam: View all attractions near Xtracold Icebar Amsterdam on Tripadvisor