Van Gogh Museum
Van Gogh Museum
4.5
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Monday
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Sunday
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
About
Discover the world's largest collection of works by Dutch painter Vincent van Gogh, featuring masterpieces such as Sunflowers, The Potato Eaters, Almond Blossom and The Bedroom. Book your tickets online. Please consult the museum website for current opening hours.
Duration: 1-2 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Admission tickets
from $34.22
All you need to step foot in the door.
What is Travelers’ Choice Best of the Best?
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to those businesses that are the Best of the Best on Tripadvisor, those that earn excellent reviews from travelers and are ranked in the top 1% of properties worldwide.
Top ways to experience Van Gogh Museum
The area
Address
Neighborhood: Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Top sites to see in this attractive and affluent part of town include the Rijksmuseum and the Van Gogh Museum, to name but two of the highly acclaimed museums of the aptly named Museum Quarter. And if you need a break from all the fantastic art, there’s the Neoclassical Concertgebouw music hall and Vondelpark, the city’s largest park. Shopaholics and luxury brand connoisseurs will love exploring the high-end shopping destinations of PC Hooftstraat, Van Baerlestraat, Cornelis Schuytstraat, and Jacob Obrechtstraat, where even the shop window displays are of museum quality. In the evenings, when the museums close and the daytrippers head home, the area becomes a quiet oasis of calm with a sophisticated and urbane tone.
Reach out directly
See what travelers are saying
  • journeymaid48
    Fairport, New York1,091 contributions
    Great Museum
    This was our first visit to the Van Gogh Museum. It was designed to be an intimate space, but the paintings are so rare and unique that it is the finest Van Gogh collection in the world. This museum is a must see for anyone who lives Van Gogh's artwork.
    Visited February 2023
    Written February 28, 2023
  • carolyn
    Louisville, Kentucky4 contributions
    Beautiful, busy Van Gogh Museum
    Make sure to reserve your ticket for this beautiful museum. It is very popular so expect crowds, but they have room to spread out. There are many/MANY well-known Van Gogh original paintings and some from other artists that influenced him including Paul Gauguin, Camille Pissarro, and Henri de Toulouse-Lautrec. They had some small kid activities but the kids I saw there seemed un-thrilled with being there.
    Visited January 2023
    Written March 6, 2023
  • joemY3087XB
    100 contributions
    Van Gogh at it finest
    If you are Van Gogh fan, this is a must! The museum takes you a chronological trip through his life and his paintings. It was truly amazing to see his art up close and the way he used his style to create thes masterpieces. We did see people turned away that did not have a reservation.
    Visited June 2022
    Written March 7, 2023
  • Azra A
    3 contributions
    Mesmerising
    Truly loved walking through the life-story of van-Gogh. It was so well presented. The art works are well preserved and truly mesmerizing. There are atleast 3 souvenir shops in the building and many places to pose against wall-paper paintings and take pictures. The museum is interactive.
    Thank you for your review. We’re glad to hear you enjoyed your visit! Kind regards, Jasmijn.
    Written March 25, 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited March 2023
    Written March 14, 2023
  • Austin
    Burnley, United Kingdom3 contributions
    Interesting and Educational
    This museum is definitely worth seeing if you can whilst you're in Amsterdam. The exhibits go through Gogh's life and family, all also display all of his most famous paintings. It's obviously educational, but I don't think young children would enjoy it too much, especially with the shear amount of paintings to look at. Lockers of various sizes are provided free of charge to store belongings. I definitely recommend using them, even if you don't have bags with you. The museum is very warm and very busy, so storing coats and jackets away is a must. Audio guided tours are available for a small fee, although we didn't use them when we're there. The exhibits themselves are huge and we spent a good hour. If you were to read everything and also do the guided tour, it could easily take a few hours to go through it all. Multiple gift shops are available inside in different parts of the building, but they all mostly sell the same items. The gift shops are quite pricey as you're mostly just paying for the fact that it's "official merchandise". A café/restaurant is on the 3rd floor of the building that offers a buffet-style lunch menu. Tickets must be purchased in advance and are currently €20/each for adults. It's not well advertised on the building that you need to book your tickets in advance so you definitely need to purchase your tickets before your trip to ensure you get a slot.
    Thank you for your elaborate and positive feedback, we hope to welcome you again in the future! Kind regards, Jasmijn.
    Written March 25, 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited March 2023
    Traveled with friends
    Written March 15, 2023
  • monkeybot
    239 contributions
    So nice to see Sunflowers
    Just an unbelievable place and awesome to be so close to Sunflowers, as well as all of his other art. Really nicely laid out and so interesting to see his progression as a painter and understand his journey including his latter years and mental health issues and untimely death. Remarkable place. Would highly recommend. Went on a Mon afternoon - it was busy enough but just right so that you got to enjoy the work. Book a ticket in advance!
    Thank you for your review. We're happy to hear you enjoyed learning about Vincent's life and work at our museum! Kind regards, Jasmijn.
    Written March 25, 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited March 2023
    Written March 16, 2023
  • kirs1l
    Tampere, Finland47 contributions
    Must visit museum
    Interesting museum with beautiful paintings and great storyline of Van Gohg’s personal life and work as an artist. There was a lot of people at the same time so there was no peace for watching the art. I recommend you go to this museum as early as possible, maybe then there is some peace. I also recommend you to buy the tickets advance online because the museum can be fully booked if you try to buy a ticket on the same day/ at the museum.
    Thank you for your review. We're happy to hear you enjoyed learning about Vincent's life and work at our museum! Kind regards, Jasmijn.
    Written March 25, 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited March 2023
    Traveled with family
    Written March 17, 2023
  • Anne and Chris W
    8 contributions
    Excellent!
    Superb display of Van Gogh's work that was hung alongside the work of his peers who influenced his work over his life. Big exhibition, I would go earlier in the day next time as the legs were a bit tired in late afternoon. It's an age thing!
    Thank you for your review. We're happy to hear you enjoyed learning about Vincent's life and work at our museum! Kind regards, Jasmijn.
    Written March 25, 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited March 2023
    Written March 19, 2023
  • Rosan Enrico
    Sudbury, Massachusetts47 contributions
    20 years since my last visit and the experience has been improved.
    Almost exactly 20 years ago was my previous visit to the Van Gogh museum. Then the visit was somewhat spoiled by the crowds. It was tantamount to impossible to contemplate a single painting in solitude. Now the museum has a system of pre-booked, timed entry tickets. I was able to exhaust my eyes and legs over a couple of self indulgent hours studying and enjoying the history, work and influence of this great artist. One downside is the horrible habit people have of standing in front of art and photographing it on their cell' 'phones. At times all you can see of the work is a sea of digital images through cell' 'phones held aloft. Do people not use their own eyes any more?
    Thank you for your positive feedback, we hope to welcome you again in the future! Kind regards, Jasmijn.
    Written March 25, 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited March 2023
    Written March 22, 2023
  • Chief1797
    Poway, California166 contributions
    Excellent museum/Don't miss this one
    We VERY much enjoyed our trip through this great museum. We spent over three and a half hours and could easily have gone another hour. The museum is well laid out and has plenty of things to see and experience regarding the artist's life. There is an easily usable coatroom, a nice cafeteria and several bookstore/giftshops. The day and time we went was VERY crowded, but there was no waiting in line. This is a must see while in town.
    Thank you for your review. We’re glad to hear you enjoyed your visit! Kind regards, Jasmijn.
    Written March 25, 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited March 2023
    Written March 22, 2023
These reviews are the subjective opinion of Tripadvisor members and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

4.5
65,091 reviews
Excellent
42,217
Very good
16,567
Average
4,744
Poor
971
Terrible
595

Ed P
Eastchester, NY70 contributions
Jan 2024 • Couples
Just great! Don't miss it. Van Gogh's life story along with a large number of his works. So interesting! Make sure to buy tickets well in advance.
Written February 24, 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Jjak
Krakow, Poland42 contributions
As the museum of Van Gogh it had too many other paintings, explained as inspiration for main artist, but for me - way of filling empty space. No special trip for kids, although I read they had some I the past. That is why my youngest (6&4) we bored and my teens (12&15) disappointed that there is no interactive element there. Very traditional way of visiting .
Additionally- my mistake- I booked the ticket for 15.30, leaving myself only 1.5 hour. They were very strict about the closing hour, starting to inform about close 30 mins in advance.
No toilets I the upper floors complicated the visit with kids.
One- time experience. Will not come back.
Written February 22, 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

bookdeaver
Washington, UK30 contributions
Feb 2024 • Friends
Got to the museum easily by tram. Book tickets in advance to ensure entry. You queue up outside the museum at your designated entry time. Didn’t have to queue long but take a waterproof or umbrella if weather is not good. Bag security check inside. Audio guide available. We didn’t use the audio guide and found walking around the museum and reading information available sufficient to learn a lot more about the artist works and his life. We were a lot more informed by the time we left. We really enjoyed our time at this museum. Our time slot was about 16.15. Unfortunately though, we didn’t have time to have a good look round the gift shop. Toilets available, lifts to all floors, timed entry ensured the museum wasn’t crowded. Free lockers also available. Don’t know if there was a cafe in the museum but there is one close by.
Written February 21, 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

dizzyb3
uk1,142 contributions
Feb 2024 • Family
A great place to find out about one of my favourite artists and view his paintings. The museum was busy on the Sunday afternoon we'd pre-booked tickets for but still allowed us plenty of space and time to enjoy the exhibits. It's a shame there was no starry night on display and no mention of it either.
Written February 19, 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Sam
Manchester, UK56 contributions
Feb 2024 • Couples
Incredibly boring way to spend 2 hours. No interactivity in the museum and very spaced out, wouldn't recommend to be honest.
Written February 19, 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

David D
Surrey, UK109 contributions
Feb 2024 • Couples
Not a big museum and don’t expect all the famous pieces to be there. It’s busy, and booked up well in advance. Have to say I think it’s overpriced - Rijksmusuem is much better value.
Written February 16, 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Adrian G
London, UK14 contributions
Feb 2024 • Couples
Sensibly, the number of visitors to the museum is capped, so you really need to book online, in advance. It does get busy, but you can see & read the exhibits, and it's not what we would call overcrowded. The audio tour is good value & very informative, giving you a good insight into Vincent's life, influences & works. We left with a vastly improved knowledge & understanding.
Written February 13, 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for your review. We’re glad to hear you enjoyed your visit! Kind regards, Jane Van Gogh Museum Customer Care
Written February 14, 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

matildadavis07
Canterbury, UK12 contributions
Feb 2024 • Couples
We visited the Van Gogh museum as me and my friend both enjoy looking at art and are interested in much of Van Goghs work. However we found this museum incredibly boring, there wasn’t masses of his work and lots was just similar artwork or things that inspired him. Which is nice to see but not in a large museum at the price you pay to get in. If you’re looking at doing this experience, i definitely recommend booking as it was sold out by the time we entered. The gift shop was cool
Written February 13, 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry to hear that your visit was not up to your expectation. We aim to improve our services every day. Kind regards, Jane Van Gogh Musuem Customer Care
Written February 14, 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Tiffen
Melbourne, Australia770 contributions
Feb 2024 • Couples
This would be a great place to visit except for all the self deprecating people who think a photo next to a work of art makes you appreciate it! This artist is brilliant but to view the place when all you get are fingers pocking in the air, or people poising on the ground wants to make me vomit. Here is a thought. How about for the true art lovers of Van Gogh…how about an after hours viewing that costs ,,,,,,,4 times the price. I would pay. Anything but being surrounded by people who want to say they visted but had no appreciation whatsoever.
Written February 9, 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry to hear that your visit was not up to your expectation. We aim to improve our services every day. Kind Regards, Robin
Written February 10, 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Pieta
Newcastle upon Tyne, UK79 contributions
Feb 2024 • Family
A wonderful experience to see this wonderful artists work. Beautifully curated in a thoughtful way and it was lovely to find out a bit more of the background to these works of art. Do book in advance as even on a cold Monday February morning, there were signs saying it was sold out for the day.

The organisation for lockers for bags and coats is great and easy to use, no coins required and made for a very comfortable visit.

The museum does say no photos to be taken, but does not seem to enforce this policy. This results in longer queues in front of the paintings as visitors vie for position to pose or take the perfect shot. It also means that one can almost seem rude to go and look up close at the painting, the colours and brushstrokes as you feel in the way and blocking the shot. Each to their own I suppose.

The only real shadow on the visit was that the museum had a system failure which meant the gift shop was closed, just as we were in the queue to pay for our souvenirs. We asked if we could pay cash, but were refused. Why oh why have many places converted to card payments only with no back up plans for blips? Seems really silly that they couldn’t handle this situation and basically just shut down. It was dealt with in a very insensitive manner, we were all left disappointed and it would seem it wasn’t the first time this has happened, as one staff member referred to the situation as ‘again’ and appeared quite gleeful about it.

It’s no consolation to be told to buy online - not all items are available online, including postcards and other smaller items (maybe we should have just joined in and taken those photos). It also doesn’t help when you don’t live in EU Europe, so have to add on expensive shipping and local taxes/ customs. Especially when you have the things you want in direct sight, less than a metre from you with cash in hand.

There was no customer service at all. No staff member seemed particularly bothered and although it seems silly to bemoan the closure of a gift shop, it was difficult and disappointing as a parent to try to explain why the shop would not accept ‘real’ money.

I emailed the museum later that day asking if they were back up and running in the shop. I got an email back later the next afternoon (after 24 hours) inviting me to go to the general museum shop in Museumplein, as although the systems were back up, we would not be welcome and not allowed to re enter the Van Gogh museum shop, as our tickets had been for the previous day….an extraordinarily inflexible attitude given the situation was not the fault of us, the visitor. Some flexibility to enter just the shop showing our previous days tickets would have been appreciated and surely not so difficult to manage.

We went to the Museumplein general shop as suggested immediately after we got the email, but despite the reassurances from the Van Gogh museum staff the previous day, (maybe a quick ploy to get rid of us all), not all items are available in the general shop in Museumplein and again my daughter left slightly disappointed that a particular quilled card was again out of her reach.

So, great museum, definitely visit, it’s beautiful.

But Van Gogh Museum, organise yourselves. If visitors wanting to buy souvenirs from the gift shop seems unimportant and banal to you, close the shop permanently? Or simply have a back up plan and accept cash in such circumstances or simply just allow visitors the chance to re enter the shop on another day showing their previous days tickets. Would it really have been so hard?
Written February 7, 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that you had a negative experience with the shop in our museum. We always try to improve our services for our visitors. Your feedback is always helpful! If you have any remarks, please e-mail us at info@vangoghmuseum.nl Kind Regards, Robin
Written February 10, 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 32,824
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

Van Gogh Museum - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (with Photos)

Frequently Asked Questions about Van Gogh Museum

Van Gogh Museum admission prices can vary. Entrance tickets currently cost $34.16, while a popular guided tour starts around $6.13 per person.





Van Gogh Museum Information

Excellent Reviews

41,368

Very Good Reviews

16,307

Van Gogh Museum Photos

14,163