Oude Kerk
Historic SitesReligious SitesChurches & Cathedrals
1:00 PM - 5:30 PM
Monday
10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Tuesday
10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Wednesday
10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Thursday
10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Friday
10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Sunday
1:00 PM - 5:30 PM
About
A church visit unlike any other! In the oldest building of Amsterdam, art and music trigger new perspectives on the 700 year history of the place. (And it's famous surroundings.) International renowned artist are invited by the Oude Kerk to create context specific work, that varies in size from modest to massive. All art projects fit the cultural and historical value of the Oude Kerk, always with a strong link to the past, and issues of our current times. 'An art program that stands out for its courage', according to Amsterdam newspaper Het Parool. Please see the website for current exhibitions and concerts.
Duration: < 1 hour
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours & experiences
Explore different ways to experience this place.
Plan your visit
The area
Address
Neighborhood: Centrum
Amsterdam’s buzzing hub, with its sprawling network of tram rails and a seemingly constant flow of tourists and commuters, yields convenient access to some of the best sightseeing, shopping, and street life in Europe. Closest at hand are the Royal Palace, the quaint shops of Haalremmerdijk, the pedestrianized zones Kalverstraat and Dam Square with popular neighborhoods such as the Red Light District, and the Canal Ring hardly more than a moment’s stroll away. With the well-connected Centraal Station as Centrum’s base, it's easy to travel farther afield via one of the city’s iconic trams.
How to get there
  • Nieuwmarkt • 5 min walk
  • Centraal Station • 6 min walk
Reach out directly
See what travelers are saying
  • Jcook92
    New York City, New York161 contributions
    4.0 of 5 bubbles
    Lovely way to start the day
    We went first thing in the morning and had the whole church to ourselves. The organ and carving were exquisite. Also, their displays of life in 16th century Amsterdam really shed light on a history, including the Dutch role in slavery, the Reformation, and hard life in a port city. They are currently maintaining a link to the city as a cultural center, hosting music and art shows. Check their calendar. Be sure to check out the breastplate near the entrance, an homage to the Red Light District. No food Nice clean bathrooms Tiny gift shop
    Visited July 2023
    Traveled with family
    Written August 25, 2023
  • Annouky
    Iasi, Romania29 contributions
    3.0 of 5 bubbles
    Not a touristic place
    It is an interesting architecture the inside of the church but not worth the payment of 13.50 euro. I saw many beautiful churches in Europe that were for free. An audio guide is included in the ticket price. But even with it, 20 min are more then sufficient for the visit.
    Visited August 2023
    Traveled solo
    Written September 18, 2023
  • Nadina P
    New York City, New York526 contributions
    4.0 of 5 bubbles
    Miracle of Amsterdam
    This church was once the most holy site in the world and is partially responsible for Amsterdam becoming Amsterdam, as it's the site of the Miracle of Amsterdam. It's been expanded, so you can see very different architecture as you walk around it. It is in the Red Light District, which is perfectly safe. Especially if you go during the day, you can easily take children--just keep your eyes peeled. At night, it's more crowded, but still pretty safe. The Dutch are very reasonable people, and it's really the tourists you need to watch out for. It's near Bloedstrat, named for the miracle. It's great to walk around here.
    Visited September 2023
    Traveled as a couple
    Written November 14, 2023
  • Busker999
    Tonbridge, United Kingdom1,501 contributions
    4.0 of 5 bubbles
    Church with art exhibits
    Bit strange - it's a lovely church especially the ceiling. However is also used as an art space. Was being used for stills and mini films of a performance director which required lots of explanation. Part of I amsterdam card which made it worth it
    Visited February 2024
    Traveled as a couple
    Written February 23, 2024
  • Rob T
    Windsor, United Kingdom143 contributions
    3.0 of 5 bubbles
    Interesting building let down by the exhibition.
    The church itself is interesting, and the audio tour was helpful to get an insight into the history of the building. What did let it down was the current art installation, which, as it involved sound, was rather distracting. Some art installations add to a church and, to be fair, some of the sound did, but overall it was more distracting than helpful.
    Visited March 2024
    Traveled as a couple
    Written March 17, 2024
  • Ewa S
    Baltinglass, Ireland1,114 contributions
    4.0 of 5 bubbles
    Worth to visit because of Rembrandt
    This is the only survived building that existed at the same time when Rembrandt walked in the streets of the city. His children were christened there, his marriage registered (the document with his signature is at display), and his wife Saskia was buried there. The whole floor consists of hundreds of tombs, but bodies were removed a long time ago. You can find Saskia's tomb near the organs, number 29k. The church is now a museum only and a place for art exhibitions.
    Visited May 2024
    Traveled solo
    Written May 17, 2024
These reviews are the subjective opinion of Tripadvisor members and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

3.5
3.5 of 5 bubbles1,161 reviews
Excellent
253
Very good
359
Average
317
Poor
125
Terrible
107

Judith Tew
4 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020 • Friends
A group of four of us went to Oude Kerk paying €60 for the privilege hoping to see the lovely old church as described in my guide book. When we got there we were told there was an art installation inside so we thought that could add to our experience. In the event we walked through what looked like WW1 trenches with high sandbag walls at least it would have looked like this if the whole thing wasn’t pitch black. My friend took her iPhone torch out to look at some of the tombstones on the floor and a stern young lady told her this was not permitted. There were some weird noises supposedly part of the ‘art’ but even these gave up after a few minutes. So we saw nothing whatsoever of the church interior! So don’t bother!!!
Written February 23, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Easy
Wilmslow, UK15 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020
You won't believe this but you can't see a thing inside. It's a blackout. On arriving you may be surprised to be asked to cough up 15euros per person. Do not, you can't see a thing.
The interior is a total blackout. I don’t exaggerate. You cannot see the interior of the church (this seems to be because there is some kind of installation inside which can apparently only be appreciated in darkness). This is a total rip-off, the more surprising because everything else in Amsterdam is so amazing.
Be warned, stay away.
Written January 5, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Jessica
New York City, NY17 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2019 • Couples
Like all other tourists have said, this place is recently an “art installation” but the so called art means it’s been turned into a completely dark space with noises all around that feel like it’s eerie. I saw some of the other lit pics of the interiors from back when the current art installment had not been in, and really feel like we missed out. This particular dark exhibit should only be on display once a day, and tourists clearly warned of what to expect for the 15 euros per person! Dint see history, didn’t see the stained glass, didn’t see pews, didn’t see that organ that looked so beautiful in online photos. Completely disappointed.
Written January 26, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

w0man_in_white
Wales, UK7 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 • Couples
I’ve been to Amsterdam several times, but never visited Oude Kerk, so it was high on my to-do list this time. At the door we were told it was €15 each to enter as there was a contemporary art exhibition inside. It sounded a lot, but we thought art AND church - bonus! However, the interior of the building was completely pitch black, illuminated in part by a couple of chandeliers. It was impossible to see where you were walking, let alone any of the church interior. As other reviews have said, there were sandbags piled up to a height of about 20ft, absolutely nothing of the church was visible. All I could think of was Emperor’s New Clothes - we felt completely stung.
Written January 26, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Baffles13
United Kingdom2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2020 • Couples
As other reviewers have said there is currently a contemporary art installation here, that is pitch black.
We had been recommended to visit the church for the interior. When paying we were told it is now an art space but nothing about the current exhibit.
Walking into the darkness means you can’t see anything and need to take care on the uneven floor. Should have been made aware when paying.
The beautiful windows are blocked with dirty mattresses and the structure of the church covered in sand bags and blocked off.
Not worth €15 pp, wait till this is over and research what the exhibit is before going.
Written March 8, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi Baffles13, Sorry to hear you did not enjoy your visit to the art installation by Adrian Villar Rojas. And we are quite surprised that you did not know there was an art installation inside, since the entrance is dressed with the name of the installation, has reviews and an introduction to the installation on the fence, a poster made by the artist, art books next to the counter and staff to tell you a bit about what to expect. Could you tell us when your visit to the Oude Kerk has taken place? We are aware that not all foreign visitors yet know the Oude Kerk is a center for contemporary site specific art, but we have been so for over seven years now. Please let us know when your visit was. And sorry to hear you missed what the sound installation is about. Kind regards, team Oude Kerk
Written March 9, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

freutmich
Kansas City760 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020
The Old Church has always been one of my favorite places in Amsterdam. The magnificent interior of this structure is awe-inspiring. I lead college students on trips to the city, and I'm always fascinated at the ways in which THEY are moved by this place. They actually put down their devices and soak it in! That says something. So imagine my sadness when I visited on my most recent trip and, instead of finding the monument to Amsterdam and its history that I've come to know and love, there was an art installation that plunged the interior into darkness. There's nothing inside this church that is recognizable as the Oude Kerk. As I was explaining to some of my students what the inside USED to look like, we were "sssshed" by workers in the church who feared our conversation would ruin the effect of recorded screams in the building. My students and I were inside for less than 5 minutes - tops - and then we got out of there. I hope someday the Oude Kerk returns to its original state. But for now, as an art installation, this is a big fail and a big waste of time. Not to mention a monumental disappointment.
Written February 17, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Helen76A
Harrogate, United Kingdom22 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020
We were really looking forward to this. Read reviews that the church interior was stunning. The guy on the door was really enthusiastic selling us the idea of an art installation as well as the church. Thought 15 euros was steep but thought it would surely be OK?. Could not have been more wrong. It was dark, couldn't see any of the church. Sandbag wall blocked off most of it so we could only walk round a really small area. So - you can't get to most of it and the rest you can't see. Even the corresponding newpaper to go with it (that you were not allowed to look at until coming back out) had nice graphics on the outside and mainly blank pages on the inside. DON'T GO - COMPLETE RIP OFF!
Written January 27, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

NickofSurrey
Surrey, UK990 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2022 • Couples
Empty church used as an exhibition space,which currently offered reduced admission as it is between exhibitions. Walked in and wondered what I had paid However,the audio guide was excellent and really bought the history of the building to life. It is estimated that 60000 people have been buried over time beneath the church,almost the whole floor of which is covered in grave slabs.this includes the first wife of the artist Rembrandt who was called Saskia. Well worth a visit
Written April 28, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

TravelFam
10 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2021 • Family
A disappointing experience.
There is not much left inside the church. Of course that is the way it is. But then dont charge people 12 euro's each to find out. The website does not give much info either.
Inside you listen to a mediocre audiotour. There are no written explanations.
The audio tour is mediocre because many questions we had were not covered.
Small example: it starts with saying that this is the oldest building of amsterdam. But then omits to mention the actual age.
Hearing about statues and ceilings that used to be there gets annoying. None of us used the audio much. You probably have to listen through everything to get the facts, but it is too arduous.

The church states they don't give written explanations so that you can have your own experience. To me this seemed as a cop-out.

There is some art on display which feels out of place. When I come to visit the oldest building of amsterdam, I dont need to hear an art installation about how tourist are trampling the old church: Wrong crowd.
Written July 31, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Bill A
Spring Lake, NJ584 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2022
From the exterior, the Oude Kerk - the oldest building in Amsterdam - is an imposing and impressive structure. And, with its 12 euro price of admission, I was expecting an equally impressive experience on the inside of the building. Unfortunately, the inside is basically empty and I left disappointed. Given the overall value of the experience, I believe that a 5 euro admission price would have been more appropriate.
Written April 22, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-10 of 609
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

Oude Kerk, Amsterdam

All Amsterdam HotelsAmsterdam Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Amsterdam
All things to do in Amsterdam
Day Trips in Amsterdam
RestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars