Hop On Hop Off
Message from Tripadvisor
Temporarily closed until further notice

Hop On Hop Off

Hop On Hop Off
4
City ToursHop-On Hop-Off ToursBoat ToursSightseeing ToursBus Tours
Temporarily closedClosed until further notice
About
The ideal transport along the canals, passing all the highlights of Amsterdam. You can hop on and off at the many stops whenever you wish and create your own sightseeing tour in Amsterdam.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands

Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Travelers talk about
(48 reviews)
(11 reviews)
(106 reviews)

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles1,272 reviews
Excellent
444
Very good
427
Average
169
Poor
118
Terrible
114

Unleashed
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2023 • Friends
Excellent trip! Beautiful country lovely people. Stayed at Hotel Mevlana YH clean and central. Trans easy hop on off. Travelled by train to other small towns great shopping lovely restaurants and cafes. Van Gogh worth a visit amazing!
Written April 24, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Marco Rubichi
Rome, Italy489 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2018 • Friends
I did this with a both. At the beginning of the tour is nice to see the different construction on the rivers in Amsterdam but after 20 min become all the same and you want to leave... I see so many faces like my...not interested to see only building in the side of the channel.
Written November 24, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

IAmJordanJ
Wrexham, UK103 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2019 • Couples
Better views on the boat tour than the bus tour however a lot of it is the same route. Friendly team on board.
Written April 12, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear IAmJordanJ, Thank you so for your nice review. I'm glad you had fun using our Hop On Hop Off service. I wish you a happy day. Kind regards, Stromma Netherlands
Written April 15, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

elwatkins89
Christchurch, UK36 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2022 • Family
If I could give less than 1 star for this experience I would.

We did the Hop On Hop Off bus tour yesterday afternoon and I can honestly say it is the worst experience I have ever paid for in my life. We have done HOHO bus tours in a ton of cities as it’s usually a great way to see the place and learn more about the history. Unfortunately not the case in Amsterdam. As mentioned in other reviews there are no sign posts for bus stops, we were just lucky that a bus was parked outside the station when we arrived (although this bus drove off and we had to wait for the next one.. at least we knew where to wait!)

Our female bus driver appeared to be having some kind of breakdown when she pulled up at the stop. She had her head in her hands and was shouting at everyone, this continued throughout the tour. If anyone tried to get on or off at the ‘wrong’ door she was screaming at them ‘NO, NO, NO!!!’

I was hoping to learn lots about Amsterdam’s history but there was very little information and half the pre recorded commentary seemed to be a sales pitch ie ‘if you want to explore the canals, go on one of our boat tours.. if you want to learn about beer, go visit the Heineken experience’ etc.
The commentary did not appear to be timed correctly, for example we would be told ‘look at the square building on the left’ when there was no square building on the left.

We got to the diamonds factory and the bus parked up for 25 minutes. I thought the whole point of a HOHO bus tour was that people can hop off to see the attractions if they want to, and then hop on the next bus. Instead we sat on the hot, crowded bus and waited for everyone to get back on before leaving.

It felt like we could have walked the route quicker as we were just sat in traffic for most of the tour. I don’t think this is the way to see Amsterdam and wish we had booked a walking tour with a guide who really tell us about the history and answer any questions we had.

I’m absolutely gutted we wasted 48 euros of our holiday money on this terrible experience. We honestly just couldn’t wait for it to end. DO NOT waste your money.
Written October 8, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi, that's not a good experience, however since 2020, we no longer have hop on hop off buses. You have boarded with a compant other than Stromma. If you want to reach that company with your review you will have to post the review with them and not us. Hopefully you will get a response, good luck in any case. Best Regards Stromma Netherlands
Written October 10, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

janetperks7
Plymouth, UK2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2022 • Family
There needs to be clear information about where the stops are and when buses are running. We had to walk a long way and ask 6 people before we found that the bus would stop in a lay-by marked 'taxi rank'. Then we waited over an hour for a bus to arrive. It would have been quicker to walk. Also the commentary needs to state where to get off for the most popular sights and when the bus has reached each stop. We stood up to get off and the bus lurched forward, causing my granddaughter to fall against the seat and resulting in severe bruising. This is unsafe, upsetting, a waste of money and ruined our day.
Written August 5, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi Janet, We do not have buses running in Amsterdam so you did not board with us but with another organization. We only have canal tours. Hopefully your granddaughter is okay. Best regards, Stromma Netherlands
Written August 15, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Derek G
5 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2023 • Friends
Quite disappointed. Wouldn't do it again. Stops not well posted, ended up walking once we got off at our first disembark. Unless you're not able to walk, it's easier to walk to most sites. I've used these sort of buses before so quite disappointed really.
Written December 12, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Derek, we would like to clarify that our company does not operate buses at all. It seems there might be a misunderstanding or that your review may be intended for another company. If you could provide more details or reach out to the correct company, we believe they would appreciate the opportunity to address your concerns and enhance their services. We strive to deliver excellent experiences to our customers, even if they aren't directly related to our offerings. Kind regards, Team Stromma
Written December 18, 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

HappyNorwegians
Bergen, Norway371 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2017 • Solo
First I need to state that this concerns the Hop on Hop off STROMMA boats (not those red boats/buses with the same name.) You buy the tickets either at the Tourist Office near the train station or at the small kiosks near their boat launches by the line of trees near the Train station. They have 2 routes, the blue one and the orange one. I started with the orange route. No problem. I hopped off at the Rijks Museum. When I came back to get on the Orange route again - according to the time tables, the driver kicked everyone off and said he was having lunch, so they would have to wait for the BLUE route. This went back the way the Orange route started with! This happened twice! Later in the day I started on the Blue route and they kicked everyone off so they could start their evening tours! Had to go on the Orange route! Many were worried they could not get back to the Central part of the city since it was later in the day! INSANE! DO NOT PLAN TO BE ABLE TO TAKE THE ENTIRE TRIP ALL IN ONE TRIP WITHOUT REPEATING MOST PARTS 2 or 3 times. Also they were untruthful about the times the boats would be there. It is NOT 15 minutes! I walked onto the boat with my ticket showing in my hand, the driver was distracted I guess, he grabbed my back-pack as I walked by and wanted to see the ticket! I am 61 years old, he could have hurt me! DO NOT TAKE THE STROMMA BOATS. Not a Happy Norwegian on Saturday April 29th, 2017. Horrible to say the least.
Written May 3, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thanks for taking the time to leave this review. We're sorry to hear you were dissatisfied with our hop on hop off cruise and felt like you were 'kicked off the boat'. This is, of course, never our intention. However, we provide lunch breaks for our captains which means a 30 minute stop at one of our locations once a day on all lines. This is communicated in the time table as well as it should be explained to you by our staff. We apologize if this did not happen properly during your cruise. Our boats run approximately every 25 minutes at each location.
Written June 19, 2017
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Ilana1337
Baltimore69 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2017 • Solo
I'd gotten a 48-hour hop-on-hop-off pass so that I could go from one attraction to another via canals, getting some information along the way. Generally, I found the narration to be quite good, quite useful, but rather sparse, especially at certain parts of the canal loop. However, it was the schedule of the boats that I found most problematic.

Near the end of day one, I was at the Anne Frank's House stop, waiting for the second to last boat (6:20pm) so that I could get back to the Rijksmuseum stop, which was closest to the hotel. It was a rather unpleasantly windy and rainy day, so I was most annoyed when the 6:20pm boat never showed. Only the next one, the 6:40pm boat (the last one), came, which terminated at Central Station. When I asked the driver what had happened to the previous boat that hadn't showed, he flippantly said, "oh sometimes the boats don't stop at every stop". Excuse me, but what??? Of course I then had to shell out more to take a tram back to my hotel rather than being able to enjoy a cruise along the canal to my destination. I was really annoyed.
The next day I had gotten on the cruise at the Hermitage stop in the afternoon and was planning to go back to the Anne Frank house stop as I was meeting friends for an early dinner in that vicinity. The boat I got on (mind you, before 5pm, so not the last boat!) was taken out of commission at the Rijksmuseum stop, and I'd have to get off and wait twenty minutes (in the rain again) for the next boat. When I asked why the boat wasn't continuing according to its schedule, I was told that it was needed for catering in preparation for the company's dinner cruise. Really? And why wasn't this publicized?? I ended up waiting for the next boat and calling my friends to tell them I'd be late because I didn't know what tram I could take to get to where I was going; waiting was a better option.

So what do I recommend to this company? If you're not going to have ALL your boats run according to the posted schedule, then you need to disclose that fact ahead of time so that people know which boats are not going to be stopping at certain stops and at what times. For crying out loud...we're tourists! Throw us a bone!

For others: I'd recommend going with the hop-on-hop-off service that City Sightseeing has - it seems to be much more reliable a service.
Written March 5, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Ilana, thanks a lot for leaving us such an extended review. First of all, we're truly sorry for your experience and understand how it must have messed up your plans. We've absolutely taken your remarks to heart and this is not how we usually run our operation. However, in very rare cases there are unforeseen circumstances in which we need to shuffle our boats. Thankfully we're able to keep this to a minimum. Nonetheless, we should have communicated better about this!
Written May 2, 2017
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Ness-of-Sydney
Darwin, Australia187 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2012 • Friends
We had planned to hire a canal bike through this company for our 2nd and final night in Amsterdam. On the brochure it advertises that close of business in Summer is 2200hrs. We had been taking it easy and rocked up at 8:20pm with the hope of hiring a canal bike for 1 1/2 hours. It all still looked open so we walked in and asked to rent a canal bike. The girl behind the counter said that we couldn't go for 1 1/2 hours because they'd be closing at 9:00pm that night. We referred her to their brochure which states 2200hrs in Summer and she just said it charged accruing to how busy they were. Why can't this be written on the brochure to warn potential customers? Had we been aware the time was subject to change we may have come earlier.
When we asked if we could rent one for the 40 remaining minutes she had the audacity to say yes but say we would be charged the full hour! How dare they!
So in the interests of experiencing it, we agreed, and she told us to be back at the same jetty by 9:00pm.
The canal bike itself was great! Had a lovely paddle along with a great workout for the legs! I carefully monitored the time so we weren't late. We were back in front of the counter at 9:00pm on the dot and the girl scolded us saying "you're very late!" we showed her our watches and said "no we aren't. You said be back at 9pm, we are back right on 9pm." she said "it's not 9pm its 9:05 now."
She was obviously lying because all our watches and phones said 9:00pm and their computer can't be out because when we paid the fee the receipt we got said 8:20pm, the same on our watches at that time.
So it's a big fat ripoff and they have rude lying staf!
Written July 23, 2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

welkomebak
Los Angeles, CA67 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2017 • Couples
While the boat tour was fine, do not go by the stated time of 25 minutes to wait for next boat. we waited 45 minutes once and over an hour another time. When we mentioned this the boat operator they said yes it is late. Paid money based on the timing. By waiting we did miss places we wanted to stop. The boats were fine, and stops mostly convenient, but don't think the times are for real. Disappointed by that
Written August 1, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for reviewing your expereince with us, we're truly sorry to hear about the waiting times. Can you email us at online@stromma.nl so we can look into your comments? Please let us know the date and stops where you were waiting. Thanks in advance! We have taken your comments to heart and we now provide a time table to guests in our shops so they know when to expect the next boat. We appreciate your feedback!
Written August 4, 2017
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 862

Hop On Hop Off - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (2024)