We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Who Is Amsterdam Tours

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
More
About Who Is Amsterdam Tours
Who Is Amsterdam is a local travel platform that's home to Amsterdam's most personal and unique experiences with a sustainable edge. Handpicked by local experts, it's a one-stop shop for independent travellers who want to experience Amsterdam like they live here. From our award-winning original Who is Amsterdam walking tour, Amsterdam's best-selling self-guided food tour, boat, bike, beer, city games, culture to the countryside, book your favourite Amsterdam experiences under one roof. What's more? Tons of Amsterdam travel tips and a free downloadable 3-day itinerary to help you feel at home in our city.
Read more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
See all hours
Travelers talk about
227Reviews1Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 225
  • 1
  • 0
  • 1
  • 0
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Robert D wrote a review Sep 2022
Washington DC, District of Columbia24 contributions47 helpful votes
I have attended many city walking tours throughout Europe and Xina’s tour was the best of them all. She made Amsterdam history and it’s people come alive. On this tour I experienced the history and customs of the people of Amsterdam though the great story telling ability of Xina. Her warmth, wit and willingness to truly interact with the tour group made for a special experience. This tour is simply not to be missed."
Read more
Date of experience: September 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Portland_OregonSadie wrote a review Sep 2022
Salem, Oregon130 contributions79 helpful votes
Absolutely fantastic!!Xina was an amazing host & storyteller. I loved the locals that we met and the places that we visited. We had a great group of people which was an added bonus. I could not recommend this experience more highly
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
monton63 wrote a review Sep 2022
Killarney, Ireland16 contributions
Purchased three tickets for this (obv could've bought just one but the site asks you tbh) and it started well but overall a poor experience. 1. Croquettes were lovely. 2. Surinamese nice. 3. Israeli ok. (each to their own) 4. 'We're closed' They were open but not serving Haring - couldn't see recommended replacement. 5. Closed. 6. Closed. 7. 'Never heard of this tour' Gave up. I hate leaving bad reviews but I couldn't recommend this. Take a walk down Albert Cuyp and sample at your own choice, if they're open.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from AlexandraG3659, Owner at Who Is Amsterdam Tours
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi there, First of all, we're truly sorry for your experience. This is extremely disappointing for us to read because we do our best to ensure every guest walks away with a personal view of Amsterdam and an enjoyable experience. We're sincerely sorry for the inconvenience and disappointment you experienced. However, after reading your review, we felt the need to address your points because we believe we communicated everything to the best of our ability to help our guests know what to expect. The only unfortunate thing you experienced with the stall that had no idea about our tour is something beyond our reach due to a miscommunication, but we've since resolved that. Here's our take on this. When you book through Viator, it's up to the guest to select the number of tickets. Nothing is mandatory. On our website, we clearly stated if you choose to buy more than one, it's to support us as a local independent business. We pride ourselves on being an open-minded In the Viator tour description and booking confirmation message, we instruct our guests to read the first 4 pages to get a clear idea of what you're in for. It is clearly stated that not every stall is open daily, but 6 out of 8 will always be open. The opening times are also stated in the guide (subject to change due to the nature of market stalls). The day that you went happened to be the day that the particular stalls are usually closed, as clearly communicated in our guide. For the fish stall, it was also clearly communicated that they were not available on the day that you went. This is why we had our recommended replacement. Like all other stalls, the guide includes a Google Map link to help you get to the alternative stop easily. Perhaps you'd missed that part. As for the stall that responded with "never heard of this tour", we're extremely sorry about this experience. We've investigated it and we found out that it was a new staff member who had unfortunately not been informed. For that, we sincerely apologize and have resolved that. We understand that you were very disappointed, as are we to read this. We do our best to communicate clearly to our guests and make sure everyone enjoys the experiences we provide. In this case, aside from the miscommunication with the last stall (which has been resolved), we believe we've clearly communicated everything to the best of our ability before and during the experience. Moreover, we believe that what we provide has much more value than just walking down the market and sampling on your own. Our intention is to share the food history and personal stories about our celebrated local food heroes to help travellers like you understand how Amsterdam ticks. And the deals and tastings are exclusive to our guests, which we believe, add value to the experience. Again, we're genuinely sorry for your experience. We believe we've taken appropriate action regarding this and we hope you'll give our business another chance to welcome you back to Amsterdam. Sincerely, Alexandra, Rachael and the Who is Amsterdam team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SY wrote a review Sep 2022
8 contributions
I had been to Amsterdam a long ago so when I returned in Sept 2022, I was looking for something different. I’m so glad I found Who is Amsterdam tours (which was recommended by Those Dam Boat Guys). If you are looking for the usual tourist attractions, this is not for you. This 4.5-hour walking tour is long but so worth it. It’s a deep dive into the history, culture and sociology of Amsterdam and the Dutch, using stories about and conversations with people living in the city. We got to meet 2 residents who shared about their lives and lifestyles, ate apple pie from a centuries-old shop and visited a special brewery too (non beer drinkers can have soft drinks). Our guide, Sinead, was a wonderful storyteller and made the long tour a breeze. Wear good walking shoes. 10/10 recommend!
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Emily R wrote a review Aug 2022
Cape Town, South Africa64 contributions25 helpful votes
This was really fun and you can really go at your own pace. Come back to things when you feel full etc. I thought it would be awkward to go to the counter and say I’m on a self guided food tour… not at all. All the shop keepers were super happy to see me and help me. So delicious so much fun. Maybe space it out a little cause there is a lot to eat.
Read more
Date of experience: August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456