We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY CONCERNS More info
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Kalya
Phone Number: 029942391
Website

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 87 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 22
    Excellent
  • 29
    Very good
  • 9
    Average
  • 2
    Poor
  • 3
    Terrible
Busy on weekends

We came here as part of a tour and as I haven't been to other locations it is hard to compare. The sea is obviously receding and really they need to do a little work on the actual... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed 2 weeks ago
Paul_n_Cris
,
Melbourne, Australia
Add Photo Write a Review

87 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 65: English reviews
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We took bus 468 (I think) from the bus terminal in Jerusalem. It took about 30-40 minutes to Kalya beach. I think the fare was about 7 NIS. From the bus stop in Kalya beach, it's a 10 minute walk. We payed the entrance fee of 57 NIS plus the fee for the lunch. The lunch was not very fabulous,... More 

Helpful?
Thank krisnelvik
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
378 reviews
234 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We came here as part of a tour and as I haven't been to other locations it is hard to compare. The sea is obviously receding and really they need to do a little work on the actual access to the water. There are some basic changing rooms, bars, an air-conditioned restaurant, a shop selling dead sea products. Down by... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paul_n_Cris
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We came here based on a recommendation from our hotel near the Sea of Galilee and really liked it. The beach has showers, bathrooms and drinks/food which were needed given the temperature! While it isn't a beach by the conventional definition it was large and well looked after. Sea was warm and a great experience.

Helpful?
Thank jakeyboygetslost
McGregor, Texas
Level Contributor
79 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great bar, restaurant and shops. Towels are cheap to rent, the showers are rainfall style powerful and a great place to meet people from all over the world while floating around in sslty bliss.

Helpful?
Thank Leslie D
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited today (a Thursday) and there were very few people there. We had an enjoyable time. Total visitors were about 30 while we we're there. Changing rooms were clean and though it can be steep to get down to water, there are stairs that can be used. Bring your own towels, as most visitors do, and you don't need to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nick N
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2016

The showers and changing rooms are all group facilities, with no privacy. We had to buy towels for $7 each! It's a long walk from the changing area to the Sea, down a pretty steep incline. There was supposed to be a jacuzzi but staff didn't know where it was. The Dead Sea is incredible and wonderful to experience but... More 

Helpful?
Thank mickimcd
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2016

I have heard about how amazing the dead sea is, but you do not really know until you experience it. We came here on a day trip from Tel-Aviv and had an amazing day. The beach was just perfect there were a ton of chairs and it was not over crowded. Once in the water it was so easy to... More 

Helpful?
Thank SBartels
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2016

Terribly crowded. There is a small beach/water area that is packed with people and a much larger area where you can buy food, drinks, souvenirs, etc which is also packed. The locker room is so small that you are shoulder to shoulder w/a bunch of men in various stages of dress. The lock on my rented locker was difficult to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Howard R
New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2016 via mobile

Lots of mud, lots of floating, lowest bar in the world. Check it out. Can mix it with a trip to Masada and fun bar full of music and drink

Helpful?
Thank tacjam
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2016 via mobile

We went there recently but there is a different price for tourists - 85 NIS pp and 50 for locals. If we did that in UK, would end up in court for discrimination! Taking the piss... Same price for children while if they're local, it's only 35 NIS. Avoid all the hassle and don't go. £15 pp for a beach... More 

Helpful?
Thank kokolino23
eran a, Manager at Kalia Beach, responded to this review

The information you provide here is absolutely not true . Kalia Beach It has a price of NIS 57 per adult 46 per child / student / soldier / pensioners and residents of the area. Too bad this is the way you chose to complain about something wrong. We all are equal ... More 

Travelers who viewed Kalia Beach also viewed

 
Dead Sea Region, Israel
Dead Sea Region, Jordan
 

Been to Kalia Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Kalia Beach and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
24 days ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Kalia Beach staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?