We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About SAT Group Tours
SAT Group, Tour Operator & Transportation Company based in Taormina, is the ideal solution for exploring Sicily, a region where art, history and culture blend to perfection with the landscape and give rise to a unique universe. With guaranteed departures from Taormina, Giardini Naxos and Letojanni, SAT Group offers the most extensive program of multilingual tours towards the major Sicilian destinations, including daily visits to Mount Etna, all the most important cities of art and two cruises to the Aeolian Islands. Not only that! A section apart is dedicated to the activities related to gastronomy with the successful Sicilian Cooking Class and the Pizza Making Class, two real best sellers of the past seasons. With over 30.000 passengers per year, SAT Group has gained the experience and the know-how that guarantee the quality of all tours and activities, by using only professional staff trained in-house. Discover Sicily with SAT Group!
Read more
Opens in 14 min
Hours Today: 8:30 AM - 1:00 PM, 4:00 PM - 7:30 PM
See all hours
Tours and Tickets by SAT Group Tours

Syracuse Day Trip from Taormina

Syracuse was once one of the ancient world’s largest cities. Dive right into the city’s historic allure on this tour from Taormina, spending a day visiting archaeological sites and Ortygia, the island-neighborhood also known as Città Vecchia. Travel with a guide to learn more about the city’s millennia-old history than you would while visiting on your own, and return to Taormina in time for dinner.
Read more
9 hours
from $53.04
575Reviews9Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 340
  • 100
  • 51
  • 38
  • 46
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Compass746591 wrote a review Aug 5
London, United Kingdom6 contributions9 helpful votes
There was an accident on route and we were delayed by an hour or more. Consequently, we did not arrive at Syracuse until 11am. Our tour was like a route march in the heat of the day. I was so hot and bothered that I didn’t take in a word our guide said. Ortigia is beautiful and I would highly recommend a visit but it wasn’t much fun in a day trip from Taormina. To fully appreciate this beautiful place, I would recommend that visitors consider staying overnight.
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Traveler57455648382, Guest Relations Manager at SAT Group Tours
Responded yesterday
Hello, we are sorry to read about the accident. That is really something that is not under our control. We also do not have any control on the heat. We are sorry that a beautiful day in Siracusa has been spoiled by these two factors. Warm regards. SAT Group Customer Care
Read more
Jilly C wrote a review Jul 2022
4 contributions1 helpful vote
We really enjoyed the market and the cooking class. Best of all we got to eat what we prepared with a nice glass (or2) of wine. My only complaint is that we were promised all of the recipes via email and despite going back and asking them to send the recipes again we have never received any recipes.
Read more
Date of experience: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Traveler57455648382, Guest Relations Manager at SAT Group Tours
Responded 1 week ago
Hello, considering that we are handling such a big quantity of cooking classes it can happen to forget one mail or maybe your address was not correctly interpreted by the chef. Please send us you email address as we only have your telephone number. It is a real pity that for this issue we are missing one star on the review. Regards. SAT Group staff
Read more
Evelina L wrote a review Jul 2022
Askim, Sweden3 contributions
A good tour to get to the top of Etna. Our guide up there was very knowledgeable and nice. The tour was a good length, timewise.
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Traveler57455648382, Guest Relations Manager at SAT Group Tours
Responded 1 week ago
Hello, although the review is really good, we are missing one star. We wish to know the reason of that in order to improve our services. Warm regards.
Read more
Daniel C wrote a review Jul 2022
37 contributions5 helpful votes
We've booked this trip and we don't regret it. The tour leader was really understandable and speaks fluent english. He was helpful as well. We started our trip from Taormina bus station to Mount Etna. This took us around an hour and a half but we really enjoyed our trip. The tour guide was always explaining stuff about Etna and the towns below Etna etc. We've paid the Funivia to go to the second level, and we don't regret it. It costs 30 euro per person but it's a nice experience. Thanks to the tour guide who recommended it. We had like 3 and a half free hours for ourselves on etna and then we also went to Alcantra Gorges in the afternoon. Alcantra was really exceptional. We paid an additional 7 euro to go down to the lake which was freezing cold. Really refreshing water. We just dipped our feet inside cause we were not able to swim. There were some people who were swimming tho. We then headed back to Taormina. The only thing was that the sales rep that sold us this trip told us that by 5 pm we would be back in Toarmina but we were back at around 6pm. Be careful if you have plans/flights afterwards.
Read more
Date of experience: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Regina F wrote a review Jul 2022
New York City, New York36 contributions21 helpful votes
Mt Etna is everywhere, so of course we wanted to go up. This was perfect, a half day (nearly 2 hours going, 2 hours there, 2 hours coming back =6 hours) Giuseppi was our driver, and what an expert driver he is. The hairpin turns, switchbacks, narrow two- way (?!) streets cam be nerve racking, but he is an expert and his overall skill is exactly what you need in this area. Thank you! Aleksandra, our guide, was very knowledgeable and told us so much during our trip in and out of the area. This was very helpful in understanding the area and the mountain. If you get the very basic tour, you stay at the very lowest craters. You have access to all amenities and can still walk around many small craters. The extra costs pay for your lift, and then the 4x4 to take you as far as visitors are allowed to go. There you can either explore on your own (within the limits), listen to & follow the local guide around a little (not much further really), or hike down on your own. Once off the gondola you can rent a jacket €5, and there are amenities there as well.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Date of experience: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456