I Giardini di Castel Trauttmansdorff

I Giardini di Castel Trauttmansdorff, Merano: Hours, Address, I Giardini di Castel Trauttmansdorff Reviews: 5/5

I Giardini di Castel Trauttmansdorff

I Giardini di Castel Trauttmansdorff
5
9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Monday
9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Sunday
9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
About
Insights into exotic Mediterranean landscapes and views of the surrounding mountain chains and sun-kissed Merano: The Gardens of Trauttmansdorff Castle comprises eighty natural and cultivated landscapes nestled into a natural amphitheatre, a wide array of themed gardens, and numerous Artist Pavilions and Experience Stations. Visitors find the extraordinary combination of nature, culture and art at South Tyrol's most popular attraction absolutely enchanting. The interplay of historical and contemporary architecture, a rich variety of events, and seasonal blooming throughout the course of the year all make Trauttmansdorff an experience for all five senses and for visitors of all ages. After being named Italy's Most Beautiful Garden in 2005 and Europe's No. 6 Garden in 2006, Trauttmansdorff was honored with the International Garden of the Year award in 2013, thus joining the ranks of the world's most important and beautiful gardens and parks. The Touriseum, the spirited museum housed inside Trauttmansdorff Castle, now spotlights recent tourism history and features new exhibits about the castle's VIP guests.
Suggested duration
More than 3 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Popular mentions

5.0
3,541 reviews
Excellent
2,849
Very good
581
Average
75
Poor
19
Terrible
17

Isabella
Merone, Italy6 contributions
Aug 2021 • Family
It was an amazing experience: we firstly visited the castle and then the garden, from the top which was the aviary and then we walked down till the lake. We visited every hidden corner of it and it was breathtaking. We visited it in august and the flowers were very beautiful, but I bet in spring time it will be even more stunning. A must see if you stop by Merano
Written August 6, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Dago C
Milan, Italy129 contributions
Jul 2021 • Friends
Just a word: wonderful.

Visited in July 2021, still lot of flowers present even if the Top would be in May. Not so many tourist from abroad due to the Covid but still a quite number present.

Several gardens, flowers, plants, even monuments. Most of them are in lower part (path on the right of the Touriseum) with bridges, parks and attraction for children

I suggest to visit the park following a clockwise path, especially in Summer as there si more shadow.

You may visit the lower part where there are lake, labyrinth, animals and some artificial "house" for insects.
Then climb up to the lovers garden, the leaning bridge, the Serra .

Then go down through the wood. The wood part is full of tree coming from everywhere, Japan, China, America and Australia and organized on geographical basiai.

Finally you can visit the Touriseum e and Sissi chambers of the castle

This park really deserve a visit, I think it is the best I've visited so far.

Written July 25, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

david m
London, UK17 contributions
Jul 2021
Superb botanical and show garden. Beautifully designed, perfectly planted, tastefully colour/ species matched and not a weed in sight. Maintenance is perfect. Many different botanically arranged areas spread over a varied site. Good restaurant too.
Written July 7, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Anke R
8 contributions
Jun 2021
Gorgeous gardens set on the hillside. Castle also worth visiting. Cafe set on the lake. There are concerts here in the evenings. Uniquely beautiful place!
Written June 21, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

JMGeneva
Geneva, Switzerland1,706 contributions
Sep 2020
Even in late September these gardens allow for a pleasant visit. Perfectly maintained, lots of information, superb setting. Lots of visitors too! It must be even better in spring.
Written September 27, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Joanne R
Delft, The Netherlands34 contributions
Sep 2020 • Family
We went here on a cloudy day with a few rain showers, this didn’t make the experience any less enjoyable. The garden is large, but the different areas are well signposted. As well as the plants there are many other interesting buildings and interactive expositions. The information boards are in 3 languages throughout the gardens and the museum.
The museum is engaging for all age groups.
We thoroughly enjoyed our time here, it’s well worth a visit.
One negative point, the parking spaces are extremely tight, it’s worth parking further away and walking a little further to prevent your car being damaged.
Written September 17, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

CBaraz
Milan, Italy10 contributions
Aug 2020
Very lovely and extremely huge garden (4+ hours are need to make the whole suggested paths). Many different species of land and really interesting the area with the birds.
In case of lunch break there is a nice and cheap bar near the labyrinth and his pond area.
Just remember that the last entrance is 1,5 earlier than the declared closure which changes acceding to the season (visit the website, for further details) but that period of time, in my opinion, is not enough to admire and enjoy the whole garden. Unfortunately, dogs are not allowed (security and management reasons).
Remember to bring a hat and sun cream for. abetter and safer trip.
Written August 23, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Europeaddict
San Diego, CA135 contributions
Sep 2019
My friend and I were staying in Merano and heard about the gardens. We were awed by the gardens. These are not just a nice back of castle gardens, these are truly spectacular and you can walk thru them for miles.

They are spit in regions such as Mediterranean and Asian, Water, etc. We could not possibly do all of it in a day.

In addition to lots of color and flowers and trees and a lake, they have a restaurant AND several very contemporary islands that you can walk to on small stones in the water. They also have a viewing platform that comes out from the hill and you are hanging in the air.

The tour of the castle was also fun as it had many unusual exhibits and fun items to ponder.

Love Love Love this place. Who could not love a place with thousands of sunflowers looking at you!
Written November 7, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

MLG
New York368 contributions
Oct 2019
We are big plant people and love to visit botanical gardens wherever we go. This quickly jumped to our Top 5! We were not expecting the incredible collections here, or the vast diversity of plants and gardens! We grabbed a map and had a little trouble following it in some spots, but ultimately we felt like we were able to see everything. The gardens and displays were all very neat and orderly, and everything was so colorful. I especially loved the artworks in the garden of love, and the large bank of sunflowers. Truly a lovely garden!
Written October 22, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

KMuk08
London, UK83 contributions
Oct 2019
From 4 Euros for parking in October (car parks empty) to no maps inside the gardens except SOS & nothing offered at the ticket office. As a result, we don't really know how much we saw nor how much we missed.

Unfortunately a disappointing, expensive visit.

(I rarely write poor reviews)
Written October 19, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear KMuk08, we are very sorry that you did not enjoy your visit to the Gardens. It‘s too bad that you didn’t notice our orientation map in the visitor center, because there you would have received a good overview of the whole area, spread over 12 hectares. As we distribute it at the entrance of the Gardens, the garden itself has only a reduced signage. If you are interested, we can also send you our map by mail. Just write to us at info@trauttmansdorff.it. Thank you for your feedback and we hope that you will give us a second chance. Best regards from the Gardens of Trauttmansdorff Castle
Written October 21, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 299
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing