Spera Hot Yoga

Spera Hot Yoga, Milan: Hours, Address, Spera Hot Yoga Reviews: 5/5

Spera Hot Yoga
5
6:45 AM - 11:00 PM
Monday
6:45 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
6:45 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
6:45 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
6:45 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
6:45 AM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
6:45 AM - 11:00 PM
Sunday
6:45 AM - 11:00 PM
Write a review
About
Spera Yoga is now a Yoga Academy online with a Yoga Retreat base in the South of Italy. Following the 10 years experience in Milano with one of the best hot yoga studio in town Antonio and Maria have moved on their next challenge with an innovative contemporary approach to practice into a residential retreat yoga experience. Those who have had the chance to practice with Maria and Antonio are deeply connected to their inner master of unbounded connection with body mind spirit. We are happy to have you joining us in the heart of Puglia. Booking info please get in touch. Follow us with live online classes everyday, all year long. Namaste
Suggested duration
More than 3 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

Top ways to experience nearby attractions

Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.

5.0
141 reviews
Excellent
128
Very good
7
Average
1
Poor
1
Terrible
4

MissOlaa
3 contributions
Hey All , I'm traveling a lot all over the world , and my current home is in Milan, I've tried Bikram in London and New York , first time it was in London. I should say that the Bikram Yoga Milano is my favorite place , and till now after more than a year is the best for relaxation , meditation and practicing Bikram. Thanks to its founder Antonio Spera and his team , the place is welcoming, warm ( hottt!!) as it should be and peaceful . Looking forward for coming next week too!! Come ! You won't regret for sure ))
Written August 31, 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Yagoda
Wroclaw, Poland38 contributions
Solo
As an addictive to Bikram yoga person and traveler as well, with full responsibility for my words I can say, that non from studios all over the world can compare to Spera Bikram Yoga. The place with peace, love and smile. Beautiful atmosphere which uplift the whole inner and create new life power in each person who try yoga there. Love!
Yagoda Lagiewska
Written August 21, 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Ludwikalula
Milan, Italy1 contribution
Solo
Oh nothing better than a class of hot yoga in this exquisite place.
You get a solemn work done here and the feeling after...just precious.
Every time you discover how much MORE you are capable of doing with your body and mind.. and how you can just relax and change your perspective to more positive with an extra amount of energy.
Written August 25, 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Katherine P
Milan, Italy7 contributions
Solo
It's taken me months to decide whether or not to write this review. I don't like to leave negative feedback, but I figure that if I still have a bad taste in my mouth after 6 months the public should know about it.

I was a member of Spera Bikram Yoga for a year. Without putting emphasis on the quality of teachers (nothing special) or the clientele (the majority posh, self-absorbed Milanese), I give this place one star and here is why: in order to get the €100/month "deal" for unlimited membership I had to commit to (and pay for) 12 months and pay upfront. Other yoga studios I've been to allow month-to-month payment without a long commitment precisely because peoples' schedules change, life happens, and sometimes there are months when you can't get into the studio to practice three days a week to make the €100 membership convenient. This aside, the unlimited membership was really only "useful" for certain periods of the day. Early morning classes are practically unheated because the heater isn't programmed to heat the GIANT yoga room early enough before class to have a hot yoga class before noon. By the time the room actually reaches a decent temperature it's about 6pm and the room is so crowded that people are literally on top of each other - it's quite uncomfortable. So the best classes are from 9pm until 10:30pm, which is kind of late.

Notwithstanding, I would force myself to go: even though the other yoga students constantly look at you judgingly and appear to compete with one another during practice, the instructors were kind of rude (except maybe two of the six), my posture was only corrected about three times in 12 months and the room only ever reached 40 degrees about twice, I went because I had paid and there aren't many options for a Bikram yoga lover in this city - after all, if I got there twenty minutes early and put myself directly next to the heater, I would get a decent workout.

Then about half way into my membership everything changed completely: the temperature in the room never reached more than 32 degrees (starting at around 23!) after a 90 minute session (so even practicing on top of the heater didn't do much), the already crowded classes became more crowded because the studio started advertising on Groupon, and the staff became even more unfriendly. Considering the fact that the temperature in the yoga room dropped at about the same time the studio started advertising on Groupon, I assume the owner was looking for ways to increase revenue by cutting costs and boosting clientele (which I found strange because it's already a non-profit association that doesn't pay much/any taxes, there are always at least 20 students per lesson and membership rates are already high...not to mention there are always "extra" yoga workshops not included in membership that cost €50 per day and they're always packed! But, hey, greed can consume people even unexpectedly).

I complained about the temperature on more than one occasion and was told true Bikram yoga really isn't good for us (for which there is no conclusive scientific evidence), to drink more water so I sweat more and to just keep coming. I stopped attending the Hatha classes and started investing time into developing my Asthanga practice - at least I sweat during the dynamic flow - but it was still an uncomfortable environment for me. Rather than look forward to practicing yoga in a structured environment I dreaded going to class and looked for excuses not to go.

Finally I gave up, stopped forcing myself and convinced myself that I could practice at home. I didn't have enough will power to do so, but after five or six months I finally found a new yoga studio where the people are kind, welcoming and not judgmental, and most of all the instructors are compassionate, don't tell you to push harder during every pose to the point where you might hurt yourself, correct incorrect posture where needed (I've already been corrected three times in two weeks, compared to three times in 12 months at Spera!) and every yoga session is fun and leaves me looking forward to the next one.

I wish I had listened to my gut during the trial period when it told me, "This place isn't really for you. The instructors don't know what they're doing: they all sound like tape recorders and don't actually pay attention to anybody's posture. Run, get out of here and don't come back!" My advice to everyone is go elsewhere. More yoga studios are offering heated classes now, so Spera isn't your only option. Find a place where the atmosphere makes you aching for more, where the people are friendly and where the vibes are positive - not somewhere that's only interested in getting your money.
Written April 11, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Gentile katyrocs, chiediamo venia per aver risposto solo ora ma per qualche motivo ci è arrivata notifica di questa recensione solo ora. Che dire, nel leggere queste parole ci sono tante informazioni. Tante emozioni. Dal 2016 abbiamo trasformato l'approccio dello studio. La temperatura è stata modificata e la teniamo sotto i 30 gradi. Le pratiche non sono più verso una sequenza prestabilita, nè verso standard imposti dall'esterno. Questo è vero ha generato non poche trasformazioni sia nella gestione dello studio, sia nelle relazioni con le persone che invece preferiscono una sala più calda. La nostra "giant yoga room" con pavimento riscaldato risulta dal cambiamento più portata ad accogliere pratiche di facile accesso e variare tra lezioni con diverso focus. Let us continue in english, thanks for taking the time to provide this feedback. Needless to say that money is meant for trading goods and services but most of the people use to buy power, prestige, control through money and that creates a problem in form of attachment. So sorry to hear about your experience though. We wish we could help heal this to a desired standard for you but yes we have decided to modify the heat in the yoga room, informing clients about this change. We thrive to provide a service at the best of our ability, we've been always open to listening to users feedback, that's how we've built our quality over the years. We have been given many newly graduated yoga teacher the chance to start teaching and gain experience and students have been recognising the authenticity as the driving value at our studio as a unique personal experience. We'd like to invite you to take part of our SPERA YOGA style, including Hot Yoga classes inspired by the Hatha Yoga Traditional lignages, trying the Vinyasa Flow classes, as well as the Odaka Yoga Inspired classes, all done in a heated room. Quite a change from the initial one-style-only-focused approach. As for the money, we do offer a month trial for 55eur as well as 3 consecutive days at 29eur. Once you decide to go further there's a 59eur per month including once a week practice as well as 109eur per month including open lifestyle yoga practice and that's for our point of view a very good deal comparable to any other location in Milano. Hoping to see you again soon ! Namaste
Written March 23, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Valerie R
Milan, Italy34 contributions
Solo
Once you attend a 90min class at Bikram Yoga Milan you won't be able to live without it. Antonio is able to share and transmit his passion and positive energy to every single student and his studio is the best one I've ever experienced. Immaculate, clean, peaceful, once you enter it you can start to live & breathe the smiles & calm you'll carry home at the end of the class. The visiting teachers are all bringing with them the taste of their own experience matured all around the world. Try it and you'll find a loving group of loyal students along with Antonio and the teachers that will help you to work hard on yourself to find whatever you were looking for in this bikram yoga experience.
Written August 17, 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Samantha D
2 contributions
Solo
Unfortunately, I wasn't able to make it into a class. I arrived 15 minutes early and was told there wouldn't be enough time to set me up (they need 20 minutes). In order to attend I needed to download a mobile app and with no cell service in the studio I wasn't able to. The staff wasn't willing to help by sharing wifi or using their desktop. I've never been to any exercise class that required me to download a mobile app. Most studios are excited to have a new client. Spera Yoga didn't want the bother.
Written June 10, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear Samantha, thanks for your message. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have suffered in setting up your profile upon arrival. This can be considered a disgraceful event and we cannot explain how this happened according to your description. Although english has never been an issue with reception staff, we apologize again to have created this misunderstanding with you. If you ever come back to Milan and if you ever would like to give it another try we would be happy to see you taking class and enjoy. Downloading the "spera hot yoga" app sure can be easy, we have tablets at the reception you can use without the need of installing on your device, our web site also provides registration form eventually. Spera Yoga does bother to provide our best knowledge and we know there's place for improvement. Kind Regards, Antonio
Written June 14, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Irène H
Canton of Glarus, Switzerland16 contributions
Solo
Via Gaspare Spontini 8, 20131 Milano,
www.spera-bikramyoga.com

What should I do if my husband isn’t interested in my hobby and does’t share my dedication to Bikram yoga? Since I intend to visit all the studios in Europe and don’t want to travel alone every single time, I had an idea: I booked seats at the Scala opera house because my husband really likes opera. So I was able to enjoy the opera and also to visit Antonio Spera’s studio.

The studio is located in a nice backyard in the surroundings of the city. There are no windows but light comes in from lightbulbes, there are radiant heaters and heating tiles. The beautiful thing about Bikram yoga is: you understand it all over the world, even when you don’t speak the local language – the postures, the sequences and the dialogue are the same all over.

see: www.hotyogablog.net
Written March 10, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Luquito82
Milano, Italia2 contributions
I've joined into Antonio's center since 2013 and I have to admit that is brilliant both his teaching/teachers and the way how is keeping the idea of yoga. Very reliable, the prices for starting are accessible. I'd like to suggest!
Written August 18, 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Giuliano S
Canterbury, UK1 contribution
It’s a small island to connect, reconnect and listen. Kind of my little lighthouse in this life journey. A place to be friends.
Written October 21, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thanks 🙏🏼🌸
Written December 11, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Day S
London, UK3 contributions
Solo
Small studio, but extremely welcome. Lead by great professionals helping and guiding. The classes are great, full of positive energy with not only engaged teaches, but also focused students.
Written June 1, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Grazie 🙏🏼🌸
Written December 11, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Showing results 1-10 of 15
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Spera Hot Yoga

Spera Hot Yoga is open:
  • Sun - Sat 6:45 AM - 11:00 PM


Restaurants near Spera Hot Yoga: View all restaurants near Spera Hot Yoga on Tripadvisor