We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

CTTours - Cinque Terre Private Tours and Shore Excursions

La Spezia, Italy
More
About CTTours - Cinque Terre Private Tours and Shore Excursions
Welcome! I'm Umberto Cattani professional tour guide and owner of Cinque Terre Tours. Together with my network of reliable guides and drivers I'm able to provide guided tours, day-trips and shore excursions at the highest standards. Visit the website and learn more about my tour proposals.
Read more
Travelers talk about

CTTours - Cinque Terre Private Tours and Shore Excursions
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor

Want other options you can book now?
343Reviews101Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 285
  • 35
  • 9
  • 8
  • 6
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Jamil2020 wrote a review Mar 2020
Stockholm, Sweden2 contributions
Umberto was our guide. We started the tour from the marble quarries in Carrara. It was incredibly interesting. We are very impressed by Umbertos knowledge about the history and activities of the quarries. We continued to Cinque Terre. The views are stunning, and again Umberto told us about life before and nowadays in the charming villages. We absolutely recommend this tour and Umberto as a guide. He is a very nice and knowledgeable person.
Read more
Helpful
Share
Ritu D wrote a review Feb 2020
Tallinn, Estonia18 contributions26 helpful votes
An absolute YES to this visit. The hidden man-made/constructed jewels of the beautiful landscapes would just be mesmerising as one cruises through the waters along the Italian riveira.
Read more
Date of experience: June 2019
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
RedondoTraveler wrote a review Oct 2019
Redondo Beach, California5 contributions
Our half-day Carrara Marble Tour with Umberto was one of the highlights of our trip to Italy. When we realized that we wanted to book a tour from where we were staying in Lucca, we were initially disappointed to discover that there were none available on the day we had free. But as it turned out, we could not have hoped for a better tour than the one that we had with Umberto. The day began with Umberto picking us up from our hotel in Lucca, then driving us to Carrara. He not only discussed the history of the region and the marble quarries in the area, but took us to visit a marble factory, a sculptor's workshop, a museum, and a place where we could watch the workers in the quarry. It was fascinating! After our visit to the quarry, he was most helpful with our buying train tickets for our trip onward to Florence and taking us to a place where we could buy lunch to take along with us. Going "above and beyond", when he discovered that my husband had left his sunglasses in the car, Umberto came back to the train station and found us. We appreciated so much this extra, personal touch. When I look at our pictures, I will always be happy with this memorable experience.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2019
Helpful
Share
Glenn G wrote a review Oct 2019
Conception Bay South, Canada28 contributions15 helpful votes
Where do I begin and end. We booked this tour through Celebrity Cruiseline, a great cruise in itself. The positive; Duna herself was very calm, obliging friendly and easy to understand. Cinque Terre and Portovenere are amazingly beautiful; these are gems not to be left uncovered for sure. So the visits themselves were worth the time and some of the money. So stunningly picturesque. The driver, I will spell it my way as Andrewso, not it but along those lines, was a very good driver and so protective. Now the Negative: Far too long bus encounters; Needs to be a couple more stop and stretches at places that can be used as photo opps there were so many; but part of this I know was that there was NO ferry which we all expected wholly and chose the visitation for this reason mainly, same as with the Amalfi Coast tour. Too bad we didn't know as I believe without the boat ride, I would say several would have declined. The time on the bus was far too long overall. Then came all the "What the hell?"s. Back to Duna, the friendly obliging guide. She was constantly feeding us information that never transpired or very late or was contradictory. Along the way she talked about having lunch and a wine tasting experience. We thought it may be one in the same or one followed by the other, as per the prescribed time. Well..... that's just it NOTHING was a prescribed time from the start. It kept changing as did the meeting points and times and everyone was totally confused........ and very hungry by 3:30. We expected to eat maybe in Cinque Terre, but we didn't know for sure, but in hindsight we should have; there was not enough time spent there and enjoy it better and to have lunch at the near empty restaurants would have been ideal. Instead we ended up travelling forever, timelines unknown, and finally we had to say Duna we are hungry and need to eat. That became quite challenging as even at 3:30 most places were packed in Portovenere. There is far too much to tell you about the open and closed places we were supposed, or not supposed to see. Nobody knew for sure. In all there was no structure to this tour and to see or not to see that was the question. Want to know about "The Wine tasting"? Well, it was to take place at 12:40pm. There was no ferry as specified so that should have given the buses more time to follow Plan B; Hello? There was not much Plan A let alone Plan B. So......... ALL the buses ended up at the "Wine Tasting" at about 3pm at the same time! Yes 200 people in line to receive "communion", a small morsel of bread or 2, to be washed down with about 2 ounces of wine, in a very small squatty area where my wife personally was asked to pass around multiple glasses of "the wine" because too many people were jammed into the small cafe area. Say a prayer after communion and get the hell out. So then everyone "was released" to find a place to hopefully EAT, even though Duna was convinced that most places were closed at 2pm, near the end of tourist season. Well most places were OPEN but packed. We managed to get a great meal however, then just enough time to get to our meeting place and get back on a packed train in order to climb the bus for another half hour, hour, we weren't sure. So if this description was written in Celebrity's Shore Excursions brochure, would you pay $159 for it? I know that the Shore Excursions counters back on board Celebrity was blocked with people lined to complain after that tour and refunding the ferry ride only is a joke. Celebrity was fantastic as a cruise and everything it offered but NOT THIS TOUR! So the visit was beautiful indeed, but the times allocated to each place was terrible, lack of structure, and no plan B, all contributed to a terrible experience. And just to compare, we did the Amalfi Coast and Pompei tour 2 days later. That was almost a 10, because it did EVERYTHING that did not happen on the Cinque Terre and Portovenere tour, ie. fantastic meal on time in a beautiful non crowded restaurant with beverages, "INCLUDED" in the tour price, so this Cinque Terre tour I wrote about gets a "2", just for the pictures I could get. Celebrity Cruiselines; fantastic; Shore Excursions Don't Bother. I still can't believe I paid $159 x 2 for that fiasco.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Umberto C, Proprietario at CTTours - Cinque Terre Private Tours and Shore Excursions
Responded Nov 4, 2019
Dear Glenn, pardon for the late reply but I missed you review about your Cinque Terre experience. I apologize that you did not enjoy the 5 Terre as they deserve, eventually next time book one of my tours. In your case CTTours was not your tour provider simply because we organize private tours only on foot and by van. Please next time pay attention to where you post your review. I hope to see you again in 5 Terre! Regards Umberto
Read more
ctang wrote a review Aug 2019
Bangkok, Thailand17 contributions11 helpful votes
I had a private tour of Pisa and Cinque Terre with CT tours in late July. It was a shore excursion from La Spezia. Umberto had been very helpful during the time of booking. He had offered various options that best suited my family of 7 people (including my parents in their 80’s). I had earlier considered having a private boat ride but Umberto suggested the sea might be too rough for small boat. He recommended we took the ferry (which was also much cheaper). On the day of the tour, Cristian was our driver/guide. He was on time and patient with us being late during sightseeing in Pisa. He also managed to find a parking spot not far from the entrance gate at Pisa (though it was pretty crowded at that time). We then went to Porto Venere for lunch and to board the ferry. We got off the ferry in Vernazza (which is pretty flat compared to other towns in the area). We were met by Cristian at the meeting point and had a ride back to La Spezia. The views of Cinque Terre were breathtaking, both from sea (during the ferry ride) and on land (on the road back). My appreciation for Umberto and Cristian who were very professional and did a good job on this pleasant one-day trip for my family. Grazie mille!
Read more
Date of experience: July 2019
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Recommended experiences in and around La Spezia
from $317.77
More Info
from $64.93
More Info
from $112.15
More Info