We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

City Sightseeing Rome

Neighborhood:
Trevi
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Neighborhoods
Neighborhoods
Get directions
Address: Via IV Novembre, 147, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number: 0669797554
Website
Description:

Rome Hop on Hop Off Open Top Sightseeing Bus Tour

Book In Advance
More Info
$28*
and up
Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour
More Info
$106*
and up
City Sightseeing Transportation and Skip-The-Line Roma Pass
More Info
$34*
and up
Rome Hop-on Hop-off Tour with Public Transport Pass

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 1,166 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 102
    Excellent
  • 114
    Very good
  • 124
    Average
  • 157
    Poor
  • 343
    Terrible
Still a Ton of Walking, not worth the $$

We were in Rome for 6 days with a toddler and thought that using CSC for a day would reduce the amount of walking he would have to do. It certainly didn't. There's a lot of wasted... read more

3 of 5 starsReviewed 2 days ago
JetTech33
,
SW, ONT
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

1,166 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 840: English reviews
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

it is a convenient way to see different part of Rome. The price is much better than other hop on hop off tours.

Helpful?
Thank Peiman S
CityRoma, Customer Care Department at City Sightseeing Rome, responded to this review

Dear customer, thank you very much for your review, we are happy you liked our bus tour. Please do not hesitate to contact us in the future shpuld you need any help during your stay in Rome or in other cities in Italy. More 

SW, ONT
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

We were in Rome for 6 days with a toddler and thought that using CSC for a day would reduce the amount of walking he would have to do. It certainly didn't. There's a lot of wasted time waiting in line FOR the bus, ON the bus at stops and the Termini Station was awful. The ticket system is slow,... More 

Helpful?
Thank JetTech33
CityRoma, Customer Care Department at City Sightseeing Rome, responded to this review

Dear customer thank you for your review, we are sory you didn't like our bus tour. Thank you for your suggestions about the ticket system, we will report this to the administration office. As regards stop n. 6 we apologize for that, we used to stop close to st. Peter Basilica but for security reasons due to the Jubilee Year... More 

Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
74 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

They should invest part of the money they spend in people trying to sell you their services in improving it. The buses don't pass every 15 min as advertised (more like 30-35 min) and when they do many are full and you can't get in. Rome is extremely busy but there are many other hop on/off companies and I didn't... More 

Helpful?
Thank wlopez09
CityRoma, Customer Care Department at City Sightseeing Rome, responded to this review

Dear customer, we apologize for the bad experience you had. At the moment we are the only company in Rome to have 17 buses runing and one bus every 10 minutes at the bus stops. Just in some moments of the day during the high season buses can be a little more crowded as most of the tourists in Rome... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Sold a skip the line for Colosseum with bus ticket. Colosseum staff, after queing for an hour to exchange voucher, informed us this could not be used to skip the line and we would have to wait an additional 2 and a half hours.After complaining we eventually got in half an hour after. Bus tour had a very sparse commentary... More 

Helpful?
Thank maymccann1994
CityRoma, Customer Care Department at City Sightseeing Rome, responded to this review

Dear customer, thank you for your review. The Colosseum ticket is actually a skip the line ticket for the Colosseum, Roman Forum and Palatine hill. For security reasons they could give customers a time to go inside the Colosseum so meanwhile customers can go and visit the Roman Forum and Palatine hill. We have a brand new commentary on the... More 

Sydney
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Almost nobody (sane) would take more than one "Hop On, Hop Off", so it is hard to tell how good, bad or indifferent this company was, compared to others. One seems to see the same buses everywhere... We bought the 2-day package, with the "Colosseum; Skip the Line". We had the coupons on our iPhone only. As it turned out,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Robert_Handelsmann
CityRoma, Customer Care Department at City Sightseeing Rome, responded to this review

Dear customer, thank you for your review. We apologize if you had to wait a little at the bus stops, actually we have one departure every 10 minutes but the bad traffic conditions can cause delays. It is also high season and most of tourists in Rome choose our company as they know we can guarantee the best quality tours... More 

Geist
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Too many people and not enough buses. Waited for over 45 mins in over 30 degree heat to get on our first bus. Every bus that came was full- although we could see seats available. One tour guide was very rude to another tourist who didn't realise there was a queue of people. Takes ages to get around the minimal... More 

Helpful?
Thank Geist
CityRoma, Customer Care Department at City Sightseeing Rome, responded to this review

Dear customer, thank you for your review, we apologize for the bad experience you had in Rome. We would like to extend our bus route but unfortunately we only have the authorization to make one route and to stop at specific places. At the moment we have 17 buses that run every 20 minutes but due to the bad traffic... More 

Beit She'an, Israel
Level Contributor
95 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We took this tour.....because I had a map from this company. We bought the tickets from the offices...which was a waste of 15 minutes walking...I could have bought them at the bus. The bus took 15 minutes to arrive...and was then full. The next one came along after another 5 minutes. The explanations were OK...a bit monotonous. Some Busses are... More 

Helpful?
Thank BJREisman
CityRoma, Customer care department at City Sightseeing Rome, responded to this review

Dear csutomer, thank you for your review, we are happy to read that you enjoyed our bus tour even if you had some problems. We would like to extend our bus route but unfortunately we only have the authorization to make one route and to stop at specific places so it doesn't depend on us if we can't stop very... More 

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This company should be avoided. They make you wait bus after bus after bus in long lines, they sit for 30 mins at a time..... Just sit in the heat What! I sat and sat and then they made us get off because it's now 5:30 and that bus is closed now I must get on new bus and wait... More 

Helpful?
Thank stylincolleen1
CityRoma, Customer Care Department at City Sightseeing Rome, responded to this review

Dear customer, thank you for your review, we are sorry you didn't like our bus tour. We apologize if you had to wait a little at the bus stops, we have one departure every 10 minutes but due to the bad traffic conditions sometimes there can be delays. Should you come back to Rome please do not hesitate to contact... More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

You will see more walking around than on this bus tour. The commentary is dull and sparse. The service appears to be whatever suits that day with random stops closed. The bus parks up for 15 minutes at terminal A with a bus full of tourist. The staff are curt and unhelpful. Basically don't waste your money.

Helpful?
Thank Dafarr D
CityRoma, Customer Care Department at City Sightseeing Rome, responded to this review

Dear customer, thank you for your review, we are sorry you didn't like out bus tour We would like to extend our bus route but unfortunately we only have the authorization to make one route and to stop at specific places. The reason why in some moments of the day buses can be a little crowded is because most of... More 

2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

There are not enough buses!!! ALL the other lines had buses that would lap the big red bus and we consistently had the longest line of them all. The "tour" repeats throughout so you're not learning much about Rome after the first 10 minutes...get on green line or big bus. NOT WORTH IT!!

Helpful?
Thank johnsie83

Travelers who viewed City Sightseeing Rome also viewed

 

Been to City Sightseeing Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of City Sightseeing Rome and other visitors
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from City Sightseeing Rome staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?

Staying in Trevi

Neighborhood Profile
Trevi
A non-stop photo and souvenir opportunity, Trevi is all about action. From early morning through the wee hours, the piazza surrounding Trevi Fountain hosts a never-ending flow of tourists hoping to make a wish or take a selfie. Clever restaurants, charming gelaterias, uncanny bars, kitsch shops, and a range of hotels make up the local landscape. Beneath the bustle are the remains of an ancient neighborhood that you can visit by heading over to a repertoire cinema and asking for a peek underground. There is something for everyone, but if peace and quiet are what you seek, plan to visit in the early morning hours.
Explore this neighborhood