New Rome Free Tour
New Rome Free Tour
4.5
10:00 AM - 12:00 PM, 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Monday
10:00 AM - 12:00 PM
5:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Tuesday
10:00 AM - 12:00 PM
5:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Wednesday
10:00 AM - 12:00 PM
5:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Thursday
10:00 AM - 12:00 PM
5:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Friday
10:00 AM - 12:00 PM
5:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 12:00 PM
5:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Sunday
10:00 AM - 12:00 PM
5:00 PM - 7:00 PM
About
New Rome Free Tour offer you the original and oldest, since 2009, free walking tour of Rome to discover the secrets of the Eternal City, the atmosphere, the architecture, the culture, food, the people; it doesn't matter your travel budget. There's no better way to see it than on foot. We offer five daily free tours: Ancient Rome, City Center, Vatican and food tours ( freeromefoodtour.com) 365 days a year hail, rain or shine. Reservation is required and mandatory.
Rome, Lazio, Italy

Awards
Travelers' Choice
2023

Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Travelers talk about
(458 reviews)
(309 reviews)
(58 reviews)

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles3,750 reviews
Excellent
3,152
Very good
396
Average
61
Poor
47
Terrible
94

Maria G
London, UK148 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020 • Family
We were very lucky to have Matteo to lead this tour on our second day in Rome. He is very professional and amicable. The tour provided a snapshot of the historic centre, and, being February, we were in a smaller group of around 15 people which was very helpful as we could all hear Matteo clearly. He shared delightful details that we would have otherwise missed and was incredibly knowledgable, answering all questions extensively. We (voluntarily) tipped about 10 Euros per person which we thought was well deserved and still great value in a very expensive city.
Written February 20, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Clare B
Leicester, UK75 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020 • Couples
The tour started at the Spanish Steps and took roughly 3 hours. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and hospitable and was really the best part of the tour. As a group, we walked through the streets of Rome taking in the sites such as the Spanish Steps, the Pantheon and the Trevi Fountain. The guide also took us into some churches where he explained the art inside and gave us time to take it all in. This tour was a great way to learn some of the history of the city and the tour guide really knew his stuff. I would highly recommend this tour. It also took a slow walking pace so that all could keep up.
Written March 1, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Akin A
London, UK378 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2022
We took the both the night tour and the ancient Rome tours with Stefano, and they were superb!

The night tour was a real highlight, offering some amazing views of the city lit up. Our tour guide was good fun and very informative; ultimately we learnt a lot about the city of Rome whilst having a great time.

The premise of the tour is that is free but you pay the guide based on what you think the tour is worth. You do have to book in advance and your id is checked beforehand.

We loved the tours and could not recommend more highly!
Written May 17, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

mradocajster
Zagreb, Croatia7 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2021 • Couples
We double booked by accident online an ancient rome tour (Sunday, 8.8.21. St 11 am). The guide when we tried to apologize started to patronize us, saying that we did it on purpose because the tour is free. Then he sarcastically thanked us and cinically showed us where to stand for the tour. We said that after that type of treatment we do not wanna attend, he started to offend on a nationality basis and said we cannot attend. Not only was he unprofessional - he did not even say his name nor let us know that he was the guide, we had to ask him if that was our tour to which he sarcastically responded 'well this is the place I said the tour starts' so i guess it must be him eventhough there were a few guides around- but he was so rude and plain disgusting in his behaviour that he shamed us in front of all of the group for just trying to say sorry we double booked! The guy is middle aged, short and almost grey bald-like I said I dont know the name bc he did not introduce himself.
The whole day was ruined and I would not recommend this to anyone. I dont care how good the tour is, if the guide is like this I dont want any part of it. And quite a dissapointment the company should hire a person like this. In the end not only did he loose the double booked place, but he chased us away so rudely and we ended up cancelling the afternoon tour as well.

Would absolutely NOT RECOMMEND. There are so many better free rome walking tours out there.
Written August 8, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Customer What you reported it s totally fake and reflects your opinion that we cannot agree and accept. You did not make ..as you wrote, by accident a double booking since they were made under two different names : Mxxx Rxxxx for 2 people and Nxxx Jxxx for 2 more people for a total of four when you knew since the beginning, that you were only 2 of you. Consequently you reiceived two different tickets and you occupied 4 spots when 2 of them could be given somebody else ( our groups are always limited also due to corona restrictions) ...It was enough you sent us an email asking to cancel one of them so we could give your extra tickets to two people on stand by. This showed a lack of respect towards us also towards our customers- When our guided simply told you what we have written here , suddendly your attitude changed accusing him to be rude and umpolite. We remain in our position. If the tour was a paid one you would have paid more attention and in case of mistake you would asked us to be refunded by sending an emai. We are very sure of it. We do offer this tour for free and we do it for passion giving this oportunity to those who want to know more about our city and want to remain in budget ( generally as one can see on google , provided by travel agencies ,this kind of tours can cost up to 35 euros per person). Your behaviour demonstrated to us and other customers , a total lack of respect; nobody obliged you to join our tour...If you wanted to it is because you knew it would have been great..It was your decision to miss it . PS since you mentioned the guide offended you for your nationality, you totally misunderstood what he said We have not only many friends that come from your country but even a guide that works with us comes from one of your beautiful islands of your coutry. Arrivederci ! Dovidjenja !
Written August 9, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Lauren Vskaja
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2021 • Friends
I never had a tour more awful than this one. Our tour guide Stephan was unexpectedly bad, especially it was noticeable in relation to other participants. From the very beginning of the tour the guide was acting rude - he didn't want to let the girl to the excursion just because she came without her friend. Then the guide started to humiliate one member of the group. Also, all the information he was giving is even more interesting on the internet. the attitude towards the participants was terrible, the jokes were terrible, I definitely don't recommend this tour.
Written July 31, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Vskaja, Dear all Tripadvisor followers Few days ago , we received three emails, each one containing very similar and negative reviews, written at the same time but individually, by a group of three ladies from Lituania to whom we prefer to answer thank to the oportunity TA gave us Few points on your comments on the tours you took with us, first this is a free tour for which, if not of your gradiment you are always free to leave ( just making us aware ).if you stayed on until the end other you found some enjoyment in suffering it or perhaps the guide was not so bad after all. Your perception that the guide was being rude to other clients perhaps is due to a poor command of the language, we can assure the guide will never be rude, instead has a cutting sense of humour that most of people find very amusing even if at times a bit ironic and provocative! Obviously you did not get it, we are sorry. The reason the guide did not allowed somebody to participate it is well explained on our website, the reason being there was no booking logged in for that person. We are sorry you feel you did not get the information you were expecting, you could have asked making this a more profitable experience for you. Regards NRFT
Written August 5, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Henrique B
7 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020 • Couples
The tour was ok, it starts on time and everything is very profissional. But the low point for me was that, at the end, when the guide asked for tips, I did not have change because I had just arrived in Rome, then I offered him 10 euros in coins. He looked at my face and told: you better save the coins for the fountain (of Trevi). How rude! And then a family of 3 gave him 5 euros between the 3 of them and he accepted! Now I know: don’t ever think give the guides coins, because they do not like it at all and will give you ironic comments in front of everyone.
Written February 23, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Magda P
London, UK8 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2020 • Friends
We had an amazing time during our stay in Rome. Matteo is one of the best guides we have ever met. He shared with us comprehensive and interning facts about Roman history, culture and architecture. Both guides showed us the best places in Rome. We highly recommend Free Walking Tours in Rome as the quality, punctuality and guides’ impressive knowledge are guaranteed.
Written October 3, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Deep
5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020
It was the best decision to book this guided tour. Mr. Stefano is an amazing person. He is very knowledgeable, and the way he speaks and takes care of everyone in the group is something I truly appreciated.

Please book it online on time, print the booking confirmation and follow the rules mentioned in that, like not eating at some places, proper dress code, etc. That's all what they ask for.
It involves walking for around 2 hours or so. So bring your walking shoes, which is a good idea in Rome anyways.

We met at the Spanish steps and visited most of the important places walking. Mr. Stefano gave us recommendations on where to eat and when we went there we had the best food of our whole trip.
Written February 19, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Daniel C
Belfast, UK2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020
We did the city centre free walking tour with Stefano, it was excellent. Stefano is very knowledgeable and engaging, very funny too. He has incredible knowledge of all the history and hidden details of ancient Rome, he has no problem responding questions and sharing his tricks and tips of the city. Highly recommend.
Written February 12, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Ryan M
6 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2021 • Friends
My friends and I went on the 11am Ancient Rome walking tour with Stefano and it did not disappoint.
He's a charismatic, knowledgeable guide who keeps you on your toes from minute 1 and enjoys being able to pick people out of the group to make fun of them (gently) in front of a historic monument. It won't be to everyone's taste but once you get used to feeling you're on the front row of an unusually mobile stand-up gig - it's good fun!
The tour itself consumed much of the ancient area of Rome around Capital Hill - taking in the expected sights and learning unexpected things about them, but with as much to be learned from Stefano's anecdotes in the sidestreets.
Highly recommend (as long as you're prepared to take some stick)
Written December 5, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-10 of 3,391

New Rome Free Tour - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (2024)

All Rome HotelsRome Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Rome
All things to do in Rome
Day Trips in Rome
RestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars