Palazzo Maffei Marescotti

Palazzo Maffei Marescotti, Rome: Address, Palazzo Maffei Marescotti Reviews: 4.5/5

Palazzo Maffei Marescotti
4.5
Historic Sites • Points of Interest & Landmarks • Architectural Buildings
About
Suggested duration
< 1 hour
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

Top ways to experience similar attractions

The area
Neighborhood: Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
With three of Rome’s most beloved piazzas within a five-minute walk of each other, the Navona/Pantheon/Campo area may be the prettiest and most picturesque area of the city. Join the beautiful throngs hanging out in cafes, boutiques, art galleries, and wine bars, or peek at a neighborhood museum or monument. If you want nonstop movida, the streets here are busy with chic bicyclists and Vespa drivers, street vendors, merchants, and locals. There is no rhyme or reason to its winding streets and there's something to see around every corner, so take pleasure in a spontaneous wander.
Best nearby
Restaurants
7,750 within 3 miles
Attractions
1,992 within 6 miles

4.5
2 reviews
Excellent
1
Very good
1
Average
0
Poor
0
Terrible
0

dapper777
Monaco32,056 contributions
Majestic. If the portal is open, sneak inside. The courtyard is very nice.
May 2021 • Friends
It is located a few steps away from Piazza Argentina.
The majestic Palazzo Maffei in via della Pigna was built around 1580 by Giacomo Della Porta on commission from Cardinal Marcantonio Maffei.
It was sold and bought numerous times, often changing owners and functions.
In 1746 the property passed to Count Orazio and Monsignor Alessandro Marescotti.
The Marescottis kept the property for more than a century, carrying out expansion works that were entrusted to architect Ferdinando Fuga.
Passing from hand to hand, in 1865 the building passed to the Banca Romana.
In 1906 the palace was purchased by the Holy See, which established the offices of the Vicariate of Rome here until 1964, which were then transferred to the palace of S. Callisto in Trastevere and then definitively to the Lateran palace: for this reason Palazzo Maffei is still referred to as " Old Vicariate ".
The portal is adorned on the lintel with a dog's head with a festoon. Characteristic are the tympanums of the windows on the three floors, triangular and curved on the noble floor, with deer heads on the second, recalling the symbol of the Maffei, which also recurs in the cornice of the building, interspersed with floral motifs.
The sixteenth-century courtyard is very interesting. On the opposite side of the entrance is a fountain, inserted in an aedicule with two pilasters on each side, constituted in the center by a white marble statue, representing the goddess Minerva.
On the first floor there is a loggia now closed, while on the second floor there are windows decorated with deer heads.
In via delle Ceste there is the other entrance whivh has also a beautiful portal.
If you are around Largo di Torre Argentina, we suggest you take a short tour starting from Via delle Ceste and continuing all around, turning right up to Via della Pigna.
If the portal is open, sneak inside.
The courtyard is very nice.
Written May 24, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Palazzo Maffei Marescotti