We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Madrid City Tour

#183 of 631 Tours in Madrid
Madrid, Spain
More
About Madrid City Tour
Madrid City Tour is the touristic bus to discover the history and emblematic monuments of Madrid. Our 'Hop on & Hop off'bus service will take you to the most important places and you will be able to stop and get on again as many times as you wish. We offer you two routes because we want to assure you accomplish your sightseeing holidays.
Read more
Open Now
Hours Today: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
See all hours
Travelers talk about
Tours and Tickets by Madrid City Tour
Overview
Visit Madrid’s top sights with a 1- or 2-day, hop-on hop-off bus ticket that lets you see the city your way. Board the double-decker, open-top bus and set off on Route One, Route Two—or both. Learn about Madrid’s history using a complimentary, onboard headset. Disembark to visit museums, landmarks, plazas, and theaters, and explore the Spanish capital using the guidebook and map provided.
1751Reviews54Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 545
  • 512
  • 267
  • 175
  • 252
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Carla Luisa Montevideo wrote a review Apr 2020
Seville, Spain8 contributions9 helpful votes
An amazing opportunity to see the city and see the most iconic places here. It is educational, fun and of course affordable.
Read more
Date of experience: May 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Nevster wrote a review Mar 2020
Swindon, United Kingdom136 contributions53 helpful votes
This is a good way to see Madrid. There are two routes, one for the historic route and one for the modern route. Route 1 is longer than route 2. Both are worth doing in one day. I'd start from Puerta del Sol. Just get a ticket from one of the kiosks in the square (i needed to pay by cash, not sure if all the kiosks accept only cash). then head for the south west corner where there are two bus stops and wait for the bus. The bus has headphones for you so you can hear the descriptions of the route. Between the info there is a cheesy music, you won't be getting that out of your head for days! You can get on and off the bus as you like, no charge. Just remember to take your free headphones with you so you can use them on the bus again later. I think this was very informative and a good way to see the city.
Read more
Date of experience: March 2020
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Tanya Mc wrote a review Feb 2020
New South Wales, Australia31 contributions45 helpful votes
What a nightmare!! Waiting times to get on the buses were heaps longer than suggested. When a bus did eventually come, it would let people off but then tell us they were to full to take more passengers. We then had to wait for the next bus to come. This happened several times. At one stop we waited 30mins. At another stop we were told to get off the bus as it was out of service & we had to wait 20mins for the next bus. We only had a 24hr pass & wasted half of our day waiting for the buses. In the end we only saw a few of the attractions as we ran out of time. So disappointed!!
Read more
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Antonio B, Gerente at Madrid City Tour
Responded Mar 2, 2020
Dear Tanya M, Thank you for your review. I am very sorry the service did not live up to your expectations, since one of our main priorities is to be able to show the beautiful town of Madrid in a comfortable and fast way for those people who have little time in the city. Thus, we try to adapt the service as much as we can to the circumstances that unfortunately exist in the city, such as the constant streets closure due to construction or the horrible traffic. For this reason you probably had to wait longer than desired at some stops. I hope you can give us a second chance on your next visit! Sincerely, Antonio B.
Read more
Relax786238 wrote a review Feb 2020
5 contributions3 helpful votes
Took the bus tour during our stay in Madrid and really enjoyed the experience. Since we were at the first departing spot early, we were the first ones on the bus, therefore nabbing the best seats on the bus, which are the second floor up front, so I was able to film a lot of videos. We got caught with some traffic on the Plaza Mayor area but that's the risk you take when you take a bus.
Read more
Date of experience: February 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Saane T wrote a review Feb 2020
Sydney, Australia27 contributions3 helpful votes
I had a 2 day pass in Feb and found it to be pretty good. I was always able to get on the bus and didn't have to wait long at all for one to show up. The commentary was a bit haphazard and disconnected so didn't really listen to it. Good way to see the city if you're new to it.
Read more
Date of experience: February 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Antonio B, Gerente at Madrid City Tour
Responded Feb 27, 2020
Dear Saane T, Thank you for your review. It is a pleasure to know you found our service a good way to see the incredible city of Madrid. However, your commentaries on the audio guide left me concerned; I will revise the descriptions given to see whether there is room for improvement. Kind regards, Antonio B.
Read more
Previous