Savill Garden

Savill Garden, Englefield Green: Hours, Address, Savill Garden Reviews: 4.5/5

Savill Garden
4.5
9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Monday
9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Sunday
10:30 AM - 4:00 PM
About
The Savill Garden is a tranquil place to discover rare plants from around the world, arranged in stunning seasonal displays. Since its creation in the 1930s, The Savill Garden has been an inspiration for all. This natural haven of beautifully designed gardens and woodland can be enjoyed by everyone, from dedicated horticulturists to those who just want to spend a relaxing day out with family or friends. The 35 acres of interconnected gardens include the Hidden Gardens, Spring Wood, the Summer Gardens, the New Zealand Garden, Summer Wood, The Glades, Autumn Wood and the Winter Beds.
Suggested duration
2-3 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours & experiences
Explore different ways to experience this place.
Popular mentions

4.5
951 reviews
Excellent
490
Very good
314
Average
87
Poor
32
Terrible
28

Susan Brown
7 contributions
Jan 2022
Great place to meet up with friends, amazing coffee and then a lovely walk around these special gardens, what could be better.
Written January 18, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Ruth M
London, UK40 contributions
Jan 2022
A perfect destination on a cold but gloriously sunny day for a group of friends who cycled from West London to hold a mini birthday party for one of the group.
The service was excellent - we were welcomed by friendly staff, glasses of water were provided for all, the food was delicious and arrived promptly. It is such a lovely place to go to and for us (we cycle twice a week) to have somewhere as welcoming as this is fantastic.
Written January 17, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Wendy B
1 contribution
Jan 2022
A beautiful day had with my 83 yearold mum on her birthday . Restaurant was lovely nice food . Service spot on . My only gripe would be £3 per hour parking so after lunch , a natter and a potter in the shop . I ve paid £9 to park . I wonder if there could be some sort of loyalty offered if you use the café .
As I would happily pop back for a coffee and a cake but before I sit down to anything its going to be £9 .
You are going to lose a lot of people who would come for a coffee in turn spend more and go in the shop as parking is too steep .
Written January 7, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for your review and we are so pleased to read that your mum had a lovely birthday and you enjoyed your visit to the restaurant. The parking charges go back into supporting the maintenance of our car parks across the Great Park. These car parks, especially on our busier days where we can indeed close, do see a lot of use and these charges help the up keep to ensure they remain in good condition. We do run a Windsor Great Park annual membership which does include free parking at The Savill Garden.
Written January 10, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

L T
London, UK23 contributions
Nov 2021 • Couples
Do they only work halfdays.... closes too early. Never open past 4.30/5pm bit daft. Expensive light show tickets.... whole place poorly conceived and thought through. Obviously run by someone without commercial experience or by a committee!
Could do MUCH better.... being open past 4pm might be a start!
Written November 12, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for your feedback which has been noted. For Trip Advisor readers, Windsor Great park and Savill Garden opening times can be found on our website. These change throughout the year based on the available sunlight. Please always check our website before you leave home.
Written November 15, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Neill B
South Ockendon, UK179 contributions
Oct 2021 • Friends
Cannot get over the stunning colours. We simply love this place and never disappoints.

Will def be back in the spring to see the bulbs.
Written October 25, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Lynda C
Wokingham, UK496 contributions
Oct 2021
We are members at Savill Gardens so have been a few times. But now there is a sculpture trail of 63 items. Do pick up a free map so you can trace where they are as it is a large area.
They are very good - and you can purchase them too.
It takes you on a good route through the gardens which are still beautiful in October.
Highly recommended.
Written October 11, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

KayMarie
5 contributions
Aug 2021
I visit regularly throughout the year to look at the different flower displays and its really nice going when they have art in the garden and theatre evenings. My favourite is the rose garden but there's also some other really interesting things in there and I really like the green house. In spring there's normally baby geese or ducklings and different flowers come out at different times of the year. The magnolias are really beautiful when they bloom and there's areas that fill up with these funny little ancient daffodils and crocuses in spring. It's nice and calming to walk through with your family or go on a romantic stroll around or just a walk and talk with your friend. I would advise people with children that its not a playground though, I've seen so many groups of children running around trampling garden beds and being disruptive and it always ends in tears. Go there for peace and tranquility and to breath in the flowers and fresh air.
Written October 6, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Will1965472
Egham, UK26 contributions
Oct 2021
We love Savill Garden. We walk the dog there almost weekly and they have an outdoor terrace which is dog friendly where you can get a snack or lunch which is great. Also, the walks up and around the polo fields are beautiful and the gardens themselves (where you cant take dogs) are stunning especially in the summer.

There is also an awesome little Argentinian cafe up near the polo fields which is there during the summer which is another awesome little stop off point. If you live locally you can buy an annual membership and for us this is paid back by not having to pay for parking alone throughout the year.
Written October 6, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

A Secret
21 contributions
Sep 2021 • Friends
Hmm a bit of a mixed bag - definitely not customer focused. Would I go again, I don't think so! And if you knew me, you'd be surprised, as I don't think I've ever not want to go to a garden. But, read on and judge for yourself if it's for you or not. I imagine my experience won't happen to everyone.
Brief tips- toilets and cafe only at the entrance. No refreshments or picnics allowed in the garden.

The good.
A big carpark. Price is included if you go pay to go to the garden. Tickets are validated inside.
Toilets inside the main building were clean and plentiful.
The garden is nice, a bit formal for my liking, but still had some real beauties in it. Such as the beautiful, huge; Caster plants, Tetrapanex (rice paper tree) and ancient trees.

The challenges/what could easily be improved.
Signs to the venue, randomly disappeared on route.
No signs in the carpark, or information on where the entrance to the gardens are.
The narrow metal barrier to the garden, was completely unnecessary, as a staff member occasionally let people in and out of the garden on production of the ticket.
The grass - cut within a millimetre (I doubt they've heard about the serious decline in insects/biodiversity).
The constant (very noisy) ride on lawn mowers (around 4 at the same time) and hedge trimmers- they were in constant use and everywhere. We were there for four hours. So, they could have used some noodle and thought about customer experience.
What I really too exception to, was the lawn mowers ruining a visit for two young women, one with a young baby. It was awful to see.

The coffee incident - The Rules for Refreshments/Picnics.
DO NOT TAKE REFRESHMENTS OR PICNICS INTO THE GARDEN.
I will try to sum up my experience.
I went into the garden and I was told the only cafe and toilets are at the beginning. But upon entering the garden, my throat was a bit dry so I went to the cafe, to be told by staff, you can only enter via the outside. When getting there I was told that they don't do takeaway coffee.
And I needed to go to the entrance for takeaway coffee. After queueing for around 15 minutes, only behind one person..the coffee machine took a long time.
When I walked back towards the garden, my elderly mother was rudely accosted by a staff member. Sternly telling her in no uncertain terms that she could not take her takeaway coffee, through to the garden. Also, relaying other rules that they had.
... that you could either sit in full sun next to the carpark, or to the back of the garden center, near the building works. No picnics etc etc
This was iny opinion completely unacceptable.
Firstly, if there were this many RULES then have them clearly displayed for all visitors.
Secondly, staff need customer service training.
Thirdly, allow people to have a coffee in the garden. It's not like hooligans would go to a garden.
This made us feel unwelcome, unjustly treated and especially during an infrequent outing for my mother, during a pandemic..an awful experience.
Written September 25, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback about your recent visit to The Savill Garden. We are delighted to read that on the whole, you enjoyed the content of the Garden. For Trip Advisor readers who are researching before they visit, information about the Garden opening and closing times as well as the Garden rules can be found on our website at www.windsorgreatpark.co.uk/openingtimes. You will also have these on your Garden Ticket confirmation if you book online. We will be adding a finger post to our signage in The Savill Garden car park to direct customers to The Savill Garden. We are sorry that your visit was disturbed by the Gardeners. You will appreciate that the only time that they can work on the Garden is during daylight hours. This work is continual, and as a result, our customers are delighted every time they visit and only too happy to recommend a visit to such a beautiful Garden. In all that we do, we consider the environment and biodiversity of the Garden, the Great Park and Forest. We are disappointed to read that you feel that this is not one of our priorities. More information about Conservation and Sustainability can be found on our website. The Grab and Go at the entrance of The Savill Garden Visitor Centre does have a sign to say that drinks and food are not permitted in the Garden. We are sorry that you did not see this and will review its placement to see if this can be improved. As you have mentioned tables are available for you to use, and drinks and food are permitted in the Great Park. Your feedback about the approach from our staff has been shared and will be reviewed. We do hope that you will consider your return to the Garden, now with the knowledge of what to expect ... you will have a more memorable and relaxing day out.
Written September 28, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

kentishbelle2016
Basingstoke, UK58 contributions
Aug 2021
First visit for my adult daughter and me. Driving directions online do not match up to signage etc found in area, it was most definitely lacking. Wick Lane is long, first sign we saw was for members only entrance, no signs at all after that, should we drive around the bend in the road or not, nothing to tell you where to go. We did and eventually came upon another sign at the entrance, but it didnt say it was the entrance!!!

Once at the carpark we wanted to go into Windsor Great Park before Savill Garden. The finger posts said Cow Pond half a mile and Deer Park one mile....what!!! You've got to be joking, the Deer Park was at least two miles away. When we got back to enter gardens, fitbit said we'd walked nearly five miles already!!! Directions around WGP also need improving and online map was not to any sort of scale.

The Savill Garden is lovely, I'd say allow much more than two hours, you can get around fairly easily and quickly but you may miss things out in the middle, so detour off, go round again - we only found Hidden Gardens by chance.

The Summer Garden with its herbaceous border was absolutely lovely, so many vivid colours but I think some deadheading needs to happen to keep it tidy! Loved the way grasses were used in many different ways, clumps, swathes. Generally well tended and gardeners busy trimming Yew hedges at our visit.

We particularly wanted to see the temperate house as online it said it would be closed for maintenance from 30th August, we visited on 26th and it was already closed - it would help if you kept your website updated, this is important for visitors travelling a distance.

Not terribly busy at the time we went, but yes, young children were being dragged around who were really not interested. One couple in particular with a daughter of about 4 or 5, she was making so much noise it made your ears bleed, shouting at the top of her voice ALL the time. Then the Dad crept up on her and made her scream like a banshee - some of us came for a peaceful wander to enjoy the flowers, parents please remember this.

I can imagine different areas of planting look wonderful in different seasons. I consider the entrance fee quite high so I'm glad we used the Gardeners World 2 for 1 offer, making it more affordable for us. And getting free parking was a bonus, thank you.

Had a wander around the Plant Shop, most were very expensive, but small 9cm pots were much more realistic. Main shop sells very upper class gifts/items, no pencils and sharpeners here!! Toilets had very spacious cubicles and all beautifully clean, but very hot.
Written August 27, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for your feedback, we're pleased to read you enjoyed your visit and enjoyed much of the colour and scenery that The Savill Garden and Windsor Great Park has to offer. We are sorry to hear about the difficulty you had arriving to The Savill Garden car park. Signs along Wick Road direct vehicles straight ahead around the bend and along Wick Lane. Outside the car park there is then a sign designating entry for The Savill Garden Visitor Centre. Signage around the Great Park are kept to a minimum to ensure we can retain the beauty and views for everyone to enjoy. There is a downloadable map available on our website as well as printed copies available from The Savill Garden Visitor Centre. We are sorry the Temperate House was closed on your visit. Our scheduled works did take place on 30 August, but occasionally short ad hoc maintenance work is carried out throughout the year, and unfortunately this took place on the day of your visit. The Gardens do indeed look great throughout the seasons and would always recommend returning to enjoy the variety. You are correct, parking is free at The Savill Garden car park with paid entry into The Savill Garden. We are always reviewing our shop products and will soon be selling our winter and Christmas items.
Written September 13, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 935
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing