We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Neighborhoods
Neighborhoods
Get directions
Address: Av. Francesc Ferrer i Guardia 13 | Parc de Montjuïc, 08038 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
+34 935 08 63 00
Website
Today
9:00 am - 4:00 am
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 9:00 am - 12:00 am
Mon 9:00 am - 8:00 pm
Tue - Thu 9:00 am - 12:00 am
Fri 9:00 am - 3:00 am
Sat 9:00 am - 4:00 am
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Fee: Yes
Description:

The Poble Espanyol is an architectural museum placed in one of the most...

The Poble Espanyol is an architectural museum placed in one of the most emblematic areas of Barcelona, just a few meters far from the Fountains of Montjuic. It is one of the biggest attractions of the city because of a single set featuring about contemporary art, architecture, crafts and gastronomy in a quiet, safe and peaceful environment.

The museum consists of 117 full-scale buildings, which make a real Iberian village with streets, houses, parks, theater, school, restaurants and artisan workshops.

read more
Book In Advance
More Info
$15.37*
and up
Poble Espanyol Entrance Ticket in Barcelona with Optional Video Guide
More Info
$76.84*
and up
Poble Espanyol Private Tour in Barcelona
More Info
$63.67*
and up
Barcelona Half Day Guided Panoramic Bus and Walking Tour

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 1,919 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 232
    Excellent
  • 231
    Very good
  • 148
    Average
  • 101
    Poor
  • 86
    Terrible
A visit to Poble Espanyol

Finally Poble Espanyol is a kind of amusement park and not an architectural collection or an open air museum of the Spanish architecture. I think most people are looking at like... read more

3 of 5 bubblesReviewed yesterday
dimosfiotakis
,
Athens, Greece
Add Photo Write a Review

1,919 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 798: English reviews
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW

Finally Poble Espanyol is a kind of amusement park and not an architectural collection or an open air museum of the Spanish architecture. I think most people are looking at like just like an amusement park. Partly accesible to hanticap persons.

Helpful?
Thank dimosfiotakis
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This park reminds me of a low-tech predecessor to Disney’s EPCOT center. Here every part of Spain is represented in architecture and shops and food places that maintain the theme of each region. Along the way there are some great artworks, and on weekends (I was there on a Sunday) festivals with family-friendly performers and families themselves in abundance. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jerome K
Grand Bend, Canada
Level Contributor
313 reviews
273 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I was surprised at the number of reviewers who were disappointed with the Poble Espanyol. I understand some of the criticisms; although it is an included stop on the HOHO bus (which is how I got there) getting there by foot from the centre of town would certainly be a trek, especially since it's uphill all the way. I found... More 

Helpful?
Thank John L
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
96 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

On Monday afternoon when we visited this place it was almost empty and many of the houses were closed. Without an audioguide it would have been a disappointment, now one learned about various parts and houses of the country. Our first thoughts were that they want you to buy a ticket for buying more from the artesans shops. That might... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pasaatituuli
Menton, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

In a warm day of september I vizited this place and I didn't regret at all. After a few days walking from museum to museum to visit and to see all the interesting places from Barcelona, I founded this quiet and peaceful place. Here you can find a lot of local craftmen and you can by local merchandise.

Helpful?
Thank cotosilv
PobleEspanyol, Departamento comunicación at Poble Espanyol, responded to this review

Dear cotosilv, We are very grateful to hear that you had a nice time at Poble Espanyol. Kind regards, More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

They charge you to go in and buy more stuff. It was dead empty when we went and it was extremely disappointing. If I could get my money back, I most certainly would. Don't waste your time or money unless you want to buy direct from the artisans.

Helpful?
Thank Summer B
PobleEspanyol, Departamento comunicación at Poble Espanyol, responded to this review

Dear Summer B, We apologize for not living up to your expectations, probably because we didn’t properly convey to you the features of the enclosure: Spanish architecture, contemporary art, live handcrafting and from this summer on, new interactive and immersive installations so that visitors can get to know as well traditions and landscapes. Thank you for your visit and remarks.... More 

Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
101 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I was really disappointed in this. The people at the hotel told us about this. It cost us $14 a person to get in and was basically shopping. It was quite a distance from our hotel so quite a bit in taxi fare to get to and from there. It is a "museum" of the various Barcelona architecture. I guess... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michele S
PobleEspanyol, Departamento comunicación at Poble Espanyol, responded to this review

Dear Michele S, We feel very bad for not being able to meet your expectations. From this summer onwards we’ve been working on proving our customers a more real experience by settling some new interactive installations so that they can get to know the Spanish architecture and culture besides the contemporary art and craftworks. Thank you very much for your... More 

UK
Level Contributor
68 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Spent a few hours walking through the streets, browsing the shops and enjoying lunch in one of the cafes. A nice place to visit if you are only visiting Spain for the first time. Otherwise of course you can see everything that's inside the park, outside the park in the various small Spanish towns and villages. So it's a little... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paulade
PobleEspanyol, Departamento comunicación at Poble Espanyol, responded to this review

Dear Paulade, Firstly we would like to thank you for your visit and useful advice. We are working on better transmitting the features of the enclosure so that visitors can get an overview of the Spanish architecture, art, craftwork and culture in just few hours. Best regards, More 

Paris, France
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went there on the recommendation of a friend, and let me tell you, we probably won't speak to that friend again :-) First off, google maps told us it was a 30 min walk from our hotel on the Rambla. More like 2 hours (granted we had 2 toddlers in tow). It's all uphill, and when you think you're... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank md9512016
PobleEspanyol, Departamento de comunicación at Poble Espanyol, responded to this review

Dear md9512016, We apologize that your experience at Poble Espanyol was not as pleasant as expected. Even though the enclosure is near the city center, it might be a mistake on Google Maps because it definitely takes a bit longer than stated. We are sorry for that. We already let them know. Thank you very much for your useful remarks.... More 

The Netherlands
Level Contributor
136 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This place is great and shows the different architecture used throughout Spain. It was created back in 1929 for the Barcelona Internationl Exhibition when they apparently built the place in 16 months. Funny how Sagrada Familia is still under construction one might think. The village is not inhabited but is used for various events thoughout the year and must be... More 

Helpful?
Thank familyoffduty
PobleEspanyol, Departamento comunicación at Poble Espanyol, responded to this review

Dear familyoffduty, Many thanks for your post. We are glad you spent a nice time at Poble Espanyol. Best regards, More 

Travelers who viewed Poble Espanyol also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Poble Espanyol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Poble Espanyol and other visitors
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Poble Espanyol staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?

Staying in Montjuic

Neighborhood Profile
Montjuic
Beyond the four columns standing guard at the Plaça Espanya, beyond even the extravagant and colorful fountains guiding your way up the boulevard, stands the impressive and towering structure of the Palau Nacional, the national museum. At this very spot in front of the cascades of the central fountain, Freddie Mercury and Montserrat Caballe gave the performance of their lifetimes to welcome the 1992 Olympic Games to this magnificent city. And true to its anticipation, the games transformed the city, reimagining the mountain of Montjuic with the development of an arena, stadium, and many other sporting facilities that are open to visitors year-round. Surrounding the adjacent side of the plaza are well-established hotels catering to business guests and a shopping mall transformed out of a historic bullfighting arena.
Explore this neighborhood