Poble Espanyol
Poble Espanyol
3.5
10:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Monday
10:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Tuesday
10:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Wednesday
10:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Thursday
10:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Friday
10:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Sunday
10:00 AM - 12:00 AM
About
Poble Espanyol in Barcelona was constructed for the World Exposition of 1929 with the intention of demonstrating the architecture and essence of the Spanish culture. It was not so much a question of recreating symbolic buildings, but rather of recreating a traditional Iberian town that represents the buildings, squares and streets of different places in Spain. Although the initial plan was to disassemble it after the event, its huge public success and critical acclaim resulted in it being maintained until today as one of the most attractive things to do in Barcelona. A few metres away from the Magic Fountain of Montjuïc, at Poble Espanyol you can observe popular architectural richness and discover the culture, traditions, scenery, folklore and gastronomy of the different regions of Spain through five immersive experiences that will awake each of your senses. Art enthusiasts must visit Fran Daurel Museum: a private collection of more than 300 works by leading figures of contemporary art, including Picasso, Miró, Dalí and Chillida. Entrance to the museum is included in general admission. Open 365 days a year, Poble Espanyol is one of the most important craft centres in Spain where you can purchase unique items and admire live the work of artisans who work with different materials, including glass, leather, textiles, ceramics and jewellery, among others. This is a unique opportunity to discover all of Spain in one relaxing space!
Duration: 1-2 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Admission tickets
from $14.71
All you need to step foot in the door.
Top ways to experience Poble Espanyol
The area
Address
Neighborhood: Sants-Montjuíc
How to get there
  • Espanya • 8 min walk
  • Magòria-La Campana • 10 min walk
Reach out directly
See what travelers are saying
  • Hermie
    Edmond, Oklahoma1,763 contributions
    4.0 of 5 bubbles
    Great visit, using the hop on hop off bus.
    My husband and I stopped here yesterday, September 12th, while on the hop on hop off tour bus. This is a great place to check. Great history and clean restrooms , plenty of restaurants. And it wasn't very busy. If you don't have a ticket , you can buy them at the entrance and get a discount if you show that you have hop on hop off tour bus ticket. Cool place to visit.
    Visited September 2023
    Traveled as a couple
    Written September 12, 2023
  • CAGrapeGrower
    Healdsburg, California188 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Recommended
    A very interesting place. A compilation of buildings to represent Spain in the 1930s. Very well done. Great, explanatory museum. (Also containing many restaurants and shops, which we skipped, as looking touristy.) Family place, also. 1-2 hours.
    Visited October 2023
    Traveled as a couple
    Written November 23, 2023
  • baxter103
    Denver, Colorado183 contributions
    4.0 of 5 bubbles
    An Entertaining Way to Experience Some Iberian Culture
    Though Poble Espanyol was never a true Iberian village but was built to represent one, it has been a part of Barcelona for almost 100 years and we certainly enjoyed our visit. We were there specifically to see a flamenco show but we did do a little exploring and my daughter found a lovely pair of earrings to remind her of our trip to Barcelona. As an architect, I appreciated the examples of vernacular architecture from the past. It is beautiful place to wander for an afternoon and has a handful of shops that sell much higher quality merchandise (that I believe is locally made) than what you would find at a souvenir shop. Though we were there for a specific show, they also have craft workshops and festival events as well. Definitely worth a visit.
    Visited June 2023
    Traveled with family
    Written January 27, 2024
  • Megan
    16 contributions
    4.0 of 5 bubbles
    Would prefer more unique shops not stuff you can buy in the Center
    Enjoyed this little village, some lovely unique shops but sadly had some of the normal touristy souvenir shops/items to purchase which I wasn’t expecting. I expected all unique/handmade items. Some places were closed/being refurbed but understand it’s out of the main season for tourists in February. Stunning view points also of the city. The art there was interesting. The Fiesta experience was good and showed you history of events throughout Spain.
    Visited February 2024
    Traveled solo
    Written February 22, 2024
  • Karen S
    2 contributions
    3.0 of 5 bubbles
    Disappointing. Basically pay an expensive entrance fee to a number of small shops and bars/restaurants
    Looked interesting on web site, but nothing much happening, even the art gallery was closed. Didn’t help that it rained heavily and everywhere flooded. Total lack of ambiance and disappointing for the entrance fee. Might be a different experience at height of season.
    Visited March 2024
    Traveled as a couple
    Written March 31, 2024
  • Jonathan C
    Tacoma, Washington59 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    For architecture buffs, yet another Barcelona treat
    This collection of buildings all seamlessly melded into one village was, for us a lot of fun. Some of the architecture is amazing, even for Barcelona. There are several areas, each representing a region of Spain, a sprinkling of artisans, and a fair number of restaurants, as well as a museum from a private collection. The museum was largely abstract work with some Miro and Picasso prints and ceramics--not much to our taste but YMMV. There are great views of the city and the streets are broken up by little squares.
    Visited April 2024
    Traveled as a couple
    Written April 2, 2024
  • Fred E
    64 contributions
    4.0 of 5 bubbles
    All regions of Spain in one attraction
    Good place to spend a few hours. It is nestled up by the Olympic park, National Art museum and parks. It is a replica of several different regions within Spain, and is very cultural informative. The price is very reasonable. Several shops and many places to eat. There is a Beer Garden they are preparing for that begins towards the end of April and goes into May.
    Visited April 2024
    Traveled as a couple
    Written April 6, 2024
These reviews are the subjective opinion of Tripadvisor members and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

3.5
3.5 of 5 bubbles2,988 reviews
Excellent
818
Very good
856
Average
567
Poor
375
Terrible
375

Jelena
Niksic, Montenegro51 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020 • Friends
We visited this place in February so there weren't lot of tourists. Place is really amazing, speechless. Atmosphere is lovely, streets are beautiful. Tickets is a little bit expensive, we paid 14 euros per person.
Written February 7, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Jelenank, We appreciate your visit and words. Thank you very much for sharing your experience. Best regards,
Written February 10, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

joaniebinedinburgh
Edinburgh669 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2021 • Couples
Only came because we needed some lunch. I’d heard you didn’t have to pay an entrance fee if you had a reservation, but couldn’t get any of the places to answer our call so we had to pay to get in.
We had a pleasant enough lunch at Albi, but the place had a bit of an institutional feel as if it was geared towards big groups. We walked around and the buildings and concept was nice, but majority of the shops and things were shut.

The Fiesta video thing was ok I suppose but there were some drunk people in with us and it was a little scary. The modern art gallery has some Picassos but I did resent on entrance being told it was free, when no it really wasn’t after the excessive entry fee.

It looked like there was some sort of modern music thing happening later in the day, so I guess they have decided to diversify.

Much better things to spend your money and time on in Barcelona.
Written November 29, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear visitor, We take good note of your comments in order to offer our visitors a better service. We thank you for your visit to the Poble Espanyol and hope to welcome you on another occasion to show you all the corners of the site. Best regards,
Written February 14, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

paul n
Towaco, NJ41 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2021
This is a unique enclave behind the national museum. If you are smart about it, you can hit the museum in the morning and then visit this and start with lunch at one of the many restaurants. There are also shops scattered around with many different hand made crafts, ranging in price from 5 to 200 euros. I imagine some people are put off having to pay an entrance fee to what is essentially a shopping area. However, there are some free attractions. There is a modern art museum that probably takes 30-40 minutes to walk through and a cool video experience chronicling the different festivals around the country. There are also a couple of giant slides and a water spraying area for children.
Written August 15, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear pauln3630, We appreciate your visit and words. Thank you very much for sharing your experience. Best regards,
Written February 16, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Paul Ioannidis
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 • Couples
Worst invested 14 euros and worst spent time in barcelona, the place is dead, most of the locals closed, buildings look made of paper, it is an awful fake caricature of Spain, even offensive. On top of that a brown giant rat appeared in one of the constructions we entered. Do not go there, you are welcome!
Written January 31, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear 414pauli, We are terribly sorry to hear that your visit was not as pleasant as expected. We take good note of all your remarks to improve our visitor’s experience. Best regards,
Written February 3, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

permia
Ireland62,181 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2023
Beginning at the end in the Plaza Mayor that contains a great Town Hall within which is a fascinating account of how it all began.

It traces the undertaking in the late 1920s by a photographer and others travelling throughout Spain photographing villages, abodes and more. Via a multitude of black and white photos is told the history of the origins of the Poble, opening in time for the 1929 Exhibition.

Over a couple of hours we walked through Spanish heritage, admiring the reconstructed streetscapes and abodes. A Contemporary Art Museum, included in admission ticket, has a fabulous collection of the greats of modern art, Miro, Picasso just some included.

A fine sculpture park has absorbing creations. Then on to the Monastery, representing aspects of about six Catalonian monasteries. A chapel with frescoes, cloister and Scriptorium are great. From here are wonderful vistas across the cityscape.

A 9 minute audiovisual on Spanish Fiestas is quite interesting, emphasising once again their centrality to the celebration of life in this marvellous country.
Written March 13, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Andrew C
United Kingdom1,578 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2022
We visited the village around 21 years ago, in those days we can't recall paying an admission fee and it was a thriving place full of people. Now we paid 14 euros to get in to a place that has simulated buildings of different parts of Spain and a few film shows. We watched the Fiesta film, it would have been grerat shown on a screen in front of you, not great when shown on two walls simultaneously only 3 meteres in front of you, you have to sit there to appreciate how bad the viewing angles are. As for the shops, most were shut, those that were open either sold the usual tat or had been advertised as artisan workshops, its not an artisan workshop when you watch them at work on a tv screen. Save your time and money go elswhere,
Written June 28, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Andrew C, We are sorry to hear that your visit to Poble Espanyol was not as you expected. We will take your helpful comments into account in order to better convey to our visitors the architectural, artistic and cultural value of the site and thus make the experience more complete. Best regards,
Written September 20, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Delia-Maria A
London, UK4 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2022
Hadn't been here since I was very young. Booked the tickets in advance (the online discount didn't actually work on the website so we paid full whack at 14 euros each). This doesn't seem like a lot but when you get there and see that there is essentially NOTHING then 42 euros between three is a lot. You are giving your money away if you bother with this. The architecture is nice to look at but that's where the positives end. None of the artisan workshops were open and there were only a handful of the shops open. Waste of time and money. DO NOT BOTHER
Written August 8, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear deliamariaa2018, Thank you very much for your visit and for your comments, which undoubtedly help us to improve. We regret that your visit was not satisfactory and although we cannot make up for this, we would like to explain to you the value of our premises, which we were unable to convey during your visit.
Written September 20, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Ιωάννα
Korydallos, Greece21 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2022 • Couples
What a waste of time especially when you have a few days in Barcelona. We went Sunday morning and although the lady in the ticket booth told us that everything was open inside they vast majority were closed! We regret paying this amount and loosing so much time there. In the few open the persons that were working/ craftsmen were not so happy seeing visitors at that time.
Written November 27, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear visitor, We are sorry for not living up to your expectations especially because of the establishments’ schedule. We will stand over the compliance of the timetables so that our visitors can fully enjoy their visit. Thank you very much for your visit and for sharing your views as they are really useful for us to improve. Best regards,
Written January 24, 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Annette B
London, England, United Kingdom156 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2023
I was alone in this mind-blowing exhibition of Spanish Architecture! Having travelled over Spain and seen quite a bit it was really interesting to see just how each region build, the different stone, the metal window bars, the arches and decorations. I was entranced by the beauty and loved my time here. I can imagine with a coach load of tourists the beauty and serenity would be lost, so go early!!
Written January 27, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

dminorengineer
San Diego, CA10 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2022 • Family
Empty and closed.
I was very excited to see this Spanish Village and a representation of Spanish culture, however everything was closed. There were two restaurants open. The one we ate at was very tasty and the woman was really nice and attentive. However, her and the place next two her were the only two places to eat. Only a couple shops were open. I was expecting a bustling area with artisans and crafts, but all we found were closed doors with lights off.
They advertise a lovely area, but it fell super flat and did not meet any expectations.
Written August 3, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear dminorengineer, We take good note of your comments in order to offer our visitors a better service. We thank you for your visit to the Poble Espanyol and hope to welcome you on another occasion to show you all the corners of the site. Best regards,
Written September 20, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 1,179
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

Poble Espanyol - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (2024)

All Barcelona HotelsBarcelona Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Barcelona
All things to do in Barcelona
Day Trips in Barcelona
RestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars