We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Observatorio del Teide

525 Reviews

Observatorio del Teide

525 Reviews
Get the full experience and book a tour
Recommended
Our most popular tours and activities
Nearby Experiences
Other experiences in Tenerife
Full view
Location
Contact
Tf-514 Km 1, 38200 San Cristobal de La Laguna, Tenerife Spain
Get to know the area
Banana Plantation and a Farm by Tuk Tuk from Costa Adeje
Tuk Tuk Tours

Banana Plantation and a Farm by Tuk Tuk from Costa Adeje

41 reviews
The Caldera del Rey is a vast, shallow crater with banana groves and protected parkland—one of Tenerife’s natural highlights—but it lies a bit beyond walking distance from nearby towns. This tour takes you from Puerto Colon to the Caldera del Rey monument via tuk-tuk—a small, fun three-wheeled vehicle—for a guided walk in a banana plantation and farm. End the tour with a stop in a farm shop for a smoothie made with local products.
$22.15 per adult
525Reviews7Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 268
  • 139
  • 54
  • 33
  • 31
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
rockchickNorthWales wrote a review Jan 2020
Wrexham, United Kingdom171 contributions72 helpful votes
We booked the tour on line for the last day of our holiday , we hired a car and drove 2 hours from the South of the island, it was hard to find as the first Road was closed off but eventually we found the right place and waited. The cloud was thick and some drizzle, the guide came to the gate and said they would like to cancel due to the cloud cover, drizzle and said the temperature was -15 and we wouldn’t see much. We asked if we could wait and see if conditions improved but the lady said that a decision needed to be made immediately, we begrudgingly all cancelled there was about 12 of us. As we drove back down the mountain the clouds did clear and it was a beautiful day. Very sad to miss what could have been a great excursion.
Read more
Date of experience: January 2020
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from ClienteVolcano, Responsable de Comunidades at Observatorio del Teide
Responded Jan 15, 2020
Hello, we are sorry that your visit was cancelled due adverse weather conditions.
Read more
Totems J wrote a review Jan 2020
Paris, France46 contributions53 helpful votes
The views were great. But without any actual visit of the solar telescopes that are the specificity of the observatory, and with guides who know very little about them, this visit is of little worth. The demonstration was too long. The observing telescopes had too small magnification, the H-alpha filter was inadequate and impossible to focus. Factual errors were found in the guide's answers to questions. In short, this visit really feels improvised to give people something for their money, but any person who has visited the Roque de Los Muchachos Observatory, or with an interest in astronomy, will be disappointed.
Read more
Date of experience: January 2020
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from ClienteVolcano, Responsable de Comunidades at Observatorio del Teide
Responded Jan 15, 2020
Thank you for your review. We truly appreciate you letting you us know about your concerns. They have been addressed with our team.
Read more
mike l wrote a review Jan 2020
London, United Kingdom62 contributions38 helpful votes
We booked on line for 3pm, as nearby walking we arrived at 2.15 instead of the recommended 2.30. The first entrance was closed by a cable, the second said no entry. We therefore drove further along the road which eventually was a Spanish defence area. We turned around and were going to drive back to the main road to look for other entrances when we saw 2 other cars at the second of the closed entrances. They were waiting for the tour. There was no notice to say, wait here for the next tour, that would have helped. Many other cars were doing what we did. When someone eventually came, they said 7 signed up people had not turned up, quite likely they came early and gave up. The tour started off badly as we were spoken to outside for 30 mins at 4 degrees with a biting wind. The rest of the tour was better though we were all frozen by then. The guide was French and whilst his English was ok a native speaker would have been able to explain better. The location was interesting but spoiled by the poor organisation. Overall poor value for money.
Read more
Date of experience: January 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from ClienteVolcano, Responsable de Comunidades at Observatorio del Teide
Responded Jan 15, 2020
Hello, we are sorry that you couldnt enjoy the activity. We truly appreciate you letting you us know about your concerns. They have been addressed with our team.
Read more
Kathrinebt wrote a review Dec 2019
4 contributions3 helpful votes
Our appointment got canceled an hour before due to over booking even though we had made an reservation the day before. We had already driven an hour when we got the call - really unprofessional and bad service for a place like this.
Read more
Date of experience: December 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from ClienteVolcano, Responsable de Comunidades at Observatorio del Teide
Responded Jan 15, 2020
Hello, we are sorry that your booking got cancelled. Kind regards.
Read more
245olegv wrote a review Nov 2019
Madrid, Spain2,602 contributions162 helpful votes
+1
This observatory is an international venture with many countries participating. The terminal reverse made Tenerife a unique place like Hawaii or Acatama observatories. This place is focused on the observation of Sun, but also forms part of international experiments. If you like science or just curious- it’s place for you.
Read more
Date of experience: November 2019
Helpful
Share
Previous
Frequently Asked Questions about Observatorio del Teide