Hammam Al Andalus Granada
Arab Baths • Hammams & Turkish Baths
Read more
10:00 AM - 11:45 PM
Monday
10:00 AM - 11:45 PM
Tuesday
10:00 AM - 11:45 PM
Wednesday
10:00 AM - 11:45 PM
Thursday
10:00 AM - 11:45 PM
Friday
10:00 AM - 11:45 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 11:45 PM
Sunday
10:00 AM - 11:45 PM
Write a review
About
As in its origin, the Arab baths are made up three spaces created by water pools at different temperatures and which give their name to the hot, warm and cold rooms. Each client is free to choose their own route through these spaces while respecting our team´s guidelines for use in order to enjoy an optimun experience of tradition.The route, which is accompained by Andalusian music, is completed with the steam room, the relaxation room - where clients can enjoy a typical tea - and the hot stone room, in which they can receive a massage or Ritual of their choice.Our clients feel transported in time and allow themselves to be guided on a journey through the exotic sensuallity of the mythical Al Andalus. Upon leaving, the Alhambra greets them only a few metres away with a vision that rounds off their experience of the past.
Suggested duration
1-2 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours & experiences
Explore different ways to experience this place.

Top ways to experience Hammam Al Andalus Granada and nearby attractions

Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

4.5
2,911 reviews
Excellent
1,843
Very good
689
Average
205
Poor
109
Terrible
65

reawakenadventure
59 contributions
May 2022
I've gone to thermal spas in Budapest, Reykjavik, and other places around the world, but never experienced a hammam until now. Fantastic experience. I booked the journey with 30 min massage. When you arrive, you wash your hands ceremonially (get perfumed soap, a bowl is placed in your lap, and the attendant pours water over your hands.). Then you're guided to the appropriate dressing room. Change into your swimwear and go into the antechamber. The spa limits the number of people in the spa for each 2 hour session, so it's not crowded at all. The hostess explains the suggested bathing method, and takes you into the entire place. There are hot, medium, cold pools along with a steam room. Also a resting room with mint tea. Guests are asked not to speak much or loudly. If you've booked a massage, at some point during the 2-hour journey, a staff member escorts you to the massage room. It was a blissful 2 hours.
Written May 31, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear reawakenadventure. First of all thank you for taking some time to share your experience, we are glad to know that we lived up to your expectations. We work so that our travelers receive the best welcome, feel comfortable, safe in a space of peace and tranquility where hospitality is paramount, that is why we have the figure of host at the time of their arrival or host, which accompanies our traveler and takes care of anything he may need. we hope to see you soon. Greetings
Written June 2, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Barcelona-Madrid
Barcelona, Spain46 contributions
May 2022
One of the most beautiful hammams in Spain. Customer service, cleanliness of the premises and logistics were all excellent. Book the Spring ritual (if you are still in time to catch it), especially if you need to nurture your sensitive self: it is a journey through the senses unlike anything I have experienced before. Not knowing exactly what to expect actually helps you surrender and live it to the fullest. And you will have your personal guide to accompany you throughout. I will not spoil it by giving away the details, but rest assured that you will experience the best aspects of the various treatments the hammam has to offer. Go for the first morning turn if you can: you will access the hammam 40 minutes beforehand, and will have the place to yourself for half an hour and that in itself is priceless.
Written May 29, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
dear Barcelona-Madrid, first of all we appreciate the time you have dedicated to tell us about your experience. We are excited to know that we lived up to your expectations, your words motivate us to continue working on creating unique and emotional experiences, to live them through the senses. Thank you for your discretion in recounting the experience without revealing the details, so that this experience does not lose its magic. We are waiting for you at the next station or at any other time with another of our services. See you soon, greetings.
Written June 3, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Stefan G
Washington DC, DC995 contributions
May 2021
Paid for a 30 minute massage and the 1.5 hour time in the various pools/baths. Upon entering, you're given little bootie-like covers for your shoes, though you are barefoot when you exit the changing area and head to the baths. You're given a wristband to identify what services you're entitled to, e.g. baths, massage, etc. Toilets, showers, hair-dryer, swimsuit spin-dryer, towel, locker, all available for your use.

The place smelled great, the various temperatures of the baths was nice, and the Staff were courteous. The massage was good but not the best.

Prices reasonable. Overall an enjoyable experience. The Staff keeps the place quiet, though there are some people who continue to be loud and ruin what should otherwise be a tranquil, relaxing experience.
Written June 6, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear 355stefang, Thank you for sharing your opinion. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your experience in our Hammam. We are looking forward to see you again. Kind regards,
Written September 29, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Margaret
New York City, NY18 contributions
Apr 2022
Absolutely beautiful space and just what we needed after days of travel.

If you've been to others hammams in say Turkey or parts of the Middle East, this is different. It's co-ed, everyone wears bathing suits and there are not the traditional faucets of hot and cold water. Instead, you move between hot, medium, and cold water pools and a steam room on your own. We were there during a really busy time. With so many people coming in and out that it wasn't immediately relaxing.

However, we did the Midra 45 (15 minute scrub + 30 minute massage) and it was perfect. I was in that limbo between sleep and wake. We felt blissful after that and spent (what we thought) was a little more time in the pools and then realized we'd been there for over 2 hours! Time just passed so quickly.
Written May 3, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear mtr2116, first of all thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. For us it is essential that our clients enjoy relaxation and can disconnect from day to day. We fulfill the indicated capacity for it and there is a responsible person so that silence and tranquility are respected. The bath lasts an hour and a half including the massage time, but whenever possible we try that our clients with longer massages can enjoy a little more bath time. We are glad to know that this made you finally enjoy the experience 100%. Here we wait for you when you want to repeat. Greetings.
Written June 11, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Alexandre D
Paris, France27 contributions
Jul 2021
We went to the arabic bath with my wife 10 years ago. We decided to return this summer and nothing had changed: it was still the same magical feeling.

Such a great moment of relaxation. We definitely recommend the place.
Written August 2, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Escape6635
Expat, Asia1 contribution
If you have never in your life been to a real thermal spa, or gotten a true professional massage, and you think that you never will, then you might be delighted with this.Unfortunately, here are the parts I found to be a big let-down:- the water is chlorinated, like a warm swimming pool. Note that it is NOT natural thermal water and thus is inappropriate for use for "health" reasons. It will also dry out the skin and hair of sensitive people.- the "hot" bath is not that hot, and there is no sauna, so you´re not able to get your body temp. up THAT high, therefore the change from hot to cold water didn´t feel as dramatic as it should be.- the massage was VERY light (ie, no pressure, and lasted only about 10 minutes). I asked the masseuse in spanish to please apply some real pressure...but it was more like being caressed with oil for 10 minutes...not a true "massage", not even close.In short, if you´re looking for a relatively unique experience, and have never done baths/massages before, then sure, go ahead and try it, but please be aware that this is a bath-experience "lite"....that is to say, you could get a MUCH better and healthier experience elsewhere.I´m not trying to be negative, but I´ve been to TRUE hot spring baths, which are AMAZING, because you can dunk yourself underwater and not worry about the chlorine drying out your hair and skin....since THOSE waters are 100% natural. Also, I've trained in basic massage therapy, and I can tell you that the "massage" they provide is a joke and a rip-off.Experts looking for a true healthy "bath" experience in europe: go to Budapest, or some of the other places in central europe. True, there´s no incense or candles, but the water is PURE and you will FEEL TRULY GREAT afterwards.This is an aritficial tourist trap; they hope that you don´t know any better. Yes, the interiors are lovely, and they play "arabic" music and have (indian!) incense and tea-light candles and hope that you´re too ignorant to know the difference.Beginners: go for it. Experts: save your time and money.
Written July 21, 2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Raquel
Oslo, Norway2 contributions
Jan 2019 • Couples
I’m from Granada and I’ve been a lot of times in Hammam. Now I’m living abroad, so when I came back for Christmas with my boyfriend we reserved the service MIDRA45 for both of us. First thing that impressed me was the ridiculous price rise.

Our turn was from 18 to 19:30. The service MIDRA45 consists of 15 minutes of Kessa, 30 of massage and you can spend the rest of the time (45 minutes aprox, or that’s what I thought) in the baths. We arrived five minutes soon, after the check-in they made us wait in the waiting room. The staff must show you one by one everything in the dressing room, even when the receptionist already explained us how to use lockers. After changing we had to wait again in the cold room, because the staff also must show you the facilities. When the girl realized that my boyfriend doesn’t speak Spanish she took first a group of Spanish people, even though we had been waiting longer. I don’t know why, but she left the English speakers for the last. I estimate that we started to “enjoy” the pools at 18:20, all of them were overcrowded and the people was talking loudly. Not my idea of a relaxing experience. Ten minutes after, they called of for the Kessa and the massage, but we had to wait another 5 minutes while they were gathering all the other customers, I think it would be nice just to call for the massage when everything is ready, because we also had to wait for the massage therapists to finish with their last customers.

As soon as the Kessa and massage was over, we went straight to the steam bath. Five minutes later a girl from the staff came in to inform that our turn was over and we had to go to the dressing room. I tried to explain her that we only had been in the baths for 15 minutes in total and we didn’t enjoy them at all. She answered that “time flies” and that “she will allow us to stay a bit more” in all her mercifulness. Five minutes later we realized that the staff was already cleaning the facilities for the next turn and there were hardly any customers left, so we decided to leave. Just as I arrive to the dressing room I checked the clock, it was 19:29. They start to throw you out at least 10 minutes before the turn ends. While I was taking a shower and changing clothes, the people from the next turn was already there with us, so it was crowded. Even taking a relaxing shower was impossible. By the way, if now you allow in twice as many people as before in each turn, three showers are not enough.

This place is not worth it anymore. For being Spain is quite expensive, you don’t get to relax with so many people and if you reserve a massage or similar you won’t enjoy the baths at all. There’s plenty of Arab baths in Granada way cheaper where you can stay as long as you want, might be true that decoration is not as beautiful as in Hammam, but if you’re looking for a relaxing experience this is not anymore the right place.
Written January 17, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear customer, We thank you for taking the time to send us your opinion about your visit to our Arab Baths. We are distinguished by our quality and our customer service and when we read an opinion as yours, we are very disappointed because we want all our clients have a great experience. We would like you would have enjoyed the experience and we regret that it was not as you expected. We will take into account your opinion in order to improve our services. Please, accept our apologies. Kind regards, Hammam Al Ándalus
Written January 22, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

TruzAdvisor
Brooklyn, NY34 contributions
Jan 2017 • Couples
I hate to be "that guy" but in my honest opinion, I did not have a good experience here and I do not think it is worth the price...at all.

To be sure, it has the WOW factor. It is incredibly beautiful and I can certainly see why it has many good reviews. However, I believe that's where it ends.

First off, it was not very clear how long each session was. The impression upon purchasing is that there are 2 hour time slots, so you think you are paying for 2 hours of relaxing service. The reality is that the time slots are for 1 and half hours so that the staff can clean up before the next group arrives. This is stated on a very small piece of paper on the front desk, not communicated when you purchase your ticket or when they explain how things work upon entering.

Once inside, there are no clocks or ways for you to see how much time you are in there. It seems a bit random as to when they call you for your massage. We were expecting to have some time to relax and soak in the baths before getting the massage but that ended up happening about 10 minutes in. It sort of broke the flow we were enjoying.

The "massage" itself for me was awful. While she did use a lovely scented oil the pressure was way too light and she did not bother to ask how I would like it. Since it was supposed to be "relaxing" I figured that all they do is light massages and didn't say anything. I didn't want to be the "rude American" but I definitely should have said something because it felt more like a tickle or "coquilles" than a massage. Heck, I get a better head massage from my hair salon when they wash my hair. I can't deny that others have had great massages here, but I certainly did not.

The place is over crowded. I guess that's what happens when you become too popular. Although they try to control for noise, all I heard were people talking and laughing quite loudly while I was getting my massage as well as when in the pools. Not that relaxing, honestly.

Shortly thereafter, they start rounding you up and making you go to the showers so that they can clean up. Again, at first I thought we had 2 hours so this felt really premature, even without knowing the exact time. Then the staff walk around basically stalking you until you leave.

My time slot started at 6pm. When I was ushered to the showers I had to wait a good 8-10 minutes before I could shower because there was a long line (I could have easily used that time relaxing in the sauna, which I didn't get a chance to do). Then I took a good 7 minute shower to rinse off all of the oils and wash my hair. Then I had to wait to get to my locker, again, because there were a lot of people in the locker room getting dressed. By the time I looked at my phone, the time was 7:37pm. I kid you not. So that means that we also did not get the full 1 and a half hours. At most we got about an hour and 15 minutes, (30 of which were used for the double "massage/tickle")

My suggestions to improve this experience and make it worth the money is as follows:

1) Only book as many slots for massages as there are masseuses.
2) Have the massages at the end. That way when people get their massages, the staff can clean up after them and maximize everyone's time in the pools. For those not getting a massage, they get to use their time per usual.
3) If you book your massage it should be separate from the pool time, instead of taking you away from the time in the pools. We basically ended up getting only 40-45 minutes in the pools.
4) Have a method of letting people know how much time they have left so that they can space things out accordingly AND at least give them the FULL 1.5 hours before ushering them out
5) I know they're extremely popular and this is a business so money talks, but less people everywhere would be more relaxing
Written January 15, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Donna L
4 contributions
Jun 2017 • Couples
Despite the fact that I had read to reduce my expectations since I had been to a real hammam in Morocco, this experience was extremely disappointing. The exfoliating scrub was a joke, the constant movement from pool to pool was not relaxing and the line waiting to get into the shower I was finally enjoying was a long one. What came to my mind is that this "hammam" was a scam and set up to take tourists money. I've been to really bad spas in the US that were better than this experience. Save your money and your time and avoid this one.
Written July 11, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear Donna, First of all we would like to clarify that we are not a conventional hammam and we are not a spa. Hammams in Morocco, Turkey, etc. are not the same concept than Hammams in Andalusia due to the mixed of cultures that have lived along the years in our region. We are the combination of the Culture of Water inherited from the ancient Rome, refined by our Andalusian ancestors and interpreted in a contemporary way. So our services also are different from other similar places. We take into account your opinion. For us all the comments of our clients are very important and useful. Thank you for sharing your experience and sorry for not reaching your expectations. Kind regards, Hammam Al Ándalus
Written August 17, 2017
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Vilma P
24 contributions
Jul 2017 • Couples
My partner and me went to hamam al andalus for my special birthday. It supposed to be a nice relaxing experience and this hamam was recommended by our hotel. We both ordered packages that included a massage and baths and it was a big mistake! Nobody explained us that this hamam runs in sessions, this means if you go for a massage and a scrub - you have no time to enjoy the bath rituals. Honestly - either you are getting 30min o 1 hour massage - it is impossible to complete bath circuit after! Hamam should be all about relaxation and not running on schedule. After massage we were in the pool number 2 and we were asked to leave. I was very dissapointed and my birthday was almost ruined... The truth is - this hamam is authentic, decor is gorgeous, staff is professional and overall atmosphere is so relaxing - it's the management of this hamam that ruin it all with their methods to increase profitability, sell more, get higher profit margins regardless of impact to the customer. I would still recommend this hamam for others but for the baths ONLY - don't even think of getting the package with massage as you will leave dissapointed and more stressed than before you entered to the pace for relaxation. This is a rip off - you pay significantly more for the massage and baths than just baths but end up not having baths and to top it all - it is not possible to book just a massage - you have to pay for the baths even though you most likely end up not experiencing them. I hope many people will read this and follow my advice, then maybe management of this hamam will re-think their selling strategies.
Written July 10, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear Vilma, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are very sorry to know that you didn't have the experience you expected. We apologize for the lack of information about the duration of each session. Both in our webpage and our leaflet we provide all the information about our rules and duration. If you read them you can see that the maximum time inside the hammam is one and a half hours including the time for the massage if you have booked. The reason to divide the experience in different times is because between each session we must clean all the facilities in order to give a good service and guarantee high quality. Sorry again if you did not feel this. On the other hand, we do not provide only massages because we are an Arab Bath and water is our main element. So massages are an extra to complete the whole experience. We reiterate our apologies and take into account your comment. All the information we were provided is very useful for our improvement. Kind regards, Hammam Al Ándalus
Written August 17, 2017
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 1,093
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

Hammam Al Andalus Granada - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go

Frequently Asked Questions about Hammam Al Andalus Granada

Hammam Al Andalus Granada is open:
  • Sun - Sat 10:00 AM - 11:45 PM
Buy tickets in advance on Tripadvisor. If you book with Tripadvisor, you can cancel at least 24 hours before the start date of your tour for a full refund.

We recommend booking Hammam Al Andalus Granada tours ahead of time to secure your spot. If you book with Tripadvisor, you can cancel up to 24 hours before your tour starts for a full refund. See all 4 Hammam Al Andalus Granada tours on Tripadvisor