Berlin Dungeon
Berlin Dungeon
4
Speciality MuseumsGame & Entertainment Centers
11:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Monday
11:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Friday
11:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Sunday
11:00 AM - 6:00 PM
About
Screaming and laughing through Berlin’s dark past. The Berlin Dungeon is a uniquely thrilling attraction that will whisk you way back into the city’s most perilous past. A journey through over 800 years of Berlin’s history – from the medieval times to the 20th century. See, hear, feel and (ahem) smell the chillingly amusing characters of the ‘bad old days’ as they come to life before you. Uncover the legend of the dreaded White Lady, wonder through the Labyrinth of the Hohenzollern and meet the most notorious serial killer Carl Großmann. Will you lose yourself in fear or in mirth? Whichever way, it’s not looking good for your underwear. Are you brave enough for the darkest drop into the unknown with Berlin‘s highest indoor freefall tower?
Duration: 1-2 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Admission tickets
from $26.19
All you need to step foot in the door.
The area
Address
Neighborhood: Mitte (Borough)
How to get there
  • Hackescher Markt • 2 min walk
  • Weinmeisterstraße • 6 min walk
Reach out directly

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.


4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles1,439 reviews
Excellent
672
Very good
391
Average
196
Poor
100
Terrible
79

Kiely
London, UK43 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2024 • Couples
This is up there with the best thing we did on our trip to Berlin, we had such a great time!
I didn’t stop giggling or screaming - either or, haha.
The actors are fantastic.
I really would have liked it to be a bit longer because the time flew by and I was sad it was over, I will recommend this to anyone going to Berlin! Great fun
Written January 9, 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Orla80
Galway, Ireland24 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2018
Highly recommend the Berlin dungeons ! Have been to other dungeons around the world and this is up there with the best ! It really made our trip to Berlin most enjoyable and I would certainly return again
Written April 7, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hey Orla80, thanks for your great review. We are glad you enjoyed the show and survived your adventurous journey bravely. Greetings from the Berlin Dungeon.
Written April 8, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

JoanneLeinow
Palm Desert, CA4 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2017 • Family
In Berlin for 3 months and saved Berlin Dungeon for the last day as a special treat for the 11 year old Grandson.
We bought the tickets in the morning for afternoon English Show.
So upset with two things: I had not seen the on line information about heights and weights and assumed when they said for ten and above all would go perfectly.
The final part of the experience is a ride and height below a sign only seen at the entrance point of the final stop rules some out. My grandson was knocked out for being a bit shy of the right height.
None of the staff : not the ticket seller, not the entrance people, no one clued us into the possibly he could not do that part.
On top of 2 show portions closed also this week.The raft ride being one of them and a favorites which is closed right now.
So only saw maybe 7 out of the ten show portions.
The sign announcing that fact is hidden by the people lining up to before the show.
Since every flyer, and promotions for the experience show the people sitting high up in the chairs, the disappointment for us was enormous. Additional problem is that end of experience pictures are also taken at that time.
My grandson lives in Berlin so maybe we will come back next year but we will be sure to have him taken and measured to be sure he is not disqualified at the end next time.
I tried to explain after this happened to some counter staff my upsetness but all they could say was it was on the web site. I did not go to the web site and saw no signs as I bought the tickets telling me this information. 20 euros was expensive for an experience that was missing attractions and as others have pointed out lasts one hour.
My grandson did laugh, and enjoyed the parts we saw,,,,,and even learned a bit....
But imagine his disappointment to have the final character tell him,,,,no ....
Written July 3, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Joanell Thank you for your review. We are very sorry that you and your grandson were not able to experience the Exitus ride. The tour takes about 70 Minutes. You missed 4 Minutes of it and we are sorry for that. As for the signs. We have two A0 Boards at the left and the right of both of our entrances. We communicate the off weeks also on our online webpage. Plus we have a sign directly at the admission right in front of the visitor. You probably missed all three of it and that is pretty sad since it made you think that we were hiding the info. Which is not the case, since we even offer returns and delays of the visits in order to please each visitor and help him to find another day given that it is possible. We are happy that you contacted us because this way we were able to tell you all of that and maybe you do not have hard feelings about our service now. If we would hide information we would have very bad ratings, which is not the fact. We hope to welcome you and your grandson soon again. Greetings from the Berlin Dungeon
Written July 4, 2017
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Ben White
Northampton, UK2,943 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2018 • Friends
We came here because we’ve done the attraction in the UK so we thought we’d tried it out here. It was diabolical. We booked on the website for a ‘discounted’ price and for the English tour. There was no mention of the rides being out of order and we only got 8 out of the 11 interactive shows that were advertised.
The actors were good and it was all done very well, I can’t dispute that. But even when we turned up the people at reception didn’t even tell us that the rides weren’t in use. The tour was over within 45 minutes.
I’ve done the one in the UK and it lasted much longer than this. I’m not one to complain, but paying €20 and we didn’t get to do/see half of the things advertised. Its rather annoyed me.

Don’t waste your time, effort or money. Go elsewhere!!!
Written November 29, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hey Ben, thank you for your feedback. We are saddened to read that your experience with us was not as good as you expected it to be. We probably were not able to live up to your expectations and we will sure work on that. All we want is to satisfy each and every visitor. Luckily we do so with the most but that is not enough. So hopefully next time, you will like us more. Greetings from Berlin.
Written December 29, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Gina F
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates40 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2015 • Friends
This tourist trap is a waste of time. Although a lot of effort was put into the building and atmospherics, the actors and effects were lacking. I was not scared and laughed throughout at how contrived it was. This chain of "dungeons" needs to take a cue from real haunted houses that know how to scare people instead of employing three people to play seven roles and relying on cheap tricks like mirrors and strobe lights. Also, the story line did not make sense and the costumes were not historically accurate. For 20 euro per person, take your money and have a drink instead.

The only scary thing about the Berlin Dungeon is that I wasted an hour of my life on it.
Written March 4, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Gina F, The Dungeon Brand delivers “Scary and Funny” entertainment for the entire family incl. children 10years and older as an interactive live theatre with a clear distance from the concept of haunted houses. Professional actors are playing amusing historically accurate excerpts from a long history of our city. We are sorry to hear, that we haven’t met your expectations during your visit. Thank you for your entry and maybe you will give us a second chance. Kind regards M. Hüsch, General Manager
Written April 1, 2015
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

MdBenjamin
21 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 • Couples
This is our 3 visit to a dungeon. London, Amsterdam and now Berlin. For us Berlin was a to big copy of London. So if you have visited London I wouldn’t bother.
Written January 15, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you, MdBenjamin.
Written January 17, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Chris2006
London277 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2019
Brits have a defined and unique sense of humour but the German actors did not adapt the scenarios to this. So the whole experiences was lost on us. The 'false' accents used by the actors were hard to understand, and the 'jokes' fell flat because English humour is different from German humour. Different cultures - different sense of humour. We thought that the 'tour' would be about German / Berlin history, but there did not seem to be any thread to the stories - if you could understand what was being said in the first place. The boat ride was a waste of time moving a mere 5 metres from one room to the next. The sound and lighting effects were not concealed with lighting supports clearly visible. The only interesting effect was the mrror maze at the end. The free fall experience was not working - which we only found out about when we arrived.
Written December 17, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Chris2006 Thank you for your replay. You are right, we do not adapt anything. We offer our show in English so you can enjoy it. We do not create a who other show. That is not our aim. We are sorry that you expected a show made for a certain countries humor. We would love to but it would spoil the stories of Berlin that we want to tell. All the best and Merry Christmas
Written December 25, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

ROSEFLOWER7-7
Warsaw, Poland237 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2016 • Family
My daughter age 10 is a thrill lover so we both went to Berlin Dungeon and left really satisfied with the high level of this attraction. The actors are great professionals and seem to perform their roles with a lot of joy and engagement. We really felt like being send back to old times and could watch real scary stories, all of that with a wink that helps even young watchers not to be scared too much.
Purchasing tickets in advance on their webpage gives you some 30% saving and if you combine them with other attractions run by this company (Aqua Dome, Madame Tussauds and few others) you can get even bigger discounts.
Et the end of show there is a ride that can not be entered by kids smaller than 150 cm. As it is not clearly announced during ticket purchase proces (only bottom age border of 10 years is mentioned) - this can be a source of big disappointment of te youngest. In our case was.
What could be improved a little is the front line/check in organisation - there are two lines and no clear information where to wait if you are here for english version (available twice a day).
Large parking available on the street just around the right corner of the Dungeon building.
Written July 6, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hello ROSEFLOWER7-7, thank you for your positive feedback. We are thrilled to hear that you and your brave daughter survived your journey through 700 years of Berlin history. You can get online saver tickets from our website starting from 11,50 € (adult) and 9,50 € (child). Greeting from the Berlin Dungeon.
Written July 12, 2016
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Petz-0303
Towcester, UK101 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2015 • Friends
I was initially dubious about the Dungeons, they sat directly under an office block in the middle of a city so I was questioning just how much of a dungeon experience they would be.

I was wrong to pre-empt this.The experience was a brilliant taste of the darker side of Berlin's history (Pre WW1 and WW2). We attended an English tour with actors who really worked to get everyone involved and make sure you all felt uncomfortable at one point or another (in a funny kind of way). The experience includes a boat ride, a court room, a butchers and a tomb and you never really know what to expect next.

I would recommend this attraction to tourists in Berlin but I would advise English tourists to attend in the afternoon. We arrived early in the morning only to be told an English tour would not start until 11. When we returned at 11 we were told there were not enough English customers and we would need to return at 2. It didn't hamper with our plans too much but had we made other arrangements we may have been dissapointed.
Written May 1, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Peter W., thank you very much for your honest feedback and especially for your patience. We offer english Tours up to three times a day. But unfortunately somedays there are not enough english visitors at the planned time. And as we want all our visitors to have such a scary-fun experience like you have had it, we sometimes need to skip an english tour. We hope to see you again very soon. Kind regards, M. Hüsch, General Manager
Written May 11, 2015
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Gill F
Glasgow, UK12 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2014
I had reservations about going into the dungeon due to suffering from slight claustrophobia. I braved it and went it with my friends. The first reception area had a host ' in character' who was very amusing but unfortunately my panic kicked in and I didn't go any further, I asked to leave straight away. My friends carried on and I was shown the door. I sat at the foyer and told to drink some water but not actually offered any! I sat for a while and was told my friends would reappear at the gift shop. Given there was a flow of customers coming in and paying 20 euros I asked if my ticket could be resold or if I could have a refund, I was told no on both counts and that it was my choice to not go ahead with the tour. I said I would review this on trip adviser as I felt it was unfair and unsympathetic, in essence I opted out of the tour for health reasons and was denied a refund. This museum must make a fortune and obviously don't value customer welfare, for that there is no excuse. My friends did proceed with the tour and said it was good apart from annoying teenagers drowning out the actors, but my friends couldn't believe I wasn't offered a refund as a token of goodwill
Written April 9, 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear fishwife2014, First of all thank you very much for taking the time to leaving your feedback on Trip advisor. We are pleased to read that your friends had a good time in the show, but we are very sorry to hear that you could not join the show to the end for the given reason. We sincerely regret that we did not take the opportunity to make you feel better in this unpleasant moment and we would be extremely glad, if you would leave us your personal contact details, or if you contacted us via info@berlindungeon.de to be able to show you that we indeed value our guests. Thank you in advance. With best regards, Maren Hüsch, General Manager
Written April 14, 2014
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 419
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

Berlin Dungeon - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (2024)

All Berlin HotelsBerlin Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Berlin
All things to do in Berlin
RestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars